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Private Pay Nursing Home Rate 
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PURPOSE 
 
This memo provides the update to the Nursing Home Private Pay daily rate used to determine a 
divestment penalty period. 
 
 

BACKGROUND 
 
When Medicaid applicants or members are found to have transferred assets for less than fair market 
value, they must serve a “divestment penalty period” during which they are ineligible to receive 
Medicaid-funded long-term-care services. The calculation of this penalty period is based on the 
average monthly cost to a private patient of nursing facility services in the State (or, at the option of the 
State, in the community in which the individual is institutionalized) at the time of application.”1 
 

 

POLICY 
 

 
The Federal Deficit Reduction Act of 2005 (DRA) requires that for all divestments that occur on or after 
January 1, 2009, the penalty periods are to be calculated in days. The daily rate is determined by 
multiplying the average monthly rate by 12 and dividing by 365. 
 
  

                                                 
1
 42 USC §1396p(c)(1)(E) See also Wis. Stat. §49.453(3)(b)2 

http://www.emhandbooks.wisconsin.gov/meh-ebd/policy_files/17/meh_17.5_penalty_period.htm
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Methodology 
 
The average nursing home private rate is calculated based on nursing home rate information from the 
2015 Genworth Cost of Care Survey, conducted during January through March 2015.  
Nursing homes in the following regions (some comprised of multiple counties) were polled: Appleton, 
Eau Claire, Fond du Lac, Green Bay, Janesville, La Crosse, Madison, Milwaukee, Oshkosh, Racine, 
Sheboygan, Wausau, and the balance of the state. 
 
Calculation 
 
The weighted calculation takes into account the median regional private pay daily rate for a semi-
private room and the number of Institutional Medicaid members in the counties that comprise each 
region as of the end of April 2015. 

 
Region Counties Median cost Institutional 

MA pop. 

Appleton Calumet, Outagamie  $246   498  

Eau Claire Chippewa, Eau Claire  $218   475  

Fond du Lac Fond du Lac  $235   303  

Green Bay Brown, Kewaunee, Oconto  $222   771  

Janesville-Beloit Rock  $270   473  

La Crosse-Onalaska La Crosse  $230   1,204  

Madison Columbia, Dane, Iowa  $238   1,033  

Milwaukee-Waukesha-
West Allis 

Milwaukee, Ozaukee, 
Washington, Waukesha 

 $304   3,518  

Oshkosh-Neenah Winnebago  $270   431  

Racine Racine  $289   497  

Sheboygan Sheboygan  $259   339  

Wausau Marathon  $260   343  

(Balance) (Remaining Counties)  $235   6,963  

 
Beginning July 1, 2015, the average nursing home private pay rate to calculate penalties for 
divestments occurring on or after January 1, 2009 is $252.95 per day. A revision to the Medicaid 
Eligibility Handbook will be made in a future release.   
 

 

CARES 
 

A change to CARES reference table TASP will be made to use the new amount for divestment penalty 
calculations beginning July 1, 2015. 
 

 

CONTACTS 
 
BEPS CARES Information and Problem Resolution Center 

 
*Program Categories – FS – FoodShare, MA – Medicaid, BC+ – BadgerCare Plus, SC – SeniorCare, CTS – Caretaker 
Supplement, FSET – FoodShare Employment and Training.   
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