Department of Health Services Logo

 

Wisconsin Department of Health Services

If You Have Complaints about Wisconsin Health Care

Information about Division of Quality Assurance (DQA)

Consumer & Provider Information

Provider Types Regulated by DQA

DQA Listservs

Provider Search

Facility Directories

Provider Training

DQA Numbered Memos

DHS Forms

Construction/
Remodeling of Health Care Facilities

WI Nurse Aide Training and Registry Info

Caregiver Program/ Background Checks

WI Adult Programs Caregiver Misconduct Registry

Notice of Change in Certification Fees for Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services Providers
to take effect on Counties in 2011

PDF Version of DQA 09-049  (PDF, 39 KB)

Date: November 24, 2009
To: Wisconsin County Departments of Human Services,
Community Services
From: Cremear Mims, Director
Bureau of Health Services
Via:

Otis Woods, Administrator
Division of Quality Assurance

Notice of Change in Certification Fees for Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services Providers to take effect on Counties in 2011

This memorandum announces changes in the annual certification fees for county mental health and community substance abuse programs and services.

The Department of Health Services is required by Wis. Stat. 51.04 to annually charge a fee for each certification of mental health and community substance abuse programs and services by the Department's Behavioral Health Certification Section (BHCS). These fees have been unchanged since 1992.

Counties are exempted from a fee increase until 2011.

The Department recognizes the special role counties play in providing and contracting for mental health and substance abuse services needed by their residents. Accordingly, the Department will not apply fee increases to these county services in 2010. 

In 2011, the revised fee schedule outlined in DQA Memo 09-048 will be implemented for county programs with one exception: the maximum fee assessed for any given county certificate will increase from $750 to $1,100.

In 2010, counties will not be charged a fee increase for stand-alone services such as Community Support Programs or Comprehensive Community Services. However, those fees will increase from $350 to $550 in 2011. Telehealth certification fees will remain fixed at $200 per year.

Contracted service providers are not exempt from the 2010 fee increase and will be assessed the increase as annual fees come due throughout 2010.

In 2011, each county will be notified at least 60 days in advance of the regular certification renewal date with the new certification fee.

If you have any questions regarding certification fees, please contact Mark Hale, Chief, Behavioral Health Certification Section at Mark.Hale@dhs.wisconsin.gov

cc: John Easterday, DMHSAS
Joyce Allen, BPTR
Mark Hale, BHCS

 

PDF: The free Acrobat Reader software is needed to view and print portable document format (PDF) files. Learn more.