Foster Grandparent Program

Nearly 500 Wisconsin residents are serving as Foster Grandparents today. We are always looking for additional eligible volunteers.

Foster grandparents serve as mentors, tutors and caregivers for children and youth with special needs. They provide 15-40 hours of weekly volunteer service through community organizations such as schools, hospitals, child care centers, Head Start programs and residential programs. Foster Grandparents delight in having a purpose to each day. They have the chance to join other community members in worthwhile activities that improve the lives of children. In so doing, they discover opportunities for friendship, education and satisfaction.

Foster grandparents receive a modest tax-free stipend, reimbursement for transportation, meals during service, annual physical examinations, and accident and liability insurance while on duty. They must meet income eligibility standards and be at least 55 years of age. People volunteering as foster grandparents receive careful orientation training to help them develop skills needed to serve children with special needs. They also receive periodic refresher training in monthly in-service group meetings.

Foster Grandparent projects are sponsored in Wisconsin by the following organizations:

ADRC of Portage County

Aging and Disability Resource Center of Portage County

Julie Rekowski, FGP Director
Phone: 715-346-1417
Email: rekowskij@co.portage.wi.us

Counties Served: Portage

AdvoCAP

AdvoCAP

Deb Tauer, FGP Director
Phone: 920-426-0150
Email: debraj@advocap.org

Counties Served: Fond du Lac, Green Lake, and Winnebago

Cooperative Educational Service Agency #10

CESA Agency #10

Mary Jo Hansen, FGP Director
Phone: 715-720-2042
Email: mhanson@cesa10.k12.wi.us

Counties served: Chippewa, Clark, Eau Claire, Monroe, Rusk, Taylor, and Tempealeau

Copper Lake / Lincoln Hills Schools

Lincoln Hills / Copper Lake School
Department of Corrections Juvenile Correctional Facilities

Ben Guss, FGP Director
Phone: 715-536-8366 x 1290
Email: ben.guss@wisconsin.gov

Counties served: Lincoln

Encompass Early Education and Care, Inc.

Encompass Early Education and Care, Inc.

Katharine Kulkoski, FGP Director
Phone: 920-469-0283 x 110
Email: kkulkoski@encompasseec.org

Areas Served: Cities of Green Bay and De Pere in Brown County

FGP of Northeast Minnesota & Northwest Wisconsin -- Catholic Community Service

FGP of Northeast Minnesota and Northwest Wisconsin

Kate Paine, Director of Social Services
Phone: 715-394-5384
Email: kpaine@ccbsuperior.org

Goodwill Industries of Southeast Wisconsin

Goodwill Industries of Southeast Wisconsin

Kayla Olson, FGP Director
Phone: 262-833-1629
Email: kayla.olson@goodwillsew.com

Counties Served: Racine and Kenosha

Great Lake Inter-Tribal Council (GLITC)

Great Lakes Inter-Tribal Council-Lac du Flambeau

Leanne Valliere, FGP Director
Phone: 715-588-3324
Email: lvalliere@glitc.org

RSVP of Dane County

RSVP of Dane County

Andrea Beaster, FGP Director
Phone: 608-441-7894
Email: abeaster@rsvp.org

Counties served: City of Madison and Dane County

Social Development Commission

Social Development Commission

Ella Dunbar, Director
Phone: 414-906-2779
Email: edunbar@cr-sdc.org

Counties served: Milwaukee

Southwestern WI Community Action Programs (CAP)

Southwestern CAP

Cindy Deckert, FGP Director
Phone: 608-935-2326 x 209
Email: c.deckert@swcap.org

Counties served: Vernon and Sauk

Workforce Connections

Workforce Connections

Teresa Pierce, Executive Director
Phone: 608-785-9938
Email: piercet@workforceconnections.org

Areas served: City of and Greater La Crosse Area and La Crosse, Pepin, Buffalo, Jackson, Juneau Counties

 

Please contact Neal Minogue for more information: 608-266-2036 or neal.minogue@wisconsin.gov.

Last Revised: April 18, 2017