Wisconsin Medicaid and BadgerCare Plus
Rules When Using Non-Emergency Medical Transportation
Printable Version (PDF)
Please Note: The following information is about non-emergency
medical transportation. If you have a medical emergency you should call
Non-emergency medical transportation is a public transportation and
shared ride service. Rides can include public transportation (such as a
city bus), rides in specialized medical vehicles, or rides in other
types of vehicles depending on your medical and transportation needs. If
public transportation is not available, you will not be required to take
Medical Transportation Management, Inc. (MTM, Inc.), Wisconsinís
Medicaid and BadgerCare Plus transportation manager. MTM, Inc. schedules
and pays for rides to Medicaid and BadgerCare Plus covered health care
You must follow the Wisconsin Medicaid, BadgerCare Plus and MTM, Inc.
rules listed below for rides:
- You must schedule a routine ride at least two business days
before your appointment.
- You must be ready and watching for your ride 15 minutes before
your pick-up time.
- You must provide information about your pick-up place, drop-off
place, and why you need the ride when scheduling a ride.
- You must contact MTM, Inc. as soon as you know that you no
longer need a scheduled ride, including if you were scheduled to
ride the bus. You should contact MTM, Inc. at least 24 hours before
a scheduled ride, if possible, when you need to cancel your ride.
- You must be thoughtful of any other passengers you are required
to share your ride with on the trip to your appointment.
- You cannot have alcohol, drugs, or any weapons in the vehicle.
- You must use your seatbelt.
- You must bring any travel equipment, such as a wheelchair or a
car seat for a child.
- You cannot physically or verbally abuse other passengers or the
- You cannot smoke, eat, or drink any beverage while in the
Drivers and Attendant Rules
Drivers and attendants who are provided by MTM, Inc. must follow the
Wisconsin Medicaid, BadgerCare Plus and MTM, Inc. rules listed below
when providing rides:
- All drivers and provided attendants must wear or have an
easy-to- read official company ID badge.
- The driverís vehicle must be marked with the company name.
- Drivers and provided attendants cannot use or be under the
influence of alcohol, narcotics, illegal drugs, or other drugs.
- Drivers and provided attendants must not smoke around you.
- Drivers cannot use a cell phone unless it is in hands-free mode
or text while driving.
- Drivers and provided attendants cannot touch passengers, except
as appropriate and necessary to help the passenger get into or out
of the vehicle, into a seat and to secure their seatbelt, or to
provide first aid or assistance.
- Drivers must open the vehicle door for you, if you ask for their
- Drivers must help you get from the door of where you are picked
up to the vehicle and to the main door of where you are going, if
you ask for their help.
- Drivers and provided attendants must help you move and store
wheelchairs and other medical equipment; however, drivers and
provided attendants are not responsible for your personal items.
Fraud means getting coverage or payments you know you should not get.
It also means helping someone else get coverage or payments you know
that person should not get. Anyone who commits fraud can be prosecuted.
You may be fined up to $10,000 and jailed for up to one year in a
county jail, if you:
- Intentionally give false or incomplete information on your
application for health care.
- Do not report a change that causes you to get more benefits than
- Use another personís card to get services for yourself.
- Let someone else use your ForwardHealth card to get health care
services or prescription drugs.
If you suspect that a Medicaid or BadgerCare Plus member or a
provider, including a transportation provider, has committed or is
committing fraud, call the Department of Health Services Inspector
General toll-free at 1-877-865-3432 or by going online to
For more information
Information provided is general. For more information about
Scheduling Rides, Meals and Lodging, Complaints, New Rules, Denied
Transportation or Fair Hearings:
August 16, 2013