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Wisconsin Shares Child Care 
  

 

SUBJECT: Short-Term Authorizations in Wisconsin Shares Child Care 

 
CROSS REFERENCE: Wisconsin Shares Child Care Policy and Process Handbook, 

Section 2.3.10  
Operations Memo 18-42: Wisconsin Shares Authorization Policy 
Operations Memo 18-43: Wisconsin Shares Authorization Begin 
and End Dates 

    
 

EFFECTIVE DATE: January 1, 2019 
 
 
PURPOSE:  This Operations Memo introduces clarifies policy for writing short-term 
authorizations for Wisconsin Shares Child Care. This policy creates a uniform practice 
for local agencies and will assist agency workers in creating more stabilized 
authorizations and reduces fluctuations in the overall monthly subsidy amount.  
 
 

BACKGROUND:  The Child Care and Development Block Grant (CCDBG) Act of 2014 
requires states to create family friendly policies that help families maintain Wisconsin 
Shares Child Care Subsidy and support continuity of care for children. 
 
 
POLICY:  Section 2.3.10 (Retro Authorizations will be renumbered to 2.3.11 at next 
manual update)  
If a parent needs an authorization to cover a short period of time, the agency should 
write the authorization for no less than 7 consecutive calendar days. This will allow 
subsidy amounts to remain stabilized across all of the authorizations written for the 
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month. Short-term authorizations do not need to be from Sunday to Saturday; however, 
they do need to end on or before the last day of the month. When a 7-day authorization 
is written at the end of the month, the last day must not cross over into the next month. 
A second short-term authorization will need to be written for the additional days that 
overlap into the next month. The second short-term authorization must still be at least 7 
days long.  
 
Short-term authorizations are authorizations that are written in addition to the parent’s 
regular authorizations. These authorizations are more than likely written to a second 
provider. Regular authorizations should continue to be written to the next expected 
change or the parent’s renewal date. 
 

Example 1: Sharee called to report that her provider would be closed for Spring break 
April 1 through April 12. Sharee needs child care for her 4-year-old daughter on Monday 
April 2, Tuesday April 3 and Friday April 6 to a different provider. The authorization 
should be written for April 2 through April 8. The Child Care Need schedule in CSAW 
should reflect that care is only needed on Monday, Tuesday, and Friday.  

 

Example 2: Mike called to report that his provider is going on vacation August 30 
through September 8. Mike needs a new authorization for a second child care provider 
for child care for Thursday August 30, Friday August 31, Monday September 3, and 
Tuesday September 4. Two authorizations would need to be written to the second 
provider to meet Mike’s needs. One authorization would be written for August 25 
through August 31. The second authorization would be written from September 1 
through September 7. The Child Care Need schedule in CSAW should reflect that care 
is only needed for the days of August 30 and 31 on the first authorization. The Child 
Care Need schedule in CSAW should reflect that care is only needed for the days 
September 3 and September 4 on the second authorization.   

 

 Example 3: Josh has a zero hour authorization in place for his 6-year-old son Tony 
from September 1 through December 31 to cover school closed hours. When entering 
the school closed hours for Tony’s authorization, the child reaches the school closed 
cap for September. No funds were loaded onto the card for October. On Thursday 
October 4, Josh called to report that the elementary school his son attends recently had 
a pipe burst and the school is going to be closed October 5 to October 12. Josh needs 
care for his son while he is at work on Friday October 5, Monday October 8, and 
Thursday October 11. He is using the same provider as his zero hour authorization. The 
current zero hour authorization should be ended on October 4. A short-term 
authorization should be written for October 5 through October 11. The Child Care Need 
schedule in CSAW should reflect that care is only needed for the days of October 5, 
October 8, and October 11. If Josh needs additional school closed hours for October, 
another short-term authorization can be written. A new zero hour authorization can be 
entered as of November 1 when school closed allotments restart (refer to page 48 in the 
CSAW Authorizations User Guide).  

 
 
 
 
 

https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/files/publications/pdf/5117.pdf
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CONTACTS: 

For Wisconsin Shares Child Care policy questions outside of Milwaukee County contact your 
Bureau of Regional Operations (BRO), Child Care Coordinators at 
BROCCPolicyHelpDesk@wisconsin.gov. 
 
For Child Care CARES/CWW and CSAW Processing Questions statewide, and policy questions 
in Milwaukee County, contact the Child Care Subsidy and Technical Assistance line at: 
childcare@wisconsin.gov or (608) 422-7200. 
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