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OPERATIONS MEMO  
No:      15-28 
 
Date:  08/20/2015 

 
To: Income Maintenance Supervisors 
 Income Maintenance Lead Workers 
 Child Care Coordinators 
 Training Staff 
  
From: Katherine McGurk, Director 
 Bureau of Early Learning and Policy 
 Division of Early Care and Education 
 Department of Children and Families 
 
SUBJECT: Child Care and School Program Collaboration 
 
CROSS REFERENCE:      Child Care Policy Section 3.6.20 
   
EFFECTIVE DATE:    September 1, 2015 
 
PURPOSE:  This Operations Memo introduces form DCF-F-2974. This form will be used by 
child care authorization workers to help determine correct authorizations when a child care 
program is co-located with an Early Head Start (EHS), Head Start (HS), 3 year old 
Kindergarten (3K) and 4 year old Kindergarten (4K) program.  This form gathers information to 
assist the authorization worker in determining accurate authorizations.  
 
In addition, this memo re-states policy regarding the Wisconsin Shares authorization when a 
child is enrolled in an Early Head Start (EHS), Head Start (HS), 3 year old Kindergarten (3K) 
and 4 year old Kindergarten (4K) program that is provided at the same location/site as the 
child care program. For readability, these programs will be referred to as “school programs” in 
the remainder of this memo. 
 
BACKGROUND:  Children benefit when their child care program and school program are co-
located.  This reduces disruption in the child’s day and provides continuity of care givers 
throughout the day.  Wisconsin Shares may be able to assist in the cost of these collaborative 
programs through the child care subsidy. This policy has been previously referred to as wrap-
around care.  
 
POLICY:  There is no policy change being introduced in this memo; however, a verification 
process has been added and current policy has been re-stated to provide clarification. 
 
Child care authorizations must always be based on the parent’s need for child care while the 
parent is at work or participating in a combination of work and school or a W-2 program.  
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When the child care program is co-located with a school program that is regulated by a public 
school board or is part of a Head Start program the school hours can be included in the 
authorization if all of the following factors occur:  

• The hours included in the authorization are times when the child’s parent is engaged in 
an approved activity and child care is needed for the parent to do so; 

• The school program and the child care program are co-located; 

• The length of the child’s school program is no more than four (4) hours per day; and, 

• The length of the need for care is five (5) or more hours which include the school 
program hours.  

 
If any of these factors do not exist, the authorization must be written only for the hours before 
or after the school program during which the parent is in need of child care in order to attend 
his or her approved activity.  Wisconsin Statute 49.155(1m)(a) and DCF 201.04(5) limit the 
child care authorization to the time that the parent(s) need child care while engaged in their 
approved activity. 
 
The decision to include the hours of co-located programs in the child’s authorization is made 
by the authorization worker when the parent requests an authorization and provides the 
necessary documentation from the school program. It is the parent’s responsibility to report 
any changes in the schedule that would impact their eligibility for the hours the child 
participates in the school program.  
 
If the school program is located at a different site than where child care is provided, the 
authorization must cover only the hours the child attends the child care program and not cover 
the hours the child attends the school program. 
 
Example 1: Charlie attends the Head Start program located at 1256 Water Street and the 
child care program that is located at 1536 Water Street.  Charlie’s authorization is limited to 
the hours he will spend at the child care program located at 1536 Water Street because the 
child care and the Head Start programs are in different locations. 
 
Example 2:  Dara attends a 4K program that is located at the child care center where she is 
enrolled.  Dara’s Mom needs child care from 7:30 am to 2:15 pm Monday – Friday.  The 4K 
program is provided at Dara’s child care center from 8:00 am to 11:30 pm Monday – 
Thursday. Dara’s authorization may be written to include all of the hours that Dara’s Mom 
needs child care which is 7:30 am to 2:15 pm Monday – Friday. 
 
The length of the school program will be determined by one of two ways. 

1. The scheduled hours of the school program described in the Head Start grant agreement, 
the public school board contract or other signed contract between the child care program 
and the funding source, or 

2. By identifying the hours that school programming is available to non-Wisconsin Shares 
children at no cost – these are the Head Start hours. 

 

FORM DCF-F-2974 
1. The authorization worker must give this form to the parent;  
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2. The parent must give the form to the child care administrator, center director or lead 
teacher at the child care program;   

3. The director or lead teacher must complete the form according to the instructions on 
the back of the form;  

4. The child care program must then give the completed form to the parent;  

5. The parent must provide the completed form to the authorization worker to be used to 
determine an accurate authorization.  

 
This form can be submitted to the local agency via fax, regular mail, email or in person. 
Agency workers must use this form to document wrap-around child care and must scan the 
completed form into the Electronic Case File (ECF).  
 
If the form is not returned to the agency within seven (7) business days, the authorization shall 
be limited to the child care hours without regard to the school program hours. 
 
The new form is available in the DCF forms repository and is available in Spanish and Hmong. 
 
http://dcf.wisconsin.gov/forms/doc/2974.doc 
 
 
 
CONTACTS:  For Wisconsin Shares Child Care policy questions outside of Milwaukee County contact 
your Bureau of Regional Operations (BRO), Child Care Coordinators at 
http://dcf.wisconsin.gov/regional_operations/pdf/contact_list.pdf  
 
For Child Care CARES/CWW, CSAW and CCPI IT systems processing questions statewide and policy 
questions in Milwaukee County: Child Care Help Desk at childcare@wisconsin.gov or (608) 264-1657. 
 
DCF/DECE/BELP/RP and TT 
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