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Immunization Assessment 

 
According to Wisconsin state law, licensed child care centers are required to submit a report 

annually summarizing the immunization status of the children aged 2-4 years in their center. 

This booklet contains the materials for this year’s Child Care Immunization Assessment.  

 

The Child Care Immunization Assessment form and instructions are found in this booklet. Use the Child 
Care Immunization Assessment form as a worksheet to collect the information and submit to DHS 
electronically through REDCap. 

 

To complete the online REDCap assessment, type or copy/paste this link into your web 
browser, or click here: https://redcap.wisconsin.gov/surveys/?s=8TAXW3TJRN8NDDEJ 

 

The URL must be typed exactly as written and will not work in Internet Explorer. Please 
use Google Chrome (preferred) or Microsoft Edge. Do not paste the link into the Google 
search bar. Please use this URL only. If you are prompted for a username/password or code, 
you are not on the right web page.  

 
If your center does not have a computer with an internet connection, you may be able to use one located 
at your local public library. The assessment may also be completed using a smartphone. If that is not 
possible, please contact the Wisconsin Immunization Program at 608-267-9959 and leave a message. 

  
Upon completing the online immunization assessment, the immunization information for your child care 
center will automatically be sent to the local health department. You do not need to send the local health 
department a paper copy. If your child care center has moved or is closed, please indicate that on the 
assessment and contact Child Care Licensing to inform them of the change. Their website is:  
https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/contacts 

 

The assessment due date is May 31, 2024.  

 
Please note that all licensed child care centers (i.e., family, camp and group centers) 
that serve 2-4 year olds are required, by law, to submit information collected through 
the Child Care Immunization Assessment form/REDCap survey. 

 
 
 

www.dhs.wisconsin.gov

https://redcap.wisconsin.gov/surveys/?s=8TAXW3TJRN8NDDEJ
https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/contacts
http://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/


All forms found in this booklet may be downloaded from the Immunization Program webpage at:  

https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/immunization/reqs.htm 

 

If you have any questions or need assistance, please contact your local health department or 
nearest Immunization Program Advisor listed below. 
 

Eau Claire 
Shayna Nickell  

608-692-3541 

Shayna.Nickell@dhs.wi.gov 

Green Bay 
Susan Nelson 
920-448-5231 

  SusanL.Nelson@wi.gov 

Madison 

Wilmot Valhmu 

608-266-0008 

Wilmot.Valhmu@wi.gov 

 
Milwaukee 
Monica Thakur 
414-227-3995 

   Monica.Thakur@wi.gov 

 
Rhinelander 
Christie Larmie 
715-365-2709 

Christie.Larmie@dhs.wi.gov 

 

 
 

Again, the assessment due date is: May 31, 2024 

 

Thank you for your continued cooperation. 

 
cc: DCF Licensing, District Attorneys, Local Health Departments 

https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/immunization/reqs.htm
mailto:Shayna.Nickell@dhs.wi.gov
mailto:SusanL.Nelson@wi.gov
mailto:Wilmot.Valhmu@wi.gov
mailto:Monica.Thakur@wi.gov
mailto:Christie.Larmie@dhs.wi.gov


Immunization Law Clarification 

Four-day Grace Period:  The Student Immunization Law allows a four-day grace period for three 
required, age-dependent vaccines in child care centers. The grace period applies to the following 
vaccines: the first dose of MMR vaccine on or after the first birthday, a dose of Hib vaccine on or after 
the first birthday, and a dose of DTaP/DT vaccine on or after the fourth birthday for kindergarteners. 
The four-day grace period means a child is compliant with the immunization law if the dose of any of 
these vaccines was received four days or less before the date it was required. 

“Afterschool” Child Care Center Located in an Elementary School:  Students in elementary 
schools are required to have DTP/DTaP/DT/Td, Polio, MMR, Hepatitis B and Varicella (or reliable 
history of chickenpox) vaccines. Information about these vaccines is submitted to the school by parents 
on a Student Immunization Record. Children ages 2-4 who are enrolled in "afterschool" child care are 
also to have a Child Care Immunization Record (F-44192) on file. However, if an "afterschool" child 
care center is in an elementary school and only children from that school attend that child care center, 
the existing Student Immunization Records for those children can be used. There is no need for a 
duplicate Child Care Immunization Record. This only applies if the "afterschool" child care center 
director has access to the school's Student Immunization Records for children enrolled in the child care 
center. Any child enrolled in the child care center from a different school or school district would be 
required to submit the Child Care Immunization Record.  

Child Care vs School:  The Student Immunization Law (Ch. DHS 144) applies to all Wisconsin 
schools and licensed child care centers. It requires that licensed child care centers assess and report 
the immunization status of children 2-4 years of age enrolled in their programs, in compliance with the 
law. In contrast, the school assessment measures compliance with the law among children enrolled in 
school, including children enrolled in early childhood, 3K, and 4K programs through 12th grade, and is 
done during fall each year. It is possible that some children will be assessed twice in the same school 
year: once as the student in a school and again as an attendee of a licensed child care center.  

Electronic Immunization Record:   Written evidence of immunization can be either the Child Care 
Immunization Record or an electronic immunization record. However, parents who choose to waive an 
immunization are still required to sign a waiver on the Child Care Immunization Record. 

Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA): Child care providers that fall under FERPA 
can no longer submit child-specific information (DPH form F-44215) for those who are not in 
compliance to the district attorney without the specific, written parental consent for this release. In 
general, FERPA applies to education records held by entities that receive funding from the Department 
of Education and are defined as an early education program, which means: 

(a) A Head Start program or an Early Head Start program carried out under the Head Start Act 
(42 U.S.C. 9831 et seq.), including a migrant or seasonal Head Start program, a Tribal Head 
Start program, or a Head Start program or an Early Head Start program that also receives 
State funding; or  

(b) A State licensed or regulated child care program; or 

(c) A program that— 

(1) Serves children from birth through age six that addresses children’s cognitive 
(including language, early literacy, and early mathematics), social, emotional, and 
physical development; and 

(2) Is— 

(i)  A State prekindergarten program; or 

(ii) A program authorized under section 619 or part C of the Individuals with 
Disabilities Education Act; or 

(iii) A program operated by a local educational agency. 



If you are unsure if your facility is subject to FERPA, please consult with your legal counsel. The 
information listed above provides general guidelines and is not comprehensive. Additionally, the 
Wisconsin Immunization Program cannot make the determination whether your facility is subject to 
FERPA. If FERPA does not apply to your facility, then you should report children who are out of 
compliance to the district attorney using form F-44215. 

Glossary of required vaccines  

DT  Diphtheria, Tetanus vaccine (pediatric type) 

DTaP  Diphtheria, Tetanus, acellular Pertussis vaccine  

DTP  Diphtheria, Tetanus, Pertussis vaccine (no longer available in US) 

Hep B  Hepatitis B vaccine 

Hib  Haemophilus influenzae type b vaccine 

PCV             Pneumococcal Conjugate Vaccine (PCV)  

IPV  Inactivated Polio vaccine (injectable type)   

OPV   Oral Polio (vaccine is no longer available in the United States) 

MMR  Measles, Mumps, Rubella vaccine 

Varicella Chickenpox vaccine 

Temporarily Closed Centers and Summer Camps: Child care centers and summer camps that are 
temporarily closed during the time of assessment should report based off their most recent cohort of 
children. 

Vaccine Trade Names: A health care provider may administer a required vaccine and only provide the 
parent with a note listing a vaccine trade name rather than spelling out the specific type of vaccine 
received. The following is a list of commonly used vaccines and their manufacturer's trade names to 
help you "translate" should this happen. Vaccine types that have more than one trade name listed (e.g., 
DTaP vaccine) represent different vaccine manufacturers.  

 

Vaccine Type Trade Name               

DTaP DAPTACEL®        

DTaP Infanrix®        

DTaP+Hep B+IPV (combined vaccine) Pediarix® 

DTaP+Hib+IPV (combined vaccine) Pentacel®       

DTaP+IPV (combined vaccine) KINRIX™       

DTaP+IPV (combined vaccine) Quadracel®       

DTaP+IPV+Hib+Hep B (combined vaccine) Vaxelis™ 

Hepatitis B ENGERIX B®     

Hepatitis B RECOMBIVAX®        

Hib PedvaxHIB® (PRP-OMP)       

Hib ActHIB® (PRP-T)        

Hib Hiberix® 

Inactivated Polio Vaccine (IPV) IPOL® 



MMR M-M-R®II 

MMR Priorix 

MMR+Varicella (combined vaccine) ProQuad® 

Pneumococcal conjugate vaccine (PCV)-13 Prevnar13® (also noted as PCV13) 

Pneumococcal conjugate vaccine (PCV)-15 VaxneuvanceTM 

Pneumococcal conjugate vaccine (PCV)-20 Prevnar20® (also noted as PCV20) 

Varicella (chickenpox)  Varivax® 

 

Valid doses:  Vaccines in a series are most effective when administered at recommended time 
intervals. However, the Student Immunization Law does not address the issue of vaccine spacing. 
Therefore, the number of doses, including those that may be improperly spaced, can be counted 
toward compliance with the Student Immunization Law. A printout of an immunization record from the 
Wisconsin Immunization Registry may display a vaccine marked "invalid," which is acceptable under 
the law. Invalid doses are usually due to improper spacing of vaccines. The only spacing requirement in 
the law is that the first dose of MMR vaccine and a dose of Hib vaccine must be received after the first 
birthday and a dose of DTaP/DT vaccine must be received after the fourth birthday for children entering 
kindergarten. 

Waivers:  The Wisconsin student immunization requirements can be waived for medical/health, 
religious, or personal conviction reasons. Children for whom waivers are filed are compliant with the 
Wisconsin Student Immunization Law; however, these children may be subject to exclusion from child 
care in the event of an outbreak of a disease against which they are not completely immunized.  

Parents who choose to waive an immunization are required to sign a waiver on the Child Care 
Immunization Record (F-44192) and list the dates (month, day, year) of all the vaccines the child has 
already received. Alternatively, if F-44192 is not used, the parent should provide documentation of all of 
the vaccines received, the dates (month, day, year) the vaccines were received, the vaccines that are 
being waived, the type of waiver, the date of the waiver, and the parent’s name and signature. The child 
care center is responsible for obtaining waiver documentation.  

A “refusal of [vaccine name]” documented in the Wisconsin Immunization Registry does not constitute a 
valid waiver. A history of chickenpox is not a waiver but does exempt a child from the varicella vaccine 
requirement.  

Children attending child care by way of the Wisconsin Shares child care subsidy (Wis. Stat. § 49.155) 
must be immunized as required under Wis. Stat. § 252.04. The immunization requirement may only be 
waived for reasons of health or religion. 



