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WISCONSIN DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH SERVICES 
Division of Health Care Access and Accountability 

1 West Wilson Street 
Madison, WI 53703 

 
 
To:   BadgerCare Plus Eligibility Handbook Users 
 
From:   Shawn Smith, Bureau Director 
   Bureau of Enrollment Policy and Systems 
 
RE:   BadgerCare Plus Release 13-02 
 
Release Date:  10/25/2013 
Effective Date:  10/25/2013 
 
Please note that CMS has not yet issued final approval of Wisconsin’s waiver to provide coverage to 
childless adults as well as impose premiums and restrictive reenrollment periods on adults in extensions. 
The handbook reflects the policy as currently defined in the waiver, but the final version of the waiver may 
result in changes to Chapters 19.1, 19.11, and policies pertaining to coverage of childless adults. 
 
EFFECTIVE DATE The following policy additions or changes are effective 10/25/2013 unless 

otherwise noted.  Yellow highlighting denotes new text.  Text with a strike 
through it denotes deleted text. 
 

General Updates The following changes have been made throughout the entire handbook and 
may not be listed as an entry on this cover sheet. 

 
• Yearly reviews for eligibility will now be referred to as “renewals.” 
• BC+ Prenatal Services will now be referred to as the “BC+ Prenatal 

Program.” 
• Youth Exiting Out-of-Home Care (YEOHC) will now be referred to as 

“Former Foster Care Youth” or “FFCY.” 
 

1.1 BC+ Introduction 
 

Through December 31, 2013, potential BC+ members include: 
 

• Children under 19 years of age, 
• Pregnant women, 
• Parents and caretakers of children under 19, 
• Young adults under 21 leaving out of home care (such as foster care), 
• Parents and caretaker relatives whose children have been removed 

from the home and placed in out of home care. 
•  

Effective January 1, 2014, potential BC+ members will include: 
 

• Children under 19 years of age,  
• Pregnant women,  
• Parents and caretakers of children under 18 and dependent 18 year 

olds,  
• Former foster care youth under age 26 who were in out-of-home care 

when they turned 18,  
• Parents and caretaker relatives whose children have been removed 

from the home and placed in out of home care, and 
• Certain adults ages 19-64 without dependent children. 
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1.1.1 Organization of 
the BC+ Handbook 
 

This subsection is new with this release. 
 
This handbook outlines eligibility policy for Wisconsin’s BadgerCare Plus 
program. This version documents multiple policy changes that will affect the 
BC+ program in 2014 as a result of changes in State law and the federal 
Affordable Care Act. Accordingly, this handbook contains policy for the 
BadgerCare Plus program that is currently in effect and policy that will take 
effect after January 1, 2014. Policy that is time-limited or time-dependent will be 
modified with the appropriate effective date. Policy that is not identified as 
having an effective or end date is currently in place and will continue to exist in 
2014.  
 
Beginning in 2014, the BadgerCare Plus program will use a different set of 
eligibility rules to determine household size and countable income. This version 
of the handbook addresses two forms of budgeting rules. More information 
about these budgeting methodologies is found in Chapter 2. The new budgeting 
rules that will be applied to applicants and members in 2014 will be referred to 
as Modified Adjusted Gross Income (MAGI) rules. The rules currently in place 
for BadgerCare Plus will be referred to as “non-MAGI rules.” 
 

1.1.2 BadgerCare 
Plus Health Plans 
 

Through December 31, 2013, BC+ has members will have one of two major 
health care benefit plans: Standard Plan and Benchmark Plan. The Standard 
Plan is for families with household income at or below 200% of the Federal 
Poverty Level (FPL). The Benchmark Plan which provides more limited services 
than the Standard Plan, is for families with income above 200% of the FPL, and 
for self-employed parents and Caretakers. (See Table 50.1 for FPL limits) 
 
In addition, BadgerCare Plus also has several limited health plans.  These 
include: 
 

• Family Planning Only Services  
• BC+ Prenatal Care Services Program, and 
• BC+ Emergency Services 

 
See the chart below for BC+ benefit plans through December 31, 2013. 
Beginning January 1, 2014, all BadgerCare Plus members will receive coverage 
under the Standard Plan. 
 

1.1.3 Health Care 
Choice 
 

It is possible for individuals to qualify for both BadgerCare Plus and Elderly, 
Blind and Disabled Medicaid (EBD MA) based on financial and non-financial 
eligibility criteria. 
 
Through December 31, 2013, when a person is eligible for both BC+ and EBD 
MA, In some circumstances, CARES will automatically enroll the individual in 
the program with the best benefit plan and lowest cost share. The individual has 
the right to request coverage under the program not chosen by CARES. See 
(49.1 Health Plan Choice). The change is will be effective in the next possible 
payment following Adverse Action, unless the member requests the change be 
effective in the month the request to change the health plan was made. 
 
Effective January 1, 2014, federal law requires that once an individual has been 
determined eligible for EBD Medicaid, s/he must be enrolled in EBD MA, even if 
they are also eligible for BC+, unless they have a change in circumstances that 
results in ineligibility for EBD MA. The only exception to this policy is pregnant 
women who are eligible for both EBD MA and BC+. In these instances, the 
pregnant woman will be enrolled in the BadgerCare Plus program.  
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If someone is pending for EBD MA or if they have an unmet deductible for EBD 
MA, the individual is not considered eligible for EBD Medicaid and can enroll in 
BadgerCare Plus. Pending for EBD MA includes, but is not limited to, waiting for 
an official disability determination from DDB and being subject to the 24 month 
Medicare waiting period. If an individual enrolled in EBD MA is determined 
ineligible for EBD Medicaid for any reason, including going over the asset limit 
or failing to pay a MAPP premium, s/he can enroll in BC+ if s/he is still eligible to 
do so. 
 

1.1.4 How to Apply 
 

The following application options are available for anyone who is applying for 
BC+: 
 

1. ACCESS online application at https://access.wisconsin.gov/ 
2. Face-to-Face Interview at the local county/tribal office. 
3. Mail-In. Paper Application. 
4. Telephone Interview.  
5. An application submitted to the Federally Facilitated Marketplace. 

 
2.1 BC+ Non-
Financial Program 
Requirements 
 

Through December 31, 2013, the following individuals are non-financially 
eligible for BC+ : 
 

4. Young adults exiting out of home care (such as foster care) under age 
21. 

 
Beginning January 1, 2014, the following individuals are non-financially eligible 
for BC+: 
 

1. Children under 19,  
2. Pregnant Women,  
3. Parents/Caretaker Relatives of children under 18 years of age or 

dependent 18 year olds, including some parents and caretaker relatives 
whose children have been removed from the home and are in the care 
of the child welfare system (Chapter 10),  

4. Former foster care youth under age 26 who were in out-of-home care 
when they turned 18, and 

5. Adults ages 19-64, not receiving Medicare, who do not meet any of the 
conditions listed above. 

 
2.2 BC+ Test Group 
Coverage Group 
Definitions 
 

The BC+ Test Group includes the primary person and any individuals living in 
his/her household whose income and/or needs are considered when 
determining financial eligibility.  Inclusion in the Test Group is determined by 
qualifying relationships and legal responsibility.   
 
Anyone in the home who meets the criteria of being in the BC+ Test Group, is 
always included in the group whether or not s/he requested BC+. 
 
Persons in the home who do not meet the criteria to be in a BC+ Test Group 
must be excluded.  However, they may be included in a BC+ Test Group in 
another case.  
 
The primary person who applies for BC+ must meet one of the following 
requirements in order to form a BC+ Test Group.  The primary person must 
either be: 
 

1. A parent residing with his or her child under age 19 or residing with a 

https://access.wisconsin.gov/
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spouse and his or her child who is under age 19. 
2. A qualified relative caretaker relative residing with a child in the home 

who is under age 19, or residing with a spouse who is a qualified 
relative caretaker relative of a child in the home who is under age 19. 
(caretaker relative)  

3. A pregnant woman, or the spouse of a pregnant woman,  
4. A Youth under age 21 who was in out-of-home care (e.g., foster care) at 

age 18, or  
5. A child.   

 
The following are the relationships and legal responsibility which determine who 
is in the BC+ Test Coverage Groups: 
 

2.2.1 Parents 
 

A parent is any natural, legally adoptive, or step mother or father. A parent can 
be any age. There can be more than one parent of a certain gender in a 
household. To be considered a parent of a child under age 19 for BC+ 
purposes, the child must be under the care of that individual at least 40% of the 
time. For example, in families where parents are divorced, if the child does not 
live with Parent B at least 40% of the time, Parent B would have his/her 
eligibility considered under the Childless Adults coverage group, rather than the 
Parents/Caretakers coverage group. 
 
Note: Children under 19, who are applying for FPOS , are a group of one 
unless she is married and/or has children. Parents are not included in the 
group.  
 
The BC+ Test Group for a primary person who is residing with his or her own 
child or with a spouse and the spouse’s child will include the following 
individuals: 
 

1. The primary person and the primary person’s spouse. 
2. A child under age 19 of the primary person or the primary person’s 

spouse.   
3. A co-parent of a primary person’s child or the co-parent of the spouse’s 

child. 
4. Any spouse of a co-parent. 
5. Any child under age 19 of a co-parent. 
6. The other parent of a co-parent’s child. 
7. A child of the primary person’s child or the spouse’s child. 
8. The spouse of an included child, if that child is a parent, or the spouse 

is under age 19. 
9. The co-parent of an included grandchild. 
10. A child under age 19 who is a qualified relative of, and residing with, the 

primary person, the primary person’s spouse or another included adult. 
11. An essential person (2.2.1.3) 

 
A parent residing with his or her child under the age of 19 must be in the same 
BC+ Test Group. This is true even when the legal custody of the child has been 
transferred to someone living outside of the home.  The only exception is when 
someone’s parental rights have been legally terminated. 
 
When a child moves from the home of a parent or caretaker relative who was 
eligible for BC+ to the home of another caretaker relative or caretaker relative 
who applies for BC+ in the same month, the new caretaker relative can be 
eligible as of the application date. The child, however, isn't eligible in the new 
household until the 1st of the month after the move.   
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2.2.1.3 Dependent 18 
Year Old 
 

This subsection is new with this release. 
 
Effective January 1, 2014, when an adult is eligible as a parent or caretaker 
because they are caring for an 18 year old child, and that child is the only child 
in the home, the child must meet the following conditions in order for the parent 
or caretaker to be eligible for BC+ as a parent or caretaker of a dependent 18 
year old: 

• Be enrolled in high school, and 
• Be expected to graduate high school before turning 19. 

 
The child does not have to be enrolled full time in high school in order to meet 
this definition of dependent child. 
 
The 18 year old remains eligible as a child until he or she turns 19, regardless 
of school enrollment or expected date of graduation. 
 

2.2.2 Caretaker 
Relative 
 

NOTE: If a child lives with his/her parent(s), as well as an caretaker relative with 
legal custody, the child and parents are still part of the same BC+ Test Group, 
and the parents’ income will be used to determine the child’s eligibility. The 
parent(s) and child will not however, have their income counted when 
determining the caretaker relative’s eligibility. 
 

Example: Alice, age six, and her mother, Jane, live with Jane's parents. The 
grandparents have legal custody of Alice.  Alice is considered to be under the 
care of her grandparents, not of her mother. Since the grandparents are the 
caretakers of Alice, they may apply for BC+ for Alice.  In addition, Jane, as a 
parent of a child in the BC+ Test Group, must also be included in the Group. 

