Department of Health Services Logo


Wisconsin Department of Health Services


Medicaid EHR Incentive Program Home

Eligible Professionals

Eligible Hospitals



Wisconsin Medicaid EHR Incentive >> Eligible Hospitals>> Attestation

Eligible Hospitals — Attestation

Adopt, Implement, Upgrade (AIU)

Eligible Hospitals participating in their first year do not have to attest to Meaningful Use; rather, they may demonstrate that they have Adopted, Implemented or Upgraded certified EHR Technology.

  • Adopt: Eligible Hospitals must demonstrate acquisition, installation, or contractual proof of an acquisition or future acquisition of certified EHR technology in the first payment year.
  • Implement: Eligible Hospitals must meet the criteria for adopting certified EHR technology and demonstrate actual implementation, installation, or utilization of certified EHR technology
  • Upgrade: Eligible Hospitals must meet the criteria for adopting and implementing and demonstrate expansion of the certified EHR technology’s functionality such as the addition of an e-prescribing functionality or Computerized Physician Order Entry

For more information on Certified EHR Technology, please refer to the Certified Health IT Product List (exit DHS).

Meaningful Use

In order for an Eligible Hospital to receive payment in the second year of participation, they will have to attest to Meaningful Use of Certified EHR technology for a continuous 90-day period. In subsequent years, the Meaningful Use reporting period is the entire program year.

  • Note: The reporting period for Program Year 2014, regardless of attestation stage, will be 90 consecutive days for all Providers.

The criteria for Meaningful Use will be staged in three steps over the course of the next five years:

  • Stage 1 (exit DHS) sets the baseline for electronic data capture and information sharing.
  • Stage 2 (exit DHS) advances clinical processes.
  • Stage 3 improves outcomes. Stage 3 is expected to be implemented in Program Year 2017.
Stage 1 Meaningful Use

In Stage 1, Meaningful Use includes both a core set and a menu set of objectives that are specific to Eligible Hospitals. To qualify for an incentive payment, Eligible Hospitals must meet 16 of the 21 Meaningful Use objectives identified by CMS:

  • There are 11 required core objectives.

  • The remaining 5 objectives may be chosen from the list of 10 menu set objectives.

For more information on the Eligible Hospital Meaningful Use Measures review the Stage 1 EHR Meaningful Use Specification Sheets for Eligible Hospitals (exit DHS).

Stage 2 Meaningful Use

For Stage 2 Meaningful Use, there are a total of 22 Meaningful Use objectives for Eligible Hospitals. Eligible Hospitals must meet 19 of the 22 Meaningful Use objective identified by CMS:

  • There are 16 required core measures

  • The remaining 3 objectives may be chosen from the list of 6 menu set objectives.

For more information on Stage 2 requirements, please refer to the Stage 2 Page (exit DHS) on the CMS Website.

New Process for Reporting Public Health Objectives

Beginning October 1, 2013, all Eligible Hospitals, regardless of their stage of Meaningful Use, will be required to register with the Wisconsin Department of Health Services (DHS), Division of Public Health (DPH), to initiate an onboarding process for any of the public health objectives. Eligible Hospitals are required to register within 60 days of the start of their EHR reporting period. For current registration information, Eligible Hospitals should refer to the Public Health Meaningful Use website at

Clinical Quality Measures

In addition to meeting the core and menu objectives, Eligible Hospitals and CAHs are also required to report clinical quality measures in order to successfully participate in the program.

For Program Year 2014, Wisconsin Medicaid recommends Eligible Hospitals report on the priority CQMs identified in Attachment 2 (PDF 491KB) (exit DHS)

Reporting in Program Year 2014

Beginning in 2014, all Hospitals, regardless of whether they are in the Stage 1 or Stage 2 of Meaningful Use, will be required to report on 16 of 29 CQMs finalized in 2014 (exit DHS) in the Stage 2 rule (exit DHS). Clinical quality measures will be reported separately from Meaningful Use measures. Although CQMs will be reported separately from Meaningful Use measures, all Eligible Hospitals are still required to report CQMs in order to demonstrate Meaningful Use. The reporting period for CQMs is the same as the Meaningful Use EHR reporting period for that Program Year.

CMS has provided information on how to begin the transition for reporting in 2014 (exit DHS).

See Clinical Quality Measures (exit DHS) and the CQM tip sheet (exit DHS) to learn more about Clinical Quality Measures.


Last Revised: August 29, 2014