Collection of immunization records 

• Parents must complete the Child Care Immunization Record (F-44192) and update it as needed.

• Child care center must keep the updated record on file.

Have you collected the immunization 

records for each child aged 2-4 

years? 

Is your child care permanently closed? 

Yes No

A) Send a reminder to parents of

children who are missing records.

B) If still missing records, send a

legal notice to parents who have

not submitted a record.

Complete questions 1-4 of the assessment 

• Use the information from current immunization records collected from parents to

complete the Immunization Assessment (F-44019A). 

• For children for whom an Immunization Record has not yet been submitted, count these chil-

dren as having no immunization record on the assessment. 

A. Make a copy of the completed assessment (F-44019A) to keep for your records.

B. Go to https://redcap.wisconsin.gov/surveys/?s=8TAXW3TJRN8NDDEJ to complete the required

online Immunization Assessment.

1. 

A. 

C. 

Are there children aged 2-4 years enrolled at your child care? B. 

No Yes

If your child care is closed, 

check the “yes” box and fol-

low the instructions for send-

ing in the assessment. 

Yes No
If not, check the “no” box and 

follow the instructions for 

sending in the assessment. 

CHILD CARE IMMUNIZATION ASSESSMENT FLOW CHART 
Follow steps 1-3 below to complete the 2023-2024 Child Care Assessment.  

A list of the local health department addresses can also be found in this booklet. If you have questions or 

difficulty completing the assessment, please call the Immunization Program at 608-267-9959.  

3.
Make a copy and submit materials 

If your child care is open, check 

the “No” box.  

 If you have children aged 2-4 enrolled, 

check the “yes” box. 

 

 Complete the Immunization Assessment2.

https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/library/f-44192.htm
https://redcap.wisconsin.gov/surveys/?s=8TAXW3TJRN8NDDEJ
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/library/collection/f-44019a


DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH SERVICES 
Division of Public Health 
F-44019A (01/2024)

STATE OF WISCONSIN  
Wis. Stat. § 252.04 

CHILD CARE IMMUNIZATION ASSESSMENT 

Child Care Name (do not abbreviate) Facility Number (on your child care license) 

Street Address City/Zip Code County 

Phone Number (include area code) Name of person completing form Email of person completing form 

Local Health Department 

Is your child care center permanently closed?  YES    NO If YES, stop and complete the online survey: 
https://redcap.wisconsin.gov/surveys/?s=8TAXW3TJRN8NDDEJ  or call 608-267-9959 to submit over the phone. 

Note: This report asks questions about children aged 2 through 4 years. This means all 2-, 3-, and 4-year-olds at your child care center. 

Are children aged 2 through 4 years enrolled in your child care center?  YES  NO If NO, stop and complete the online survey: 
https://redcap.wisconsin.gov/surveys/?s=8TAXW3TJRN8NDDEJ  or call 608-267-9959 to submit over the phone. 

Question Total Number of Children 

1. How many children ages 2 through 4 years are enrolled in your child care center?

2. How many of the children ages 2 through 4 years do NOT have an immunization record on file at
your child care center?
(An immunization record is a record describing the vaccinations the child has received. This could
be on the “Child Care Immunization Record” [F-44192] or a printout from the Wisconsin
Immunization Registry or an electronic medical record.)

3a. How many children ages 2 through 4 years have any waivers (health, religious, or personal 
conviction)? 
(The immunization requirements can be waived for health, religious, or personal reasons. Parents 
can choose to waive vaccines by checking the appropriate box[e]s on the “Child Care 
Immunization Record” [F-44192], Step 4.) 

3b. How many children ages 2 through 4 years have a health waiver? 

3c. How many children ages 2 through 4 years have a religious waiver? 

3d. How many children ages 2 through 4 have a personal conviction waiver? 

3e. How many children with a waiver have NO immunizations? 

4. How many children ages 2 through 4 years enrolled in your child care center have received at least:

4a. 4 doses of DTaP or DT or DTP (diphtheria, tetanus, pertussis) vaccine? 

4b. 3 doses of Polio (IPV, inactivated polio) vaccine? 

4c. 3 doses of Hib (Haemophilus influenzae type b) vaccine? 

4d. 3 doses of Pneumococcal conjugate (PCV13/PCV15) vaccine? 

4e. 3 doses of Hepatitis B (Hep B) vaccine? 

4f. 1 dose of MMR (measles, mumps, rubella) vaccine? 

4g. 1 dose of Varicella (chickenpox) vaccine? 

4h. Have a reported history of Varicella (chickenpox) disease? 

For questions 3b, 3c, 3d, and 3e, the ”Total Number of Children” entered should NOT be more than the number of children listed in 
question 3a. 

For questions 2, 3a, 4, 4a, 4b, 4c, 4d, 4e, 4f, 4g, and 4h, the ”Total Number of Children” entered should NOT be more than the number 
of children listed in question 1. 

Date Above Information Entered in Online Survey: _______________________ 



DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH SERVICES 
Division of Public Health 
F-44019AS (01/2024)

STATE OF WISCONSIN  
Wis. Stat. § 252.04 

SOLICITUD DE VACUNACIÓN PARA GUARDERÍAS 
CHILD CARE IMMUNIZATION ASSESSMENT 

Nombre de la guardería (no abreviar) Número de centro (en su licencia de guardería) 

Dirección postal Ciudad y Código postal Condado 

Número de teléfono (incluya código de 
área) 

Nombre de la persona que llena el 
formulario 

Correo electrónico de la persona que llena el 
formulario 

Departamento de salud local 

¿Está cerrada permanentemente su guardería?  SÍ    NO Si la respuesta es SÍ, pare y responda a la encuesta en línea: 
https://redcap.wisconsin.gov/surveys/?s=8TAXW3TJRN8NDDEJ  o llame al 608-267-9959 para responder a la encuesta por teléfono. 

Nota: En este informe se hacen preguntas sobre los niños de 2 a 4 años. Es decir, todos los niños de 2, 3 y 4 años en su guardería. 

¿Hay niños de 2 a 4 años inscritos en su guardería?  SÍ    NO Si la respuesta es NO, pare y responda a la encuesta en línea: 
https://redcap.wisconsin.gov/surveys/?s=8TAXW3TJRN8NDDEJ  o llame al 608-267-9959 para responder a la encuesta por teléfono. 

Pregunta Número total de niños 
1. ¿Cuántos niños de 2 a 4 años están inscritos en su guardería?

2. ¿Cuántos niños de 2 a 4 años NO tienen un registro de vacunas en el archivo de su guardería?
(Un registro de vacunas es un registro que describe las vacunas que se le han puesto al niño.
Esto podría estar en el "Registro de vacunas para guarderías" [F-44192] o en una copia impresa
del Registro de vacunas de Wisconsin o en un registro médico electrónico).

3a. ¿Cuántos niños de 2 a 4 años tienen alguna exención por motivos de salud, religiosos o por 
convicción personal?  
(Se puede renunciar a los requisitos de vacunación por motivos de salud, religiosos o 
personales. Los padres pueden optar por renunciar a las vacunas marcando la(s) casilla(s) 
correspondiente(s) en el "Registro de vacunas para guarderías" [F-44192], Paso 4). 

3b. ¿Cuántos niños de 2 a 4 años tienen una exención por motivo de salud? 

3c. ¿Cuántos niños de 2 a 4 años tienen una exención por motivo de religión? 

3d. ¿Cuántos niños de 2 a 4 años tienen una exención por motivo de convicción personal? 

3e. ¿Cuántos niños con una exención NO están vacunados? 

4. ¿Cuántos niños de 2 a 4 años inscritos en su guardería se han puesto al menos:

4a. cuatro dosis de vacuna DTaP o DT o DTP (difteria, tétanos, tos ferina)? 

4b. tres dosis de la vacuna contra la poliomielitis (IPV, polio inactivada)? 

4c. tres dosis de la vacuna contra Hib (Haemophilus influenzae tipo b)? 

4d. tres dosis de la vacuna antineumocócica conjugada (PCV13/PCV15)? 

4e. tres dosis de la vacuna contra la hepatitis B (Hep B)? 

4f. una dosis de la vacuna MMR (sarampión, paperas, rubéola)? 

4g. una dosis de la vacuna contra la varicela? 

4h. tiene historial informado de varicela? 

Para las preguntas 3b, 3c, 3d y 3e, el "Número total de niños" ingresado NO debe ser mayor que el número de niños indicado en la 
pregunta 3a. 

Para las preguntas 2, 3a, 4, 4a, 4b, 4c, 4d, 4e, 4f, 4g y 4h, el "Número total de niños" ingresado NO debe ser mayor que el número de 
niños indicado en la pregunta 1. 

Fecha en que se ingresó la información en la encuesta en línea: _______________________ 



Assessment Instructions 
Due date:  May 31, 2024 

 
This assessment should include children currently enrolled in your child care center who are 2 
years through 4 years of age.    
 
Step 1:  Use the Immunization Assessment (F-44019A) found in this booklet   

• Locate the Immunization Assessment from this booklet. 

• Answer the two questions above the table by checking either the Yes or No box; both 
questions must be answered.   

• Question 1: Collect the Child Care Immunization Records of each child 2 through 4 years of 
age. Indicate the total number of children who are 2 through 4 years of age and currently 
enrolled in your child care center. 

• Question 2: Indicate the number of children who do not have an Immunization Record on 
file at your center.   

• Question 3a: Indicate the number of children with any waivers (health, religious or personal 
conviction). Of those children with any waivers, answer the following questions: 

o Questions 3b – 3d: Indicate the number of children with each type of waiver 
o Question 3e: Indicate the number of children who have not received any 

immunizations  

• Questions 4a-4h: Review each child’s Immunization Record by vaccine type and enter the 
total number of children who have received the indicated number of dose(s) of each 
vaccine. A “dose” of a vaccine is a date listed on the immunization record. Please note that 
some shots may contain two or more vaccines in one. For example, the vaccine called 
“Pediarix” contains DTaP, Polio (IPV) and Hep B vaccine and should be counted for all three 
of those vaccines. “Pentacel” contains DTaP, Polio (IPV) and Hib vaccine.  

• The total number of children for each vaccine type should not exceed total number of 
children aged 2 through 4 years enrolled (Question 1).  

 
Step 2: Submit the Immunization Information to the Wisconsin Immunization Program and 

your local health department using the following link:  
https://redcap.wisconsin.gov/surveys/?s=8TAXW3TJRN8NDDEJ 

 
Do not paste the link into the Google search bar. Type or copy/paste the link into your address 
bar. You may also simply click the link through the web version of this booklet. The URL must 
be typed exactly as written and will not work in Internet Explorer. Please use Google Chrome 
(preferred) or Microsoft Edge. Do not paste the link into the Google search bar. Please use this 
URL only. If you are prompted for a username/password or code, you are not on the right web 
page. The assessment may also be completed using a smartphone.  
 
