Table of Contents>>FoodShare
If you are getting benefits you must comply with program rules to keep getting benefits.
Overpayments are benefits you received but should not have. You must repay benefits you get in error even if it is the agency’s fault and not your own. If federal and state law require you to repay benefits and you do not do so, it could result in collection actions such as:
Federal or state tax refund interceptions. (Tax refund interceptions mean that the State of Wisconsin can take any FoodShare overpayment from any tax refunds you are owed.)
Credits or lien and levy against any real property. (If a lien is placed on your home, you can not sell or trade your home until the over-payment is paid. A levy gives the State of Wisconsin the legal right to keep or sell your property as security for a debt.)
Wage assignment (wage assignment takes any FoodShare overpayment from job income or wages before you are paid).
Quality Control Review
Your FoodShare case may be randomly selected by the Wisconsin Department of Health Services for a quality assurance review. These reviews are to make sure that members are getting the right benefits. You will need to meet with the reviewer to continue to receive benefits.
If everyone in your household:
The following changes must be reported to the agency within 10 days:
A new job,
An increase in total other income of more than $50 each month, (For example, Social Security, Veterans Benefits, Retirement, etc.)
If a person moves in or out of your home,
Any change in your address and shelter cost,
An increase in total child support income of more than $100 per month, and/or
Any change in the legal obligation to pay child support.
All other people must report to the agency by the 10th of the month if
the family income goes over the 130% income limit for the reported
household size. The amount you are to report will also be listed on your
latest Letter of Enrollment.
| Household Size
For each additional member add: $429.
The amounts listed are based on the 2012 federal guidelines which may
increase each year.
Changes can be reported at
ACCESS.wi.gov, by using the
FoodShare Wisconsin Change Report
(F-16006), or to report income only, the FoodShare Wisconsin Income Change Report form
(F-16066) or by contacting your agency by phone, in writing or in person.
You can get these forms online at
dhs.wi.gov/em/customerhelp or by calling your agency.
Back to Table of Contents
Next — FoodShare Six-Month
Previous — Problems With Your
QUEST Card/Using Your Card
February 05, 2013