 
If the primary person is a caretaker relative of a child under age 19 or the 
spouse of a caretaker relative of a child under age 19, the BC+ Test Group will 
include the following individuals: 

1. The caretaker relative, 
2. The caretaker relative's spouse, 
3. The child under age 19 who is under the care of the caretaker relative. 
4. A parent of the  child, if the caretaker relative has legal custody of the 

child, and  
5. Any essential person (2.2.1.3).  

http://dcf.wi.gov/children/Kinship/INDEX.HTM 
 

2.2.3 Child Welfare 
Parents/Caretakers 
 

This subsection was formerly listed as 2.3.4 Child Welfare 
Parents/Caretakers. 
 
Through December 31, 2013: 
 
Parents and caretaker relatives whose children have been placed in out of 
home care and who meet the criteria listed in (Chapter 10) are still considered 
caretaker relatives of the child. The child is considered temporarily absent from 
the home. The child(ren) is included in the BC+ test group and any unearned 
income the child has is budgeted. However, unlike others who are considered 
temporarily absent from the home, a child in a child welfare placement is not 
eligible for BC+ in the household that s/he was removed from. 
 
On or after January 1, 2014: 
 
Parents and caretakers whose children have been placed in out of home care 
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and who are having their eligibility determined or renewed will still be 
considered parents or caretakers, as the child will be considered temporarily 
absent. However, the inclusion of the child in the parent’s group will be 
dependent upon MAGI budgeting rules. If the child has been placed with a 
caretaker relative, the relative will be considered a childless adult for purposes 
of BC+ eligibility. Inclusion of the child in the caretaker relative’s group will also 
be dependent upon MAGI rules. See Chapter 10 for more information. 
 

2.2.4 Pregnant 
Woman 
 

If the primary person is:  
• a pregnant woman or her spouse, 
• not a parent or a caretaker relative and 
• if under age 19, not residing with a parent or a caretaker relative , 

 
The BC+ Test Group will include the pregnant woman and her spouse. 
 
If the pregnant woman is under 19 and residing with a parent or caretaker, the 
parent or caretaker would be the primary person and the BC+ Test Group would 
be built around the parent or caretaker. 
 
Also include in the BC+ Test Group size each verified fetus the pregnant 
woman is carrying.  If there is no verification on the number of fetus, add 1 to 
the group size. 
 

2.2.5 Former Foster 
Care Youth (Formerly 
known as Youth 
Exiting out of Home 
Care) 
 

If the primary person is  
• a YEOHC,  
• not a parent or a caretaker relative of a child, and 
• if under age 19, is not residing with a parent or caretaker relative   

 
The BC+ test group will include the YEOHC and his/her spouse if the spouse is 
also a YEOHC. 
 
If the YEOHC is under 19 and residing with a parent or caretaker, the parent or 
caretaker would be the primary person and the BC+ Test Group would be built 
around the parent or caretaker. 
 
This category was formerly referred to as Youth Exiting Out of Home Care. 
 
BadgerCare Plus benefits are available to certain individuals who were in out- 
of- home care, including foster care, court ordered kinship care, and subsidized 
guardianship, as of their 18th birthday. These individuals are categorically 
eligible for BadgerCare Plus. The individual did not have to be in foster care in 
Wisconsin when he or she was 18 in order to be eligible for this coverage 
group. Through December 31, 2013, FFCY will only be eligible for BC+ benefits 
until they are age 21. After January 1, 2014, benefits will be available to all 
former foster care youth under age 26. See Chapter 11 for additional eligibility 
criteria for Former Foster Care Youth.  
 

2.2.6 Child 
 

If the primary person is a child under age 19, is not a parent or a caretaker 
relative of a child in the home, and is not residing with a parent or caretaker 
relative, the BC+ group consists solely of the child and his or her spouse if they 
are residing together.  In this situation, the spouse of the child under 19 is not 
eligible for BC+ unless s/he is also under age 19 or there are other children in 
the household under the care of either the child who is the primary person or 
the spouse. 
 
A child under age 19 is non-financially eligible for BC+.  Marital status and 
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school enrollment status have no effect on his/her non-financial eligibility. The 
child does not have to be under the care of or related to the caretaker to be 
eligible for BC+.   
 
Note: A child under age 19 residing with a caretaker relative may not apply as 
the primary person for the relative’s benefits.  For both a caretaker relative and 
a child to be included in one case, the caretaker relative must apply for BC+.  A 
child under age 19 residing with a parent may not apply separately from his or 
her parent.  In addition, the parent must apply as the primary person for the 
case, unless the child filing the application is age 18. Children over age 19 must 
always apply separately from their parents or caretakers, irrespective of their 
living arrangement or tax dependency. 
 

2.2.7 Childless 
Adults 
 

This subsection is new with this release. 
 
A childless adult is an individual aged 19 to 64 who does not have any 
dependent children under age 19 who reside with them at least 40% of the time. 
Their marital status has no effect on their BadgerCare Plus eligibility. In 2013, 
childless adults are covered under BadgerCare Plus through the Core Plan. 
Enrollment in the Core Plan has been closed since 2009. Beginning January 1, 
2014, childless adults who are not eligible for Medicare will be non-financially 
eligible for regular BC+ under the Standard Plan. 
 

2.3 BC+ Test Group 
 

This entire section is new with this release. The text changes are too numerous 
to list. 
 

2.4.1 Not Living in 
the Household 
 

Do not consider the following to be living in the household regardless of the 
whether non-MAGI rules or MAGI rules were used to determine a member’s 
BC+ group: 
 

2.4.2 Temporary 
Absence 
 

2. The caretaker relative continues to exercise responsibility for the care 
and control of the child. See Chapter 10 for more information about 
Child Welfare. 

 
The following children are not considered temporarily absent:  

• Children who are inmates of public institutions. (3.6) are not temporarily 
absent. 

• Children who are placed in an institution for 30 or more days, are not 
temporarily absent, unless they were placed there by a child welfare 
agency. 

• Children who are placed in an IMD, are not temporarily absent, unless 
they were placed there by a child welfare agency. 

 
2.4.3 Students 
 

When a child under age 19 who is a student living away from their parent’s 
home applies for BC+, the child and his/her family can determine whether the 
student will be a group of 1 on his/her own case, or a temporarily absent 
individual included in his/her parent’s case. 
 
Students over age 19 will need to apply for BadgerCare Plus with their own 
application. 
 

2.5 BC+ Assistance 
Groups 
 

A new table has been added for MAGI Assistance Groups. The text changes 
are too numerous to list. 

2.6 Participation 
Status Codes 

The table has been updated to include non-MAGI or MAGI budgeting rules. The 
text changes are too numerous to list. 



8 
 

 
2.7.2 BC+ Group 
Examples using 
MAGI Rules 
 

This subsection is new with this release. The text changes are too numerous to 
list. 

2.8 BC+ Test Group 
Financial Rules 
 

This chapter has been split into two separate sections. 
 
2.8.1 Non-MAGI Financial Rules 
2.8.2 MAGI Income Counting Rules – This subsection is new with this release. 
 

3.1 Residence 
 

A person must be a Wisconsin resident to be eligible for BC+. S/he must: 
 

2. Express intent to reside in Wisconsin. (3.2). Effective January 1, 2014, 
an individual can also be considered a resident of Wisconsin if they are 
physically present in the State and have entered Wisconsin with a job 
commitment or seeking employment, whether or not they are employed 
at the time of application. 

 
3.2 Intent To Reside 
 

If the applicant /member is incapable of indicating intent, the guardian or person 
acting on behalf of the applicant/member can indicate the applicant's/member's 
intent to reside. 
 
“Intent to reside” does not mean an intent to stay permanently or indefinitely in 
the State, nor does it require an intent to reside at a fixed address. 
 

3.3.1 Under Age 21 
 

Not in an institution 
A person under age 21 and not residing in an institution is a Wisconsin resident 
if s/he is: 
 

• Age 18 or under age 18 and emancipated from his or her parents, or 
married, and is: 

1. Living in Wisconsin with the intent to remain living in Wisconsin, 
or 

2. Living in Wisconsin and entered Wisconsin with a job 
commitment or to seek employment. 

• Under age 18 and not emancipated from his or her parents and not 
married, and is living in Wisconsin. 

 
Note: For individuals received Medicaid based on receipt of Title IV-E 
assistance or if the individual receives State SSI, see section 3.4. 

 
In an institution 
 
The residence of a institutionalized person under age 21 living in a Wisconsin 
institution when his/her parents or legal guardian lives outside of Wisconsin is 
the state in which the parent or legal guardian states the institutionalized person 
is present, and intends to stay. 
 

3.3.2 Age 21 and 
Over 
 

Not in an Institution 
The residence of an individual over age 21 who is not institutionalized is 
Wisconsin if s/he is: 

• Living in Wisconsin with the intent to remain living in Wisconsin, or  
• Living in Wisconsin and entered Wisconsin with a job commitment or to 

seek employment. 
 
If s/he is incapable of expressing intent, an individual is a resident if s/he is 
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living in Wisconsin. 
 
In an Institution 
The residence of an institutionalized person age 21 or over is the state in which 
s/he is residing with the intent to remain there. 
 
If s/he is incapable of indicating intent, his/her residence is determined in the 
same way as the residence of an institutionalized person under age 21. 
 
The residence of a person who became incapable of indicating intent before 
age 21 is determined in the same way as the residence of an institutionalized 
person under age 21. 
 
The residence of a person who became incapable of indicating intent at age 21 
or older is Wisconsin, unless the placement was arranged by another state. 
 
For all others, the person is a Wisconsin resident if s/he intends to reside in 
Wisconsin 
 

3.4.4 Homeless 
Persons 
 

The table titled “Homeless Definition” has been removed. There is no longer 
any BC+ populations that require a specific definition of homeless. 

3.6 Inmates 
 

Individuals who are inmates of a public institution are not eligible for BC+. An 
inmate is residing in a public institution on an involuntary basis. For example, a 
prisoner in a jail, prison, or other correctional facility is considered an inmate. A 
staff person voluntarily residing in a public institution is not considered an 
inmate. An individual voluntarily residing in an institution while waiting for other 
living arrangements to be made which are appropriate to the person’s needs is 
not considered an inmate. An individual who is legally confined to his/her home 
by a monitoring device, such as an ankle bracelet, is not considered in inmate 
for purposes of BC+. 
 

4.2 Documenting 
Citizenship and 
Identity 
 

The applicant will have 90 95 days after the request for verification to provide 
the requested documentation. If the requested verification is not provided by the 
end of the 90 95 days, the eligibility will be terminated with Adverse Action 
notice, unless the eligibility worker believes a good-faith effort is being made by 
the applicant/member and the worker chooses to extend the good-faith period. 
This 90 95 day period applies to applications, reviews and person adds. An 
individual can only receive one 95 day good-faith effort period in his or her 
lifetime. 
 

4.2.1.1 Exempt 
Populations 
 

Former SSI and Medicare Recipients 
 
Note: Confirm the receipt of SSI, SSDI, and Medicare through SOLQ or DXSA. 
the following data exchanges: 
  

• For SSI: use DXSX 
• For SSDI: use DXSA 
• For Medicare: DXSA 

 
4.2.4 Hierarchy of 
Documentation 
 

If an individual needs to verify citizenship and/or identity at the point of 
application or renewal s/he should try to fulfill the requirement with proof s/he 
already has available. Beginning in 2014, eligibility workers can also use the 
State’s data exchange with CHIP to verify citizenship and identity for individuals 
who have attested that they are US citizens in real time. If an applicant/member 
contacts the agency, work with him/her to check Documentation Levels 1 
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through 5 to determine if anything on the list is readily available to the 
applicant/member. If an applicant/member was born in Wisconsin, use the 
online Birth Query to verify citizenship. 
 