If you are unable to access the internet to complete the assessment online, please call the 
Immunization Program at 608-267-9959.   
 
If your child care has closed, please complete the first question of the online assessment and 
notify Child Care Licensing.  

 
If the location of your child care center has changed, please enter the updated information into 
the online assessment and notify Child care licensing of the change.  

 
The website for Child Care Licensing is: https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing  

 
Keep a copy for your records! 

https://redcap.wisconsin.gov/surveys/?s=8TAXW3TJRN8NDDEJ
https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing


DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH SERVICES 
Division of Public Health 
F-44192  (Rev. 12/20) 

 
CHILD CARE IMMUNIZATION RECORD 

STATE OF WISCONSIN 
Wis. Stat. § 252.04 

 
 

COMPLETE AND RETURN TO CHILD CARE CENTER. State law requires all children in child care centers to present evidence of immunization against certain 

diseases within 30 school days (6 calendar weeks) of admission to the child care center. These requirements can be waived only if a properly signed health, 

religious, or personal conviction waiver is filed with the child care center. See “Waivers” below. If you have any questions about immunizations, or how to 

complete this form, please contact your child’s child care provider or your local health department. 

 

                  PERSONAL DATA  PLEASE PRINT 
STEP 1 Child’s Name(Last, First, Middle Initial) 

 
 

Date of Birth (Month/Day/Year) Area Code/Telephone Number 

 Name of Parent/Guardian/Legal Custodian (Last, First, Middle Initial) 
 

Address (Street, Apartment number, City, State, Zip)  
 
  

IMMUNIZATION HISTORY 
 

STEP 2 List the MONTH, DAY AND YEAR the child received each of the following immunizations. DO NOT USE A () OR (X) except to indicate whether the 
child has had chickenpox. If you do not have an immunization record for this child, contact your doctor or local public health department to obtain the 
records. 

 
TYPE OF VACCINE 

First Dose 
Month/Day/Year 

Second Dose 
Month/Day/Year 

Third Dose 
Month/Day/Year 

 Fourth Dose 
Month/Day/Year 

Fifth Dose 
Month/Day/Year 

 Diphtheria-Tetanus-Pertussis 
(Specify DTP, DTaP, or DT) 

     

 Polio      

 Hib (Haemophilus Influenzae Type B)      

 Pneumococcal Conjugate Vaccine (PCV)      

 Hepatitis B      

 Measles-Mumps-Rubella (MMR)      

 Varicella (chickenpox) vaccine 
Vaccine is required only if the child has 
not had chickenpox disease.  

     

 
Has the child had Varicella (chickenpox) disease?  Check the appropriate box and provide the year if known. 

  Yes  year _____________________ (Vaccine is not required) 

  No or Unsure (Vaccine is required) 

 
REQUIREMENTS 

 

STEP 3 The following are the minimum required immunizations for the child’s age/grade at entry. All children within the range must meet these requirements 
at child care entrance.  Children who reach a new age/grade level while attending this child care must have their records updated with dates of 
additional required doses. 

 

 AGE LEVELS NUMBER OF DOSES 

   5 months through 15 months 2  DTP/DTaP/DT 2  Polio 2  Hib   2  PCV 2  Hep B   

 16 months through 23 months 3  DTP/DTaP/DT 2  Polio 3  Hib1 3  PCV2 2  Hep B 1  MMR3  

   2 years through 4 years 4  DTP/DTaP/DT 3  Polio 3  Hib1 3  PCV2 3  Hep B 1  MMR3 1  Varicella 

 At Kindergarten entrance 4  DTP/DTaP/DT 4 4  Polio   3  Hep B 2  MMR3 2  Varicella 

 1If the child began the Hib series at 12-14 months of age, only two doses are required. If the child received one dose of Hib at 15 months of age or 
after, no additional doses are required. Minimum of one dose must be received after 12 months of age (Note: a dose four days or less before the first 
birthday is also acceptable). 

2If the child began the PCV series at 12-23 months of age, only two doses are required. If the child received the first dose of PCV at 24 months of age 
or after, no additional doses are required. 

3MMR vaccine must have been received on or after the first birthday (Note: a dose four days or less before the first birthday is also acceptable). 
4Children entering kindergarten must have received one dose after the fourth birthday (either the third, fourth or fifth) to be compliant (Note: a dose 4 
days or less before the fourth birthday is also acceptable).  

 

 

 

 
COMPLIANCE DATA AND WAIVERS 

 

STEP 4 IF THE CHILD MEETS ALL REQUIREMENTS (sign at STEP 5 and return this form to the child care center), OR 

IF THE CHILD DOES NOT MEET ALL REQUIREMENTS (check the appropriate box below, sign and return this form to child care center). 

  Although the child has not received all required doses of vaccine for his or her age group, at least the first dose of each vaccine has been 

received.  I, understand that it is my responsibility to obtain the remaining required doses of vaccines for this child WITHIN ONE YEAR and to 
notify the child care center in writing as each dose is received. 

 

NOTE:  Failure to stay on schedule or report immunizations to the child care center may result in court action against the parents and a fine 
of $25.00 per day of violation. 
 

  For health reasons this child should not receive the following immunizations __________(List in STEP 2  any immunizations already  

        received) 
 
                                                                                        ______________________________________________________________________ 
                                                                                          Physician’s Signature Required 

  For religious reasons this child should not be immunized. (List in STEP 2 any immunizations already received) 
 

  For personal conviction reasons this child should not be immunized. (List in STEP 2 any immunizations already received):   

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
SIGNATURE 

 

STEP 5 
  To the best of my knowledge, this form is complete and accurate. 

  _________________________________________________________________________         ___________________________________ 
  SIGNATURE - Parent, Guardian or Legal Custodian                                                                         Date Signed 

 

 

 



DEPARTAMENT OF HEALTH SERVICES 
Division de of Public Health 
F-44192S (02/2023) 

REGISTRO DE INMUNIZACIONES 
PARA GUARDERÍA 

CHILD CARE IMMUNIZATION RECORD 

STATE OF WISCONSIN 
Wis. Stat. § 252.04. 

LLENE Y DEVUELVA A LA GUARDERÍA.  La ley estatal requiere que todos los niños en guarderías presenten evidencia de inmunización contra ciertas 
enfermedades dentro de los 30 días escolares (6 semanas calendario) de ser admitidos al centro de cuidado infantil. Estos requisitos sólo pueden 
eximirse si se presenta en la guardería una exención por motivos de salud, religiosos o de convicciones personales debidamente firmada. Consulte 
“Exenciones” más abajo. Si tiene alguna pregunta sobre las vacunas o sobre cómo llenar este formulario, comuníquese con la guardería de su hijo o con 
el departamento de salud local. 

 
 

PASO 1 
 
 
 
 

 
PASO 2 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
DATOS PERSONALES   ESCRIBA EN LETRA DE MOLDE 

 

Nombre del niño (apellido, nombre, inicial) Fecha de nacimiento (mes, día, año) Código de área y número de teléfono 

Nombre del padre/madre/tutor/guardián legal (apellido, 
nombre inicial del segundo nombre) 

Dirección (calle, número de apartamento ciudad, estado, código postal) 

HISTORIAL DE VACUNAS 
Indique el MES, DÍA Y AÑO en que le pusieron cada una de las siguientes vacunas al niño. Si no dispone del registro de vacunación de este niño, 
póngase en contacto con su médico o con el departamento de salud pública local para obtenerlo. 

TIPO DE VACUNA Primera dosis 
Mes/día/año 

Segunda dosis 
Mes/día/año 

Tercera dosis 
Mes/día/año 

Cuarta dosis 
Mes/día/año 

Quinta dosis 
Mes/día/año 

Difteria, tétano, tos ferina 
(especifique DTP, DTaP, o DT) 

     

Polio      

El Hib (Haemophilus influenzae tipo B)     

Vacuna antineumocócica conjugada (PCV)     

Hepatitis B     

Sarampión-Paperas-Rubéola (MMR)    

Varicela    

Historia de la varicela 
De acuerdo con el DHS 144.03(2)(g), doy fe de que este niño tiene un historial confiable de la enfermedad de la varicela y no es necesario que se le 

ponga la vacuna contra la varicela. _______________________________________________________ 

SIGNATURE – Physician/PA/APNP                          Date Signed 
 

REQUISITOS 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

DATOS DE CUMPLIMIENTO Y EXENCIONES 
PASO 4 SI EL NIÑO CUMPLE TODOS LOS REQUISITOS (firme en el PASO 5 y devuelva este formulario a la guardería) O 

SI EL NIÑO NO CUMPLE TODOS LOS REQUISITOS, (marque la casilla correspondiente a continuación, firme y devuelva este formulario a la 
guardería). 

Aunque al niño no se le han puesto todas las dosis de vacunas requeridas para su grupo de edad, al menos se le han puesto la primera dosis 
de cada vacuna. Yo, entiendo que es mi responsabilidad ponerle las dosis restantes requeridas de vacunas para este niño DENTRO DE UN 
AÑO y que debo notificar por escrito a la guardería a medida que se le ponga cada dosis. 

NOTA: Si no se cumple con el horario o no se informa sobre las vacunas a la guardería, los padres pueden ser demandado ante un 
tribunal y recibir una multa de $25 por día de infracción. 

Por razones de salud a este niño no se le pondrán las siguientes vacunas _________ (Anote en el PASO 2 las vacunas que se le hayan puesto al 
niño) 

 
 

 
 
 
 

Se requiere la firma del médico 
 

Por razones religiosas, este niño no debe ser vacunado. (Anote en el PASO 2 las vacunas que se le hayan puesto al niño)  
Por razones de convicción personal, este niño no debe ser vacunado. (Anote en el PASO 2 las vacunas que se le hayan puesto al niño) 

 

FIRMA 

 

PASO 3 

PASO 5 

Fecha de la firma 
 

Firma del padre/madre/tutor/guardián legal 

A mi leal saber y entender, este formulario está completo y es exacto. 

Las siguientes son las vacunas mínimas requeridas para la edad o grado del niño al ingresar a la escuela. Todos los niños dentro de este rango 
deben cumplir con estos requisitos al ingresar a la guardería. Los niños que alcanzan una nueva edad o nivel de grado mientras asisten a esta 
guardería deben tener sus registros actualizados con las fechas de las dosis adicionales requeridas. 

