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1828, 
Wisconsin Shares Child Care Policy and Process Handbook, 
Chapter 1: Program Eligibility and Chapter 2: Authorizations;  

     Operations Memos: 16-20, 17-37, 17-38, 17-45, and 18-42  
       
   
 

EFFECTIVE DATE: November 1, 2018 
 
PURPOSE: This memo introduces the updated policy for Authorization begin and end dates in 
the Wisconsin Shares Child Care Subsidy Program.  This memo should be read in conjunction 
with memo 18-42 Wisconsin Shares Authorization Policy.   
 

BACKGROUND: The Child Care and Development Block Grant (CCDBG) Act of 2014 
requires states to create family friendly policies that help families maintain Wisconsin Shares 
Child Care Subsidy and support continuity of care for children. The Bureau of Early Learning 
and Policy (BELP) has implemented these requirements in three phases. The first phase 
eliminated the Six Month Report Form (SMRF) for Wisconsin Shares Child Care and 
established a 12-month eligibility period (see Operations Memo 16-20). The second phase 
established a $25,000 asset test for families (see Operations Memo 17-37), allows a child who 
reaches the age of 13 to continue receiving Wisconsin Shares up to the next annual renewal 
(see Operations Memo 17-38), and allows parents who experience a permanent loss of an 
approved activity to continue receiving Wisconsin Shares for up to three months while they 
search for another approved activity (see Operations Memo 17-45). This third phase further 
enhances policies to promote continuity of care and reduce fluctuations in the monthly subsidy 
amount. 
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https://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/PLAW-113publ186/pdf/PLAW-113publ186.pdf
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/register/2018/755A1/register/emr/emr1828_rule_text/emr1828_rule_text
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/register/2018/755A1/register/emr/emr1828_rule_text/emr1828_rule_text
https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/manuals/wishares-cc-manual/
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/dhcaa/memos/16-20.pdf
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/dhcaa/memos/17-37.pdf
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/dhcaa/memos/17-38.pdf
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https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/dhcaa/memos/17-45.pdf
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CURRENT POLICY:  
 
2.2.3 Authorizations at Initial Eligibility 
Once eligibility has been determined, an authorization may begin on the Child Care Request for 
Assistance (RFA) date, as long as the following requirements are met: 

 The child care provider was regulated during that time. 

 The child care provider had a YoungStar or Wisconsin Shares Participation Contract in 
place during that period of time. 

 The child care provider was in compliance with fingerprint requirements during that time. 

 The child care provider has a signed contract with FIS. 

 If the FIS contract has not been completed, the authorization can be backdated to the 
RFA date after the FIS contract is complete. 

 The child was attending a child care program that met all above requirements. 

 The parent provided the necessary authorization assessment information within 30 days 
of the RFA date. 

  
The authorization may begin on the RFA date, provider regulation date, YoungStar, or 
Wisconsin Shares Participation Contract date, fingerprint compliance date, or date that the child 
began attending the child care program, whichever of these dates is later. 

  

Example 1: Phil applies for child care on May 15. He completes all of his eligibility 
requirements and his application is approved on June 8. On June 9, he provides all required 
approved activity schedules and information for the authorization assessment and he provides 
the name of the provider location that his children had started attending prior to May 15. The 
provider was in compliance with the requirements for Wisconsin Shares prior to the RFA date. 
Eligibility will begin May 1 in CWW, but the authorization in EBT CSAW will begin on May 15. 

  

Example 2: Charlotte is receiving Wisconsin Shares for her daughter, Olivia, when she is 
determined to be noncooperative with the Child Support Agency. She does not claim good 
cause, and her Wisconsin Shares eligibility ends on March 30. On May 8, Charlotte begins 
cooperating with the Child Support Agency. She reapplies for Wisconsin Shares on May 9 and 
is again determined eligible for Wisconsin Shares. Olivia's authorization can begin on May 9, if 
Olivia was attending the child care program on this date and the provider met the requirements 
listed in 2.2.3. 

 
2.2.4 Authorizations for Ongoing Eligibility 
If the parent provides all required information to determine eligibility (i.e. verification, interview, 
and signature), but does not provide the information required to complete the authorization 
assessment, or does not request an authorization for more than 30 days, then the authorization 
will only be backdated to the first of the month of the authorization request and the authorization 
assessment information was received. 
  