4.3.4 Immigration 
Status Chart 
 

The chart has been updated to include the immigrant status of “Lawfully 
Residing.” 

5.2.1 Introduction Unless the person is exempt or has good cause for refusal to cooperate (see 
5.3), each applicant /member that is referred, must, as a condition of eligibility, 
cooperate in: 
 

5.2.2 Failure to 
Cooperate 
 

The following individuals are not sanctioned for non-cooperation: 
 

1. Pregnant women, 
2. Minors, and  
3. Parents or caretaker relatives while the family is in a BC+ Extension. 

 
6.1 SSN 
Requirements 
 

Do not require an SSN for: 
 

a) Continuously eligible newborns. 
b) Pre-adoptive infants living in a foster home. 
c) Unqualifying Non-qualifying immigrants receiving emergency services 

or BC+ Prenatal Program services 
d) Women applying for BC+ Prenatal Program ( BC+PP ). Someone 

without an SSN and may only be issued one for a valid non-work 
reason. 

e) Someone who refuses to obtain an SSN because of well-established 
religious objections*. 

f) Tax dependents or tax filers living outside of the home. 
 
BC+ applicants and members who belong to a recognized religious sect that 
conscientiously opposes applying for or using a social security number are 
exempt from meeting the SSN requirements.  
 
“Well-established religious objects” means that the applicant/member: 

1. Is a member of a recognized religious sect or division of the sect, and 
2. Adheres to the tenets or teachings of the sect or division of the sect and 

for that reason is conscientiously opposed to applying for or using a 
national identification number. 

 
A person who refuses to apply for or use a social security number due to 
religious beliefs must provide verification from a church elder or other officiant 
that doing so is against the church doctrine. 
 

7 Health Insurance 
Access and 
Coverage 
Requirements 
 

This text has been updated on every Introduction section of this chapter. 
 
The 9.5% Past Access/Current Test policy will be applied on or after July 1, 
2012, but only to adult parents and caretakers and only when: 

• A new application or program request is submitted, 
• New employment is reported, 
• The next review/renewal is completed, or 
• A parent or caretaker with employment is added to the assistance 

group. 
 
Until one of the above circumstances occurs, the 80% Past/Current Access 
Test policies will continue to apply to all non-pregnant, non-disabled parents 
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and caretakers with household income above 150% of the FPL. 
 

7.1 Health Insurance 
Conditions of 
Eligibility 
 

This section has been split into two subsections. The text changes are too 
numerous to list. 
 
7.1.1 Health Insurance Conditions of Eligibility Through December 31, 
2013 
 
7.1.2 Health Insurance Conditions of Eligibility Effective January 1, 2014 – 
This subsection is new with this release. 
 

7.2.1 Introduction 
 

The 80% Past Access Test policies will continue to applies to non-exempt  
children (See 7.1). The 9.5% test applies to adult parents and caretakers until 
December 31, 2013. After January 1, 2014, parents and caretakers are no 
longer subject to a Past Access Test. 
 

7.2.1.1 The 80 % Past 
Access Test 
 

Individuals Children and any BC+ Prenatal Program members who had access 
to health insurance, including access due to a qualifying event , in the twelve 
months prior to the application or renewal date are not eligible for BC+ benefits 
if the access was through the current employer of an adult family member who 
is currently living in the household and, 
 

2. The applicant is a caretaker relative or child under age 19 and the 
caretaker relative  or child is not exempt; and  

 
The child or BC+ Prenatal Program Member is employed BC+ 
applicant/member and anyone else in the household that could have been 
covered by the health insurance are ineligible for BC+ for twelve calendar 
months from the date the health insurance would have begun. 
 
Example 1 has been updated. 
 

7.2.1.2 The 9.5% Past 
Access Test 
 

Note: The 9.5% Past Access Test will no longer be effective beginning January 
1, 2014. 

7.2.3 Good Cause for 
the 80% "Past 
Access Test" 
Effective January 1, 
2014 
 

This subsection is new with this release. 

7.3.1 Introduction, 
7.4.1 Introduction 
 

The 80% Current Access Test will continue to applies to non-exempt (See 7.1) 
children. The 9.5% Current Access Test will no longer be in effect beginning 
January 1, 2014. 
 

7.3.2 The 80% 
Current Access Test 
 

Individuals Children and any BC+ Prenatal Program members with access to 
health insurance, including access due to a qualifying event, through an 
employed family member who is currently living in the household are not eligible 
for BC+ benefits if: 
 

2. The applicant/member is a caretaker relative or child under age 19 and  
the caretaker relative or child is not exempt; and 

 
The coverage would begin within three calendar months following: 

a) The month of BC+ application filing date; or 
b) Annual renewal month; or 
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c) Employment start date 
 
The child or BC+ Prenatal Program Member employed BC+ member and 
anyone else who could have been covered by the health insurance plan are 
ineligible for BC+ benefits. However, children under 19 years of age can 
become eligible by meeting a deductible. (See Ch. 17) 
 
Examples 1 and 2 have been updated. 
 

7.4.2 The 80% 
Coverage Test 
 

An individual Certain children who currently have individual or family health 
insurance coverage through an employed family member who is currently living 
in the household AND who meet the following criteria are not eligible for 
BadgerCare Plus: 

1. The person child is not exempt from access and coverage policies (See 
7.1); and 

Example 1 has been updated. 
 

7.4.3 The 9.5% 
Current Coverage 
Test 
 

Note: This policy will only be effective until December 31, 2013. 

7.5.1 Introduction 
 

The 80% Dropped Coverage policies will continue to apply to non-exempt 
children (See 7.1). The 9.5% Dropped Coverage Test applies to non-pregnant, 
non-disabled adult parents and caretakers until December 31, 2013. 
 

7.5.2 The 80% 
Dropped Coverage 
Test 
 

With policy exceptions for pregnant women, (See 7.5.4) individuals Children are 
ineligible for BadgerCare Plus (BC+) benefits for three calendar months 
following the month in which coverage through an employer-provided health 
insurance plan, which meets the standards of a HIPAA standard plan, ended if: 
 

2. The applicant is a caretaker relative or child under age 19 and the 
caretaker relative or child is not exempt; and 

 
Examples 1 and 2 have been updated. 
 

7.5.3 The 9.5% 
Dropped Coverage 
Test 
 

Note: The 9.5% Dropped Coverage Test will no longer be in effect beginning 
January 1, 2014. 

7.7.1 Introduction 
 

HIPP will be considered for BadgerCare Plus members when it is cost effective 
to do so. 
 

• Children and parents with incomes at or below 150 percent of the FPL 
even when the employer pays 80 percent or more of the premium.    

• Children and parents with incomes above 150 percent of the FPL when 
the employer pays less than 80 percent of the premium.   

• Pregnant women with incomes up to 300 percent of the FPL when the 
employer pays 80 percent or more of the premium (wrap around 
benefits). 

 
In addition to families with employer sponsored health insurance plans, the 
following BC+ families that meet the above criteria with the following types of 
insurance plans may also be considered for HIPP:  
 

• Farm and other self-employed families or 
• Members with Self-funded insurance plans, 



13 
 

 
Access to HIPP coverage will be allowed even if single or "plus one" coverage 
is the only coverage offered by an employer. 
 

7.7.2 Cost 
Effectiveness 
 

For individuals and families with incomes under 200 percent of the FPL, The 
HIPP Unit will identify the cost of wrapping around the Medicaid services with 
the employer-sponsored plan and then determine cost effectiveness of buy-in 
on that calculation of cost comparability.   
 
For individuals and families with incomes between 200 and 300 percent of the 
FPL, if the employer plan has benefits equal to the BadgerCare Plus 
Benchmark Plan, the State will buy-in to the employer plan when it is cost 
effective to do so. In this instance, the HIPP Unit will not look at the 
comparability of the cost sharing, e.g., amounts of co-pays but will determine 
the cost effectiveness based on comparability of the covered benefits 
 

7.8 Access/Coverage 
Overview 
 

This section has been split into 3 subsections. The text changes are too 
numerous to list. 
 
7.8.1 Access/Coverage Overview prior to December 31, 2013 
7.8.2 Access/Coverage Overview after January 1, 2014 – This subsection is 
new with this release. 
7.8.3 BC+ Prenatal Program Access/Coverage Overview 
 

8.1 Pregnant Women 
 

Note: This chapter does not apply to pregnant women in the BC+ Prenatal 
Program. 
 
If a pregnant woman is covered under the Standard Plan at any time during her 
pregnancy she will remain in the Standard Plan while she is eligible as a 
pregnant woman, regardless of changes in income or other eligibility factors. As 
of January 1, 2014, every pregnant woman in BC+ will be enrolled in the 
Standard Plan, including someone who has become eligible by meeting a 
deductible. 
 
A pregnant woman with income over 300% FPL (under non-MAGI rules) or 
306% FPL (under MAGI rules) at the time of application can become eligible for 
BC+ by meeting a deductible. (See section 17.2) 
 
A pregnant woman does not have to pay a premium. (see section 19.1) 
 
See (7.5) for the policy on dropping insurance coverage for pregnant women.  
 

8.2 Continuously 
Eligible Newborns 
 

2. The natural mother was determined eligible, in the State of Wisconsin, 
for one of the following programs: 

 
Note: Children born to incarcerated mothers or pregnant minors with family 
income over 300% of the FPL who were eligible for BC+ are still will not be 
eligible as a CEN. 

 
Through December 31, 2013, children born to pregnant minors with family 
income over 300% FPL who were eligible for BC+ are not eligible as CENs. 

 
The child is not required to have an SSN . 
 
Through December 31, 2013, the child will be covered under either the 
Standard or the Benchmark Plan, depending on the plan the mother was 
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covered by at the time of the baby’s birth. All infants eligible for BadgerCare 
Plus as a CEN will be covered under the Standard Plan effective January 1, 
2014. 
 

9.2 Application 
 

The time period for processing an application for BC+ is 30 days from the 
application filing date or from the date the application is received from the 
Federally-facilitated Marketplace. Advise the applicant of the specific verification 
required within the 30 day processing time. Give the applicant a minimum of ten 
calendar days to provide any necessary verification. 
 
Wisconsin will begin receiving referrals from the Marketplace in November 
2013. 
 

9.3 Eligibility 
Reviews Renewals 
 

The group's eligibility should not be denied for failure to provide the required 
verification until the 11th 10th day after requesting verification or the end of the 
review renewal month whichever is later. 
 
Note: After an individual transitions to MAGI rules, requested verification turned 
in within 90 days of the renewal due date should be processed as timely. See 
Process Help 4.6. 
 

9.5 Documentation 
 

Documentation also includes adding notations to case comments when copying 
is not possible. Notations must include enough information to verify eligibility, 
ineligibility, and benefit level, and coverage group determinations. 
 

9.9 Mandatory 
Verification Items 
 

The following items must be verified for BC+: 
 

4. Pregnancy, if eligibility is based on the pregnancy (9.9.3) 
 

Note: Effective January 1, 2014, pregnancy is no longer required to be 
verified.  

 
12. The placement status of a YEOHC FFCY (Chapter 11) on his/her 18th 

birthday. 
 

14. Pre-tax Deductions* (9.9.8) 
15. MAGI Tax Deductions* (9.9.9) 

 
*These mandatory verification requirements are effective for BadgerCare Plus 
determinations effective January 1, 2014. 
 

9.9.3 Pregnancy 
 

Verification of pregnancy is only required until December 31, 2013. Beginning 
January 1, 2014, verification is no longer required for pregnancy unless the 
worker has information that contradicts the applicant or member’s statement. 
 
