Department of Health Services Logo

 

Wisconsin Department of Health Services

If You Have Complaints about Wisconsin Health Care

Information about Division of Quality Assurance (DQA)

DQA Web Pages Information

Provider Types Regulated by DQA

DQA Listservs

Consumer Information

Provider Search

DQA Facility Directories

DQA Provider Training

DQA Numbered Memos

DHS Forms

Construction/
Remodeling of Health Care Facilities

WI Nurse Aide Training and Registry Info

Caregiver Program/ Background Checks

WI Adult Programs Caregiver Misconduct Registry

Notice of Implementation of State Only Re-visit Fee

PDF Version of DQA 10-005  (PDF, 39 KB)

Date: March 23, 2010
To: Home Health Agencies HHA 01
Hospice HSPCE 01
Hospitals HOSP 01
From: Cremear Mims, Director
Bureau of Health Services
Via:

Otis Woods, Administrator
Division of Quality Assurance

Notice of Implementation of State Only Re-visit Fee

As many of you are aware, 2009 Wisconsin Act 205, created new language for home health, hospice and hospitals authorizing a $200.00 inspection fee for re-visits. Act 205 became effective June 29. 2009.

Home Health: Section 1420. 50.49(4) of the statutes is amended to read: "50.49(4) LICENSING, INSPECTION AND REGULATION. If the department takes enforcement action against a home health agency for a violation of this section or rules promulgated under this section, and the department subsequently conducts an on-site inspection of the home health agency to review the home health agency's action to correct the violation, the department may impose a $200 inspection fee on the home health agency".

Hospice: Section 1421. 50.93(5) of the statutes is created to read: "50.93(5) INSPECTION FEE. If the department takes enforcement action against a hospice for a violation of this subchapter or rules promulgated under this subchapter, and the department subsequently conducts an on-site inspection of the hospice to review the hospice's action to correct the violation, the department may impose a $200 inspection fee on the hospice".

Hospital: Section 1419. 50.36(4) of the statutes is amended to read: "50.36(4). If the department takes enforcement action against a hospital for a violation of ss. 50.32 to 50.39, or rules promulgated or standards adopted under ss. 50.32 to 50.39, and the department subsequently conducts an on-site inspection of the hospital to review the hospital's action to correct the violation, the department may, unless the hospital is operated by the state, impose a $200 inspection fee on the hospital.

The Division of Quality Assurance/Bureau of Health Services will assess a re-visit fee of $200 against Home Health Agencies, Hospices and Hospitals for any enforcement action (Statement of Deficiency is an enforcement action) taken on or after April 1, 2010 for which an on-site revisit was conducted. Failure of an entity to submit the $200 fee within the directed time line will result in a violation of Wisconsin Statutes, Section 50 as above.

If you have questions, please contact Bureau of Health Services Section Chiefs, Jan Heimbruch at (608) 266-0371 or Mark Andrews at (608) 266-0269.

PDF: The free Acrobat Reader software is needed to view and print portable document format (PDF) files. Learn more.

Last Updated: September 30, 2011