Question & Answer Forum
Return to main Drug Repository page
What are the drug donation requirements?
- Be accompanied by a completed drug repository donor form
that is signed by the donor or that person's authorized
- The drug is not adulterated or misbranded.
- The drug will not expire until at least ninety days after the
donation is made.
- The drug is in its original, unopened tamper-evident packaging.
- How should participating pharmacies proceed when an individual,
physician's office or health care facility donates medication that,
due to federal Food and Drug Administration (FDA) mandate, may require
patient registration with the drug manufacturer?
It is imperative that all pharmacies participating in the program
ensure that any drug subject to a FDA-mandated restricted distribution
program is not dispensed.
When questions arise, the pharmacy is encouraged to contact the drug
manufacturer directly or visit the FDA Center for Drug Evaluation and
Research website (http://www.fda.gov/cder)
for additional information. Under no circumstances should the
drugs be redistributed.
Oftentimes, the manufacturer of the restricted distribution drug has a
return policy in place for unused medication. Pharmacies should
contact the manufacturer directly for details on any return policies
What is an adulterated or misbranded
Adulterated means the medication has degraded, been stored
improperly or has had something happen to it where the medication is
no longer safe to use. Misbranded may mean the medication was
originally labeled incorrectly and, therefore, makes the medication
unsafe to use.
What does tamper evident packaging mean? Can I donate medications that I received from the
pharmacy in a bottle?
Tamper evident packaging is packaging where the package is sealed.
Eligible packaging may also be an inhaler sealed in a
foil wrapper or an injectable medication with the manufacture vial cap
intact. Medications received from a pharmacy in the typical brown or
amber bottle are not eligible for donation.
Can controlled substances be donated?
Controlled substances such as morphine, oxycodone or lorazepam
cannot be donated. These medications are typically used for pain,
anxiety and sleep and cannot be returned to a pharmacy or medical
facility according to federal law.
Where can I donate my prescription?
Participating pharmacies and medical
facilities are listed (PDF, 11 KB) on
this web site. Please contact individual locations about their
specific hours and donation procedures.
Who is eligible to receive the
Wisconsin residents (1) who have a valid prescription from their
physician, (2) who have cancer, and (3) do not have the means to pay
for the medication, may receive the medications. If the medication is
going to be destroyed because there is not a Wisconsin resident who
needs the medication, it can be provided to out-of-state residents.
Is there a charge to receive the
medications or supplies?
Pharmacies may charge a fee for the counseling, preparation and
documentation they are required to do when dispensing donated
medications. That fee currently can be up to approximately $13 per
prescription, but can be no more than $15.
How do we find out which medications
Please contact the participating
pharmacies or medical facilities (PDF, 11 KB)
regarding which medications they may have available.
Why does Wisconsin have a drug
It is important that patients have access to the
medications and supplies they need to fight their battle with the
disease. Wisconsin Statutes 255.055 authorized
the Department of Health Services to establish and maintain
a drug repository program. In doing so, the Department was
required to develop administrative rules for the program. Wisconsin
Administrative Code DHS 148 addresses the following:
Criteria for drugs and
supplies that the program will accept;
Eligibility requirements, standards
and procedures for medical facilities and pharmacies that accept,
store and dispense the donated drugs and supplies;
Criteria for identifying individuals
that are eligible to receive donated drugs or supplies;
Limits for the handling fee that may
be charged for accepting, distributing or dispensing medications;
The forms to be used to record the
donation and dispersal of drugs and supplies.
PDF: The free Acrobat Reader® software
is needed to view and print portable document format (PDF) files. Learn
Last Revised: October 12, 2011