Department of Health Services Logo

 

Wisconsin Department of Health Services

If You Have Complaints about Wisconsin Health Care

Information about Division of Quality Assurance (DQA)

Consumer & Provider Information

Provider Types Regulated by DQA

DQA Listservs

Provider Search

Facility Directories

Provider Training

DQA Numbered Memos

DHS Forms

Construction/
Remodeling of Health Care Facilities

WI Nurse Aide Training and Registry Info

Caregiver Program/ Background Checks

WI Adult Programs Caregiver Misconduct Registry

Fees for Copies of Health Care Provider Records Effective July 1, 2011

PDF Version of DQA 11-029  (PDF, 49 KB)

Date: October 31, 2011 -- DQA Memo 11-029
To: Adult Family Homes AFH 10
Community Based Residential Facilities CBRF 16
Facilities Serving People with Developmental Disabilities FDD 12
Hospitals HOSP 14
Hospices HSPCE 13
Nursing Homes NH 20
Rural Medical Centers
From: Otis Woods, Administrator
Division of Quality Assurance

Fees for Copies of Health Care Provider Records Effective July 1, 2011

Effective July 1, 2011, 2011 Wisconsin Act 32 (Budget Bill) amended the fees a health care provider is authorized to charge for copies of health care records. The current version of Wis. Stat. 146.83 (3f) (b) is available at: https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/146.pdf

Wisconsin Statutes 146.81 (1) defines "health care provider" to include Adult Family Homes, Community-based Residential Facilities, Hospitals, Hospices, Nursing Homes (including Facilities Serving People with Developmental Disabilities) and Rural Medical Centers. "Health care provider" also includes individual healthcare professionals, such as (but not limited to): nurses, physicians, physician assistants, physical therapists, occupational therapists, psychologists, social workers, marriage and family therapists, or professional counselors.

Effective July 1, 2011, the above identified health care providers may charge no more than the following fees for requests for duplicate health care records. [Wis. Stats. 146.83 (3f) (b)]

  • Paper copies: $1 per page for the first 25 pages; 75 cents per page for pages 26 to 50; 50 cents per page for pages 51 to 100; and 30 cents per page for pages 101 and above.
  • Microfiche or microfilm copies, $1.50 per page.
  • Print of an X-ray, $10 per image.
  • A single $8 charge for certification of copies, if the requester is not the patient or a person authorized by the patient.
  • A single retrieval fee of $20 for all copies requested, if the requester is not the patient or a person authorized by the patient.
  • Actual shipping costs and any applicable taxes.

Reduced Fees

Special lower fees apply if the person (or his or her authorized representative) requests records for the purpose of appealing a denial of social security disability or for use in determining social security disability eligibility, or if the person is eligible for medial assistance. Wis. Stat. 146.83 (1f) reduces the maximum fees to 25% of the fees set out above. (A health care provider may charge 100 percent of the fees listed above for providing a second or additional set of copies of a patient's health care record for a patient who is eligible for medical assistance.)

Annual Adjustment of Fees

Beginning on July 1, 2012, the Department of Health Services will annually adjust the amounts a health care provider may charge using the method prescribed in s. 146.83 (3f) (c) 2., Wis. Stats. The adjusted amounts will be published in the Wisconsin Administrative Register.

The Division of Quality Assurance is sending this information to health care providers and asking administrators to inform their staff of the new law. If you have questions about this information, please contact Alfred Johnson, Director, Bureau of Technology, Licensing and Education at alfred.johnson@dhs.wisconsin.gov 

 

PDF: The free Acrobat Reader software is needed to view and print portable document format (PDF) files. Learn more.

Last Updated: November 03, 2011