Wisconsin Adult Family Homes - Information
on Assisted Living Facilities
for Staff and Management of Adult Family Homes
For persons who seek small congregate care settings, Adult Family
Homes (AFHs) are designed to house up to four persons. These homes are
licensed under Chapter
DHS 88 (exit DHS), Wisconsin Administrative Code.
An AFH is defined as "a place where three or four adults who are
not related to the operator reside and receive care, treatment or services
that are above the level of room and board and that may include up to
seven hours per week of nursing care per resident."
one- and two-bed adult family homes.
AFHs can admit people of advanced age, persons with dementia,
developmental disabilities, mental health problems, physical disabilities,
traumatic brain injury, AIDS, Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse, correctional
clients, pregnant women needing counseling and/or the terminally ill.
minimum age requirement for residing in an AFH is 18 years.
The licensing process for an AFH includes submission of a completed
application, including a biennial fee of $171. Once the application is
submitted and reviewed, the facility is visited by a licensing specialist.
A notification of licensure or denial of license will be issued within 70
days of receipt of the completed application and visit.
All AFHs must adhere to Chapters
DHS 12 and DHS 13 (exit DHS), Wisconsin Administrative Code – Caregiver
Background Checks and Allegation Reporting.
State licensing specialists inspect AFHs every two years, via
unannounced surveys. However, a facility may be visited between these
inspections, if there are any complaints received by the department.
For AFHs that are not in compliance with State laws governing them, the
penalty under Chapter
50, Wis. Stats., (exit DHS) is to revoke their license.
Last Updated: March 15, 2012