Through December 31, 2013, if a woman wants to be considered pregnant for 
the BC+ Pregnant Women group or the BC+ Prenatal Program (Chapter 39) 
eligibility determination, documentation from a health care professional attesting 
to the pregnancy is required. Fetus count and the expected pregnancy end date 
are not mandatory verification items. 
 
When pregnancy must be verified, acceptable verification sources for 
pregnancy are: (no changes made to list) 
 

9.9.6 Access to 
Employer-Sponsored 

4. When a change is processed causing total household income to exceed 
the following FPL thresholds: 

https://prd.cares.wisconsin.gov/help/ph/ph.htm
http://www.emhandbooks.wisconsin.gov/bcplus/bcplus.htm
http://www.emhandbooks.wisconsin.gov/bcplus/bcplus.htm
http://www.emhandbooks.wisconsin.gov/bcplus/bcplus.htm
http://www.emhandbooks.wisconsin.gov/bcplus/bcplus.htm
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Health Insurance 
 

 
• Infants less than 1 year old, 300% of the FPL, 

 
Note: The requirement for infants over 300% of the FPL and 
parents and caretakers are only effective until December 31, 2013. 

 
9.9.7 Tribal 
Membership 
 

Tribal members are exempt from paying BC+ premiums and may be exempt for 
certain benefit copayments. Effective January 1, 2014, tribal members eligible 
for BC+ will also be exempt from co-pays. 
 
To receive these exemptions, verification of tribal membership or descent from 
a tribal member is required. Verification may be done with a: 
 

9.9.8 Pre-Tax 
Deductions 
 

This subsection is new with this release. 
 
Individuals whose eligibility is determined using MAGI rules can claim pre-tax 
deductions in order to determine their MAGI taxable income. In order to claim a 
pre-tax deduction, verification of the amount is required. Verification sources 
such as pay stubs or other documentation from the individual’s employer can 
serve as acceptable documentation.   
 

9.9.9 MAGI Tax 
Deductions 
 

This subsection is new with this release. 
 
Individuals whose eligibility is determined using MAGI rules can claim certain 
tax deductions from the IRS 1040 Form, regardless of whether or not the 
individual files taxes. Individuals who claim such deductions must provide proof 
that the expense is or was incurred. 
 
Forms of verification for MAGI tax deductions could include: 

• receipts,  
• bank statements,  
• check stubs, or 
• previous years’ tax forms. 

 
9.10 Questionable 
Items 
 

Information is questionable for BC+ when: 
6. The information provided is unclear or vague (i.e., information provided, 

but not clear). 
 

10.1 Child Welfare 
Parent or Caretaker 
Relative 
 

The text changes are too numerous to list. 
 

11.1 Out of Home 
Care (i.e., Foster 
Care) and Youths 
Exiting Out of home 
care (YEOHC) 
Former Foster Care 
Youth (FFCY) 
 
 

The title of this section has been updated.  There have been no other changes 
in this section. 

11.2 Exiting Out of 
Home Care Former 
Foster Care Youth 
 

Effective January 1, 2014, the age limit for the FFCY coverage group is 26 
years.  Until December 31, 2013 the age limit is 21 years. 
 
Youths who were in foster care, subsidized guardianships or court-ordered 
Kinship Care on their 18th birthday, qualify for a special status under BC+ when 
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they leave out of home care if all the following conditions are met: 
 

2. The youth turned 18 on or after January 1, 2008 and is: 
 

• Under age 21 for eligibility determinations made prior to December 31, 
2013, OR  

• Under age 26 for eligibility determination made on or after January 1, 
2014. 

 
There is no income or resource test for these youths while they are eligible 
under this status. In addition, they are not subject to the BC+ insurance access 
or coverage policy and they are not required to pay any premiums for 
themselves. Regardless of income, they are eligible for the BC+ Standard Plan 
unless they are found otherwise ineligible or until the end of the month in which 
they: 
 turn 21 or they are otherwise ineligible, whichever is sooner 

• Turn age 21 (prior to December 31, 2013) or 
• Turn age 26 (on or after January 1, 2014). 

 
12.1 Migrant Workers 
 

When determining a migrant family’s eligibility for BC+ use the appropriate rules 
as outlined in Chapter 2, depending on whether budgeting with non-MAGI rules 
or with MAGI rules is used. include the adults (including non-marital co-parents) 
and their dependent children living in the migrant household 
 

16.1 Income 
 

This section has been split into 2 subsections. The text changes are too 
numerous to list. 
 
16.1.1 Income Under non-MAGI Rules 
16.1.2 Income Under MAGI Rules – This subsection is new with this release. 
 

16.2 Income Types 
Not Counted   
 

The following Income Types Not Counted have been updated and may be 
counted differently depending on whether non-MAGI or MAGI rules are used. 
Please refer to the Handbook for specific details. 
 

4. Other Military Pay [This is new with this release.] 
7. Earned income (non-MAGI only) 
10. Jury Duty Payments 
14. Payments to Native Americans from: 
22. Special Programs 
25. Student Financial Aids 
35. Interest and Dividend Income 
36. Lump Sums Payments 

 
16.3.1 Support 
Payments 
 

Under non-MAGI rules, deduct the amount of court ordered support a BC+ 
applicant/member is obligated to pay for the support or maintenance of another 
person.  Non-court ordered payments are not deducted. Under MAGI rules, 
child support payments will not be allowed as an income deduction. 
 

16.3.2 Pre-Tax 
Deductions 
 

This subsection is new with this release. 
 
The following deductions will be allowed if the payments are taken out of the 
individual’s paycheck on a pre-tax basis: 
 

a. Health Insurance premium payments  
b. Health Savings Account (including flexible spending accounts) 

contributions  
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c. Retirement contributions  
d. Parking & Transit costs  
e. Child Care Savings Account contributions  
f. Group Life Insurance premium payments 

 
16.3.3 Tax 
Deductions 
 

This subsection is new with this release. The changes are too numerous to list. 

16.4 Earned Income 
 

Earned income is income from gainful employment.  
 
Under non-MAGI rules, earned income for individuals under 18 years of age is 
not counted. The gross earned income before any deductions are taken out is 
counted. 
 
Under MAGI rules, earned income after pre-tax deductions will be counted. See 
16.3.2 for more information on pre-tax deductions. 
 

5. Worker's Compensation  
Under non-MAGI rules, count Worker's Compensation as earned 
income. 
 
Under MAGI rules, do not count Worker’s Compensation as earned 
income. 

 
16.4.1 Specially 
Treated Wages 
 

The following Specially Treated Wages have been updated and may be 
counted differently depending on whether non-MAGI or MAGI rules are used. 
Please see the Handbook for more details. 
 

1. Income Received by Members of a Religious Order 
2. Housing Allowances for Members of the Clergy 
2. Census 2010 
3. Jury Duty Payments 
4. AmeriCorps 
5. Governor’s City Initiative 

 
16.4.2 Room and 
Board Income 
 

Under non-MAGI rules, calculate net amount by deducting one of the following 
from the gross amount received from each roomer/boarder: $15 roomer only, 
$111 Boarder only, $126 roomer and boarder. 
 
Under MAGI rules, these deductions are no longer used if this income is 
reported as room and board income. If room and board income is reported as 
self-employment income, see section 16.4.3 for more information on counting 
self-employment income. 
 

16.4.3 Self 
Employment Income 
 

Calculating Self Employment Income 
 
All self-employment income is earned income, except royalty income and some 
rental income (16.4.3.1 #3). 
 

16.4.3.1 Income 
Sources 
 

2. Capital Gains. Business income from selling securities and other 
property is counted. Under non-MAGI rules, personal capital gains are 
not counted as income. Under MAGI rules, personal capital gains and 
ordinary gains or losses are counted as income. See section 16.5 for 
more information. 
 

4. Royalties. Royalty income is unearned income received for granting 



18 
 

the use of property owned or controlled. Examples are patents, 
copyrighted materials or a natural resource. The right to income is often 
expressed as a percentage of receipts from using the property or as an 
amount per unit produced. See section 16.5 for more information on 
counting royalty income. 

 
16.4.3.2.2 
Worksheets 
 

When a household has more than one self-employment operation, the losses of 
one may be used to offset the profits of another. Apply this offset only to those 
self-employment operations that produced earned income. Don’t apply a loss 
from unearned income to a gain in earned income. Under non-MAGI rules, 
losses from self-employment can’t be used to offset other earned or unearned 
income. Under MAGI rules, losses from self-employment can be used to offset 
other income types. 
 

16.4.3.2.3 Disallowed 
Expenses 
 

Generally, expenses that are allowed by the IRS on business tax forms are 
considered allowed expenses for BadgerCare Plus. However, under non-MAGI 
rules, some specific expenses allowed in the calculation of Self Employment 
Income on the IRS tax forms but are not allowed for BadgerCare Plus. Under 
MAGI rules, countable self-employment income will be the same as the net self-
employment taxable income. 
 
Depreciation and Depletion 
Through December 31, 2013, depreciation expenses will be handled using the 
follow process: 
 
[This process has not changed with this release. See Handbook for details.] 
 
Effective January 1, 2014, depreciation and depletion expenses will be 
allowable expenses. 
 
Under non-MAGI rules the following expenses are not allowed for BadgerCare 
Plus: 
 
[The disallowed expenses have not changed with this release. See Handbook 
for listing.] 
 
Under MAGI rules, the following expenses will continue to not be allowed for 
BadgerCare Plus: 

1. Charitable donations 
2. Work-related personal expenses, such as transportation to and from 

work 
3. Employer work-related personal expenses such as pensions, employee 

benefit and retirement programs and/or profit sharing expenses 
(Business expenses for employees’ pensions, benefits, retirement 
programs, and profit sharing expenses are allowable, but the work-
related personal expenses of the employer are not). 

 
16.4.3.3 Losses 
Offsetting Other 
Income (MAGI Rules 
Only) 
 

This subsection is new with this release. 
 
Under MAGI rules, losses from self-employment can be used to offset the 
individual’s other income types. In situations where an individual is planning to 
file a joint tax return with his or her spouse, losses from self-employment may 
offset the spouse’s income. 
 

16.5 Other Income 
 

The following Other Income Types have been updated and may be counted 
differently depending on whether non-MAGI or MAGI rules are used. Please 
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see the Handbook for more details. 
 

2. Child Support 
3. Social Security Benefits 
4. Federal Match Grants for Refugees 
5. Gifts 
8. Profit Sharing 
9. Retirement Benefits 
10. Sick Benefits 
12. Gambling Winnings 
13. Royalties 
14. Capital and Ordinary Gains and Losses  

 
17.1 Deductibles 
 

Through December 31, 2013, children (under age 19) with income above 150% 
of the FPL who have access to insurance can qualify for BC+ by meeting a 
deductible. Effective January 1, 2014, children (under age 19) with income over 
300% FPL (non-MAGI rules) or 306% FPL (MAGI rules)* may become eligible 
for BC+ by meeting a deductible. Children with income over 150% FPL (non-
MAGI rules) or 156% FPL (MAGI rules)* who are denied BC+ solely due to 
access to health insurance may also become eligible for BC+ by meeting a 
deductible. The deductible amount is calculated for a six-month period using the 
amount of income that exceeds 150% FPL (non-MAGI rules) or 156% FPL 
(MAGI rules)*. 
 
Pregnant women with incomes above 300% FPL (under non-MAGI rules) or 
306% FPL (under MAGI rules)* can qualify for BC+ by meeting a deductible. 
The deductible amount is calculated for a six month period using the amount of 
income that exceeds either 150% FPL for children or 300% FPL (under non-
MAGI rules) or 306% FPL (under MAGI rules)* for pregnant women. The 
deductible is met by incurring medical expenses that equal the deductible 
amount. 
 