  

Example 1: If a parent completes the RFA on May 5 and completes the interactive interview on 
May 22, signs the application summary and provides the required verification, but does not 
request an authorization or provide the information needed to complete the authorization 
assessment until June 10, then the authorization would only be backdated to June 1. 

https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/youngstar/providers/contract
https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/files/forms/doc/2587.docx
https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/cbc
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An authorization for a case with ongoing eligibility may be backdated to the first of the month 
that the request was made and the authorization assessment information was provided, as long 
as the following requirements are met: 

 The child care provider was licensed or certified during that time. 

 Certification may be backdated to the certification application date, but licensing is never 
backdated. 

 The child care provider had a YoungStar or Wisconsin Shares Participation Contract in 
place during the backdated period of time. 

 The child care provider was in compliance with the fingerprint requirement for the 
backdated period of time, to be monitored by the regulatory agency. 

 The child care provider (if a new provider is selected) has a signed contract with FIS. 

 The child was actually attending a child care program that met all above parameters. 
  
The authorization begin date is limited to the provider regulation date, YoungStar or Wisconsin 
Shares Participation Contract date, fingerprint compliance date, or the date that the child began 
attending the child care program, whichever is later, when any of these dates are later than the 
date that the authorization assessment information was received and the parent requested an 
authorization. 
  

Example 2: Phil applied for child care on May 15. He is determined eligible on June 8. 
Eligibility will begin May 1 in CWW. He provided all of the information to complete the 
authorization assessment and requested an authorization on July 17. His child care provider 
met all Wisconsin Shares requirements prior to his request. The authorization in EBT CSAW 
can be backdated to July 1 or the start date of child care utilization, whichever is later. 

 

Example 3: Phil’s case was due for a child care renewal in the month of May. The renewal 
interview was completed on June 30, along with a signature and all required verification. 
Eligibility re-opened effective June 1 in CWW. Phil needs to request the authorization and 
provide the necessary authorization assessment information by June 30 in order to have an 
authorization begin date set for as far back as June 1. 
  
If he does not request an authorization and provide the authorization assessment information 
by June 30, the authorization can be backdated no further than first of the month in which he 
requests an authorization and provides all necessary authorization assessment information, or 
the start date of child care utilization, whichever is later (as long as Phil chooses a provider that 
is already in compliance with all of the Wisconsin Shares requirements). This could be July, 
August, September, etc.  

  

Example 4: Gabriel was determined to be in noncooperation with the Child Support Agency on 
April 10. She did not request good cause within 7 business days, and her Wisconsin Shares 
eligibility ended April 30. On May 10, Gabriel begins cooperating with the Child Support Agency 
and the noncooperation is ended. Because Gabriel is within one (1) calendar month of 
Wisconsin Shares eligibility ending, Gabriel’s Wisconsin Shares eligibility will reopen as of May 
1 without the need to complete the interview process. Gabriel’s case would be considered 
ongoing, and the authorization could be backdated to May 1. 

 
 
NEW POLICY: The following new policy has been added to the Wisconsin Shares Policy and 
Process Handbook with an effective date of November 1, 2018. The amendments to the 

https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/youngstar/providers/contract
https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/files/forms/doc/2587.docx
https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/cbc
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authorization policy language will be updated in the handbook in the next release. There are no 
policy changes with this amendment.  The sections “Authorization Begin Dates at Initial 
Eligibility” and “Authorizations During Ongoing Eligibility” were combined into one section 
“Authorization Begin Dates” to align with the language in Emergency Rule EmR-1828.  
 
2.3.6 Authorization Begin Dates   
Once eligibility has been either been initially determined At application or annual renewal, an 
authorization must begin on the latest of the following dates: 

 The Wisconsin Shares Child Care Request for Assistance (RFA) date 

 The date of the eligibility renewal 

 The date the child was enrolled with a provider that met the following requirements. 
o The child care provider was regulated during that time. 

 The worker may backdate the authorization to the child care provider’s 
certification application date as long as the certification is now complete, 
but the worker may never backdate the authorization to a licensed 
provider back to the licensing application date. 

o The child care provider had a YoungStar or Wisconsin Shares Participation 
Contract in place during that period of time. 

