Department of Health Services Logo

 

Wisconsin Department of Health Services

If You Have Complaints about Wisconsin Health Care

Information about Division of Quality Assurance (DQA)

Provider Types Regulated by DQA

DQA Listservs

Provider Search

Provider Training

DQA Numbered Memos

DHS Forms

Construction/
Remodeling of Health Care Facilities

WI Nurse Aide Training and Registry Info

Caregiver Program/ Background Checks

WI Adult Programs Caregiver Misconduct Registry

Notice of Change in Licensing Fee for Community Based Residential Facilities

PDF Version of DQA 09-036  (PDF, 36 KB)

Date: July 30, 2009
To: Community Based Residential Facilities CBRF 17
From: Kevin Coughlin, Director
Bureau of Assisted Living
Via:

Otis Woods, Administrator
Division of Quality Assurance

Notice of Change in Licensing Fee for Community Based Residential Facilities

This memorandum outlines changes in the licensing fee structure for Community Based Residential Facilities (CBRFs) consistent with the enactment of the state budget bill, Wisconsin Act 28, that became effective June 29, 2009.

Section 1400 of Wisconsin Act 28 renumbered 50.037(2)(a), Wis. Stats, to 50.037(2)(a)1., Wis. Stats, and amended it to read (in part):

50.037(2)(a)1. "The biennial fee for a community based residential facility is $389, plus a biennial fee of $50.25 per resident, based on the number of residents that the facility is licensed to serve."

For example, a CBRF licensed for 8 residents would submit a biennial licensing fee of $389 plus $50.25 for each of the 8 residents. The "per resident" fee is based on licensed capacity, not the actual occupancy. The additional per resident fee for an 8-bed CBRF would be $402 ($50.25 x 8 = $402). The total biennial licensing fee in this example would be $791 ($389 base licensure fee plus the $402 per resident capacity fee).

The Department of Health Services will implement the new biennial licensing fees on October 1, 2009. The fees will apply to regularly scheduled license continuations and to new license applications. When continuations are due, CBRFs will receive advance notice from the appropriate Bureau of Assisted Living regional office. This notice will reflect the new license fees.

Wisconsin Act 28 (2009) is available for review at the following website: http://www.legis.state.wi.us/2009/data/acts/09Act28.pdf (exit DHS)

If you have any questions regarding licensing fees, please contact the Assisted Living Regional Director for your county: http://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/rl_DSL/Contacts/alsreglmap.htm

PDF: The free Acrobat Reader software is needed to view and print portable document format (PDF) files. Learn more.