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SUBJECT: BadgerCare Plus Extensions Policy Changes 
 

 
CROSS REFERENCE:   Operations Memo 13-32, 13-43, 14-01, 14-02 

BadgerCare Plus Eligibility Handbook, Chapters 18 & 19 
 
 
EFFECTIVE DATES: February 1, 2014 and April 1, 2014 
 
 
PURPOSE:  
 
The purpose of this memo is to announce policy changes to BadgerCare Plus (BC+) 
Extensions (also known as Transitional Medical Assistance) for 2014 resulting from recent 
federal legislation and new waiver requirements. 
 
 
BACKGROUND: 
 
As described in Operations Memos 13-32 and 14-01, provisions in the federal Patient 
Protection and Affordable Care Act (PPACA or ACA), 2013 Wisconsin Act 20 (the State 
Biennial Budget), 2013 Wisconsin Act 116, and 2013 Wisconsin Act 117, require changes in 
the policies used to determine eligibility for the BC+ program. These changes included a 
change in the length of BC+ Extensions so that all Extensions started in 2014 would be for 4 
months. 
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Recent federal legislation has extended the current policy of setting 12-month earned income 
and 4-month child support extensions through March 31, 2015.  
 
In addition, as part of BC+ changes for 2014, Wisconsin requested a federal waiver to collect 
premiums from adults in Extensions. This Operations Memo also describes the specific 
premium-related policies for adults in Extensions that will take effect April 1, 2014. 
 
 
POLICY CHANGES: 
 
12-MONTH EXTENSIONS: 
 
Recent federal legislation has extended through March 31, 2015, the current policy of setting 
12-month Extensions for people who lose eligibility due to an increase in earned income.  
 
As described in Operations Memo 13-32, CARES was updated to set all Extensions that start in 
2014 as 4-month Extensions. These changes were implemented in CARES, effective February 
1, 2014. All earned income Extensions set in February and March 2014 will be set as 4-month 
Extensions. To accommodate the change in policy these extensions will be updated 
systematically to 12 months prior to the end of the 4-month Extension. Workers will not be 
required to take action to update the extension from 4 to 12 months. CARES will be updated to 
reflect the extension of the 12-month earned income Extension policy.   
 
Ongoing BC+ members who are in a 12-month earned income or a 4-month child support 
Extension will remain in that Extension, until the end of the Extension certification period, as 
long as they continue to meet all other eligibility criteria. 
 
Members eligible as a childless adult are not eligible for an Extension. 
 
OTHER CHANGES IN EXTENSIONS POLICY FOR 2014: 
 
As described in Operations Memo 13-32, the basic policies for becoming eligible for an 
Extension are generally not changing in 2014, with the exceptions discussed below.  
 
Starting Extensions 
 
Because of MAGI-related changes in household composition and income counting rules, there 
are some differences in how extensions will be set for households whose eligibility is 
determined under old BC+ budgeting rules vs. households whose eligibility is determined under 
MAGI rules: 
 

• Households whose eligibility is determined under old BC+ rules must have been eligible 
for BC+ with household income at or below 100% of the FPL for 3 out of the last 6 
months and had their income increase to over 100% FPL due to earnings and/or child 
support.  

http://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/em/ops-memos/2013/PDF/13-32.pdf
http://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/em/ops-memos/2013/PDF/13-32.pdf
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• Parents, caretaker relatives and pregnant women whose eligibility is determined under 
MAGI rules must have been eligible with income at or below 100% of the FPL for 3 out 
of the last 6 months and had their income increase to over 100% FPL due to earnings 
and/or alimony. When a parent, caretaker relative or pregnant woman enters an 
Extension, all dependent children, stepchildren and NLRR children of that person will be 
eligible for the same Extension, provided that they are eligible for BC+ under MAGI rules 
with incomes at or below the income limits described here in the month prior to the start 
of the extension:  

 
Group Extension eligibility under MAGI Rules 
Children under age 1 Income at or below 306% FPL 
Children ages 1 through 5  Income at or below 191% FPL 
Children ages 6 through 18 Income at or below 156% FPL 

 
Effective February 1, 2014, CARES was updated to implement these rules. 

 
Losing Extensions 
 
There are three policy changes related to losing extensions: 
 
Effective February 1, 2014, the household (under old BC+ rules) or the individual (under MAGI 
rules) does not need to maintain employment in order to continue their earned income 
extension. Effective February 1, 2014, CARES was updated to implement this policy for MAGI-
based extensions only. If a household whose Extension was built under old BC+ rules reports a 
loss of employment, and the members are not otherwise eligible for BC+ due to that loss of 
income, contact the CARES Call Center for assistance in continuing the Extension.   
 
