Certificate/License Required to Practice
Administrative Code (exit DHS), set forth
requirements for issuing each level of certification/licensure.
For example, administrative
code requires individuals
to apply for an initial license within 24 months of completing the
applicable EMT course or they will be required to retake the entire
educational program for which they are applying.
The Wisconsin certificate/license expires on June 30th of
every even numbered year. An
individual's initial certification or license will be valid for the
remainder of the current biennium. Thereafter,
the license will be valid for 2 years.
Licenses and certificates must be renewed each biennium prior to
the expiration date.
Certification or licensure as
a First Responder or EMT is a privilege. It
verifies that the holder has met minimal competencies and, if credentialed
with an emergency medical service (EMS) provider, authorizes that individual to provide medical care under
medical direction. Medical
First Responders are certified and emergency medical technicians
(EMT-Basic, Intermediate Technician, Intermediate and Paramedic) are
licensed in the State of Wisconsin. It is the individuals'
responsibility to complete the application process and to verify that they
hold the appropriate Wisconsin certification/licensure at their highest
level of training and eligibility.
Wisconsin E-licensing was
implemented in August 2009. This
new system allows the EMS Unit to issue one (1) EMS certificate/license to
a First Responder or EMT at his/her highest eligible level. EMS
personnel will no
longer need to hold multiple licenses when affiliated with more than one
Once licensed by the State of Wisconsin, individual EMS
certificate/license holders will apply for local credentialing with any
EMS service with which they are associated. (This is what we have called "affiliation"
in the past.)
The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
(NHTSA), National EMS Scope of Practice Model
(exit DHS) states that "credentialing
is a local process by which an individual is permitted by a specific
entity (the medical director) to practice in a specific setting (with an
EMS provider)." While EMS personnel are state licensed,
they must be locally credentialed with an EMS provider in order to practice at their level of
In no case will EMS personnel be allowed to
practice above the license level of the EMS service.
Failure of EMS
personnel to obtain individual certification/licensure and become credentialed with an EMS
provider prior to beginning practice is a violation of
Wisconsin law and may subject the individual (and the EMS provider) to disciplinary action.
registration through the National Registry of EMTs is not to be confused with a Wisconsin license and
authorize an individual to practice in the State of Wisconsin.
Wisconsin Administrative Code allows
the EMS Unit 60 business days to process an application and to issue a license.
Processing a license rarely takes this long. Contact our office if you do not hear from
us within 5 business days of submitting your application.
Back to License
and Certification Information page
The free Adobe
Reader® software is needed to view and print portable document
format (PDF) files. Learn
April 15, 2013