NIVELES DE EDAD NÚMERO DE DOSIS 
5 meses a 15 meses 2 DTP/DTaP/DT 2 Polio 2 Hib 2 PCV 2 Hep B    
16 meses a 23 meses 3 DTP/DTaP/DT 2 Polio 3 Hib1 3 PCV2 2 Hep B 1 MMR3  
2 a 4 años 4 DTP/DTaP/DT 3 Polio 3 Hib1 3 PCV2 3 Hep B 1 MMR3 1 Varicela 
Al entrar al kínder 4 DTP/DTaP/DT 4 4 Polio     3 Hep B 2 MMR3 2 Varicela 
1Si el niño comenzó la serie de vacunas contra el Hib a los 12-14 meses de edad, sólo se requieren dos dosis. Si al niño le pusieron una dosis de 
vacuna contra el Hib a los 15 meses o después, no se requieren dosis adicionales. Se le debe poner un mínimo de una dosis de la vacuna 
después de los 12 meses (Nota: también se acepta una dosis cuatro días o menos antes del primer cumpleaños). 

2Si el niño comenzó la serie de vacunas contra la PCV entre los 12 a los 23 meses de edad, sólo se requieren dos dosis. Si al niño le pusieron la 
primera dosis contra la PCV a los 24 meses o después, no se requieren dosis adicionales. 

3La vacuna contra la triple viral (MMR) se le debe haber puesto el día del primer cumpleaños o después (Nota: también se acepta una dosis 
cuatro días o menos antes del primer cumpleaños). 

4ª A los niños que entran al kínder se le debe haber puesto una dosis después del cuarto cumpleaños (ya sea la tercera, cuarta o quinta dosis) 
para cumplir con los requisitos (Nota: también se acepta una dosis cuatro días o menos antes del primer cumpleaños). 

 



DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH SERVICES 
Division of Public Health 
F-44001A (Rev. 12/2017) 

STATE OF WISCONSIN 
Wis. Stats. § 252.04 

LEGAL NOTICE  
Required Immunizations for Admission to Wisconsin Child Care Centers 

 

To the Parent, Guardian or Legal Custodian of  

 
The Wisconsin Student Immunization Law requires that all children in child care centers meet a minimum 
number of required immunizations. These requirements can be waived only for health, religious or personal 
conviction reasons. According to our records, your child is not compliant because either a record is not on file 
at the center or an immunization is needed (see reason for noncompliance as marked below). To remain 
compliant with the law, please provide the month, day, and year that your child received the required 
immunization (s) on the attached Child Care Immunization Record or select one of the waiver options prior 
to______________________(Date). Failure to do so may result in a fine of up to $25 per day, or possible 
exclusion from the child care center.  
 
In past years, thousands of Wisconsin children caught diseases such as measles, pertussis (whooping cough) 
and rubella, and many were left with severe disabilities. The Student Immunization Law was passed to keep 
these and other vaccine-preventable diseases from harming the health of our children. 
 

Reason for noncompliance:  

 No Record at Child Care Center 

Your child needs the following checked vaccine(s): 

DTP/DTaP/DT/Td Polio Hib PCV* 

 1st Dose  1st Dose  1st Dose  1st Dose 

 2nd Dose  2nd Dose  2nd Dose  2nd Dose 

 3rd Dose  3rd Dose  3rd Dose  3rd Dose 

 4th Dose  4th Dose   

 5th Dose    

    

Hepatitis B MMR Varicella (chickenpox)**  

 1st Dose  1st Dose  1st Dose  

 2nd Dose  2nd Dose   

 3rd Dose    
 
*  PCV means pneumococcal conjugate vaccine 
 
** If your child already had chickenpox disease, varicella vaccine is not required. Check “yes” to the chickenpox disease 
question on the attached Child Care Immunization Record and enter the date of disease if known. 

Your immediate cooperation is appreciated. 
   

SIGNATURE – Child Care Official  Date Signed 

 
 

Child Care Center:  Please be sure to attach a blank Child Care Immunization Record (F-44192).  



DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH SERVICES 
Division of Public Health  
F-44001AS (12/2017)

STATE OF WISCONSIN 
Wis. Stat. § 252.04 

AVISO LEGAL (Legal Notice) 
Inmunizaciones Obligatorias para Admisión en las Guarderías Infantiles de Wisconsin 

Al Padre, Guardián o Custodio Legal de 

La Ley de Inmunización de Estudiantes de Wisconsin exige que todos los niños que van a una guardería 
infantil tengan un número mínimo de las vacunas obligatorias. Se puede renunciar a estos requisitos sólo 
por motivos de salud, religiosos, o de creencias personales. De acuerdo con nuestros expedientes, su hijo 
no cumple con la ley porque la guardería no tiene un registro de vacunas o bien porque necesita una 
vacuna (vea abajo el motivo de no cumplimiento). Para cumplir con la ley, por favor indique en el Registro 
de Vacunas de la Guardería que incluimos, el mes, día y año en que su hijo recibió la vacuna requerida, o 
bien seleccione alguna de las opciones de renuncia, antes del   (fecha). Si no cumple 
con este requisito, podrá recibir una multa de hasta $25 diarios o su hijo puede ser excluido de la guardería 
infantil. 

En años previos, miles de niños de Wisconsin contrajeron enfermedades tales como el sarampión, tos 
ferina, y rubéola, y como consecuencia muchos de ellos resultaron con incapacidades graves. La Ley de 
Inmunización de Estudiantes fue aprobada para prevenir que estas y otras enfermedades que pueden 
prevenirse con vacunas dañen la salud de nuestros hijos. 

Razón por la cual no cumple con la ley: 
 No hay registro en la Guardería Infantil 

Su hijo/a necesita las siguentes vacunas que han sido marcadas debajo: 

DTP/DTaP/DT/Td Polio Hib PCV* 
 1ra dosis  1ra dosis  1ra dosis  1ra dosis 
 2da dosis  2da dosis  2da dosis  2da dosis 
 3ra dosis  3ra dosis  3ra dosis  3ra dosis 
 4ta dosis  4ta dosis 
 5ta dosis 

Hepatitis B MMR Varicela* 
 1ra dosis  1ra dosis  1ra dosis 
 2da dosis  2da dosis 
 3ra dosis 

*PCV means pneumococcal conjugate vaccine

**Si su niño/a ya ha tendío la varicela, la vacuna de la varicela no se requiere. Marque “Sí” a la pregunta 
que se trata de varicela en el Registro de Vacunación de la Guardería y escriba la fecha, si la sabe, de la 
enfermedad. 

Agradeceremos su cooperación inmediata. 

FIRMA – Funcionario de la guardería  Fecha firma 

Day Care Center: Please be sure to attach a blank Day Care Immunization Record (F-44192S) 



DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH SERVICES 
Division of Public Health 
F-44215  (12/2017) 

STATE OF WISCONSIN 
Wis. Stat. § 252.04 

CHILD CARE CENTER REPORT TO THE DISTRICT ATTORNEY 

Name – Child Care Center 

Street Address City 

Name – Person Completing Report Phone Number Date Completed 

The following children are not in compliance with the Student Immunization Law, ss 252.04 and, as required under the law, we are notifying your office so that 
legal action may be taken. 

Name – Child 
Date of 
Birth Name – Parent Address Phone 

Date 
Parent 
Notified 

Noncompliance 

Vaccine(s) 
Needed 

No 
Record 

Behind 
Schedule 

         

         

         

         

         

         

         

         

         

         

         

         

         

 



DEPARTMENT NAME ADDRESS CITY ZIP CODE PHONE 
Adams County Public Health Department 108 E. North St. Friendship 53934 608-339-4513 

Appleton City Health Department 100 North Appleton Avenue Appleton 54911-4799 920-832-6429 

Ashland County Hlth & Human Services 630 Sanborn Avenue Ashland 54806 715-682-7028 

Barron County Health Department 335 E. Monroe Ave., Rm 338 Barron 54812 715-537-5691 

Bayfield County Health Department 117 E. Sixth St. Washburn 54891 715-373-6109 

Brown County Health Department 610 S. Broadway St., PO Box 23600 Green Bay 54305-3600 920-448-6478 

Buffalo County Hlth & Human Serv Dept. 407 S. Second St., PO Box 517 Alma 54610-0517 608-685-6323 

Burnett County Health Department 7410 County Road K, #280 Siren 54872-9043 715-349-7600 

Calumet County Health Department 206 Court Street Chilton 53014-1198 920-849-1432 

Central Racine County Health Department 10005 Northwestern Ave, Suite A (Hwy K) Franksville 53126 262-898-4460 

Chippewa County Dept of Public Health 711 North Bridge St., Rm 121 Chippewa Falls 54729 715-726-7900 

Clark County Health Department 517 Court St., Rm 105 Neillsville 54456 715-743-5105 

Columbia County Health Department 2652 Murphy Rd., PO Box 136 Portage  53901 608-742-9227 

Crawford County Health Department 225 N. Beaumont Rd., Suite 306 Prairie du Chien 53821 608-326-0229 

Cudahy Health Department 5050 South Lake Drive Cudahy 53110 414-769-2239 

Dane County-Madison Public Health Dept 210 Martin Luther King Jr Blvd, Rm 507 Madison  53703 608-266-4821 

DePere Department of Public Health 335 S. Broadway DePere 54115-2593 920-339-2373 

Dodge County Health Department 199 County Rd DF Juneau 53039-1373 920-386-3670 

Door County Health Department 421 Nebraska Street Sturgeon Bay 54235-0670 920-746-2234 

Douglas County Health Department 1316 N. 14th St., Suite 324 Superior 54880 715-395-1304 

Dunn County Health Department 3001 US Hwy 12 East Menomonie 54751 715-231-6440 

Eau Claire City/County Health Department 720 Second Avenue Eau Claire 54703 715-839-4718 

Florence County Health Department 501 Lake Avenue, PO Box 410 Florence 54121 715-528-4837 

Fond du Lac County Health Department 160 South Macy Street, 3rd Floor Fond du Lac 54935-4241 920-929-3085 

Forest County Health Department 200 E. Madison Street Crandon 54520 715-478-3371 

Franklin Health Department 9229 West Loomis Road Franklin 53132 414-425-9101 

Grant County Health Department 111 S. Jefferson St., 2nd Floor Lancaster 53813 608-723-6416 

Green County Health Department N3150 Highway 81, Govt Svcs Bldg Monroe 53566 608-328-9390 

Green Lake County Dept of Hlth & Human Srvc 571 County Rd A, PO Box 588 Green Lake 54941-0588 920-294-4070 

Greendale Health Department 5650 Parking Street Greendale  53129 414-423-2110 

Greenfield Health Department 7325 West Forest Home Avenue Greenfield 53220 414-329-5275 

