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SUBJECT: Asset Testing For Child Care  
 
CROSS REFERENCE:   Child Care and Development Block Grant Act (CCDBG) 
CCDF Final Rule; Wisconsin Shares Child Care Subsidy Policy Manual 1.1.2 and 1.5.6; 
Wisconsin Act 59 
 
EFFECTIVE DATE: To be determined upon passage of the 2017-2019 biennial budget bill. 
Earliest anticipated effective date is September 1, 2017. November 1, 2017  
 
PURPOSE: This Operations Memo introduces asset testing to the Wisconsin Shares Child 
Care Subsidy Program and the resulting automation changes in CARES Worker Web (CWW).  
 
BACKGROUND: The Child Care Development Block Grant (CCDBG) Act of 2014 requires 
states to implement an asset test to ensure that CCDF funds are being used for families with 
the greatest need.    
 
WISCONSIN SHARES POLICY:  
 
1.2 Definitions 
 
Liquid Asset – Cash on hand or an asset that can be converted to cash without impacting the 
value within 31 days. Liquid assets include but are not limited to money in a checking or savings 
account, stocks, bonds, money market funds, and mutual funds. 
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1.5.6 Asset Testing 
 
Total liquid assets belonging to the Assistance Group shall not exceed $25,000.  
 
Verification of the family’s liquid assets is self-declared and no further verification is necessary 
when a parent states that their liquid assets do not exceed the limit. If a family claims to have 
$25,000 or more in liquid assets, the local agency must request documentation of the liquid 
assets to ensure that eligibility is correctly denied.  
 
The applicant shall have seven business days to provide verification of their claimed liquid 
assets. If verification is provided and demonstrates liquid assets of $25,000 or more, the entire 
assistance group will fail financial eligibility. If the family fails to provide verification within seven 
business days, the case will fail for failure to provide verification.  
 
If either the family provides verification that demonstrates they do not have $25,000 in liquid 
assets or they incorrectly answered “yes” to the asset test and subsequently self-declare that 
they do not exceed the liquid asset limit, the family shall pass the asset test.  
 
Information about the family’s liquid assets must be documented in the comments field on the 
CWW “Assets for Child Care” page unless the family initially indicates that they do not meet the 
asset limit.  
 
Any business liquid assets encumbered by a legal entity, such as an LLC, shall not be included 
in the family’s asset test. 
 
Foster parents, subsidized guardians, interim caretakers, and relatives who have both a court 
order for placement of a child under Wisconsin Statutes Chapters 48 or 938, or substantially 
similar Wisconsin tribal law, and who receive a Kinship Care payment are not subject to the 
asset test. However, if child care is needed for any of their bioligical children, the asset test will 
be part of the eligibility determination. 
 
The asset test is required at the initial eligibility determination and at each eligibility renewal. 
 
CARES WORKER WEB (CWW): 
 
CWW will be enhanced to allow local agency workers to enter 
information about an Assistance Group’s liquid assets. The page 
“Assets for Child Care” will schedule in the Intake and Renewal driver 
flow for all child care cases with at least one biological child. It will not 
schedule in a Person Add driver flow.  
 
Workers can access this page directly in CWW’s Navigation Menu by 
clicking on “Asset Information” and then “Assets for CC.” The page can 
be accessed at any time, but CWW eligibility will only consider the page 
during Child Care review or intake.  
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Workers must enter data in the “Begin Month” field and use the drop-down menu to document 
the parent’s answer to the question “What is the total value of your household’s liquid assets?” 
 

 
 
Possible answers to this question are: 

• Unknown  
• More than $25,000 
• Less than or equal to $25,000 
• Failed to provide information 

 
If “unknown” is selected, this information will be included on the parent’s Verification Check List 
and can pend for up to seven business days. If the parent provides an answer within seven 
business days, the case should be updated accordingly; otherwise after seven business days 
the worker should select “failed to provide information” and the case will fail eligibility for any 
biological children.  
 
Foster parents, subsidized guardians, interim caretakers, and relatives who have both a court 
order for placement of a child under Wisconsin Statutes Chapters 48 or 938, or substantially 
similar Wisconsin tribal law, and who receive a Kinship Care payment will not fail due to failure 
to verify the asset test.  
 
“Less than or equal to $25,000” does not require any further verification by the agency and the 
parent’s self-declaration is sufficient. 
 
Parents who indicate they have liquid assets greater than $25,000 are required to provide 
verification of the assets, and these documents should be uploaded to ECF. Workers will only 
be able to enter data in the “Assets Verified?” field if parents exceed the asset amount. The 
Unknown value should be used to pend the case for proof needed. If proof is not returned 
timely, then “No” should be entered in the Assets Verified field and the case will fail eligibility for 
biological children for failure to verify.  
 
Parents who provide verification of liquid assets of more than $25,000 will be denied for 
exceeding the asset amount. Workers will be required to enter a comment in the Comment field 
documenting the assets if this option is chosen. 
 
Parents with biological children who do not provide this verification will fail for failing to provide 
verification of liquid assets. Foster parents, subsidized guardians, interim caretakers, and 
relatives who have both a court order for placement of a child under Wisconsin Statutes 
Chapters 48 or 938, or substantially similar Wisconsin tribal law, and who receive a Kinship 
Care payment will be eligible as none of the responses to this question affect their eligibility.  
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CONTACTS: 

For Wisconsin Shares Child Care policy questions outside of Milwaukee County contact your 
Bureau of Regional Operations (BRO), Child Care Coordinators at 
https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/files/regionaloperations/pdf/bro-contacts.pdf  

For Child Care CARES/CWW, CSAW and CCPI Processing Questions statewide and policy 
questions in Milwaukee County contact the Child Care Subsidy and Technical Assistance line 
at: childcare@wisconsin.gov  or (608) 422-7200. 
 
DCF/DECE/BELP/HJF 
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