Department of Health Services Logo

 

Wisconsin Department of Health Services

If You Have Complaints about Wisconsin Health Care

Information about Division of Quality Assurance (DQA)

Consumer & Provider Information

Provider Types Regulated by DQA

DQA Listservs

Provider Search

Facility Directories

Provider Training

DQA Numbered Memos

DHS Forms

Construction/
Remodeling of Health Care Facilities

WI Nurse Aide Training and Registry Info

Caregiver Program/ Background Checks

WI Adult Programs Caregiver Misconduct Registry

Notice of Change in Licensing Fee for Residential Care Apartment Complexes

PDF Version of DQA 09-033  (PDF, 38 KB)

Date: July 30, 2009
To: Certified Residential Care Apartment Complexes
RCAC 11
From: Kevin Coughlin, Director
Bureau of Assisted Living
Via:

Otis Woods, Administrator
Division of Quality Assurance

Notice of Change in Certification Fee for Residential Care Apartment Complexes

This memorandum outlines a change in the fee structure for certified Residential Care Apartment Complexes (RCACs).

Section 50.034(1)(a), Wis. Stats., states (in part):

50.034(1)(a) "The department may charge a fee, in an amount determined by the department, for certification under this paragraph. The amount of any fee charged by the department for certification of a residential care apartment complex need not be promulgated as a rule under ch. 227."

Pursuant to 50.034(1)(a), Wis. Stats., the Department is increasing the annual fee for certified RCACs to $445, plus a fee of $7.60 per apartment, based on the number of apartments that the RCAC is certified to serve. The "per apartment" fee is based on the certified capacity, not the actual occupancy.

The annual fee increase for certified RCACs is consistent with the fee increase of 27% approved in the state budget, Wisconsin Act 28, effective June 29, 2009, for other assisted living providers (Community Based Residential Facilities, Adult Family Homes and Adult Day Cares).

The Department of Health Services will implement the new annual certification fees on October 1, 2009. The fees will apply to regularly scheduled certification continuations and to new certification applications. When certification continuations are due, RCACs will receive advance notice from the appropriate Bureau of Assisted Living regional office. This notice will reflect the new certification fee.

Wisconsin Act 28 (2009) is available for review at the following website: http://www.legis.state.wi.us/2009/data/acts/09Act28.pdf (exit DHS)

If you have any questions regarding licensing fees, please contact the Assisted Living Regional Director for your county: http://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/rl_DSL/Contacts/alsreglmap.htm

 

PDF: The free Acrobat Reader software is needed to view and print portable document format (PDF) files. Learn more.