*See section 16.1.2 for more information on income disregards. 
 

17.2.1 Introduction 
 

The deductible amount for a pregnant woman is the amount of countable 
income above 300% FPL for a six month period. To meet the deductible she or 
other family members included in the BC+ group must incur medical bills equal 
to her deductible amount. Once the deductible is met she will be covered under 
the Benchmark plan through December 31, 2013 with no premium until two 
months after giving birth. Effective January 1, 2014, all pregnant women, 
including those eligible through deductibles, will be covered under the Standard 
Plan. 
 
Through December 31, 2013, a self-employed pregnant woman with assistance 
group income over 300% FPL, who is also the parent or caretaker relative of a 
child, does not have to meet a deductible. She is eligible with no premium under 
the benchmark plan.  If she is not the parent or caretaker relative of a born 
child, she would have to meet a deductible to become eligible for BC+. 
Beginning January 1, 2014, she will be eligible for coverage under the Standard 
Plan once she meets the deductible. 
 
Effective January 1, 2014, a pregnant minor with family assistance group 
income over 300% FPL (under non-MAGI rules) or 306% FPL (under MAGI 
rules) has the option to either prepay the pregnancy deductible or to wait to 
meet the deductible, or be enrolled as a child with a monthly premium. 
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17.3.1 Deductible 
Period 
 

The deductible period for a child under 19 begins with the month the request for 
a deductible was made.  There is no backdating option for a child under 19. 
 
The child under 19 can choose to begin the BC+ deductible period as early as 
three months prior to the month of application and as late as the month of 
application. 
 
Example 1 has been updated. 
 

17.3.2 Calculating the 
Deductible Amount 
 

Example 2 has been updated. 
 

17.4.3 Expenses that 
cannot be counted 
toward a Deductible 
 

Do not count the following toward the deductible: 
 

2. Medicare Supplemental Medical Insurance (Plan B) premiums since 
they are deducted from the income prior to the deductible calculation 

 
17.9.2 Group Size 
Changes 
 

When the group size is different on the last day of the month from what it was 
on the last day of the previous month, and the deductible is not met, you must 
recalculate the deductible. Compare the new group's countable monthly income 
with the new group's 150% FPL limit. If there is excess monthly income, 
recalculate the deductible in the same way as for income changes. 
 

18.1.1 BC+ 
Extensions 
Introduction 
 

This subsection has been rewritten. The changes are too numerous to list. 

18.1.2 Pregnant 
Women 
 

Through December 31, 2013, a Pregnant woman who is not a parent or 
caretaker relative of a child during her pregnancy, can only become eligible for 
an extension if she was enrolled in BC+, with income at or below 100% of the 
FPL, for 3 months once her pregnancy reaches the 8th month. Look back 60 
days from her due date or the date the pregnancy ended to determine the 8th 
month. If she was a parent or caretaker relative and enrolled with income at or 
below 100% FPL in 3 of the past 6 months she would be eligible for an 
extension. 
 
Beginning January 1, 2014, a pregnant woman whose income increases to over 
100% of the FPL will be able to enter an extension if she was eligible for BC+ as 
a pregnant woman, a parent or caretaker relative at any time during the 
pregnancy with income at or below 100%FPL in 3 of the past 6 months. 
 

18.1.3 Children 
 

This subsection is new with this release. The changes are too numerous to list. 
 

18.2.1 Extensions 
Prior to 2014 
 
 

Extensions due to an increase in earnings beginning prior to December 31, 
2013, will be 12 months. Effective January 1, 2014, extensions due to an 
increase in earnings will be 4 months for AGs using non-MAGI and/or MAGI 
rules. 
 
To receive a 12 month BC+ extension due to an increase in earnings a person 
must meet the following requirements:  
 

5. S/he verified his or her income, unless s/he is exempt from paying a 
premium. 

 
For AG’s in a 12 month extension, at least one member of the BC+ group must 
remain employed throughout the 12 month extension. If s/he loses employment, 
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end the extension, unless the loss of employment is temporary.  Temporary loss 
of employment occurs for reasons such as equipment break-downs, slack 
periods, weather restrictions, fire, and retooling of work areas and if the worker 
is laid off for a definite period of time, or for an unspecified period, but the 
employer states s/he will be called back to work eventually. 
 
For AGs in a 4 month extension, there is no requirement for a member of the 
BC+ group to remain employed. 
 
A pregnant woman with no born children under her care may be eligible for a 12 
month extension, if she was enrolled in BC+ with income at or below 100% FPL 
for three months beginning with the 8th month of her pregnancy. 
 

18.2.2 Earnings 
Extensions 
beginning 2014 
 

This subsection is new with this release. The changes are too numerous to list. 

18.3 Increase in Child 
Support or Spousal 
Support Income 
Extensions 
 
 

This section has been split into several subsections. The changes are too 
numerous to list. 
 
18.3.1 Support Extensions prior to December 31, 2013 

18.3.1.1 Four Month Extension 
18.3.1.2 Twelve Month Extension 

18.3.2 Support Extensions after January 1, 2014 
 

18.5.1 Introduction 
 

A BC+ member loses an extension if one or more of following happens: 
 

2. S/he loses employment when the 12 month extension requires that 
someone in the group remain employed. 

3. All children under the parent's or caretaker relative’s care have either 
left the household or turned 19. This does not apply to extensions that 
begin on or after January 1, 2014. 

4. S/he fails to provide verification of income and at least one 
parent/caretaker in the extension AG is not disabled, a tribal member, 
or pregnant. Only the non-disabled, non-tribal, non-pregnant 
parents/caretakers are ineligible for failure to provide verification.  The 
other members of the family in the extension remain eligible for the 
duration of the extension. 

 
Note: Children in an extension who turn 19 do not lose the extension just for 
turning 19. 
 

19.1 BC+ Premiums 
 

The section has been split to provide policies that will continue through 
December 31, 2013 and new policies effective January 1, 2014. The changes 
are too numerous to list. 
 

19.2 Premium 
Calculations 
 

This section has been split into 2 subsections. The changes are too numerous 
to list. 
 
19.2.1 Premium Calculations Through December 31, 2013 
19.2.2 Premium Calculations Effective January 1, 2014 – This subsection is 
new with this release.  
 

19.3 Premium Limits 
 

Beginning January 1, 2014, children with assistance group income above 
201.00% of the FPL will be required to pay premiums, which will be capped at 
5%. Parents and caretakers in Extensions will pay premiums based on the 
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sliding scale discussed above, without a 5% cap applied. Non-exempt children 
with incomes above 201% of the FPL will not be required to pay premiums 
when the adults in the household are paying premiums in an Extension. If the 
parents enter a restrictive re-enrollment period (RRP) for failure to pay a 
premium or are otherwise ineligible, non-exempt children with income above 
201% will be required to pay a premium. 
 
The 5% cap methodology for children with premiums will be effective as soon 
as one child on the case who is subject to premiums has his or her eligibility 
determined using MAGI rules. 
 
An example has been added for clarification. 
 

19.7 Advance 
Payments 
 

Through December 31, 2013, payments can be made in advance (further than 
the next month), but the payment cannot exceed the current certification period. 
 
Effective January 1, 2014, premium payments can no longer be made in 
advance. 
 
 

19.8.1 Non-Payment 
Introduction 
 

The failure to pay a premium does not affect the eligibility of any person in the 
household who does not have a premium obligation.  If an individual or family 
with a premium obligation fails to pay the premium by adverse action of the 
benefit month, BC + will close for those individuals who owed a premium. 
Through December 31, 2013 if those individual(s) are children under age 19, 
they are not eligible for six calendar months following the date on which their 
coverage terminated, unless there was good cause. 
 
Effective with RRPs beginning January 1, 2014 (for failure to pay December 
2013 premiums), children under age 19 who do not pay their premiums will not 
be eligible for BC+ for three calendar months. See 19.11 for more information. If 
those individuals are adults age 19 and older, they are not eligible for 12 
calendar months following the date on which their coverage terminated, unless 
there was good cause. 
 
If a late payment is received by the end of the month after the benefit month, lift 
the Restrictive Re-enrollment Period (RRP) (19.11) and reinstate eligibility. 
For more information on how RRPs can be lifted and BC+ eligibility reinstated, 
see 19.11. 
 

19.9 Late Payments 
 

Through December 31, 2013, if the member pays in the second month after the 
benefit month, it’s considered a non-payment. Effective January 1, 2014, the 
current non-payment policy will continue for adult parents and caretakers who 
owe premiums. However, children can make late premium payments at any 
time during their three month RRP (see 19.11). 
 

19.10.2.1 Person 
adds: 
 

If the person add will cause an increase in the premium, CARES will not allow 
eligibility confirmation if the notice requirement cannot be met. Certify eligibility 
for new members through the ForwardHealth Portal. If unable to certify through 
the ForwardHealth Portal, complete and return the F-10110 (formerly DES 
3070) for the days that cannot be confirmed in CARES (See Process Help 81). 
 

19.10.2.3 Effective 
dates of premium 
increase (other than 
person adds) 

The following situations qualify for this treatment: 
 

• A person becomes eligible for BC+ for any non-financial reason except 
late payment of the previous month’s premium, failure to verify a 
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 reported change that resulted in the premium increase, or failure to 
complete a renewal. 

• Effective January 1, 2014, a case reports a decrease in income from 
above 300% to below 300% and the child(ren) are now eligible with a 
premium. 

 
In a situation where other members in the AG or in another BC+ AG may owe a 
premium, treat their premium separately from the newly eligible members and/or 
AG.  
 
For example, Through December 31, 2013, a family that owes a small premium 
for the children but then has an income decrease to below 200% of the Federal 
Poverty Level (FPL) that causes the parents to be eligible for a larger premium. 
With the income change, the children no longer owe a premium. If the premium 
was already paid for the children, that amount must be refunded. If the premium 
was not paid, the children should not be sanctioned for non-payment since they 
no longer owe a premium. 
 
Example 5 is new with this release. 
 

19.11 BadgerCare 
Plus Restrictive Re-
enrollment Period 
(RRP) 
 

A member for whom a premium is owed for the current month who leaves BC+ 
by quitting or not paying a premium may be subject to a restrictive re-enrollment 
period. A restrictive re-enrollment period (RRP) means the member cannot re-
enroll in BC+ for a certain number of months from the termination date while 
their income remains high enough to owe a premium, unless they meet a good 
cause exemption or the RRP is lifted. For adult BadgerCare Plus members 
aged 19 and older, the RRP is 12 months; for children under age 19 the RRP 
lasts 6 months if the RRP begins prior to December 31, 2013 or the RRP will 
last 3 months if it begins after January 1, 2014. 
 
Note: An individual’s RRP status for BC+ does not impact his or her eligibility to 
purchase health insurance through the Marketplace. 
 

19.11.1 Household 
Changes 
 

End the RRP when an adult member of the former BC+ group leaves the home 
during the RRP for one full calendar month and all arrears are paid. 

19.11.2 Reapplying 
 

Children under age 19 
Through December 31, 2013, The individual must serve the full six month 
penalty period. Eligibility may begin again in month seven provided the arrears 
are paid in full.  The arrears must be paid for all months s/he was eligible with a 
premium.  In addition, if another group in the case has unpaid premiums and 
are in a different RRP, no one is eligible after the RRP until all the arrears for 
the case are paid.  
 
Beginning January 1, 2014, the individual will serve a three month RRP for 
failure to pay a premium. However, the individual can become eligible for BC+ 
again at any time during the three month RRP if s/he pays his or her arrears. 
The child’s eligibility will be restored back to the beginning of the RRP. If the 
individual serves the full three month penalty period, s/he will become eligible 
for BC+ again without paying arrears on the first of the following month after the 
RRP ends, if s/he continues to meet the program eligibility criteria.  
 
