Department of Health Services Logo


Wisconsin Department of Health Services


What's New!

General Information

Aging and Disability Resource Centers


Program Monitoring and Evaluation

Program Operations

WI Functional Screen

State and Fed Requirements

Encounter Reporting

Data Warehouse

History of LTC Redesign


Transition to New Managed Care Organization for
11 Northern Counties in Wisconsin

Information for former Family Care NorthernBridges Members and Providers

On January 1, 2014, the Department of Health Services (DHS) contracted with a new managed care organization (MCO) to serve 11 counties in northern Wisconsin. These counties are Ashland, Barron, Bayfield, Burnett, Douglas, Iron, Polk, Price, Rusk, Sawyer and Washburn and were being served by NorthernBridges. Community Care of Central Wisconsin is the new MCO for these counties.

In September 2013, the Department sent the following letters to NorthernBridges members and providers:

If you have general questions about this transition, please call DHS 1-855-885-0287 or email

Resources for members and guardians:

  • Community Care of Central Wisconsin's (exit DHS) website will introduce you to the MCO providing new service to 11 counties in Wisconsin in addition to the five counties it currently serves. If you have questions about Community Care of Central Wisconsin, you can call them at 1-877-622-6700.

  • For information about other long-term care options, contact your Aging and Disability Resource Center (ADRC).

  • For additional help or other assistance, contact a Family Care Ombudsman at:

    • 1-877-338-3724 (toll free), if you are age 18 to 59; or

    • 1-800-815-0015 (toll free), if you are age 60 or older.

Receivership Announcement, January 16, 2014 (PDF, 287 KB)

DHS News Release, 9/16/13

DHS News Release, 8/16/13

Last Revised: January 30, 2014