Department of Health Services Logo

 

Wisconsin Department of Health Services

If You Have Complaints about Wisconsin Health Care

Information about Division of Quality Assurance (DQA)

Consumer & Provider Information

Provider Types Regulated by DQA

DQA Listservs

Provider Search

Facility Directories

Provider Training

DQA Numbered Memos

DHS Forms

Construction/
Remodeling of Health Care Facilities

WI Nurse Aide Training and Registry Info

Caregiver Program/ Background Checks

WI Adult Programs Caregiver Misconduct Registry

Notice of State Only Re-Visit Fee

PDF Version of DQA 11-008  (PDF, 52 KB)

Date: February 16, 2011  -- DQA Memo 11-008
To: Nursing Homes NH 04
Facilities for the Developmentally Disabled FDD 01
From: Alfred Johnson, Director
Bureau of Technology, Licensing and Education
Via:

Otis Woods, Administrator
Division of Quality Assurance

Notice of State Only Re-Visit Fee

On June 29, 2009, Act 205 became effective with passage of the state budget bill. Act 205 created new language for Nursing Homes authorizing a $200.00 fee for onsite re-visits resulting from State administrative code violations. This memorandum outlines the nursing home re-visit fee process that DQA implemented on December 1, 2009.

Section 50.04(4) (dm), Wisconsin Statutes was created to read: "Inspection fee. If the department takes enforcement action against a nursing home, including an intermediate care facility for the mentally retarded, as defined in 42 USC 1396d (d), for a violation of this subchapter or rules promulgated under it or for a violation of a requirement under 42 USC 1396r, and the department subsequently conducts an on-site inspection of the nursing home to review the nursing home's action to correct the violation, the department may, unless the nursing home is operated by the state, impose a $200 inspection fee on the nursing home."

The Division of Quality Assurance/Bureau of Nursing Home Resident Care assesses a $200.00 fee to nursing homes and facilities for the developmentally disabled for any on-site re-visit inspection resulting from violations of State administrative code. Re-visit fees will not be assessed for desk review re-visits. DQA staff will invoice providers for the re-visit fee with notice of the due date. Failure of an entity to submit the $200 fee within written directed time line of invoice will result in a violation of Wisconsin Statues.

If you have any questions, please contact Alfred Johnson at (608) 266-2055

 

PDF: The free Acrobat Reader software is needed to view and print portable document format (PDF) files. Learn more.

Last Updated: September 30, 2011