Based on the planned implementation of 4-month earned income Extensions, CARES was 
updated so that parents / caretaker relatives in a MAGI-based extension may continue their 
extension even if there are no more children under age 19 in the home. Similarly, CARES was 
updated so that children in a MAGI-based extension could continue their Extension if they 
turned 19. However, under the implementation of 12-month earned income Extensions, the 
existing policies will stay in effect: 
 

• Parents / caretaker relatives only continue to be eligible for an earned income extension 
if there is still a child under age 19 in the home. If all children leave the home or turn 19, 
the extension should end.   

• Children only continue to be eligible for an earned income extension until they turn 19. 
 
CARES will be updated to reflect this change, but in the meantime, contact the CARES Call 
Center for assistance with ending any MAGI-based earned income extension for the reasons 
described above. 
 

Note: these policies for losing extensions based on no longer qualifying as a parent / 
caretaker or child are for earned income extensions only. They do not apply to 
extensions based on increases in child support or alimony. 
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Extensions policies based on old BC+ vs. MAGI rules 
 
There are some additional differences in extension policy based on whether the household or 
individual was eligible under old BC+ rules or MAGI rules when the extension started. They 
include: 
 
Requirement for households entering an 
extension under old BC+ rules  
(Existing extensions policy) 

Requirement for households entering an 
extension under MAGI rules  
 

Pregnant women can only enter an earned 
income or child support extension once the 
pregnancy reaches the 8th month. 

All pregnant women can enter an earned 
income or alimony extension if they qualify.  

Youth Exiting Out-of-Home Care (also known 
as Former Foster Care Youth) with children 
may qualify for an extension. 

Former Foster Care Youth (also known as 
YEOHCs) never qualify for extensions.  

If an extension ends because the parent’s 
income decreases below 100% FPL, the 
child’s extension also ends.  If the parent 
qualifies for a new extension, the child will be 
put into the new extension. 

If an extension ends because the parent’s 
income decreases below 100% FPL, the 
child’s extension will continue to stay in the 
original extension eligibility category until it 
expires. 

If a child in an unexpired extension has the 
other parent qualifying for an extension, the 
child could be put into the new extension. 
(Note that this is possible but not likely to 
happen under current BC+ rules.) 

If a child is in an unexpired extension and a 
parent qualifies for a new extension, the 
child’s extension will continue to stay in the 
original extension eligibility category until it 
expires. The child is not eligible for the other 
parent’s extension. 

 
Effective February 1, 2014, CARES was updated to reflect the new policies for MAGI-based 
extensions described above.  
 
 
PREMIUMS FOR ADULTS IN EXTENSIONS: 
 
In addition, as part of BC+ changes for 2014, Wisconsin requested a federal waiver to collect 
premiums from adults in Extensions.  As outlined in Operations Memo 13-32, Wisconsin 
planned to require premium payment from all non-exempt adults in Extensions, including those 
with incomes between 100% and 133% of the FPL.   
 
Based on recent waiver approval from CMS, adults with incomes at or below 133% of the FPL 
will not be subject to premiums for the first six calendar months of their Extension.  Non-exempt 
adults with incomes above 133% of the FPL in an Extension will continue to be subject to 
premium requirements in 2014.   
 
The six months of premium exemption will start with the begin date of the Extension for 
someone in an Extension whose income is at or below 133% FPL. If the member has an 
increase in income that puts their income above 133% FPL, they will be subject to premiums, 
even if they are still in the first six months of the Extension. If the member’s income 
subsequently decreases to below 133% FPL, they will be exempt from premiums as long as 
they are in the first six months of their Extension. If the member’s income drops below 100%, 
then later increases and the member qualifies for a new Extension, the six-month premium 
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exemption will begin with the new Extension. If the member’s income drops below 100% and 
then later increases but the member does not qualify for a new Extension, the member will be 
re-enrolled in the previous Extension and the original 6-month timeframe for exempting 
premiums will apply.   
 
Note that the requirement to pay premiums after the first six months only applies to Extensions 
that began on or after April 1, 2014:   
 

• Members with income at or below 133% FPL who are in an Extension that began prior 
to April 1, 2014 will not be subject to premiums during that Extension period. 

 
• Members with income at or below 133% FPL who are in an Extension that began on or 

after April 1, 2014 will be subject to premiums starting with the seventh calendar month 
of the extension.  

 
Example 1: Jane starts a 12-month Extension in June, when her income increases from 90% 
FPL to 110% FPL.  On August 5th, she reports she received a raise, and her income goes up to 
155% FPL.  If her income stays at 155% for the rest of the Extension, she will owe a premium 
each month from September through May.  
 
Example 2: Joe starts a 12-month Extension in May, when his income increases from 90% FPL 
to 110% FPL.  On June 3rd, he reports he received a raise, and his income goes up to 155% 
FPL.  In July, he will owe a premium.  In August, he reports a reduction in hours, bringing his 
income down to 120% FPL.  He will not owe a premium in August, September or October, but 
starting with the month of November, his 6-month exemption is over, so he will start paying 
premiums again.   
 
