Notice of Change in Licensing Fee for Residential Care
PDF Version of DQA 09-033
(PDF, 38 KB)
Notice of Change in Certification Fee for Residential Care
This memorandum outlines a change in the fee structure for certified
Residential Care Apartment Complexes (RCACs).
Section 50.034(1)(a), Wis. Stats., states (in part):
§ 50.034(1)(a) "The department may charge a fee, in an amount
determined by the department, for certification under this paragraph. The
amount of any fee charged by the department for certification of a
residential care apartment complex need not be promulgated as a rule under
Pursuant to § 50.034(1)(a), Wis. Stats., the Department is increasing
the annual fee for certified RCACs to $445, plus a fee of $7.60 per
apartment, based on the number of apartments that the RCAC is certified to
serve. The "per apartment" fee is based on the certified
capacity, not the actual occupancy.
The annual fee increase for certified RCACs is consistent with the fee
increase of 27% approved in the state budget, Wisconsin Act 28, effective
June 29, 2009, for other assisted living providers (Community Based
Residential Facilities, Adult Family Homes and Adult Day Cares).
The Department of Health Services will implement the new annual
certification fees on October 1, 2009. The fees will apply to regularly
scheduled certification continuations and to new certification applications.
When certification continuations are due, RCACs will receive advance notice
from the appropriate Bureau of Assisted Living regional office. This notice
will reflect the new certification fee.
Wisconsin Act 28 (2009) is available for review at the following website:
If you have any questions regarding licensing fees, please contact the
Assisted Living Regional Director for your county: http://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/rl_DSL/Contacts/alsreglmap.htm
PDF: The free Acrobat Reader®
software is needed to view and print portable document format (PDF) files. Learn