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The State of Wisconsin is an equal opportunity service provider. This letter contains 
information that affects your benefits. If you need this material in a different format 
because of a disability or if you need this letter translated or explained in your own 
language, please call X-XXX-XXX-XXXX. These services are free. 

 
Important Information about Your Time-Limited 

FoodShare Benefits 
 
Our records show that you are not meeting the work requirement for getting ongoing 
FoodShare benefits and that you have already used one of your three time-limited 
FoodShare benefit months. If you do not start meeting the work requirement or meet an 
exemption from the work requirement, you will use up your three time-limited FoodShare 
benefit months, and your FoodShare benefits will end. 
 
One way that you can meet the work requirement is by taking part in the FoodShare 
Employment and Training (FSET) program. The FSET program is a free program that can 
help you build job skills and find employment. If you want to meet the work requirement 
by taking part in the FSET program, you must enroll and take part in activities by the 
start of your third time-limited FoodShare benefit month. Otherwise you will use up 
your three time-limited benefit months, and your FoodShare benefits will end. 
 
To enroll in the FSET program or to get answers to your questions about FSET, call your 
FSET service provider at <phone number>, or go to dhs.wisconsin.gov/foodshare/fset.htm. 
 
Certain adults ages 18 through 49 with no minor children living in the home may only get 
up to 3 months of FoodShare benefits in a 36-month period unless they meet the work 
requirement or meet an exemption from the work requirement. 
 
 
 
 
 
 

https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/foodshare/fset.htm


PIN #: XXXXXXXX Date: MM/DD/YYYY Page 2 of 2 

 
 

 

How to Meet the Work Requirement 
 
There are three ways to meet the work requirement: 
 

1. Work at least 80 hours each month; 
 
2. Take part in an allowable work program, such as the FSET program, Wisconsin 

Works (W-2), or a program under the Wisconsin Investment Act (WIA), at least 80 
hours each month; or 

 
3. Work and take part in an allowable work program for a combined total of 80 hours 

each month. 
 
For more information about FSET, go to dhs.wisconsin.gov/foodshare/fset.htm. 
 
Who is Exempt from the Work Requirement? 
 
Some adults do not have to meet the work requirement to get FoodShare benefits and are 
considered exempt. You may not have to meet the work requirement if any of the 
following are true: 
 

• You are living with a child under age 18 who is part of the same FoodShare 
household; 

• You are the primary caregiver for a person who cannot care for himself or herself; 
• You are the primary caregiver for a child under age 6 who does not live in the home; 
• You are physically or mentally unable to work; 
• You are pregnant; 
• You are receiving or have applied for unemployment insurance; 
• You are taking part in an alcohol or other drug abuse (AODA) treatment program; 
• You are enrolled in an institution of higher learning at least half-time or more; or 
• You are a high school student age 18 or older, attending high school at least half-time. 

 
If you meet one of the exemptions listed above, you should contact your agency at the 
number listed on the top of page 1 of this letter to report the exemption and find out what 
kind of proof is needed. 
 
Questions 
 
If you have questions about this letter or your FoodShare enrollment or if you want to 
report an exemption, call your agency listed at the top of page 1 of this letter. 

https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/foodshare/fset.htm

