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SUBJECT:       Change in Caregiver Law – Background Check Frequency 
 
 

CROSS REFERENCE:  2013 Wisconsin Act 20 

  

            
EFFECTIVE DATE:      IMMEDIATELY 
       

PURPOSE:  
This Operations Memo provides notice to child care certification workers regarding a 
change to the Caregiver Law affecting the frequency of required caregiver background 
checks for certified operators. 
 
BACKGROUND: 
On October 1, 1998, the Caregiver Law was enacted requiring background checks for 
caregivers in certain entities regulated by the State.  The Caregiver Law is implemented 
under s.48.685 and s.50.065, Wis. Stats., and Chapters DHS 12 and 13, Wis. Admin. 
Code.  In 2009, Wisconsin Act 76 established additional changes to the Caregiver Law 
including an increase in the frequency of caregiver background checks and expansion 
of violations considered to be a serious crime/barred offense.  As part of 2013 
Wisconsin Act 20, effective July 2, 2013, the requirement for criminal background 
checks (Department of Justice and Integrated Background Information System) for 
certified operators was decreased from every three months to every 12 months. 
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http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/2013/related/acts/20.pdf
http://www.legis.state.wi.us/statutes/Stat0048.pdf
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/dhs/001/12.pdf
http://legis.wisconsin.gov/lc/publications/act/2009/act076-sb331.pdf
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POLICY/PROCESS CHANGES: 
Act 20 revised s. 48.685(3)(am)1., Wis. Stats., to read as follows: 
 
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/2013/related/acts/20/938e/ 
 

48.685 (3) (am) 1. Every 3 months year or at any time within that period that the 
department, a county department, an agency contracted with under s. 48.651 (2), or a school 
board considers appropriate, the department, county department, contracted agency, or school 
board shall request the information specified in sub. (2) (am) 1. to 5. and (ar) for all caregivers 
specified in sub. (1) (ag) 1. b. who are licensed under s. 48.65 to operate a child care center, 
certified as a child care provider under s. 48.651, or contracted under s. 120.13 (14) to operate a 
child care center. Beginning on January 1, 2011, and annually after that,, for all persons who are 
nonclient residents of such a caregiver, and for all persons under 18 years of age, but not under 
12 years of age, who are caregivers specified in sub. (1) (ag) 1. a. of such a caregiver.  

 
The change reduces the frequency of the Wisconsin Department of Justice and 
Integrated Background Information System checks. The DOJ/IBIS searches are now 
required for the applicant/operator and other individuals subject to the Caregiver Law at 
initial application and every 12 months thereafter.  The reduction in frequency of 
required background checks makes certification and licensing rules less restrictive and 
less costly for child care businesses and creates more efficiency for the department, 
county, tribal and subcontracted agencies. 
 
AUTOMATION: 
 
The department has modified the Wisconsin Child Care Regulatory System 
(WISCCRS) edit that checks the DOJ/IBIS date when approving relocation or renewal 
applications.  Effective July 29, 2013, the edit prevents approval of relocation or 
renewal applications if the DOJ/IBIS dates are more than 12 months prior to the date of 
approval.  The department will no longer send the report, Overdue CBC, to certification 
agencies.  Agencies are encouraged to use the WebI report entitled, Background 
Checks Due, to identify when required individuals are due for background checks.  In 
order for WebI reports to be accurate, certifying agencies are encouraged to modify the 
“Next Check Date” in WISCCRS to be 12 months from the last check for all currently 
certified operators. 
 
Child abuse and neglect and sex offender registry searches will continue to be 
conducted automatically every month for all required individuals. Certification workers 
will continue to be notified each month to check for matches and review new 
information. 

 
ACTION REQUIRED: 
Certification agencies will begin conducting criminal background checks (DOJ/IBIS) 
annually rather than every three months for certified operators, effective immediately.  
The Caregiver Law continues to give authority for agencies to conduct additional 
caregiver background checks "any time within that period that the agency considers 
appropriate". 
 
 

https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/2013/related/acts/20/938e/
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Revisions to the Child Care Certification Caregiver Background Check Manual/Modules 
and WISCCRS User Guides will be published after all updates are complete. 
 
 
CONTACTS: 
For certification policy or Caregiver Law questions please contact Jolene Ibeling at 608-
267-2079 or Jolene.Ibeling@wisconsin.gov.  For WISCCRS or WebI questions please 
contact Pirkko Moilanen at 608-261-4595 or Pirkko.Moilanen@wisconsin.gov. 
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