 The date the parent provided all of the necessary authorization assessment information 
to the agency. Parents must provide all necessary authorization information to the 
agency within 30 days of the RFA date or annual renewal date.  

o If the parent does not provide all of the necessary authorization assessment 
information within 30 days of the RFA date or eligibility renewal date, the 
authorization will begin on the first of the month that the parent submitted all of 
the information to the agency, as long as the other requirements above are met. 

 

Process: If the provider does not have a completed contract with Fidelity National Information 
Services (FIS), the worker will not be able to create an authorization to that provider in CSAW. If 
the FIS contract is not complete when all other requirements are met, the worker must backdate 
the authorization to the latest date in the list above once the contract is complete and entered in 
the FIS system. The FIS contract date is not a factor in determining the authorization Begin 
Date. 

 

Example 1 At Application: Phil applies for Wisconsin Shares Child Care on May 15. He 
completes all of his eligibility requirements and is determined eligible on June 8. On June 24, he 
provides all required approved activity schedules and information for the authorization 
assessment and he provides the name of the provider location that his children had started 
attending prior to May 15. The provider was in compliance with the requirements for Wisconsin 
Shares prior to the RFA date. Eligibility will begin May 1 in CWW, but the authorization in CSAW 
will begin on June 1.  

 

Example 2 At Application: Charlotte is receiving Wisconsin Shares for her daughter, Olivia, 
when she is determined to be in noncooperation with the Child Support Agency. She does not 
claim good cause, and her Wisconsin Shares eligibility ends on March 30. On May 15, Charlotte 
begins cooperating with the Child Support Agency. She reapplies for Wisconsin Shares on May 
16 and is again determined eligible for Wisconsin Shares. Olivia's authorization can begin on 
May 16, if Olivia was attending the child care program on this date and the provider met the 
requirements listed above. 

 
 

https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/register/2018/755A1/register/emr/emr1828_rule_text/emr1828_rule_text
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Example 3 Ongoing Eligibility: Phil’s case was due for a Wisconsin Shares Child Care 
renewal in the month of May. The renewal interview was completed on June 30, along with a 
signature and all required verification. Eligibility re-opened effective June 1 in CWW and Phil 
completed his authorization assessment on July 10. The worker can backdate the authorization 
only to July 1 as long as Phil chooses a provider that is already in compliance with all of the 
Wisconsin Shares requirements.  

 

Example 4 Ongoing Eligibility-Following Non-Cooperation with Child Support: Gabriel 
was determined to be in noncooperation with the Child Support Agency on April 10. She did not 
cooperate or request good cause within 7 business days, and her Wisconsin Shares eligibility 
ended April 30. On May 10, Gabriel begins cooperating with the Child Support Agency and the 
noncooperation is ended. Because Gabriel is within one (1) calendar month of Wisconsin 
Shares eligibility ending, Gabriel’s Wisconsin Shares eligibility will reopen as of May 1 without 
the need to complete the interview process. Gabriel’s case would be considered ongoing, and 
the authorization could be backdated to May 1. 

 
 
2.3.7 Authorization Begin Dates During Ongoing Eligibility 
An authorization for a case with ongoing eligibility may be backdated to the first of the month 
that the request was made and the authorization assessment information was provided, as long 
as the child was enrolled with a provider who has met the following requirements: 

 The child care provider was licensed or certified during that time: 
o The worker may backdate the authorization to the child care provider’s 

certification application date as long as the certification is now complete, but the 
worker may never backdate the authorization to a licensed provider back to the 
licensing application date. 

 The child care provider had a YoungStar or Wisconsin Shares Participation Contract in 
place during the backdated period of time.  

 
If these requirements are not met as of the first of the month, the authorization Begin Date must 
be the later of the provider regulation date or the YoungStar or Wisconsin Shares Participation 
Contract date. 
 

Process: If the provider does not have a completed contract with Fidelity National Information 
Services (FIS), the worker will not be able to create an authorization to that provider in CSAW. If 
the FIS contract is not complete when all other requirements are met, the worker must backdate 
the authorization to the latest date in the list above once the contract is complete and entered in 
the FIS system. The FIS contract date is not a factor in determining the authorization Begin 
Date. 