Hales Corners Health Department 5635 South New Berlin Road Hales Corners 53130 414-529-6155 

Iowa County Health Department 303 W. Chapel St., Suite 2200 Dodgeville 53533 608-930-9870 

Iron County Health Department 502 Copper Street Hurley 54534 715-561-2191 

Jackson County Hlth & Human Services 420 Hwy 54 West, PO Box 457 Black River Falls 54615 715-284-4301 

Jefferson County Health Department 1541 Annex Road Jefferson  53549 920-674-7275 

Juneau County Health Department 100 Main St, Suite 100 Mauston 53948 608-847-9373 

Kenosha County Division of Health 8600 Sheridan Rd., Suite 600 Kenosha 53143 262-605-6700 

Kewaunee County Health Department 810 Lincoln Street Kewaunee 54216 920-388-7160 

LOCAL PUBLIC HEALTH DEPARTMENT LIST 



DEPARTMENT NAME ADDRESS CITY ZIP CODE PHONE 

La Crosse County Health Department 300 North Fourth Street LaCrosse 54601-3299 608-785-9872 

Lafayette County Health Department 729 Clay Street, PO Box 118 Darlington 53530 608-776-4895 

Langlade County Health Department 1225 Langlade Road Antigo 54409 715-627-6250 

Lincoln County Health Department 607 North Sales Street Merrill 54452-1637 715-536-0307 

Madison-Dane County Public Health Dept.  210 Martin Luther King Jr Blvd, Rm 507 Madison 53703 608-266-4821 

Manitowoc County Health Department 1028 South 9th Street Manitowoc  54220-4577 920-683-4155 

Marathon County Health Department 1000 Lake View Drive, Rm 100 Wausau 54403-6797 715-261-1900 

Marinette County Health Department 2500 Hall Avenue, Suite C Marinette 54143-1604 715-732-7670 

Marquette County Health Department 428 Underwood Avenue, PO Box 181 Montello 53949-0181 608-297-3135 

Menasha City Health Department 100 W Main St, Suite 100 Menasha 54952-3190 920-967-3520 

Menominee County Human Services See Shawano County    

Milwaukee City Health Department 841 North Broadway, 3rd Floor Milwaukee 53202 414-286-3521 

Monroe County Health Department 315 W Oak St Sparta 54656 608-269-8666 

North Shore Health Department 4800 West Green Brook Drive Brown Deer 53223 414-371-2981 

Oak Creek Health Department 8040 South 6th St Oak Creek 53154 414-766-7950 

Oconto County Health Department 501 Park Avenue Oconto 54153-1612 920-834-7000 

Oneida County Health Department 100 W Keenan St, PO Box 400 Rhinelander 54501 715-369-6105 

Outagamie County Public Health Division 401 South Elm Street Appleton 54911-5985 920-832-5100 

Ozaukee County Public Health Department 121 West Main Street, PO Box 994 Port Washington 53074-0994 262-284-8170 

Pepin County Health Department 740 Seventh Avenue West, PO Box 39 Durand 54736 715-672-5961 

Pierce County Health Department 412 West Kinne, PO Box 238 Ellsworth 54011 715-273-6755 

Polk County Health Department 100 Polk County Plaza, Suite 180 Balsam Lake 54810 715-485-8500 

Portage County Health & Human Services 817 Whiting Avenue Stevens Point 54481 715-345-5350 

Price County Health Department 104 S. Eyder, Ground Floor Phillips 54555 715-339-3054 

Racine City Health Department 730 Washington Avenue Racine 53403 262-636-9201 

Richland County Health Department 221 West Seminary Street Richland Center 53581 608-647-8821 

Rock County Public Health Department 3328 North US Highway 51, PO Box 1088 Janesville 53545 608-757-5440 

Rusk County Health Department 311 Miner Avenue East, Suite C220 Ladysmith 54848 715-532-2299 

St. Croix County Dept of Hlth & Human Services 1752 Dorset Lane New Richmond 54017-2452 715-246-8372 

St. Francis Health Department 3400 E. Howard Avenue St. Francis 53235 414-481-2300 

Sauk County Public Health Department 505 Broadway Baraboo 53913-2401 608-355-3290 

Sawyer County Dept. of Hlth & Human Services 10610 Main Street, Suite 224 Hayward 54843-0730 715-634-4806 

Shawano-Menominee Counties Hlth Dept 311 North Main Street, Courthouse Rm 7 Shawano 54166-2198 715-526-4805 

Sheboygan County Human Services 1011 North Eighth Street Sheboygan 53081-4043 920-459-3207 

South Milwaukee Health Department 2424 15th Avenue South Milwaukee 53172 414-768-8055 



 
DEPARTMENT NAME ADDRESS CITY ZIP CODE PHONE 
Taylor County Health Department 224 S. Second St Medford 54451 715-748-1410 

Trempealeau County Health Department 36245 Main Street, PO Box 67 Whitehall 54773 715-538-2311 

Vernon County Health Department 318 Fairlane Dr (Co Hwy BB) PO Box 209 Viroqua 54665-0209 608-637-5251 

Vilas County Health Department 330 Court Street Eagle River 54521 715-479-3656 

Walworth County Health Department W4051 Co Rd NN, PO Box 1005 Elkhorn 53121 262-741-3140 

Washburn County Health Department 222 Oak Street Spooner 54801 715-635-4400 

Washington County Health Department 333 East Washington St., Suite 1100 West Bend 53095 262-335-4462 

City of Watertown Dept. of Public Health 515 South First Street Watertown 53094 920-262-8090 

Waukesha County Health Department 514 Riverview Avenue Waukesha 53188 262-896-8430 

Waupaca County Human Services Division 811 Harding Street Waupaca 54981-2080 715-258-6323 

Waushara County Health Department 230 West Park St, PO Box 837 Wautoma 54982-0837 920-787-6590 

Wauwatosa Health Department 7725 West North Avenue Wauwatosa 53154-2948 414-479-8936 

West Allis Health Department 7120 West National Avenue West Allis 53214 414-302-8600 

Winnebago County Health Department  112 Otter Avenue, PO Box 2808 Oshkosh 54903-2808 920-232-3000 

Wood County Health Department 111 W Jackson St Wisconsin Rapids 54495 715-421-8911 

 



CHILD CARE CENTER IMMUNIZATION ASSESSMENT RESULTS
WISCONSIN | 2022-2023

To assess the immunization status of child care center attendees in Wisconsin during 2022-2023, licensed child 
care centers in Wisconsin were emailed the Wisconsin Child Care Center Immunization Assessment booklet in 
April 2023 and asked to respond to the assessment online. The assessment collected the number of children 
ages 2 through 4 years attending the child care center and the number of these attendees in compliance with 
the Wisconsin immunization law. The results of the assessment are below.

Summary
 1,736 child care centers reported immunization compliance results for a total of 37,587 children ages 2 

through 4 years.
 The percent of child care centers that submitted a report decreased from 56.7% in 2021-22  to 47.3% in 

2022-23 (336 fewer centers reported this year than last).
 The median number of attendees ages 2 through 4 years was 13 children (range: 1 to 270 children).
 There were some modest increases in vaccination rates in 2022-23; however, fewer centers reported. These 

rates remain higher than statewide rates.

P-01145 (Rev. 07/2019)

P-01445 (09/2023) Wisconsin Department of Health Services | Wisconsin Immunization Program

Child care immunization assessment results for attendees ages 2 through 4:

2016-
17

2017-
18

2018-
19

2019-
20

2020-
21

2021-
22

2022-
23

Change 
from 

previous 
year

Polio (3+ doses) 92.5% 93.3% 91.4% 93.3% 92.3% 91.1% 91.9% 0.8%

DTaP (4+ doses) 91.2% 91.5% 89.9% 91.5% 90.0% 89.8% 89.8% 0.0%

MMR (1 dose) 93.5% 93.7% 91.9% 94.3% 93.5% 92.5% 93.3% 0.8%

Hib (3+ doses) 92.2% 92.7% 91.0% 92.9% 91.7% 90.6% 91.2% 0.7%

PCV (3+ doses) 93.0% 93.1% 91.5% 94.0% 92.4% 91.7% 92.0% 0.3%

Hep B (3+ doses)  92.2% 93.0% 90.6% 93.3% 91.7% 91.2% 91.6% 0.4%

Varicella (1 dose) 92.3% 92.8% 91.1% 93.0% 92.4% 91.9% 92.5% 0.6%

No Record 3.9% 3.2% 4.1% 2.7% 3.2% 3.4% 2.9% -0.5%

Waived All Vaccines 1.2% 1.3% 1.3% 1.6% 1.5% 1.6% 1.5% -0.1%
Waived One or More 
Vaccines 2.5% 2.6% 2.7% 3.4% 2.4% 2.8% 3.0% 0.2%

Health Waiver 0.1% 0.2% 0.2% 0.7% 0.4% 0.2% 0.2% 0.0%

Religious Waiver 0.3% 0.3% 0.3% 0.4% 0.7% 0.5% 0.6% 0.1%

Personal Conviction  
Waiver

2.0% 2.1% 2.1% 2.2% 2.0% 2.1% 2.2% 0.1%



 
 

WISCONSIN STATUTES 
CHAPTER 252 

COMMUNICABLE DISEASES 
 

 

