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SUBJECT: Administrative Disqualification Hearing (ADH) forms for Child Care 
 
 
CROSS REFERENCE:  Wisconsin Statutes s.49.001 (3m); s.49.151 (2) (a) and (b); Child  
Care Manual Chapter 2A- Client Policy Manual- section 2.1.5.1 Classifications of Client 
Overpayments; and Operations Memo 12-56 Enforcing Child Care Intentional Program 
Violations (IPV) for Clients. 
 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  Immediately  
 
PURPOSE 
The purpose of this Operations Memo is to inform local agencies of updates made to the 
Administrative Disqualification Hearing Notice (F-16038) and Waiver of Administrative 
Disqualification Hearing (ADH) form (F-16039) used by local agencies to determine an 
intentional program violation (IPV) for a client.  This Operations Memo provides information in 
addition to the information provided in Operations Memo 12-56 Enforcing Child Care Intentional 
Program Violations (IPV) for Clients which was issued on 10/30/2012. 
 
BACKGROUND 
Prior to the 2011 Wisconsin Act 202 becoming effective November 1, 2012, the determination 
of an IPV was made through an administrative hearing; a conviction by a court of law; when a 
client signed a Waiver of Administrative Disqualification Hearing (ADH) form; or, when a client 
signed a Disqualification Consent Agreement form.   
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DETERMINATION OF AN IPV 
Under the new law, the Department of Children and Families (Department); a Wisconsin Works 
(W-2) agency; or, an entity administering Shares under contract with the Department may make 
the determination whether an individual applying for or receiving emergency assistance, W-2, or 
Shares subsidy benefits has committed an IPV.   
 
An individual denied Shares benefits as a result of an IPV determination may contest the 
determination and request a contested case hearing within 30 days after the date of the notice 
(Wis. Stat. 49.151 (2) (b)).  Pursuant to Administrative Code § HA 1.04 a request for a hearing 
shall be made in writing.  Requests for hearing may be served personally, by mail or by fax to 
the Division of Hearings and Appeals (DHA).  Under the terms of the child care contract, 
counties and tribes are required to provide legal representation to agencies or entities 
administering Shares at contested case hearings. 
 
While a contested case hearing may be part of the process to determine an IPV for the child 
care program, it is not necessary.  The IPV for child care can also be determined by the non-
appeal of an IPV by the client.  Therefore, the Administrative Disqualification Hearing Notice (F-
16038) and Waiver of Administrative Disqualification Hearing (ADH) form (F-16039) should not 
be used to determine an IPV.  All reference to child care has been removed from these forms.  
Effective immediately, these two forms, F-16038 and F-16039, should not be used to 
determine an IPV for a client in the child care program. 
 
However, the Disqualification Consent Agreement form that a client can sign to receive an IPV 
in order to avoid criminal prosecution should still be used, and has been updated to reflect the 
penalty periods for committing an IPV in the child care program as follows: 

• 6 months for a first intentional violation; 
• 12 months for a second intentional violation; and, 
• Permanently for the third intentional violation. 

 
 
AFFECTED NOTICES 
Administrative Disqualification Hearing Notice 
http://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/forms/F1/F16038.pdf 
 
Waiver of Administrative Disqualification Hearing 
http://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/forms/F1/F16039.pdf 
 
Disqualification Consent Agreement form 
http://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/forms/F1/F16025.pdf 
 
 
CONTACT 
For questions regarding this Operations Memo, please contact Marcie Stebbeds at 
marcie.stebbeds@wisconsin.gov or (608) 261-5850. 
 

 
*Program Categories – FS – FoodShare, MA – Medicaid, BC+  – BadgerCare Plus, SC – Senior Care, CTS – 
Caretaker Supplement, CC – Child Care, W-2 – Wisconsin Works, FSET – FoodShare Employment and Training, 
CF – Children First, EA – Emergency Assistance, JAL – Job Access Loan, JC - Job Center Programs, RAP – 
Refugee Assistance Program, WIA – Workforce Investment Act, *Other EP – Other Employment Programs.   
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