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SUBJECT: Changes to Chapter DCF 202 – Child Care Certification  
 
CROSS REFERENCE:   2015 Wisconsin Act 132 
      
EFFECTIVE DATE:   MARCH 1, 2016  
 
PURPOSE:  
This Operations Memo provides notice to child care certification workers regarding 
changes to Administrative Code Chapter DCF 202 – Child Care Certification.  
 
BACKGROUND 
2015 Wisconsin Act 132 amends DCF 202 as follows:      
 

• Repeals inconsistent and outdated components of DCF 202.   
• Refers to “certification agencies” rather than “county and tribal agencies.” 
• Clarifies requirements for “operators” versus “providers.” 
• Updates DCF 202.08 Standards for Family Child Care and In-Home Child Care. 

 
 
Definitions: 
DCF 202.02(3) “Certified child care operator” or “operator” means an individual, 
corporation, partnership, limited liability corporation, non–incorporated association, or 
cooperative that has legal and financial responsibility for the operation of a child care 
program and for meeting the requirements under this chapter. 
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DCF 202.02(3k) “Child care provider” or “provider” means a certified child care operator 
or an employee or volunteer of the child care operator who provides care and 
supervision for infant, preschool, or school–age children on behalf of the operator. 
 
POLICY: 
 
The 2015 Wisconsin Act 132 provides a complete summary of repealed and amended 
administrative code. Notable amendments to DCF 202.08 Standards for Family Child Care and 
In-Home Child Care include the following: 
 

1. The requirement for tuberculosis screening has been amended to be consistent with 
child care licensing requirements by eliminating the requirement at recertification and 
adding a requirement for screening of all child care providers (i.e. substitutes, 
volunteers, employees), in addition to the applicant/operator. The requirement does not 
include emergency back up providers.  
 

DCF 202.08 (1) (a) 3. Each family and in−home child care operator shall demonstrate that he or she is free 
from tuberculosis prior to initial certification and recertification. The Each family and in−home child care 
provider shall demonstrate that he or she is free from tuberculosis prior to the date the provider begins 
working with children. For a child care operator, including a child care provider who is also a child care 
operator, the certification agency may accept results of a test administered up to 12 months before the 
application date. For a child care provider who is not also a child care operator, the certification agency 
may accept the results of a test administered up to 12 months before the date the provider began working 
with children. 

 
Certification workers shall no longer require operators to submit tuberculosis screening 
documentation at recertification, effective immediately.  
 
Certification workers shall notify currently certified operators with agency-approved 
providers of the requirement for all providers to submit documentation of tuberculosis 
screening. Certification workers may provide notice to operators using a letter drafted by 
the certification worker or a template drafted by the department. The template is located 
on the Certification SharePoint site in the Partner Standardized Formats and Templates 
file.   
 
Certification agencies shall require certified operators with agency-approved providers to 
submit evidence of tuberculosis screening for the approved provider(s) by August 1, 
2016. The certification agency may accept the results of a test administered up to 12 
months prior to August 1, 2016. 

 
2. The requirement for posting emergency telephone numbers has been amended to 

include the telephone number for the child protective services agency. 
 
DCF 202.08 (2) (g) The home shall have at least one telephone in working order with a list of 
emergency numbers posted by each telephone, including numbers for the rescue squad, police, fire 
station, emergency medical care, child protective services agency, and poison control center. The 
certifying certification agency may prohibit the use of a cellular phone as a primary phone. If a cellular 
phone is used as a primary phone, it shall be operational during the hours of child care. 
 

3. DCF 202.08(2)(a)2m. has been repealed as it is outdated. 
 
2m. Notwithstanding subd. 2., child care operators who hold a certification under s. 48.651, Stats., on June 
1, 2008, are not required to comply with subd. 5. until June 1, 2010. 
 
 

http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/2015/related/acts/132.pdf
http://dcf.wisconsin.gov/Children/CPS/cpswimap.htm?ref=hp
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4. The requirement regarding a child’s health examination report has been amended to 
require the report to be on an electronic printout or on a department provided form and 
adds a “note” regarding the department’s form. 

 
DCF 202.08 (4) (b) The physical examination report shall be made on an electronic printout from a 
licensed physician, physician assistant, or health check provider or on a form provided by the 
department that is signed and dated by a licensed physician,  a physician’s physician assistant, or a 
health check provider. 
 
NOTE: The department’s form, Child Health Report − Child Care Centers, or an electronic printout from 
a medical professional may be used to document a health examination. Information on how to obtain 
the department’s form is available on the department’s website, http://dcf.wisconsin.gov, or 
from the certification agency. 
 

5. Requirements for operators versus providers has been clarified as follows: 

DCF 202.04 (6) (a) The county or tribal certification agency responsible for certification of a provider an 
operator shall be determined by the geographic area in which the child care is provided. 
 
DCF 202.04 (6) (b) Certification issued to a provider an operator by a county or tribal certification agency 
shall be accepted as valid by all other agencies authorized to certify providers. 
 
DCF 202.08 (1) (b) 2. b. A county or tribal certification agency may require up to 5 hours of annual 
continuing education by a Level I (regular) certified provider operator each year following Level I 
(regular) certification. 
 
DCF 202.08 (2) (o) If the child care is provided in a rental property, the provider operator shall obtain 
permission from his or her the landlord to operate a child care business. 
 

 
AUTOMATION: 
 
Certification workers may use a newly published WebI report called “Certification Providers TB 
Test” to identify individuals who are required to submit documentation of tuberculosis screening. 
The WebI report is located in the WISCCRS “Background Checks Folder.” The report identifies 
individuals in WISCCRS if the “TB Test Date” field is blank for the following “roles”: 
 Applicant/Licensee 
 Employee  
 Volunteer 
 Student Intern  
 Other (including other role description) 

 
 
Certification workers shall document the “TB Test Date” for individuals using the Individuals 
Module in WISCCRS: 
 

 
 

http://dcf.wisconsin.gov/
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Although it is not a requirement to upload tuberculosis documentation in WISCCRS, medical / 
health records are confidential. See WISCCRS User Guide – Documents for instruction on how 
to upload records in to the Confidential Document Module. 
 
 
CONTACTS: 

For certification policy or automation questions contact Jolene Ibeling at 
Jolene.Ibeling@wisconsin.gov or 608-422-6027 or Bureau of Regional Operations: 
http://dcf.wisconsin.gov/regional_operations/pdf/contact_list.pdf. 
 

 
 
*Program Categories – FS – FoodShare, MA – Medicaid, BC+  – BadgerCare Plus, SC – Senior Care, CTS – 
Caretaker Supplement, CC – Child Care, W-2 – Wisconsin Works, FSET – FoodShare Employment and Training, 
BC+ Core – BadgerCare Plus Core, CF – Children First, EA – Emergency Assistance, JAL – Job Access Loan, JC - 
Job Center Programs, RAP – Refugee Assistance Program, WIA – Workforce Investment Act, Other EP – Other 
Employment Programs.   
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