Example 3: Jim starts a 12-month Extension in August, when his income increases from 90% 
FPL to 140% FPL. He owes a premium. He reports a reduction in hours effective December, 
which brings his income down to 120% FPL.  He will not owe a premium in December or 
January, but starting in February, his 6-month exemption is over, so he will start paying 
premiums again. 
 
 
RESTRICTIVE RE-ENROLLMENT FOR ADULTS IN EXTENSIONS: 
 
Under the waiver approved by CMS, adults in extensions who are subject to premiums will be 
subject to the same restrictive re-enrollment policies as children who are subject to premiums 
(see Operations Memo 13-32), effective April 1, 2014.  
 
Starting April 1, 2014, Restrictive Re-enrollment Periods (RRPs) for adults who fail to pay a 
premium will now be for 3 months. After the 3 month RRP is served, the arrears will be forgiven. 
Adults will also have the option to re-enroll within the 3-month period as long as they pay all 
premiums due and request to re-enroll prior to the end of the RRP. Adults must request to re-
enroll and should not be automatically re-opened at the end of the RRP. 
 

Note: these policies apply to all adults in extensions who are subject to RRPs, 
including those for whom an RRP started prior to April 1, 2014. If the member has 
served at least three months in an RRP as of April 1, 2014, the RRP may be ended and 
the member may reenroll at their request. If a 12 month RRP has been set by CARES 
workers must override the end date of the RRP to the last day of the 3rd month of the 
RRP, but only if the member has made a request to re-enroll.  

 

http://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/em/ops-memos/2013/PDF/13-32.pdf
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Example: Tina did not pay the June premium while in an Extension. Tina will be in a 3-month 
RRP for July, August & September. Tina contacted the IM agency in August and requested to 
have her BC+ re-instated. Tina will have to pay the June, July and August premiums in order to 
re-instate her BC+ in August. If Tina had not contacted the IM agency until after September 
30th, Tina would not have been able to re-enroll for July, August or September. In that situation, 
the June premium would have been forgiven and she could re-enroll, as long as there are still 
months left in the Extension.  
 
As with current policy, members whose income decreases to an amount that would not require 
a premium will be removed from the RRP and re-enrolled in BC+.  
 
To align all RRP policies effective April 1, 2014, this same RRP policy will be implemented for 
children who entered an RRP prior to January 1, 2014. Any such RRPs will be updated in 
CARES in March to ensure they have an RRP end date no later than 3 months after the RRP 
started. If eligibility is subsequently re-run for an open case, these children’s eligibility will re-
open. However, if the case has been closed for more than 30 days, the household would have 
to reapply in order to regain benefits for the child.  
 
CARES will be updated in late June 2014 to reflect these RRP policies for adults. In the 
meantime workers will have to adjust the RRP following the process outlined below. Note that 
reason code language will be adjusted prior to March Adverse Action to reflect this 3-month 
RRP policy for adults on the notice of decision. CARES will continue to set a 12-month RRP 
until the update planned for June, but the notice of decision will indicate the RRP is for 3 
months. 
 
Beginning April 1, 2014 for adults, late payments of all premiums that are due are allowed up to 
3 months after the start of the RRP. If a premium is made within those 3 months, delete the 
RRP using the “LP-Late payment” code. Eligibility will have to be run to re-determine eligibility 
for the months the adult was in the RRP. (See Process Help Chapter 23.4 for instructions on 
processing a late premium). If no premium is paid and no request to restore eligibility is made 
within the 3 month RRP period and the individual later requests BC+, the RRP should be end 
dated using the last day of the third month of the RRP as the override end date. The Premium 
Tracking page must also be updated to show the past due premium as paid.  
 
 
CARES: 
 
CARES and CWW will be updated to reflect these policies as described in detail above. Note 
that changes have not yet been made to implement the premium policies and restrictive re-
enrollment periods for extensions starting on or after April 1, 2014.  
 
 
CONTACTS:  
 
BEPS CARES Information & Problem Resolution Center  
 
*Program Categories – FS – FoodShare, MA – Medicaid, BC+  – BadgerCare Plus, SC – Senior Care, CTS – 
Caretaker Supplement, CC – Child Care, W-2 – Wisconsin Works, FSET – FoodShare Employment and Training, 
BC+ Core – BadgerCare Plus Core, CF – Children First, EA – Emergency Assistance, JAL – Job Access Loan, JC - 
Job Center Programs, RAP – Refugee Assistance Program, WIA – Workforce Investment Act, Other EP – Other 
Employment Programs.   
 
DHS/DHCAA/BEPS/AA 
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