252.04 Immunization program. (1) The department shall carry out a statewide immunization 
program to eliminate mumps, measles, rubella (German measles), diphtheria, pertussis (whooping 
cough), poliomyelitis and other diseases that the department specifies by rule, and to protect against 
tetanus. Any person who immunizes an individual under this section shall maintain records identifying 
the manufacturer and lot number of the vaccine used, the date of immunization and the name and title 
of the person who immunized the individual. These records shall be available to the individual or, if 
the individual is a minor, to his or her parent, guardian or legal custodian upon request. 
(2) Any student admitted to any elementary, middle, junior, or senior high school or into any child 
care center or nursery school shall, within 30 school days after the date on which the student is 
admitted, present written evidence to the school, child care center, or nursery school of having 
completed the first immunization for each vaccine required for the student’s grade and being on 
schedule for the remainder of the basic and recall (booster) immunization series for mumps, measles, 
rubella (German measles), diphtheria, pertussis (whooping cough), poliomyelitis, tetanus, and other 
diseases that the department specifies by rule or shall present a written waiver under sub. (3). 
(3) The immunization requirement is waived if the student, if an adult, or the student’s parent, 
guardian, or legal custodian submits a written statement to the school, child care center, or nursery 
school objecting to the immunization for reasons of health, religion, or personal conviction. At the 
time any school, child care center, or nursery school notifies a student, parent, guardian, or legal 
custodian of the immunization requirements, it shall inform the person in writing of the person’s right 
to a waiver under this subsection. 
(4) The student, if an adult, or the student’s parent, guardian, or legal custodian shall keep the school, 
child care center, or nursery school informed of the student’s compliance with the immunization 
schedule. 
(5) (a) By the 15th and the 25th school day after the date on which the student is admitted to a school, 
child care center, or nursery school, the school, child care center, or nursery school shall notify in 
writing any adult student or the parent, guardian, or legal custodian of any minor student who has not 
met the immunization or waiver requirements of this section. The notices shall cite the terms of those 
requirements and shall state that court action and forfeiture penalty could result due to noncompliance. 
The notices shall also explain the reasons for the immunization requirements and include information 
on how and where to obtain the required immunizations.  
     (b) 1. A school, child care center, or nursery school may exclude from the school, child care center, 
or nursery school any student who fails to satisfy the requirements of sub. (2). 
          2. Beginning on July 1, 1993, if the department determines that fewer than 98% of the students 
in a child care center, nursery school, or school district who are subject to the requirements of sub. (2) 
have complied with sub. (2), the child care center or nursery school shall exclude any child who fails 
to satisfy the requirements of sub. (2) and the school district shall exclude any student enrolled in 
grades kindergarten to 6 who fails to satisfy the requirements of sub. (2). 
          3. Beginning on July 1, 1995, if the department determines that fewer than 99% of the students 
in a child care center, nursery school, or school district who are subject to the requirements of sub. (2) 
have complied with sub. (2), the child care center or nursery school shall exclude any child who fails 
to satisfy the requirements of sub. (2) and the school district shall exclude any student enrolled in 
grades kindergarten to 6 who fails to satisfy the requirements of sub. (2). 
          4. No student may be excluded from public school under this paragraph for more than 10 
consecutive school days unless, prior to the 11th consecutive school day of exclusion, the school board 
provides the student and the student’s parent, guardian or legal custodian with an additional notice, a 
hearing and the opportunity to appeal the exclusion, as provided under s. 120.13 (1) (c) 3. 
 
 



 
 
(6) The school, child care center, or nursery school shall notify the district attorney of the county in 
which the student resides of any minor student who fails to present written evidence of completed 
immunizations or a written waiver under sub. (3) within 60 school days after being admitted to the 
school, child care center, or nursery school. The district attorney shall petition the court exercising 
jurisdiction under chs. 48 and 938 for an order directing that the student be in compliance with the 
requirements of this section. If the court grants the petition, the court may specify the date by which a 
written waiver shall be submitted under sub. (3) or may specify the terms of the immunization 
schedule. The court may require an adult student or the parent, guardian, or legal custodian of a minor 
student who refuses to submit a written waiver by the specified date or meet the terms of the 
immunization schedule to forfeit not more than $25 per day of violation. 
(7) If an emergency arises, consisting of a substantial outbreak as determined by the department by 
rule of one of the diseases specified in sub. (2) at a school or in the municipality in which the school is 
located, the department may order the school to exclude students who are not immunized until the 
outbreak subsides. 
(8) The department shall provide the vaccines without charge, if federal or state funds are available for 
the vaccines, upon request of a school district or a local health department. The department shall 
provide the necessary professional consultant services to carry out an immunization program, under 
the requirements of sub. (9), in the jurisdiction of the requesting local health department. Persons 
immunized may not be charged for vaccines furnished by the department. 
(9) (a) An immunization program under sub. (8) shall be supervised by a physician, selected by the 
school district or local health department, who shall issue written orders for the administration of 
immunizations that are in accordance with written protocols issued by the department. 
      (b) If the physician under par. (a) is not an employee of the county, city, village or school district, 
receives no compensation for his or her services under par. (a) and acts under par. (a) in accordance 
with written protocols issued by the department, he or she is a state agent of the department for the 
purposes of ss. 165.25 (6), 893.82 (3) and 895.46. 
      (c) The department may disapprove the selection made under par. (a) or may require the removal 
of a physician selected. 
(9m) A pharmacist or pharmacy that administers a vaccine under this section to a person 6 to 18 years 
of age shall update the Wisconsin Immunization Registry established by the department within 7 days 
of administering the vaccine. 
(10) The department shall, by rule, prescribe the mechanisms for implementing and monitoring 
compliance with this section. The department shall prescribe, by rule, the form that any person 
immunizing a student shall provide to the student under sub. (1). 
(11) Annually, by July 1, the department shall submit a report to the legislature under s. 13.172 (3) on 
the success of the statewide immunization program under this section. 
 
History: 1993 a. 27 ss. 181, 470; 1995 a. 32, 77, 222; 2009 a. 185; 2015 a. 55. 
Cross−reference: See also chs. DHS 144 and 146, Wis. adm. code. 
 
 
 
 
Updated 2013−14 Wis. Stats. Published and certified under s. 35.18. November 6, 2015. 
 
  



Chapter 49 

Public Assistance and Children and Family Services 

49.155 Wisconsin Shares; child care subsidy. 

(1m) ELIGIBILITY. Except as provided in sub. (3g), the department shall determine, contract with a 
county department or agency to determine, or contract with a county department or agency to share 
determination of the eligibility of individuals residing in a particular geographic region or who are 
members of a particular Indian tribal unit for child care subsidies under this section. Under this section, 
and subject to sub. (2), an individual may receive a subsidy for child care for a child who has not attained 
the age of 13 or, if the child is disabled, who has not attained the age of 19, if the individual meets all of 
the following conditions: 

(br) The child is immunized as required under s. 252.04. Notwithstanding s. 252.04 (3), for purposes of 
this paragraph the immunization requirement may only be waived for reasons of health or religion. 

Updated 2015−16 Wis. Stats. Published and certified under s. 35.18. January 1, 2018. 
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Chapter DHS 144

IMMUNIZATION OF STUDENTS

DHS 144.01 Introduction.
DHS 144.02 Definitions.
DHS 144.03 Minimum immunization requirements.
DHS 144.04 Waiver for health reasons.
DHS 144.05 Waiver for reason of religious or personal conviction.

DHS 144.06 Responsibilities of parents and adult students.
DHS 144.07 Responsibilities of schools and child care centers.
DHS 144.08 Responsibilities of local health departments.
DHS 144.09 Responsibilities of the department.

Note:  Chapter H 44 as it existed on June 30, 1981, was repealed and a new chapter
HSS 144 was created, effective July 1, 1981.  Chapter HSS 144 was renumbered
chapter HFS 144 under s. 13.93 (2m) (b) 1., Stats., and corrections made under s.
13.93 (2m) (b) 1., 6. and 7., Stats., Register, June, 1997, No. 498.  Chapter HFS 144
was renumbered chapter DHS 144 under s. 13.92 (4) (b) 1., Stats., and corrections
made under s. 13.92 (4) (b) 7., Stats., Register January 2009 No. 637.

DHS 144.01 Introduction.  (1) PURPOSE AND AUTHORITY.

This rule implements s. 252.04, Stats., which requires the depart-
ment to carry out a statewide immunization program to eliminate,
immunize, and protect against certain diseases specified in statute
or by department rule.  This chapter addresses immunization
requirements for vaccine−preventable diseases, by students
admitted into schools or children admitted into child care settings.

(2) RELATIONSHIP TO INFANT AND PRESCHOOL IMMUNIZATION

SCHEDULES.  The emphasis placed in this chapter on meeting mini-
mum immunization requirements upon entry to Wisconsin
schools at any grade level or to a child care center complements
efforts by the department to promote early immunization of
infants and preschoolers according to accepted immunization
schedules.

History:  Cr. Register, June, 1981, No. 306, eff. 7−1−81; am. (1), Register, June,
1988, No. 390, eff. 7−1−88; correction in (1) made under s. 13.93 (2m) (b) 7., Stats.,
Register, August, 1995, No. 476; am. (1), Register, June, 1997, No. 498, eff. 7−1−97;
am. (1), Register, May, 2001, No. 545, eff. 6−1−01; CR 07−077: am. (1) Register Feb-
ruary 2008 No. 626, eff. 3−1−08; CR 19−079: r. and recr. (1), am. (2) Register January
2023 No. 805, eff. 2−1−23.

DHS 144.02 Definitions.  (1) “Advanced practice nurse
prescriber” has the meaning given in s. N 8.02 (2).

(2) “Child care center” has the meaning given in s. 49.136 (1)
(ad), Stats.

(3) “Department” means the Wisconsin department of health
services, unless otherwise specified.

(4) “DT” means pediatric diphtheria and tetanus vaccine.

(5) “DTaP” means pediatric diphtheria, tetanus, and acellular
pertussis vaccine.

(6) “DTP” means pediatric diphtheria, tetanus, and pertussis
vaccine.

(7) “Hib” means Haemophilus influenzae type b vaccine.

(8) “Hep B” means hepatitis B vaccine.

(9) “Immunization” means the process of inducing immunity
artificially by receiving an immunobiologic.

(10) “Local health department” has the meaning given in s.
250.01 (4), Stats.

(11) “Mening” means a meningococcal vaccine containing, at
a minimum, serogroups A, C, W, and Y.

(12) “MMR” means measles, mumps, and rubella vaccine
received in combination or as separate vaccines.

(13) “Municipality” means any town, village, city, or county.

(14) “Parent” means the parent, parents, guardian, or legal
custodian of any minor student.

(15) “PCV” means pneumococcal conjugate vaccine.

(16) “Physician” means an individual possessing the degree
of doctor of medicine or doctor of osteopathy or an equivalent
degree as determined by the medical examining board under s.

448.05 (2), Stats., and holding a license granted by the medical
examining board under s. 448.06, Stats.

(17) “Physician assistant” has the meaning given in s. 448.971
(2), Stats.

(18) “School” means any public or private elementary, mid-
dle, junior or senior high school, which provides educational
instruction to students in any grade kindergarten through 12, or in
an ungraded educational setting, or to preschool children enrolled
in early childhood programs.

(18m) “School day,” in reference to schools, has the meaning
prescribed in s. 115.01 (10), Stats. “School day,” in reference to
child care centers, means any day that the center is open and caring
for children.

(19) “Student” means any individual enrolled in or attending
a school or child care center.

(20) “Subsided” in reference to a substantial outbreak means
passage of 2 incubation periods for the disease causing the out-
break without additional cases, unless a shorter period of time is
judged adequate by the department.

(21) “Substantial outbreak” means occurrence of any of the
following diseases at the threshold determined by the department
using epidemiological factors such as time and place:

(a)  Measles.

(b)  Mumps.

(c)  Rubella.

(d)  Polio.

(e)  Pertussis.

(f)  Diphtheria.

(g)  Haemophilus influenzae type b.

