Department of Health Services Logo

 

Wisconsin Department of Health Services

If You Have Complaints about Wisconsin Health Care

Information about Division of Quality Assurance (DQA)

Consumer & Provider Information

Provider Types Regulated by DQA

DQA Listservs

Provider Search

Facility Directories

Provider Training

DQA Numbered Memos

DHS Forms

Construction/
Remodeling of Health Care Facilities

WI Nurse Aide Training and Registry Info

Caregiver Program/ Background Checks

WI Adult Programs Caregiver Misconduct Registry

Notice of Change in Certification Fees for Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services Providers

Date: November 24, 2009
To: Certified Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services Providers CMHA 12
From: Cremear Mims, Director
Bureau of Health Services
Via:

Otis Woods, Administrator
Division of Quality Assurance

Notice of Change in Certification Fees for Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services Providers

This memorandum announces changes in the annual certification fees for mental health and community substance abuse programs and services.

The Department of Health Services is required by Wis. Stat. 51.04 to annually charge a fee for each certification of mental health and community substance abuse programs and services by the Department's Behavioral Health Certification Section (BHCS). These fees have been unchanged since 1992.

The annual fees will increase with each program or service on a certificate; the fees will no longer be capped at $750 per year. Branch Offices (see policy attached) are hereafter classified as:

  • Tier 1 - providing 20 or fewer service hours per week, and for which fees remain $200 per year.
  • Tier 2 - providing more than 20 service hours per week, for which fees will be $500 per year.

Program or Services

Former Fee

Increase Amount

Revised Fee

Branch Offices

1

$350 $200 $550 Tier 1 ---
$200

2

$500 $300 $800 Tier 2 ---
$500

3

$600 $400 $1,000  

4

$675 $500 $1,175  

5

$750 $600 $1,350  

6 or more

    Add $100 per certificate  
Telehealth $200 No increase $200 per certificate
Community Support Program $350 $200 $550 Distinct Fee
Comprehensive Community Support (CCS) $350 $200 $550 Distinct Fee

The Department of Health Services will implement these revised annual certification fees on January 1, 2010. The fees will apply to regularly scheduled certification continuations and to new certification applications. Programs will receive the advance notice from the BHCS when certification continuations are due. That notice will reflect the new certification fees.

If you have any questions regarding certification fees or this memo, please contact Mark Hale, Chief, Behavioral Health Certification Section at Mark.Hale@dhs.wisconsin.gov.

cc: John Easterday, DMHSAS
Joyce Allen, BPTR
Mark Hale, BHCS

PDF: The free Acrobat Reader software is needed to view and print portable document format (PDF) files. Learn more.