 

Example 1: Phil’s case was due for a Wisconsin Shares Child Care renewal in the month of 
May. The renewal interview was completed on June 30, along with a signature and all required 
verification. Eligibility re-opened effective June 1 in CWW and Phil completed his authorization 
assessment on July 10. The worker can backdate the authorization only to July 1 as long as Phil 
chooses a provider that is already in compliance with all of the Wisconsin Shares requirements.  

 

Example 2: Gabriel was determined to be in noncooperation with the Child Support Agency on 
April 10. She did not request good cause within 7 business days, and her Wisconsin Shares 
eligibility ended April 30. On May 10, Gabriel begins cooperating with the Child Support Agency 
and the noncooperation is ended. Because Gabriel is within one (1) calendar month of 
Wisconsin Shares eligibility ending, Gabriel’s Wisconsin Shares eligibility will reopen as of May 
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1 without the need to complete the interview process. Gabriel’s case would be considered 
ongoing, and the authorization could be backdated to May 1. 

 
2.3.7 Authorization End Dates  
All authorizations must span to the next annual renewal date or to the next expected change, 
whichever is earlier. Shorter authorizations are temporarily allowed if needed in order to collect 
sufficient schedule information from a parent with a new and varying schedule (see 2.4.3 
Approved Activity Schedules), in situations outlined for 2.4.4 Child Care Need Schedule, or as 
discussed in Operations Memo 18-54.  
 . 
 
Expected changes include, but are not limited to: 

 A change in the school year that results in a higher or lower child care need for a school-
aged child for summer or fall. 

 At the end date of an approved activity, such as:  

o W-2 or FSET employability plan reviews; or  

o The end of a parent’s school term.   

 At the end of the 24-month education time limit for eligible parents who are in Technical 
College or a Course of Study Leading to Employment (see 1.3.8.8). 

 A change in a child care provider. 

 A parent’s plan to move out of state. 
 
If there are multiple expected changes, the authorization must end on the earliest date.  
 
If the parent indicates that they do not need an authorization, there may be an allowable gap in 
authorizations of a month or more during the eligibility period, as illustrated in the example 
below. If the parent requests a new authorization during the eligibility period after there has 
been a gap in authorizations, the worker may need to complete an authorization assessment 
(see 2.4.2). 
 

Example: In September, Alanna completes her annual renewal. Alanna’s worker writes an 
authorization for the school year, and asks Alanna about her child care needs for the following 
summer. Alanna indicates that her child, Josepha, does not need an authorization after June 15 
because she will be visiting her grandparents in Florida for the summer. Alanna’s worker does 
not write an authorization for the summer months. 

 
Please see memo 18-42: Wisconsin Shares Authorization Policy for further information about 
Authorization policy including Consecutive Authorizations and limited exceptions.  
 
CARES WORKER WEB (CWW) AND CSAW: There are no changes to CWW or CSAW for this 
policy change. 
 

CONTACTS: 

For Wisconsin Shares Child Care policy questions outside of Milwaukee County contact your 
Bureau of Regional Operations (BRO), Child Care Coordinators at 
BROCCPolicyHelpDesk@wisconsin.gov. 
 

https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/manuals/wishares-cc-manual/chapt2-authorizations/2.4.3-approved-activity-schedules.htm
https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/manuals/wishares-cc-manual/chapt2-authorizations/2.4.3-approved-activity-schedules.htm
https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/manuals/wishares-cc-manual/chapt2-authorizations/2.4.4-child-care-need-schedule.htm
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/dhcaa/memos/18-54.pdf
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/dhcaa/memos/18-42.pdf
mailto:BROCCPolicyHelpDesk@wisconsin.gov


OM 18-43 Page 7 of 7  
 
For Child Care CARES/CWW and CSAW Processing Questions statewide, and policy questions 
in Milwaukee County, contact the Child Care Subsidy and Technical Assistance line at: 
childcare@wisconsin.gov or (608) 422-7200. 
 
 
DCF/DECE/BELP/MRD 

mailto:childcare@wisconsin.gov

