Family and Caregiver Support Program
The Alzheimers Family and Caregiver Support Program or AFCSP was a program
created by the Wisconsin legislature in 1985 in response to the stress and service needs
of families caring at home for someone with irreversible dementia. To be eligible, a
person must have a diagnosis of Alzheimers disease or a related disorder, and be
financially eligible. The program is coordinated by the Wisconsin Bureau of Aging and
Disability Resources, and is available in every county throughout the state.
How can I find out more about AFCSP? Contact your county
aging office. In different counties, different agencies administer this program, but the
aging office will refer you to the right agency if necessary. Or, you can contact the
Wisconsin Bureau of Aging and Disability Resources at (608) 266-2536.
How does the AFCSP program work? Funds for AFCSP are made available in each
county to assist individuals to purchase services and goods related to the care of someone
with alzheimers disease. Up to $4,000 per person may be available, depending on the
countys priorities and the persons need for services. In some instances, the
funds are used within the county to expand or develop new services related to
Alzheimers disease, such as respite care, adult day care or support groups.
What types of goods and services does the program purchase? Allowable services
are those which are necessary to maintain a person with alzheimers disease in the
community. Typical services have included in-home help, respite care, adult day care and
transportation. Goods provided have included nutritional supplements, security systems,
specialized clothing, home delivered meals, hobby equipment and chair lifts. However,
counties may limit the types of services covered by this program. Counties may use money
to start support groups, increase public awareness, purchase library books, start adult
day care services, provide overnight or emergency respite.
What are the income limits? A couple may have a joint income of $40,000 or less.
But if the couples income is more than $40,000, the costs related to
Alzheimers can be subtracted from the gross income. If the net income is then less
than $40,000, the couple would be eligible. The couple would be expected to contribute to
the cost of services based on their ability to pay.
Do I need a doctors statement? Yes, the person must be diagnosed with
Alzheimers disease or any of the other irreversible dementias.
July 16, 2014