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SUBJECT:  Reporting Attendance for Reimbursement from Wisconsin Shares  
 
 
CROSS REFERENCES:   Wisconsin Statutes 49.155(6m)(a) 
    Child Care Policy Chapters 2.2.4, 3.2.4, 3.9.0, and 3.11.7 
 
    
EFFECTIVE DATE:    April 1, 2015  
 
 
PURPOSE:  This Operations Memo provides clarification on the attendance hours that a child 
care provider must report on their Daily Attendance Record or Sign In/Sign Out (SISO) sheets, 
their Attendance Report Forms (ARF), and in the Child Care Provider Information (CCPI) 
system.  
 
BACKGROUND:  A child care provider is required to maintain a written record of the daily 
hours of attendance of each child, including the actual arrival and departure times for each 
child. The SISO sheet is used for this purpose, in compliance with licensing, certification and 
Wisconsin Shares policies. The ARF and the CCPI system are used to report attendance to 
and request reimbursement from the Wisconsin Shares program.  
 
POLICY: 
Attendance Records 
Licensed Group, Licensed Day Camp, Licensed Family, and Certified child care providers are 
required to maintain a current written record of the daily hours of attendance of each child in 
care, including the actual arrival and departure times for each child.  
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Attendance Reporting 
Wisconsin Shares Program Integrity staff may compare the SISO sheets to the ARF or 
attendance reported by the child care provider in the CCPI system for Wisconsin Shares 
reimbursement. 
 
In most circumstances, the time reported for reimbursement from the Wisconsin Shares 
program will be the same hours the child was in attendance as recorded on the SISO sheets. 
However, there are some situations where child care providers should not report time for 
reimbursement from Wisconsin Shares. This includes, but is not limited to, the following 
situations: 

• Child care is provided above the provider’s regulated capacity;  
• Child care is provided outside of the provider’s regulated hours or days of operation;  
• The parent is paying for the care him or herself or the child care provider is not 

requesting payment for the care; 
• The child is in shared placement and the attended time is for care provided when the 

child is not with the parent with the Wisconsin Shares subsidy. 
 
When the SISO sheets contains more hours than the ARF due to the above situations, the child 
care provider must document the reasons by attaching the information to the SISO sheets., and 
if reporting electronically, the provider must contact the county or tribal agency to notify them of 
this difference.   
 
The Department of Children and Families (DCF) encourages parents to sign the weekly SISO 
sheets after they are filled out by the provider to help ensure accurate reporting of hours. The 
agency will only process the ARF for hours within the hours of operation. When attendance is 
reported for reimbursement outside of the child care provider’s hours of operation, the local 
agency will report this information to the DCF Bureau of Program Integrity. 
  
 
 
 
 
Example: Sam’s authorization is for 30 hours each week. His mom Jaime works only 20 hours 
one particular week and Sam is in care for only 23 hours. The child care provider must report 
23 hours of attendance for reimbursement from the Wisconsin Shares program.   
 
Example: Anthony’s authorization is for 30 hours per week and he attends a child care program 
from 9:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. On one particular day Anthony’s mother has asked the child care 
provider to keep Anthony until 6:00 p.m. so that she can attend a dentist appointment and stop 
at the grocery store. The child care provider’s regulated hours of operation are from 6:00 a.m. 
to 6:00 p.m. and the child care provider will not be over-capacity if Anthony were to stay the 
extra 3 hours. The provider must accurately record attendance on the SISO sheet from 9:00 
a.m. to 6:00 p.m.; and must note that care provided from 3:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m. will not be 
reimbursed by Wisconsin Shares, as this extra time was agreed upon by the child care provider 
and the parent.  
 
A child care provider may report concerns about the misuse of the child care subsidy to the 
local agency or DCF for investigation and recoupment against the parent. This can be reported 
to DCF at dcfmbchildcarefraud@wisconsin.gov or at 1-877-302-3728. 
 

Example: Child care provider opens at 7 a.m., but 5 children arrive at 6:50 a.m. The SISO 
sheet must indicate that the children arrived at 6:50 a.m., even if this is outside the hours of 
operation. 

mailto:dcfmbchildcarefraud@wisconsin.gov
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Shared Placement of Children 
When two parents have shared placement of their children, the authorization worker is 
responsible to communicate to the child care provider that attendance should only be recorded 
reported for reimbursement for those days that the child is under the care of the parent with the 
Wisconsin Shares subsidy.  
 