If a child enters a six month RRP prior to December 31, 2013 and the RRP 
would end in 2014, s/he must serve the full six month RRP before becoming 
eligible for BC+ again. This child’s RRP cannot be lifted in 2014 by paying his or 
her arrears prior to the end of the RRP. 
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Examples 4, 6, and 7 are new with this release. 
 

19.11.3 Quitting BC+ 
 

In order for BC+ to be cost-effective, premium-paying members will not be able 
to pick and choose when they want to pay premiums and receive BC+ benefits. 
Therefore, if a premium-paying BC+ member decides to quit the program, they 
will remain ineligible for: 
 

• 6 months if they are a child under age 19 and they quit prior to Adverse 
Action in November 2013, 

 
Example 8 has been updated. 
 

25.2 Application 
Types/Methods 
 

BC+ applicants have the choice of one of the following application methods: 
 

5. Use of the paper or online application available through the 
Marketplace. 

6. Telephone application with the Marketplace. 
 

25.3.1 Where to 
Apply Introduction 
 

The agency (county/tribe or consortia) of the applicant’s county of residence 
should process the individual’s application. 
 

25.3.4 Applications 
Received from the 
Federal Marketplace 
 

(This subsection is new with this release). 
 
Starting Fall 2013, the Federally-faciliated Marketplace (the Marketplace or the 
Exchange) will begin sending applications to DHS through an account transfer 
process for individuals the Marketplace assesses as potentially eligible for 
BadgerCare Plus or Medicaid. Such applications are considered full 
applications for all "insurance affordability programs" including BadgerCare Plus 
and should be appropriately processed. The 30 day processing requirement 
begins on the day that the account is received by DHS or the next business day 
if received after normal operating hours or on weekends or holidays. If eligible, 
the individual's benefits will begin on the first day of the month the application 
was filed at the Marketplace, not the date that the application was received by 
the agency. If the individual requests backdating, their eligibility will be 
backdated for up to three months from the first day of the month the application 
was filed at the Marketplace.  
 
If a paper application from the Marketplace is mailed to a consortium or tribal 
agency, the IM worker should consider that application as an application for 
BadgerCare Plus and/or Medicaid and process it. 
 

25.4 Valid 
Application 
 

A valid application for BC+ must include the applicant’s: 
 

3. Signature in the Rights and Responsibilities section of one of the 
following forms:  

• Wisconsin Medicaid for the Elderly, Blind and Disabled 
Application / Review Packet (F-10101),  

• Medicaid, BadgerCare Plus and Family Planning Services 
Registration Application (F-10129),  

• BadgerCare Plus Application Packet (F-10182), 
• BadgerCare Plus Supplement to FoodShare Wisconsin 

Application (F-10138)  
• Health Coverage & Help Paying Costs Application from the 

Federally-facilitated Marketplace, 

http://marketplace.cms.gov/getofficialresources/publications-and-articles/marketplace-application-for-family.pdf
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• Telephonic signature in CARES, 
• Electronic signature in ACCESS, or 
• Electronic signature in an account transfer from the 

Marketplace. 
 

25.5 Valid Signature 
 

The applicant or the applicant's caretaker relative must sign (using his/her own 
signature): 
 

1. The paper application form, 
2. The signature page of the CAF (telephone or face to face), 
3. The ACCESS application form with an electronic signature, or 
4. The online or paper Health Coverage & Help Paying Costs Application 

from the Federally-facilitated Marketplace. 
 
Except when: 
 

2. An authorized representative signs for the applicant. The applicant may 
authorize someone to represent him/her (IMM, Ch. I, Part A, 18.3.0). An 
authorized representative must be an individual, not an organization. 

 
When a Marketplace application is processed by the agency and an 
applicant has appointed an authorized representative in the application, 
the agency must honor this appointment of an authorized 
representative. 

 
25.5.2 Telephone 
Signature 
Requirements 
 

Note: Applications that are submitted through ACCESS or transferred from the 
Marketplace are signed electronically, so an additional signature (telephone or 
pen-and-paper) is not needed. 
 

25.6 Filing Date 
 

For applications submitted to the local agency, the filing date is the day a signed 
valid application /registration form is delivered to the Income Maintenance 
agency or the next business day if it is delivered after the agency's regularly 
scheduled business hours. 
 
The filing date on an ACCESS application or an application submitted to the 
Marketplace is the date the application is electronically submitted or the next 
business day if submitted after 4:30 PM or on a weekend or holiday. 
 
When an application is submitted by mail or fax, record the date that the IM 
agency received the valid application form. 
 
When a request for assistance is made by phone, the filing date is not set until 
a signed application and/or page one valid signature is received by the agency.  
 



26 
 

25.7.1 Timeframes 
Introduction 
 

All applications received by an agency must be processed and eligibility 
approved or denied as soon as possible but no later than 30 calendar days 
from:  

• The filing date for applications submitted directly to the local tribal or 
consortium agency,  
OR 

• The date the local agency received the application(s) from the 
Marketplace. 
 

This includes issuing a notice of decision. 
 

Example 3: A signed application was submitted to the Marketplace on 
January 2nd. The Marketplace assessed the individual as potentially eligible 
for BC+ and transferred the individual’s account to the agency on January 
5th. The first day of the 30-day period for processing requirements was 
January 6th. The end of the 30-day period would have been February 4th. 
The application was approved on January 31st, and the applicant is 
determined eligible beginning January 1st. 

 

25.8 Begin Dates 
 

BC+ eligibility begins the first day of the month in which the valid application is 
submitted and all eligibility requirements are met, with the following exceptions. 
 Those begin dates are the date a valid application is submitted, all eligibility 
requirements are met, and: 
 

5. BC+ Prenatal Program - The first of the month in which a completed 
application is received and the pregnancy is verified. 

Note: As of January 1, 2014, pregnancy for the BC+ Prenatal 
Program will only be verified if the worker has information that 
contradicts the individual’s self-declaration. 

 
25.8.1 Backdated 
Eligibility 
 

The text changes are too numerous to list. 

25.9.1 Termination 
 

Starting with renewals due March 31, 2014, if a case is determined under MAGI 
rules and is closed at renewal due to failure to complete the renewal, including 
providing verification for that renewal, the individual can be reopened for BC+ 
without filing a new application if s/he provides the necessary information within 
90 days of the renewal date.  
 

26.1.1 Reviews 
Renewals 
 

Agency Option 
For individuals whose eligibility is determined under non-MAGI rules, the 
agency may review any case at any other time when the agency can justify the 
need. Examples include: 

• Loss of contact 
• Member request 

 
Note: Shortening certification periods in an attempt to balance agency workload 
is not permissible.  
 
Effective January 1, 2014, BC+ members whose eligibility is determined using 
MAGI rules are required to complete a renewal no earlier or no later than 12 
months from their certification period.  Individuals whose benefits are time-
limited, such as CENs or pregnant women, will not be required to do a renewal 
at the end of their time limited benefit if the individual is on a case with other 
open BC+ assistance groups.  
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Once individuals’ BC+ eligibility is determined under MAGI rules, workers can 
complete an early renewal only if the member requests an early renewal. Once 
the member requests an early renewal, the renewal must be completed. 
 

26.1.2 Administrative 
Renewals 
 

This section has been split into: 
 
Administrative Renewals through December 31, 2013 
 
and  
 
Administrative Renewals Effective January 1, 2014 
Effective January 1, 2014, administrative renewals will be suspended for BC+ 
and FPOS cases. 
 
 

27.2 Non- financial 
Change Reporting 
Requirements 
 

BadgerCare Plus members whose eligibility is determined under non-MAGI 
rules must report the following non-financial changes within 10 days after 
occurrence: 
 

• Address 
• Household composition, including pregnancy and changes to the 

pregnancy of a BC+ member 
• Living arrangement (e.g. institutionalization, incarceration, etc.) 
• Change in marital status 

 
BadgerCare Plus members whose eligibility is determined under MAGI rules 
must report the following non-financial changes within 10 days after occurrence: 

• Address 
• Household composition, including pregnancy and changes to the 

pregnancy of a BC+ member 
• Living arrangement (e.g. institutionalization, incarceration, etc.) 
• Change in marital status  
• Change in insurance coverage 
• Change in expected tax filing status 
• Change in tax dependents  
• No longer receiving a tax-related deduction 

 
27.3 Income Change 
Reporting 
Requirements 
 

Through December 31, 2013, BadgerCare Plus members must report income 
changes when their total monthly gross income exceeds the following 
percentages of the Federal Poverty Level (FPL) for their assistance group size:  
 
[See listing in the Handbook] 
 
Effective January 1, 2014, income changes must be reported when the total 
monthly income of the assistance group with the highest monthly income 
amount exceed the following FPL percentages for their assistance group size: 
 
[See listing in the Handbook] 
 
Adults in a BadgerCare Plus Extension who are required to pay a premium 
must also report and verify income changes during the extension certification 
period. Eligibility for adult members who would be required to pay premiums will 
be terminated for failure to submit requested verification. Effective January 1, 
2014, all non-exempt parents and caretakers in BC+ Extensions will be required 
to pay a premium. 
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For members whose eligibility is determined under non-MAGI rules, the CARES  
notice will indicate the dollar amount associated with each FPL level, for the 
BC+ group size. 
 

28.1 Overpayments 
 

Note: Overpayments can only be recovered if the member failed to report a 
change for which they were notified they were required to report. 
 

28.4.3 Overpayments 
for Individuals 
Eligible for Family 
Planning Only 
Services (FPOS) 
 

2. If the incorrect /overpaid BC+ benefits were paid by an HMO, recover 
the HMO capitation rate paid by the state minus any premiums which 
the member may have paid and the “average” (currently $19.04) 
monthly cost of the FPOS. 

 

28.6 Refer to District 
Attorney 
 

See IMM Chapter 11 Program Fraud Overview for referral criteria when fraud is 
suspected. The agency may refer the case to the state fraud investigation 
service provider the Department Of Health Services (DHS) Office of the 
Inspector General (OIG) where fraudulent activity by the member is suspected. 
 If the investigation reveals a member may have committed fraud, refer the case 
to the district attorney, corporation counsel for investigation, or OIG. The district 
attorney or corporation counsel may prosecute for fraud under civil liability 
statutes. The agency may seek recovery through an order for restitution by the 
court of jurisdiction in which the member or former member is being prosecuted 
for fraud. 
 

29.1 Notices 
 

A member must receive a notice at least ten days prior to a negative action 
such as a termination of benefits, a change from the Standard plan to the 
Benchmark plan (only until December 31, 2013) or an increase in premium. 
 

31.1 Interagency 
Transfer 
 

CARES will automatically set a review date for one month after the transfer. 
 Correct the review date in CARES, so that it is the end of the certification 
period that was in effect at the time of the transfer.  Run eligibility in CARES. 
 
The renewal date will remain the same after case transfer. 
 

38.1 Covered 
Services 
 

A covered service is any medical health care service that BC+ will pay for an 
eligible member, if billed.  The Division of Health Care Access and 
Accountability (DHCAA) certifies enrolls qualified health care providers and 
reimburses them for providing BC+ covered services to eligible BC+ members. 
 Members may receive BC+ services only from certified enrolled providers, 
except in medical emergencies.  BC+ reimburses emergency medical services 
necessary to prevent the death or serious impairment of the health of a member 
even when provided by a non-certified enrolled provider. 
 

38.2.1 Introduction 
 

The table of Covered Services under the BC+ Standard Plan or BC+ 
Benchmark Plan has been updated. 
 