(h)  Varicella.

(i)  Meningococcal disease.
Note:  On March 9, 2023, the Joint Committee for the Review of Administrative

Rules (JCRAR) adopted a motion under s. 227.26 (2) (d), Stats., that suspended s.
DHS 144.02 (21) (h) and (i).  Pursuant to s. 227.26 (2) (f), Stats., JCRAR took execu-
tive action to introduce 2023 LRB−2600/1 and LRB−2630/1 in the Senate and
Assembly, in support of the JCRAR suspension.

(22) “Td” means adolescent and adult tetanus and diphtheria
vaccine.

(23) “Tdap” means adolescent and adult tetanus, diphtheria
and acellular pertussis vaccine.

(24) “Vaccine provider” means a health care facility, as
defined in s. 155.01 (6), Stats., which administers vaccines, or a
local health department, or a physician’s office which administers
vaccines.

(25) “Var” means varicella vaccine.
Note:  Varicella is commonly known as chickenpox.

(26) “Written evidence of immunization” means a paper or an
electronic record, which at a minimum indicates the date that each
required dose of vaccine was administered to a student or the
results of a laboratory test indicating immunity to the disease.  Stu-
dents who have not previously attended a Wisconsin school must
provide the month, day, and year for each required dose of vac-
cine.

History:  Cr. Register, June, 1981, No. 306, eff. 7−1−81; r. and recr. (12) (b), Regis-
ter, June, 1988, No. 390, eff. 7−1−88; correction in (12) made under s. 13.93 (2m) (b)
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7., Stats., Register, August, 1995, No. 476; am. (3), cr. (3g), (3m), (3r), (4m) and (13),
r. and recr. (4), (6), (7) and (12), renum. (13) to be (14), Register, June, 1997, No. 498,
eff. 7−1−97; cr. (13m), Register, May, 2001, No. 545, eff. 6−1−01; CR 07−077: am.
(3) and (14), cr. (6m) Register February 2008 No. 626, eff. 3−1−08; correction in (2)
made under s. 13.92 (4) (b) 6., Stats., Register January 2009 No. 637; CR 19−079:
r. and recr. Register January 2023 No. 805, eff. 2−1−23; correction in (17) made under
s. 13.92 (4) (b) 7., Stats., correction in and numbering of (18m) made under s. 13.92
(4) (b) 1. and 35.17, Stats., Register January 2023 No. 805.

DHS 144.03 Minimum immunization requirements.
(1) INDIVIDUALS INCLUDED.  The minimum immunization
requirements authorized by s. 252.04, Stats., and required under
this chapter, apply to any student admitted to a Wisconsin elemen-
tary, middle, junior or senior high school, or to a Wisconsin child
care center.

(2) REQUIREMENTS FOR THE 2021−2022 SCHOOL YEAR AND FOR

SCHOOL YEARS FOLLOWING THE 2021−2022 SCHOOL YEAR.  (a)  Table
DHS 144.03−A, as qualified by pars. (b) to (k), lists the number
of doses of each required vaccine that each student in the
2021−2022 school year and following school years shall have
received since birth for the age or grade of the student.  These com-
prise the minimum immunizations required under s. 252.04 (2),
Stats.  They do not, however, represent all the recommended
immunizations according to currently accepted immunization
schedules.

Note:  CR 19−079 did not take effect until February 1, 2023, and the rule was there-
fore not in effect for the 2021−22 or 2022−23 school years.

(b)  Immunization against measles, mumps, and rubella shall
be received no sooner than 4 days before the student’s first
birthday.  A second dose of MMR shall be received no sooner than
4 weeks after the first dose.

Table 144.03−A

Required Immunizations for the 2021−2022 School Year 

and the Following School Years

Age/Grade Required Immunizations (Number of Doses)

5 months through

15 months
2 DTP/DTaP/DT 2 Polio 2 Hep B 2 Hib 2 PCV

16 months

through 23

months
3 DTP/DTaP/DT 2 Polio 1 MMR 2 Hep B 3 Hib 3 PCV

2 years through 4

years
4 DTP/DTaP/DT 3 Polio 1 MMR 1 Var 3 Hep B 3 Hib 3 PCV

Kindergarten
through grade 6

4 DTP/DTaP/DT
4 Polio 2 MMR 2 Var 3 Hep B

Grade 7 through

grade 11
4 DTP/DTaP/DT 1 Tdap 4 Polio 2 MMR 2 Var 3 Hep B   1 Mening

Grade 12 4 DTP/DTaP/DT 1 Tdap 4 Polio 2 MMR 2 Var 3 Hep B 2 Mening

Note:  On March 9, 2023, the Joint Committee for the Review of Administrative Rules (JCRAR) adopted a motion under s. 227.26 (2) (d), Stats., that partially suspended
s. Table DHS 144.03−A.  The suspended parts of the table (“1 Mening” and “2 Mening”) are shown above with striking.  Pursuant to s. 227.26 (2) (f), Stats., JCRAR took
executive action to introduce 2023 LRB−2600/1 and LRB−2630/1 in the Senate and Assembly, in support of the JCRAR suspension.

Note:  CR 19−079 did not take effect until February 1, 2023, and the rule was there-
fore not in effect for the 2021−22 or 2022−23 school years.

(c)  The fourth dose of polio vaccine shall be received no
sooner than 4 days before the student’s fourth birthday.  A student
receiving a third dose of polio vaccine after the student’s fourth
birthday is not required to receive additional doses.  No further
doses of polio vaccine are required if the student has not met mini-
mum polio vaccine requirements by the eighteenth birthday.

(d)  The fourth or fifth dose of DTP/DT/DTaP/Td/Tdap shall
be received no sooner than 4 days before the student’s fourth
birthday.  Students receiving a third dose of DTP/DT/DTaP/Td/
Tdap after the fourth birthday are not required to receive addi-
tional doses.

(e)  For students age 5 years or older who attend a school that
does not use grades, the immunization requirements are those for
the grade which would normally correspond to the individual’s
age.  Immunizations are required for all students age 19 years or
older, as prescribed for Grade 12 in table DHS 144.03−A.

(f)  Students who begin the Hib series at 12 to 14 months of age
are only required to receive 2 doses of Hib, at least 2 months apart.
Students who receive 1 dose of Hib 4 days before 15 months of
age, or after, are not required to receive additional doses of Hib.

(g)  The first dose of Var shall be received no sooner than 4 days
before the first birthday.  A second dose of Var shall be received

no sooner than 4 weeks after the first dose.  Students who have a
reliable history of varicella disease are not required to receive Var.
A physician, physician assistant, or an advanced practice nurse
prescriber, must document a reliable history of varicella disease
by indicating on the department’s student immunization record
form that the student has had varicella disease.

Note:  On March 9, 2023, the Joint Committee for the Review of Administrative
Rules (JCRAR) adopted a motion under s. 227.26 (2) (d), Stats., that suspended s.
DHS 144.03 (2) (g) in part as shown below.  Pursuant to s. 227.26 (2) (f), Stats.,
JCRAR took executive action to introduce 2023 LRB−2600/1 and LRB−2630/1 in
the Senate and Assembly, in support of the JCRAR suspension.

ATCP 144.03 (2) (g)  The first dose of Var shall be received no sooner than 4 days

before the first birthday.  A second dose of Var shall be received no sooner than 4

weeks after the first dose.  Students who have a reliable history of varicella disease

are not required to receive Var.  A physician, physician assistant, or an advanced prac-

tice nurse prescriber, must document a reliable history of varicella disease by indicat-

ing on the department’s student immunization record form that the student has had

varicella disease.

Note:  The student immunization record form (DHS Form 04020L) is available by
accessing: https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/library/F−04020L.htm.

(h)  Students between the ages of 11 and 15 years who receive
2 doses of a 2 dose formulation of Hep B are not required to
receive a third dose of Hep B.

(i)  Students who begin the PCV series at 12 to 23 months of
age are only required to receive 2 doses of PCV at least 2 months
apart.  Students who receive their first dose of PCV 4 days before
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their second birthday or after are not required to receive additional
PCV doses.

(j)  Students who receive a dose of Td or Tdap within 5 years
of entering a grade for which Tdap is required are not required to
receive additional doses of Tdap.

(k)  A 2nd dose of mening shall be received between the ages
of 16 and 18 years to students who received a first dose of mening
between the ages of 11 and 15 years.  A second dose is not required
for students who received their first dose of mening at age 16 years
or older.

Note:  On March 9, 2023, the Joint Committee for the Review of Administrative
Rules (JCRAR) adopted a motion under s. 227.26 (2) (d), Stats., that suspended s.
DHS 144.03 (2) (k).  Pursuant to s. 227.26 (2) (f), Stats., JCRAR took executive action
to introduce 2023 LRB−2600/1 and LRB−2630/1 in the Senate and Assembly, in sup-
port of the JCRAR suspension.

(4) FIRST DEADLINE.  Within 30 school days after having been
admitted to a school or child care center, each student who has not
filed a waiver form shall submit written evidence of having com-
pleted at least the first dose of each vaccine required for that stu-
dent’s age or grade, as outlined in Table DHS 144.03−A.

(5) SECOND DEADLINE.  Within 90 school days after having
been admitted to a school or child care center, each student who
has not filed a waiver form shall submit written evidence of having
received the second dose of each vaccine required for that stu-
dent’s age or grade, as outlined in Table DHS 144.03−A.

(6) FINAL DEADLINE.  Within 30 school days after having been
admitted to a school or child care center for the following school
year, each student who has not filed a waiver form shall submit
written evidence of having received the third and, if required, the
fourth dose of both DTP/DTaP/DT/Td/Tdap and polio vaccines
and the final dose of Hep B as required under sub. (2) and, for stu-
dents in child care centers, the final dose of Hib vaccine, if a dose
has not been received at or after 15 months of age.

(7) RECORDS OF VACCINATION.  Any person who immunizes a
student under s. 252.04, Stats., shall maintain records identifying
the manufacturer and lot number of the vaccine used, the date of
immunization and the name and title of the person who immu-
nized the student.

(10) RELEASE OF IMMUNIZATION INFORMATION.  (a)  Between
vaccine providers and schools or child care centers.  Vaccine
providers shall disclose a student’s immunization information,
including the student’s name, date of birth, gender, and the day,
month, and year the vaccine was administered, and the name of
vaccine administered, to a school or child care center upon written
or verbal request from the school or child care center.  Written or
verbal permission from a student or parent is not required to
release this information to a school or child care center.

(b)  Among vaccine providers.  Immunization information,
including the student’s name, date of birth and gender and the day,
month, year and name of vaccine administered, shall be provided
by one vaccine provider to another without written or verbal per-
mission from the student or the parent.

