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SUBJECT: Adjusted Self-Employment Income Authorization Calculation  
 
CHILD CARE SELF-EMPLOYMENT MEMO: 3 of 3 
 
CROSS REFERENCE: CC Self-Employment Memos 1 and 2, CC Manual Section 2.2.8 
Authorizations for Self-Employment.  Wisconsin Statutes Section 49.155 (1m)(c) 
     
EFFECTIVE DATE: November 9, 2015 
 
PURPOSE: To help workers calculate an authorization for self-employed participants using 
the Child Care Statewide Administration on the Web (CSAW) Case Activity Screen.    
 
BACKGROUND: 2.2.8 of the Child Care Manual states to calculate an authorization for a 
participant that has had a self-employment business in operation for over six months.  The 
worker will take their monthly adjusted self-employment income and divide it by 4.3 and then 
divide it again by the state minimum wage. 
 
GUIDANCE ON POLICY IMPLEMENTATION:  CSAW will automatically calculate a 
weekly number of hours for an authorization from Adjusted Self-Employment information 
entered in CARES Worker Web (CWW).  This calculated amount of hours appears in the Case 
Activity Summary screen as shown below. 
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Keep in mind that those calculations do not include the following considerations: 

• Child care need that is less than the calculation estimates, 
• additional hours needed for other approved activities that may include travel, and 
• multiple parents in the household that do not have an overlapping schedule or amount 

of CSAW maximum calculated hours. 
 
Example 1-Single Parent Household 
The participant is a self-employed Avon Cosmetic Salesperson.  Her adjusted self-employment 
income, pulled from the budget page in CWW is $500.   
 
CSAW takes that budgeted self-employment income and divides it by 4.3 and then again by the 
state minimum wage ($7.25) to determine the allowed weekly hours of 17. 
 
In this example, the participant is also finishing college to get her business degree.  She plans 
to open up her own make-up line in the future.  She attends school part time 15 hours a week, 
which includes travel time.  Therefore she is permitted an authorization for 32 hours per week 
(17 SE hours + 15 school hours =32 Total Authorization Hours).   
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Example 2-Two Parent household-Separate Self-Employment Businesses 
In this example, Kesha from example #1, gets married and maintains her school and self-
employment.  Her husband is also self-employed with a separate business.  His income is 
entered into CWW and it is determined that his monthly Budgeted Self-Employment Income is 
$416.66.   
 

CSAW divided the budgeted self-employment income by 4.3 and then again by minimum wage 
($7.25) to calculate an allowed weekly hours of 14. 
 

The participants have a total of 14 overlapping hours, therefore they qualify for a 14 hour 
authorization.   
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Example 3-Two Parent household-Shared Self-Employment Business 
In this example, Kesha gets married and is equal partners with her new husband to sell Avon 
products.  Their income is then split in half and entered into CWW seperately because they are 
equal partners.  All income must be divided and entered in CWW by percentage of partnership. 
It is not automatically divided in half because of Wisconsin maritial law.   
 

 
 
They have 9 work hours derived from self-employment, however they also submitted schedules 
that stated Kesha works 9am-2pm and Rick works 1pm-9pm Monday through Friday.  Since 
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they only have an overlapping schedule of 1 hour per day, they qualify for an authorization of 5 
hours per week.  
 
The following Department Forms have been updated to reflect updated self-employment policy: 

• Authorized Hours for Self-Employment DCF-F-2535-E  
• Self-Employment Maximum Hours Authorized  DCF-F2534-E  

 
These forms can be used at the discretion of the agencies.  These forms are not mandatory.   
 
 
CONTACTS:  For Wisconsin Shares Child Care policy questions outside of Milwaukee County 
contact your Bureau of Regional Operations (BRO), Child Care Coordinators at 
http://dcf.wisconsin.gov./regional operations/pdf/contact list.pdf 
 
For Child Care CARES/CWW, CSAW and CCPI Processing Questions statewide and policy 
questions in Milwaukee County contact the Child Care Help desk at:  childcare@wisconsin.gov  
or (608) 264-1657. 
  

 
*Program Categories – FS – FoodShare, MA – Medicaid, BC+  – BadgerCare Plus, SC – Senior Care, CTS – 
Caretaker Supplement, CC – Child Care, W-2 – Wisconsin Works, FSET – FoodShare Employment and Training, 
BC+ Core – BadgerCare Plus Core, CF – Children First, EA – Emergency Assistance, JAL – Job Access Loan, JC - 
Job Center Programs, RAP – Refugee Assistance Program, WIA – Workforce Investment Act, Other EP – Other 
Employment Programs.   
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