38.2.2 Copayment 
 

This subsection has been updated with co-payment policy through December 
31, 2013 and co-payment policy effective January 1, 2014. The changes are too 
numerous to list. 
 

38.3 Transportation 
 

This entire section has been rewritten with this release. 
 

38.4 HMO Enrollment 
 

2. If the member lives in an area covered by two or more HMOs, 
enrollment is mandatory. does not choose an HMO within two weeks of 
receiving the enrollment packet, s/he receives a reminder card. 
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 Members In areas with only one available HMO will stop here 
enrollment is voluntary and the process stops here. They do not have to 
enroll in an HMO. 
 

3. If the member lives in a mandatory area and does not choose and 
HMO, has not chosen an HMO after four weeks, and lives in an area 
covered by two or more HMO’s, s/he will be assigned an HMO. A letter 
explaining the assignment will be sent to him/her. S/he will receive 
another enrollment form and have an opportunity to change the 
assigned HMO. 

 
38.4.2 Disenrollment Members can be disenrolled by the HMO’s request in the following situations: 

1. They become inmates of a public institution. 
2. They need an experimental transplant. 

 
HMO disenrollment is not automatic in these situations. 
 

39.1 Emergency 
Services Income 
Limits 
 

An immigrant who only meets the eligibility criteria for the BadgerCare Plus 
Core Plan is not eligible for Emergency Services. Immigrants who meet the 
criteria for BadgerCare Plus under the childless adults’ coverage group under 
MAGI rules will also be ineligible for Emergency Services. 
 
BC+ Emergency Services Income Limit Through December 31, 2013 
[Table]   
 
BC+ Emergency Services income Limit Effective January 1, 2014 
A 5% income disregard and 1% conversion factor will be applied to the 
Emergency Services income limit for pregnant women and children effective 
January 1, 2014. 
 
[Table] This table is new.  The changes are too numerous to list. 
 

39.2 Determining if 
an emergency exists 
 

Certification of Emergency Services is not done through CARES and must be 
done manually. However, all applications should be processed through CARES 
to determine BC+ eligibility. If the immigrant does not have an SSN, CARES will 
assign a pseudo SSN. That pseudo SSN should be used when submitting the 
manual certification. When an immigrant is determined eligible for Emergency 
Services, complete and submit a manual certification (F-10110). See Process 
Help 81.3. form F-10110 (formerly DES 3070). The fiscal agent needs a 
beginning and end date to process eligibility. In setting the end date, use the 
last day of the emergency. If that is not known, use the last day of the month in 
which the emergency is expected to end. Use the AE medical status code.  
 
Note: The Federally-facilitated Marketplace will send accounts to State 
consortia and tribal agencies for individuals who have been assessed as 
potentially eligible for BC+ Emergency Services. 
 

39.3 Emergency 
Services For 
Pregnant Women 
 

A pregnant non-qualifying immigrant may apply for emergency services up to 
one calendar month before her due date (See 39.5 for pregnant non-qualifying 
immigrants who lose eligibility for the BC+ Prenatal Services). Certify an eligible 
pregnant non-qualifying immigrant from the date of application , if she applies 
no more than one calendar month prior to her due date, through the end of the 
month in which the 60th day occurs following her due date. Adjust the 
certification period based on the actual pregnancy end date, once it is known. 
 
Note: As of January 1, 2014, pregnancy is no longer required to be verified. 

https://prd.cares.wisconsin.gov/help/ph/process_help/h81/81.htm#81_3
https://prd.cares.wisconsin.gov/help/ph/process_help/h81/81.htm#81_3
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Example 4 updated. 
 

40.1 Family Planning 
Only Services 
Program, 40.8 FPOS 
Changes,  
 

BC+ Family Planning Only Services program (FPOS) provides limited benefits 
for family planning services for women and men with income at or below 300% 
of the FPL (under non-MAGI rules) or 306% FPL (under MAGI rules) and who 
are: 
 

2. Not enrolled in BC+ without a premium or receiving other full benefit 
Medicaid. 

 
40.2.1 Introduction FPOS temporary enrollment through a presumptive eligibility determination 

provides family planning services beginning on the day that a qualified provider 
determines that the individual has income at or below 300% of the FPL(under 
non-MAGI rules) or 306% FPL (under MAGI rules), and is: 
 

1. 15 years of age or older, and 
2. A Wisconsin resident, and  
3. A citizen of the U.S., and 
4. Not enrolled in BC+ without a premium or receiving other full benefit 

Medicaid. 
 

40.4 FPOS Non-
financial 
Requirements 
 

The following are FPOS specific non-financial requirements: 
1. Be 15 years of age or older. 
2. Not be enrolled in BC+ without a premium or receiving other full benefit 

Medicaid. 
3. Meet all BC+ non-financial program requirements (See Section 2.1) 

criteria listed in the Non-Financial Chapter with the exceptions listed 
below: 

 
40.5.2 Income Under 
MAGI Rules 
 

This subsection is new with this release. 
 
Because FPOS eligibility is determined based on a group size of one, the 
applicant’s taxable earned and unearned income is the only income that should 
be used when calculating their income for purposes of FPOS eligibility under 
MAGI rules. When a child under 19 is applying, their parents’ income is not 
included in his or her eligibility determination. If a married individual is applying 
for FPOS coverage, do not include the income of the spouse, even if he or she 
is living with his or her spouse. 
 

40.6.1 Fetus 
 

For non-MAGI based FPOS groups, increase the FPOS group by one for each 
fetus a pregnant woman in the FPOS group is carrying.  
 

40.6.2 Children 18 
years of Age 
 

For non-MAGI based FPOS groups, children under 19 who are applying for 
FPOS are a group of one, unless s/he is married and/or has children. Parents 
are not included in the group. 
 

40.6.3 FPOS Group 
under MAGI Rules 
 

This subsection is new with this release. 
 
For all individuals, including children under 19, whose eligibility for FPOS is 
determined under MAGI rules, the group size of the applicant will always be 
one, regardless of his/her marital status, pregnancy status, and whether or not 
s/he has children or tax dependents. 
 

40.6.4 Transitioning 
to MAGI Rules 

This subsection is new with this release. 
 

http://www.emhandbooks.wisconsin.gov/bcplus/bcplus.htm
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 Current FPOS members whose eligibility for the program is based on non-MAGI 
rules will transition to MAGI rules in the same manner as BC+ members: on 
March 31, 2014 or their regularly scheduled 2014 renewal, whichever is later.  
 
All applicants to the FPOS program who apply on or after January 1, 2014 will 
have his or her eligibility determined under MAGI rules. 
 

40.7 FPOS Program 
Choice  
 

An individual applying for both BC+ and FPOS is not given a choice at the time 
of confirmation if s/he meets the eligibility for both benefits. S/he will be enrolled 
in BC+. 
 
An individual found to be eligible for a deductible may also be eligible for FPOS 
benefits during a deductible period. The member may receive FPOS benefits 
until s/he has met a deductible. The member can report any out-of-pocket 
medical bills incurred while s/he is receiving services through FPOS, in order to 
meet a deductible. Once a deductible has been met, s/he is receiving full-
benefit BC+/ MA, and is no longer eligible for FPOS. but However, s/he will 
continue to receive the same family planning services through BC+/MA. 
 
(The example has been updated.) 
 

40.8 FPOS Changes 
 

Changes reported in income or household composition or income resulting in 
ineligibility will not affect FPOS benefits for the remainder of the 12-month 
certification period. Eligibility is put into an extension phase until the end of the 
12-month certification period or until the member reports an income decrease 
that is again below the FPOS income limit. 
 
Note: Household composition changes will not affect eligibility when the 
member’s eligibility is determined using MAGI rules in 2014, as all FPOS 
assistance groups will only include the member in the household composition, 
regardless of his or her living arrangement. 
 

40.9 FPOS BC+ 
Extension Phase 
 

An FPOS member enters into a FPOS extension phase if a change is reported 
at any time during the 12-month certification period in income or household 
composition that results in income that exceeds the FPOS income limit. 
 
The extension continues until the review renewal date that was originally set for 
the FPOS eligibility. 
 
Note: Household composition changes will not affect eligibility when the 
member’s eligibility is determined using MAGI rules in 2014, as all FPOS 
assistance groups will only include the member in the household composition, 
regardless of his or her living arrangement. 
 

40.10 FPOS 
Renewals Reviews 
and Recertifications 

 
 

Through December 31, 2013, FPOS cases can be selected for administrative 
renewal (26.1.2). These cases must meet all the following criteria to be selected 
for this process: 
 

1. No child in household turning 18 in current or next month 
2. Countable income of individuals age 18 and above at or below 275% of 

the FPL. 
 
Administrative renewals for FPOS case will not be allowed in 2014. 
 

41.1 BC+ Prenatal 
Program 

The BC+ Prenatal Program (BC+PP) provides coverage for women who: 
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 • Meet the non-financial and financial eligibility requirements for BC+ 
outside of incarceration or immigration status 

• Have verified pregnancies, and 
• Are not eligible for BC+ because they are either inmates of a public 

institution or non-qualifying immigrants. 
 
Note: Pregnancy will no longer be verified for the BC+ Prenatal Program 
beginning on January 1, 2014. Only verify pregnancy if the worker has 
information that contradicts the member or applicant’s self-declared information. 
 

41.2 BC+ Prenatal 
Program Eligibility 
Requirements 
 

2. The applicant must not have current or past access to an employer’s 
health insurance benefit where the employer pays 80% or more of the 
premium cost or to any State of Wisconsin health insurance plan. 

3. The applicant must provide any required verifications. of pregnancy and 
any other required verification. 

 
 Note: For eligibility beginning on or after January 1, 2014, 

pregnancy will only be verified if the worker has information that 
contradicts the applicant’s self-declared information. 

 
4. The applicant must not have health insurance coverage (Chapter 7) 

through any HIPAA standard plan now or in the three calendar months 
prior to the BC+ Prenatal request. 

 
 

41.2.1 Unique 
Aspects of BC+ 
Prenatal Program 
 

3. Unlike regular BC+ which locks in eligibility throughout the pregnancy, 
BC+PP eligibility may be terminated with timely notice for these 
pregnant women for failure to meet any of the BC+ eligibility 
requirements listed in 41.1. 

4. There is no Presumptive Eligibility for the BC+PP. Eligibility for the BC+ 
Prenatal Program may only be determined by the IM agencies. 

5. There is no 3-month backdating option available for Prenatal Program 
members. 

6. Unlike BC+ for Pregnant Women, Prenatal Program members are not 
eligible for the 60-day pregnancy extension, but are eligible for 
Emergency Services during that time. 

 
41.5 BC+ Prenatal 
Program Eligibility 
Begin Date 
 

BC+ Prenatal Program eligibility begins no sooner than the first of the month in 
which a valid application is received. and the pregnancy is verified. For 
applicants whose eligibility begins prior to December 31, 2013 the pregnancy 
must be verified before eligibility can begin. 
 
The example has been updated. 
 

41.7 Determining 
BC+ Prenatal Group 
 

This section has been split to accommodate eligibility rules prior to December 
31, 2013 and after January 1, 2014.  
 
41.7.1 The BC+ Prenatal Group through December 31, 2013 
41.7.2 The BC+ Prenatal Group after January 1, 2014 
Section 41.7.1 is new. The changes are too numerous to list. 
 
 

42 Well Women 
Medicaid 
 

This chapter has been marked as reserved for future updates. 
 