History:  Cr. Register, June, 1981, No. 306, eff. 7−1−81; r. and recr. (2) and (3),
am. (4) to (6), Register, June, 1988, No. 390, eff. 7−1−88; am. (2) (a) to (d), (3) (a)
and (b), r. (2) (e), Register, January, 1989, No. 397, eff. 2−1−89; am. (2) (a), (4) and
(5), r. and recr. (3), tables 144.03−A and B, Register, July, 1990, No. 415, eff. 8−1−90;
corrections made under s. 13.93 (2m) (b) 7., Stats., Register, August, 1995, No. 476;
r. and recr. (2) (a), Table 144.03−A and (3), am. (2) (c) and (4) to (7), cr. (2) (e) and
(10), r. Table 144.03−B, Register, June, 1997, No. 498, eff. 7−1−97; r. and recr. (2)
(a) and Table 144.03−A, cr. (2) (f), (g) and (3m), am. (3) (a) and (6), Register, May,
2001, No. 545, eff. 6−1−01; CR 03−033: am. (2) (b), (c), (e) and Table 144.03−A Reg-
ister December 2003 No. 576, eff. 1−1−04; CR 07−077: r. and recr. (2) (a), (f), (3),
(3m) and Table−A, cr. (2) (h) and (i), am. (10) (a) and (b) Register February 2008 No.
626, eff. 3−1−08; CR 19−079: am. (1), (2) (title), (a), (b), r. and recr. Table 144.03−A,
(2) (c) to (i), cr. (2) (j), (k), r. (3), (3m), am. (4) to (6), (10) (a) Register January 2023
No. 805, eff. 2−1−23; correction in (6) made under s. 13.92 (4) (b) 7., Stats., Register
January 2023 No. 805.

DHS 144.04 Waiver for health reasons.  Upon certifi-
cation by a physician that an immunization required under s.
252.04, Stats., is or may be harmful to the health of a student, the
requirements for that immunization shall be waived by the depart-
ment.  Written evidence of any required immunization which the

student has previously received shall be submitted to the school
or child care center with the waiver form.

History:  Cr. Register, June, 1981, No. 306, eff. 7−1−81; correction made under
s. 13.93 (2m) (b) 7., Stats., Register, August, 1995, No. 476; CR 19−079: am. Register
January 2023 No. 805, eff. 2−1−23.

DHS 144.05 Waiver for reason of religious or per-
sonal conviction.  Immunization requirements under s. 252.04,
Stats., shall be waived by the department upon presentation of a
signed statement by the parent of a minor student or by the adult
student which declares an objection to immunization on religious
or personal conviction grounds.  Written evidence of any required
immunization which the student has previously received shall be
submitted to the school or child care center with the waiver form.

History:  Cr. Register, June, 1981, No. 306, eff. 7−1−81; correction made under
s. 13.93 (2m) (b) 7., Stats., Register, August, 1995, No. 476; am. Register, June, 1997,
No. 498, eff. 7−1−97; CR 19−079: am. Register January 2023 No. 805, eff. 2−1−23.

DHS 144.06 Responsibilities of parents and adult
students.  The parent of any minor student, or the adult student,
shall secure the immunizations required under s. 252.04, Stats.,
from available health care sources such as physicians’ offices,
hospitals or local health departments, or shall submit the waiver
form.

History:  Cr. Register, June, 1981, No. 306, eff. 7−1−81; correction made under
s. 13.93 (2m) (b) 7., Stats., Register, August, 1995, No. 476; am. Register, June, 1997,
No. 498, eff. 7−1−97; CR 19−079: am. Register January 2023 No. 805, eff. 2−1−23.

DHS 144.07 Responsibilities of schools and child
care centers.  (1) The responsibilities of schools under these
rules shall be those of the local school board and the school admin-
istrator.  The licensee for each child care center shall be responsi-
ble for compliance with these rules.  The school or child care cen-
ter shall assure compliance with s. 252.04 (2), Stats.

(1m) By the 15th school day after a student is admitted to a
school or child care center and again by the 25th school day after
a student is admitted to a school or child care center, the school or
child care center shall notify the adult student or the parent of any
minor student who has not submitted either written evidence of
immunization or a waiver form.  Notification shall include
instructions for complying with the requirements of s. 252.04 (2),
Stats., including a list of missing immunizations, the availability
of waivers for reasons of health, religion, or personal conviction,
and an explanation of the penalty for noncompliance.

(2) For any student who has received the first dose of each
immunization required for that student’s age or grade under s.
DHS 144.03, but who has not received all of the required doses,
the school shall obtain written evidence that the student has
received the required subsequent doses of immunization as they
are administered, but no later than the deadlines described in s.
DHS 144.03.

(3) If any minor student for whom a waiver form is not filed
fails to comply with the immunization requirements described in
s. DHS 144.03 by the date of admission to the school or child care
center, the school or child care center may, within 60 school days
of that failure to comply, notify the district attorney in writing,
with the notice to include the student’s name and the name and
address of the student’s parent, and request the district attorney to
seek a court order under s. 48.13 (13), Stats.  The school or child
care center may keep the district attorney apprised of the subse-
quent compliance of a student initially reported to the district
attorney.

(4) (a)  The school and the child care center shall report to both
the local health department and the department the degree of com-
pliance with s. 252.04, Stats., and this chapter by students in that
school or child care center.

(b)  These reports shall be in a format prescribed by the depart-
ment and shall be made by schools within 40 school days after the
beginning of the term and by child care centers at intervals pre-
scribed by the department.  Updated reports shall be filed by the
school on students who are in the process of being immunized.
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These updated reports shall be filed within 10 school days after the
deadlines listed in s. DHS 144.03.

(5) The school and the child care center shall maintain on file
the immunization history for each student and any waiver form
submitted.  Immunization histories shall be updated with informa-
tion supplied by the local health department, parents, or private
physicians.

(6) The school or child care center shall maintain a current ros-
ter listing the name and immunization history of each student who
does not meet all immunization requirements for that student’s
grade or age.

(7) The immunization record of any new student who trans-
fers from one school or child care center to another shall be for-
warded to the new school or child care center within 10 school
days of the request for record transfer.  The records of a child care
student shall be transferred to a school if requested by either the
admitting school or the parent.

(8) All suspected cases of diseases covered by s. 252.04 (2),
Stats., or this chapter which occur among students or staff shall be
reported immediately by telephone to the local health department.

(9) If one of the diseases covered by s. 252.04 (2), Stats., or
this chapter occurs in a student or staff member, the school or child
care center shall assist the local health department and the depart-
ment in immediately identifying any unimmunized students, noti-
fying their parents of the possible exposure, and facilitating the
disease control activities.

(10) If a substantial outbreak as defined in s. DHS 144.02 (12)
occurs in a school or child care center, or in the municipality in
which a school or child care center is located, the school or child
care center shall exclude students who have not received all
required immunizations against the disease, including students in
all grades who have not had 2 doses of measles vaccine, when it
is an outbreak of measles that is occurring, when ordered to do so
by the department.  The exclusion shall last until the student is
immunized or until the department determines that the outbreak
has subsided.

History:  Cr. Register, June, 1981, No. 306, eff. 7−1−81; am. (10), Register, July,
1990, No. 415, eff. 8−1−90; corrections made under s. 13.93 (2m) (b) 7., Stats., Regis-
ter, August, 1995, No. 476; renum. (intro.) and (1) to be (1) and (1m) and am. (1m),
am. (3), (4) (intro.), (a), (5) and (7) to (9), Register, June, 1997, No. 498, eff. 7−1−97;
CR 19−079: am. (title), (1), (1m), (3), r(4) (a) (intro.), renum. (4) (a) 1. to (4) (a) and
am., r. (4) (a) 2., am. (4) (b), (5) to (7), (9), (10) Register January 2023 No. 805, eff.
2−1−23.

DHS 144.08 Responsibilities of local health depart-
ments.  (1) Each local health department shall make available
the immunizations required under s. 252.04 (2), Stats., insofar as
the vaccine is available without charge from the department under

ch. DHS 146.  Vaccines made available free from the department
under ch. DHS 146 shall be administered without charge for the
cost of the biologic.  By mutual agreement, responsibility for mak-
ing the needed immunizations available may be transferred from
the local health department to a school or child care center.

(2) By November 15 of each year, each local health depart-
ment shall report to the department statistical information con-
cerning the degree of compliance with s. 252.04, Stats., of stu-
dents within its service area.  These reports shall be on a form
prescribed by the department.

(3) The local health department shall assist the department in
informing schools and child care centers of the provisions of s.
252.04, Stats., and this chapter.

History:  Cr. Register, June, 1981, No. 306, eff. 7−1−81; corrections made under
s. 13.93 (2m) (b) 7., Stats., Register, August, 1995, No. 476; am. Register, June, 1997,
No. 498, eff. 7−1−97; corrections in (1) made under s. 13.92 (4) (b) 7., Stats., Register
January 2009 No. 637; CR 19−079: am. (1), (3) Register January 2023 No. 805, eff.
2−1−23.

DHS 144.09 Responsibilities of the department.
(1) (a)  The department, in cooperation with local boards of
health and health officers, local school boards and school and
child care center administrators and other agencies, as appropri-
ate, shall provide guidance to parents, physicians, schools, day
care centers, and local health departments in understanding the
minimum immunization requirements under s. 252.04, Stats., and
this chapter, the reasons behind their establishment and the
process for implementing them.

(b)  The department shall undertake a public education cam-
paign to inform parents of students about requirements and rights
under s. 252.04, Stats., and this chapter.

(c)  The department shall prepare the reporting and waiver
forms required under this chapter, and shall make copies of those
forms available without charge.

Note:  Contact the Wisconsin Immunization Program at 608-267-9959 for copies
of required reporting and waiver forms.

(d)  The department may temporarily suspend an immunization
requirement if the department determines that the supply of a nec-
essary vaccine is inadequate.

(2) The department shall maintain a surveillance system
designed to detect occurrences of vaccine−preventable diseases
listed in s. 252.04 (2), Stats., and this chapter and shall investigate
outbreaks of these diseases to confirm the diagnosis, determine
the source and probable pattern of spread of the infection and
guide implementation of appropriate control measures.

History:  Cr. Register, June, 1981, No. 306, eff. 7−1−81; corrections made under
s. 13.93 (2m) (b) 7., Stats., Register, August, 1995, No. 476; r. and recr. Register, June,
1997, No. 498, eff. 7−1−97; CR 07−077: cr. (1) (d) Register February 2008 No. 626,
eff. 3−1−08; CR 19−079: am. (1) (a) Register January 2023 No. 805, eff. 2−1−23.
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