Department of Health Services Logo


Wisconsin Department of Health Services


Aging Resources

Brain Injury Waiver

Care4Kids (foster care)

Children's Long Term Support Programs

Community Integration Program

Community Options Program

Developmental Disability Programs

DD Network

ICF/ID Restructuring Initiative

IRIS (Include, Respect, I Self-Direct)

Medicaid HCB Waivers Manual

Disability Rights Wisconsin (exit DHS)

Contact Us

Brain Injury Waiver Program

This waiver program provides home- and community-based services for people with brain injuries who need significant supports.  The program began January 1, 1995.

Persons eligible for the brain injury waiver must be eligible for Medicaid and meet the definition of brain injury in 51.01 (2g) of the Wisconsin State statutes:

Brain injury is defined as any injury to the brain, regardless of age of onset, whether mechanical or infectious in origin, including brain trauma, brain injury, brain damage and traumatic head injury.  It includes injuries that are vascular in origin (CVA or aneurysm) if received by a person prior to his or her attaining the age of 22 years.  Brain injury does not include alcoholism, Alzheimer’s disease or the infirmities of aging.

In addition, the person must be receiving or be eligible to receive post acute rehabilitation services in a nursing home or hospital designated as a special unit for brain injury rehabilitation by the Wisconsin Medicaid Program (WMAP).  The person must also have, as a result of the injury, significant physical, cognitive, emotional and/or behavioral impairments.

For more information, contact:

Denise Cox at (608) 266-0547 or by e-mail to

Last Revised: September 24, 2012