Department of Health Services Logo

 

Wisconsin Department of Health Services

Aging Home Page

ADRCs

Benefit Specialists

Elder Abuse

Family Caregivers

Healthy Aging

Information & Assistance

Long Term Care Resources

Publications

Trainings

Send us an email

THE ALZHEIMER’S FAMILY AND CAREGIVER SUPPORT PROGRAM

The Alzheimer’s Family and Caregiver Support Program or AFCSP was a program created by the Wisconsin legislature in 1985 in response to the stress and service needs of families caring at home for someone with irreversible dementia. To be eligible, a person must have a diagnosis of Alzheimer’s disease or a related disorder, and be financially eligible. The program is coordinated by the Wisconsin Bureau of Aging and Disability Resources, and is available in every county throughout the state.

How can I find out more about AFCSP? Contact your county and tribal aging office. In different counties, different agencies administer this program, but the aging office will refer you to the right agency if necessary. Or, you can contact the Wisconsin Bureau of Aging and Disability Resources at (608) 266-2536.

How does the AFCSP program work? Funds for AFCSP are made available in each county to assist individuals to purchase services and goods related to the care of someone with alzheimer’s disease. Up to $4,000 per person may be available, depending on the county’s priorities and the person’s need for services. In some instances, the funds are used within the county to expand or develop new services related to Alzheimer’s disease, such as respite care, adult day care or support groups.

What types of goods and services does the program purchase? Allowable services are those which are necessary to maintain a person with alzheimer’s disease in the community. Typical services have included in-home help, respite care, adult day care and transportation. Goods provided have included nutritional supplements, security systems, specialized clothing, home delivered meals, hobby equipment and chair lifts. However, counties may limit the types of services covered by this program. Counties may use money to start support groups, increase public awareness, purchase library books, start adult day care services, provide overnight or emergency respite.

What are the income limits? A couple may have a joint income of $40,000 or less. But if the couple’s income is more than $40,000, the costs related to Alzheimer’s can be subtracted from the gross income. If the net income is then less than $40,000, the couple would be eligible. The couple would be expected to contribute to the cost of services based on their ability to pay.

Do I need a doctor’s statement? Yes, the person must be diagnosed with Alzheimer’s disease or any of the other irreversible dementias.

 

Last Revised: June 20, 2011