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SUBJECT:  Private Pay Nursing Home Rate  
  
 
CROSS REFERENCE: MEH 17.5 
 
 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  July 1, 2014 
 
PURPOSE: 
 
This memo provides the update to the Nursing Home Private Pay daily rate used to determine a 
divestment penalty period. 
 
 
BACKGROUND: 
 
When Medicaid applicants or members are found to have transferred assets for less than fair 
market value, they must serve a ‘divestment penalty period’ during which they are ineligible to 
receive Medicaid-funded long term care services. The calculation of this penalty period is based 
on “the average monthly cost to a private patient of nursing facility services in the State (or, at 
the option of the State, in the community in which the individual is institutionalized) at the time 
of application.”1 
 
 
The Federal Deficit Reduction Act of 2005 (DRA) requires that for all divestments that occur on 
or after January 1, 2009, the penalty periods are to be calculated in days and the daily rate 
determined by multiplying the average monthly rate by 12 and dividing by 365. 
                                                
1 42 USC §1396p(c)(1)(E) See also Wis. Stat. §49.453(3)(b)2 
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METHODOLOGY: 
 
The average nursing home private rate is calculated based on nursing home rate information 
from the 2014 Genworth Cost of Care Survey, conducted during January through March 2014.  
Nursing homes in the following regions (some comprised of multiple counties) were polled: 
Appleton, Eau Claire, Fond du Lac, Green Bay, Janesville, LaCrosse, Madison, Milwaukee, 
Oshkosh, Racine, Sheboygan, Wausau, and the balance of the state. 
 
CALCULATION 
 
The weighted calculation takes into account the median regional private pay daily rate for a 
semi-private room and the number of Institutional Medicaid members in the counties that 
comprise each region as of the end of April 2014. 

 
Region Counties Median cost Institutional 

MA pop. 
Appleton Calumet, Outagamie  $237   489  
Eau Claire Chippewa, Eau Claire  $216   495  
Fond du Lac Fond du Lac  $215   323  
Green Bay Brown, Kewaunee, Oconto  $235   839  
Janesville-Beloit Rock  $260   456  
La Crosse-Onalaska La Crosse  $227   1,307  
Madison Columbia, Dane, Iowa  $234   1,165  
Milwaukee-Waukesha-
West Allis 

Milwaukee, Ozaukee, 
Washington, Waukesha 

 $278   3,704  

Oshkosh-Neenah Winnebago  $259   475  
Racine Racine  $262   495  
Sheboygan Sheboygan  $254   383  
Wausau Marathon  $262   354  
(Balance) (Remaining Counties)  $226   7,262  

 
The new average nursing home private pay rate is $241.78 per day. Beginning July 1, 2014, 
use this daily rate to calculate penalties for divestments occurring on or after January 1, 2009. 
A revision to the Medicaid Eligibility Handbook will be made in a future release. 
 
CARES: 
 
A change to CARES reference table TASP will be made to use the new amount for divestment 
penalty calculations beginning July 1, 2014. 
 
 
CONTACTS: 
 
BEPS CARES Information & Problem Resolution Center 
 
 
*Program Categories – FS – FoodShare, MA – Medicaid, BC+  – BadgerCare Plus, SC – SeniorCare, CTS – 
Caretaker Supplement, FSET – FoodShare Employment and Training.   
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