43.1 Core Plan The BC+ Core Plan will be ending on December 31, 2013. Core Plan members 
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Introduction 
 

with AG income at or below 100% FPL will be transitioned to the BC+ Childless 
Adults coverage group without have to reapply. Coverage for Core Plan 
members with AG income over 100% of the FPL will be terminated effective 
December 31, 2013. These individuals may be eligible to receive advanced 
premium tax credits and cost-sharing reductions available through the 
Federally-facilitated Marketplace. 
 

43.4.2 Processing 
Fee 
 

Effective September 28, 2013, Core Plan applicants and/or members 
completing a renewal will no longer be required to pay the $60 processing fee 
or complete the HNA. 
 

43.5.1 Filing Date 
 

Note: The EBD Medicaid application filing date can be used as the Core Plan 
filing date, if:   

• A Core Plan application is received and the application fee is paid within 
30 days after the EBD Medicaid denial notice is issued; and 

• All required verification is submitted prior to the deadline. 
 
Any EBD applicant with a file date prior to October 10th, who meets the above 
criteria, will be able to enroll in the Core Plan without being put on the waitlist.  
 

43.5.2.2 Late 
Processing 
 

Reapplication 
 
Upon request from the applicant/member, a reapplication will be processed 
without an additional processing fee if the request is made within:   
 

• Thirty days of the date after an initial application was denied; or 
• One calendar month after an early disenrollment date. 

 
The request establishes a new filing date and a new 30-day processing period. 
 If the individual is determined eligible through the reapplication process, the 
enrollment start date is determined according to the next available enrollment 
period after eligibility is confirmed.  
 
This policy does not apply to annual renewals or subsequent applications. 
 

43.5.3 Certification 
Period 
 

Changes in income and/or marital status do not affect a member’s eligibility 
during the 12 month certification period. This policy ends when the Core Plan 
ends on December 31, 2013. 
 

43.6.3 Health Needs 
Assessment 
 

This subsection has been removed. 

43.6.4 Physical Exam 
 

This subsection has been removed. 

43.7.3.4 Initial 
Payments 
 

Note: The $60 processing fee for Core Plan renewals will no longer be 
collected for renewals completed on or after September 28, 2013, regardless of 
the month the renewal is due. The below policy will only apply to renewals 
completed prior to September 28, 2013. 
 

43.7.3.10 Restrictive 
Re-enrollment Period 
(RRP) 
 

RRPs will be tracked separately for BadgerCare Plus for Families and the Core 
Plan. If an individual who is under an RRP due to no-payment of premiums for 
Core Plan becomes eligible for BadgerCare Plus for Families, the Core Plan 
RRP will not affect eligibility for BadgerCare Plus. 
 
Core Plan RRPs do not affect eligibility for BC+ effective January 1, 2014. 
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43.8.3 Core Plan 
Ending 
 

This subsection is new with this release. 
 
The BC+ Core Plan is ending effective December 31, 2013. Core Plan 
members at or below 100% FPL will be transitioned to the new BC+ childless 
adults category and those over 100% FPL will be referred to the Marketplace. 
 

43.10 Core Plan 
Enrollment Cap 
(Waitlist) 
 

Core Plan applications received after 5:00 P.M. on October 9, 2009, will not be 
processed. A Waitlist was established on October 9, 2009 because the total 
number of applications received is greater than the amount of funding available. 
The Waitlist will end as of September 28, 2013. Individuals on the Waitlist, 
regardless of their household income, will need to reapply for coverage, either 
through BC+ or the Marketplace, for eligibility beginning January 1, 2014. 
 

43.12 Core Plan 
Covered Services 
 

Covered services and co-payment information can be found on the BadgerCare 
Plus Covered Services Comparison Chart (PDF) on the ForwardHealth Provider 
Home Page. at http://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/badgercareplus/core/pdf/p-
10194.pdf 
 

44 BC+ Core Plan 
Transitional 
Childless Adults 
 

This chapter has been marked as reserved for future updates. 
 

45.1.3 BC+ Basic 
Plan Ending 
 

This subsection is new with this release. 
 
Due to the restructuring of the BadgerCare Plus program effective January 1, 
2014, the BadgerCare Plus Basic Plan will be ending on December 31, 2013. 
Members enrolled in the Basic Plan will be given timely notice of termination of 
their coverage and may apply for BadgerCare Plus or for advanced premium 
tax credits and cost sharing reductions available through the Marketplace. 
 

45.2.1 BC+ Basic 
Eligibility Ending 
Introduction 
 

(This subsection will be removed with this release). 
 
Effective March 19, 2011, requests to enroll in the Basic Plan will be denied 
because new enrollment in the program has been closed.  See 45.1.2 BC+ 
Basic Enrollment Ending. 
 

45.3 BadgerCare 
Plus Basic 
Enrollment Process 
 

New enrollment in the BC+ Basic program ended effective March 19, 2011. See 
45.1.2 Enrollment Ending. 
 
Note: The BC+ Basic Plan is ending effective December 31, 2013. 
 

45.3.1 Introduction 
and Premiums 
 

(This subsection will be removed with this release). 
 
New enrollment in the BC+ Basic program ended effective March 19, 2011. See 
45.1.2 Enrollment Ending.  
 
There is no other application process for the Basic Plan. No paper applications 
designed as applications for other BadgerCare Plus or Medicaid programs will 
be accepted and processed as a Basic Plan application. There is no signature 
required to enroll in the Basic Plan. An SSN is required before a Basic Plan 
enrollment request can be processed. If an individual on the Waitlist makes the 
initial premium payment online, s/he will not be able to complete the process 
without entering an SSN if one was not provided when the individual applied for 
the Core Plan. 
 

45.4 BadgerCare This chapter has been marked as Reserved. 

https://www.forwardhealth.wi.gov/WIPortal/content/Managed%20Care%20Organization/providers/BCPlusCoveredSrvcsComparisonChart.pdf.spage
https://www.forwardhealth.wi.gov/WIPortal/content/Managed%20Care%20Organization/providers/BCPlusCoveredSrvcsComparisonChart.pdf.spage
http://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/badgercareplus/core/pdf/p-10194.pdf
http://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/badgercareplus/core/pdf/p-10194.pdf
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Plus Basic 
Notification 
Reserved 
 

 
Effective March 19, 2011, requests to enroll in the Basic Plan will be denied 
because new enrollment in the program has been closed. See 45.1.2 
Enrollment Ending.  
 

45.5 BadgerCare 
Plus Basic 
Enrollment 
Termination 
 

If it is determined that a Basic Plan enrollee no longer meets the Core Plan 
criteria (e.g. income is verified to be over 200% of the FPL) eligibility for the 
Basic Plan will be terminated. and s/he will also be removed from the Core Plan 
Waitlist. 
 
Please note, the BC+ Basic Plan is ending effective December 31, 2013 and 
that termination of coverage due to the end of the Basic Plan cannot be 
appealed. See 45.1.3 BC+ Basic Plan Ending. 
 

45.6 BadgerCare 
Plus basic 
verification 
requirements 
 

Verification of income and health insurance coverage will be is required for the 
Basic Plan. The Bureau of Enrollment Policy and Systems will use automated 
data exchanges to verify income and identify discrepancies or inconsistencies 
between the information provided by the enrollee and the third party source 
which could impact eligibility. A discrepancy report will be generated on a 
regular basis and provided to the Enrollment Services Center. Customers will 
be required to provide verification of income or health insurance coverage when 
a discrepancy that may impact eligibility exists. 
 

45.7.1 Online 
Payments 
 

The ACCESS online payment tool can be used to make the initial and ongoing 
monthly premium payments. The online payment tool cannot be used to set up 
automatic withdrawals or payments for multiple months. See ACCESS 
handbook 10.7. BC+ Basic members will be unable to pay Basic premiums 
online after November 16, 2013. 
 

45.7.2 Phone 
Payments 
 

Waitlist Members can pay their premium over the phone by calling the ESC 
BC+ Basic Plan Processing Unit at 1-800-291-2002, Option 2. Designated ESC 
BC+ Basic Plan Processing Unit staff will assist Waitlist members who call the 
ESC to pay a Basic premium.  
 

48.1.1 Premiums for 
Children 
 

The table below is for the individual Child premium amounts. Under non-MAGI 
rules, group premiums (the total of the premiums of the children in the group) 
will be capped at 5% of the group’s countable household income for families 
with incomes at or below 300% of the FPL. 
 
The table below outlines the premium amounts for children whose income is 
determined under non-MAGI rules. 
 
[See table in Handbook.] 
 
Under MAGI rules, non-exempt children whose BadgerCare Plus eligibility is 
determined under MAGI rules and with an assistance group income above 
201% of the FPL will be required to pay premiums. Each child’s premium will be 
based on their own assistance group’s size and income. The 5% cap for the 
cost of total household premiums for children will continue to apply. The cap will 
be 5% of the income of the premium paying assistance group with the highest 
countable income amount. The total household’s premiums will be determined 
based on the combined amount of all children’s premiums or the 5% cap, 
whichever amount is less. See sections 19.2 and 19.3 for more information on 
premium caps. 
 
The below table outlines the premium amounts for children whose income is 
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determined under MAGI rules. 
 
[See table in Handbook.] 
 
Note: Children in extensions are not required to pay premiums (see section 
19.1). If a parent in the household is in an extension, the children are exempt 
from paying premiums regardless of their income. 
 

48.1.2 Premiums for 
Adults 
 

Note: The BC+ Core Plan ends on December 31, 2013. See chapter 43. 
 
Effective January 1, 2014, BC+ parents, caretakers and childless adults will not 
be subject to premiums unless they are in an extension. These premiums will 
be required of non-exempt adults in extensions regardless of whether non-
MAGI or MAGI rules was used to determine BC+ eligibility. 
 
Note: The rows for 100.00% – 132.99% FPL on each table are only effective 
beginning January 1, 2014. 
 
All the tables for the various family sizes have been updated. 
 

48.1.3 Premiums for 
Adult Caretaker 
Families with Self 
Employment Income 

Effective January 1, 2014, depreciation will be an allowable expense when 
calculating income, regardless of the methodology used to determine eligibility 
(see section 16.4). Also effective January 1, 2014, self-employed parents and 
caretakers will no longer be charged a 5% premium. See Chapter 19 for more 
information on premiums. 
 

49.1 Health Care 
Choice 
 

For individuals whose eligibility is determined under non-MAGI rules: 
[See table] 
 
Note: The BadgerCare Plus Benchmark Plan ends on December 31, 2013. 
 
For individuals whose eligibility is determined under MAGI rules: 
 
Effective January 1, 2014, once an individual has been determined eligible for 
EBD MA, s/he must be enrolled in EBD MA, even if they are also eligible for 
BC+, unless they have a change in circumstances that results in ineligibility for 
EBD MA. The only exception to this policy is pregnant women who are eligible 
for both EBD MA and BC+. In these instances, the pregnant woman will be 
enrolled in BC+.  
 
If someone is pending for EBD MA or if they have an unmet deductible for EBD 
MA, the individual is not considered eligible for EBD MA and can enroll in BC+. 
Pending for EBD MA includes, but is not limited to, waiting for a disability 
determination from DDB or not eligible for Medicare. If an individual enrolled in 
EBD MA becomes ineligible for EBD MA for any reason, including going over 
the asset limit or failure to pay a MAPP premium, s/he can enroll in BC+ if s/he 
is still eligible to do so.   
 

51.1 BadgerCare 
Plus Medical Status 
Codes 
 

Two new med stat tables have been added: 
 
Med Stat Codes Added January 1, 2014 
Med Stat Codes Eliminated January 1, 2014 
 

52.1 Core Plan Health 
Insurance 
 

Please note that the BadgerCare Plus Core Plan will end on December 31, 
2013. See Chapter 43 for more information. 
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