To ensure the accuracy of attendance reporting for reimbursement from the Wisconsin Shares 
program in a shared placement case, the authorization worker is responsible for:  

1. Collecting a shared placement schedule that illustrates the days that the child is with 
each parent and collecting updates when the schedule changes; 

2. Writing the authorization for the maximum number of hours the parent needs in order to 
attend the approved activities; 

3. Using an attendance based authorization; 

4. Communicating the shared placement schedule with the staff that enter or confirm the 
CCPI system attendance entry; and, 

5. Informing the child care provider of the shared placement schedule.   
 
A shared placement schedule can be collected on a monthly calendar or by using the Child 
Care Authorization Worksheet. The authorization must cover the maximum number of hours 
each parent will need for the approved activity plus travel time. Any hours incorrectly reported to 
the Wisconsin Shares program for reimbursement based on misinformation (or lack of 
information) from the client, may result in an overpayment against the client.   
 
CHILD CARE PROVIDER AGREEEMENTS 
The child care provider agreements that are on the ARF and in the CCPI system have been 
updated as shown below. The highlighted areas identify the changes. 
 

• I understand that I must report the actual hours of attendance for each Wisconsin 
Shares eligible-child in care on each Child Care Attendance Report Form, even if the 
authorization is based on enrollment. 

• I understand that I must notify the local Child Care agency if I become aware that a 
child is no longer attending the Child Care facility. I can notify the local agency by 
phone, in writing or by entering a "T" in the Special Use Section on the Child Care 
Attendance Report Form. 

• I understand that I am responsible for paying back any overpayment that is caused 
by any of the following reasons:  1) Provider not reporting attendance accurately;  2) 
Provider not notifying the agency in a timely manner when a child is no longer in 
care;  3) Provider caring for more children than the certification or licensing rules 
allow;  4) Provider caring for children outside of the hours authorized by his or her 
certification or license;  5) Provider caring for children for more hours per day than 
permitted by certification or licensing rules; 6) Provider caring for children at a site 
other than the regulated site or an area other than a scheduled field trip; 7) Provider 
reporting hours for reimbursement during a time that a parent with a shared 
placement agreement is not responsible for the child(ren); 8) Authorization or 
attendance related administrative error by the subsidy agency or any other 
overpayment as determined by the Department. 

http://dcf.wisconsin.gov/forms/doc/2742.doc
http://dcf.wisconsin.gov/forms/doc/2742.doc
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• I understand that overpayments are deducted from future issuances. If no future 
issuances will be made, the overpayment must be paid back directly to the local 
agency. 

• I understand that if I report any inaccurate attendance information for 
reimbursement, I may be referred for investigation. 

• I understand that in order to receive payment, I must submit attendance either 
through paper Child Care attendance reports or through the Internet, if I have 
access to submit attendance online. 

• I understand the local agency may refuse to process attendance that is submitted for 
a period more than 90 days in the past. 

• I understand the local agency has 10 days to process attendance report forms from 
the date of submission. This timeframe may be extended for program integrity 
concerns. 

• I understand the local agency will refuse to process my attendance report form if 
there are errors on my report or if the instructions on the form are not followed. 

• I understand that the local agency has the authority to stop payment and/or 
authorizations if I am not in compliance with Wisconsin Shares, YoungStar, 
certification or licensing rules or if I have submitted inaccurate attendance 
information for reimbursement. 

• I understand that I must keep a written record of each child's actual hours of 
attendance at the Child Care facility for a minimum of three years beyond the last 
date of child’s attendance. 

• I understand that the State of Wisconsin and/or the local Child Care agencies have 
the right to visit the center to monitor my compliance with program requirements, 
including keeping accurate attendance records. Monitors may review records on 
site, copy records on site, or arrange to remove original records for review and 
copying, with proper receipt. I understand that I must provide this access 
immediately upon request. 

• I understand that if I do not sign this agreement, the agency will refuse to process 
my attendance report form and I will not receive payment. 

 
These changes will be reflected on ARF and CCPI provider agreements on March 27, 2015.  
 
CONTACTS 
 
For Child Care policy questions outside of Milwaukee County: Bureau of Regional Operations (BRO), 
Child Care Coordinators at 
http://dcf.wisconsin.gov/regional_operations/pdf/contact_list.pdf 
  
For Child Care CARES/CWW, CSAW and CCPI IT systems processing questions statewide, program 
integrity questions and policy questions in Milwaukee County: Child Care Help Desk at 
childcare@wisconsin.gov or (608) 264-1657. 
 
*Program Categories – FS – FoodShare, MA – Medicaid, BC+  – BadgerCare Plus, SC – Senior Care, CTS – 
Caretaker Supplement, CC – Child Care, W-2 – Wisconsin Works, FSET – FoodShare Employment and Training, 
CF – Children First, EA – Emergency Assistance, JAL – Job Access Loan, JC - Job Center Programs, RAP – 
Refugee Assistance Program, WIA – Workforce Investment Act, *Other EP – Other Employment Programs.   
 
DCF/DECE/BPI/MS and BELP/RMP 
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