Department of Health Services Logo

 

Wisconsin Department of Health Services

QUICK LINKS:

Logo for Wisconsin EMS Licensing

2012 Reinstatement

EMS Home

A to Z Index

Complaints and Investigations

Contact EMS Unit

EMS Boards

EMS Administrative Rule 110

EMS State Statute 256

Events/
Opportunities

Exam Schedules

Forms

Licensing/
Certification

Links

Medical Director Resources

Numbered Memo Series

Public Information 

Reciprocity

Service Director Resources

Training Information

Verification of License (exit DHS)

WARDS

Wisconsin EMS providers by County

Expired License

A licensee that fails to submit the required renewal materials by the renewal date may not represent himself or herself as, function as or perform the duties of a certified first responder or licensed EMT after the date of license expiration.  DHS 110, Wisconsin Administrative Code, has changed as of January 1, 2011.  This information reflects the new rule. If your license expired prior to July 1, 2010, the time limits from the past rule apply.

Administrative Fees 

We are working on the credit card payment system within E-licensing. Until this is operational all fees need to be submitted via cashiers check or money order made out to the "Department of Health Services" and submitted to:

WI EMS Unit – Licensing
1 W Wilson St, Room 1150
PO Box 2659
Madison, WI 53701-2659

Late Renewal 

During the first six months after license expiration, an EMT license or First Responder certificate can be renewed by submitting the following to the EMS Unit:

  • An electronic application through Wisconsin E-Licensing.

  • Information on current cardiopulmonary resuscitation certification (at the professional rescuer level) and ACLS certification (for EMT-Intermediate and EMT-Paramedic levels)

  • Proof of successful completion of the required refresher training for the level of licensure

  • An administrative fee of $50 must be submitted for any late renewal application received between 01/01/2011 and 06/30/2011

  • Any other documentation which is deemed necessary to prove eligibility for a license

  • Once a license or certificate is approved, the applicant must submit a Local Credentialing Agreement though Wisconsin E-Licensing.

Late renewal of a First Responder certificate or EMT license through this method does not exempt the EMT from taking the required refresher training to renew their license for the next renewal period.

Reinstatement of a Lapsed License 

Licenses that have been expired for over 6 months but less than 2 years are considered "lapsed" but may be reinstated.

During this 1 1/2 year period, an EMT or First Responder can reinstate a lapsed license or certificate by submitting the following to the EMS Unit:

  • An electronic application through Wisconsin E-Licensing.
  • Information on current cardiopulmonary resuscitation certification (at the professional rescuer level) and ACLS certification (for EMT-Intermediate and EMT-Paramedic levels)
  • Proof of successful completion of the required refresher training for the level of licensure
  • An administrative fee of $75 must be submitted for any reinstatement application submitted between 07/01/2011 to 06/30/2013
  • Any other documentation which is deemed necessary to prove eligibility for a license
  • Once a license or certificate is approved, the applicant must submit a Local Credentialing Agreement though Wisconsin E-Licensing.
  • In addition, the applicant must successfully complete the National Registry written and practical examination to reinstate a lapsed Medical First Responder (written only), EMT-basic, EMT-Intermediate Technician, EMT-intermediate or EMT-paramedic license. Candidates wishing to reinstate their licenses must receive permission from the Wisconsin EMS Unit prior to taking the National Registry examination.

Reinstatement of a lapsed EMT license through this method does not exempt the EMT from taking the required refresher training to renew their license for the next renewal period.

A certificate or license that has been expired for 2 years or more may be reinstated only if the applicant has successfully completed the training and examination requirements for the initial First Responder certificate or EMT license within the 24 months immediately preceding application for reinstatement.

PDF: The free Adobe Reader® software is needed to view and print portable document format (PDF) files. Learn more

Last Revised: February 04, 2014