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SUBJECT: Wisconsin Shares Authorizations and Maximum Hours of Care for a Child 
Per Day 

 
CROSS REFERENCE:    Wisconsin Shares Handbook, 
 Section 2.4.8 Maximum of 75 Authorized Hours Per Week 

Wis. Admin. Code DCF ss. 201.039(9), 202.08(5)(c), 250.055(1), 
251.055(1), and 252.425(1) 
Wis. Stat. s. 49.155(6g)(a) 
 
 

EFFECTIVE DATE:     April 1, 2021 
 
 
PURPOSE:   This Operations Memo provides new policy and system changes regarding the 
number of hours that a child may be in child care in a 24-hour period and the impact to a child’s 
Wisconsin Shares authorization. This memo also clarifies the policy regarding 75 subsidized 
hours per week. 
 
 
BACKGROUND:   On April 1, 2020, licensing and certification administrative rules were updated 
to change the number of hours that a provider may provide care. Additionally, licensing 
administrative rules changed the number of hours that a child may be in care within a 24-hour 
period.  
 
Wisconsin Shares policy is being revised to align with the changes to the licensing rules. The 
maximum hours that could be subsidized per week has previously been included in the policy; 
however, the maximum subsidized hours per week are not associated with the licensing and 
authorization limits for the number of hours a child can be in care in a 24-hour period.  
 
Section 2.4.8 Maximum of 75 Authorized Hours Per Week has now been updated to indicate the 
maximum number of hours a child can be in care in a 24-hour period and includes the previous 
policy that subsidized hours are limited to 75 hours per week. The section has also been retitled 

https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/manuals/wishares-cc-manual/
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/administrativecode/DCF%20201.039(9)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/administrativecode/DCF%20202.08(5)(c)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/administrativecode/DCF%20250.055(1)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/administrativecode/DCF%20251.055(1)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/administrativecode/DCF%20252.425(1)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/49.155(6g)(a)1.
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to “Maximum Hours Per Day.” System enhancements have been made to the Child Care 
Statewide Administration on the Web (CSAW) system to support the new policy. 
 
 
POLICY:   The following policy will be added to the Wisconsin Shares Handbook with the next 
release. New policy is highlighted and policy that has been removed is indicated with red 
strikethrough. The previous Section 2.4.8 Maximum of 75 Authorized Hours Per Week has been 
entirely replaced with the new Section 2.4.8 Maximum Hours Per Day. 
 
2.4.8 Maximum Hours Per Day of 75 Authorized Hours Per Week  
A child’s total authorized hours cannot exceed 75 hours per week. This includes a child in two 
(2) Wisconsin Shares Child Care Assistance Groups and/or authorized to more than one (1) 
provider. CSAW will not allow authorizations for more than 75 hours of child care per week. It is 
only when the hardship policy requirements are met that staff with the Child Care Coordinator 
profile in CSAW may write an authorization for more than 75 hours of child care per week (see 
2.4.9.1 and 1.1.3). 
 
Example:  Claudia has an authorization for 43 hours per week for her child, Jackson, at Lydia’s 
Child Care program. Claudia asked for and was approved an exception to change child care 
providers mid-month due to Lydia’s Child Care program’s abrupt permanent closure. In this 
scenario, Jackson would have a 43 hour authorization at Lydia’s Child Care program and 
another authorization for 45 hours at Jolly House Child Care program, for a sum of 88 hours. 
Since the original authorization to Lydia’s Child Care program cannot be end-dated until the end 
of the month, the new authorization to Jolly House Child Care must be written by a worker with 
the Child Care Coordinator privileges in CSAW. 
 
Children may not be authorized for Wisconsin Shares for more than 12 hours per day unless 
written documentation is provided describing a parent’s work schedule, travel time, or a 
combination of work and travel time that exceeds 12 hours per day. Written documentation may 
include a parent’s written statement or other verification already provided for approved activity 
(see 1.5.11) or financial eligibility (see 1.5.12). Documentation must be scanned into the 
Electronic Case File (ECF). If verification that was previously provided is used to justify a child 
care need that exceeds 12 hours per day, a summary of the relevant verification must be 
documented in case comments (see 1.9). 
 
If written documentation is provided describing a child care need of more than 12 hours per day, 
child care may be authorized up to the following limits: 
 

• Licensed Providers and Day Camps: Per licensing rules, children cannot be in care more 
than 14 hours in a 24-hour period at a licensed provider (group or family) or a day camp. 
A child may not be authorized for more than 14 hours in a 24-hour period, which includes 
travel time, for a licensed provider or a day camp.  

 
• Certified Providers: Per Wisconsin Shares rules, children may not be authorized for 

more than 16 hours per day, which includes travel time, for a certified provider.  
 
Out-of-state providers will have a status of Licensed or Certified in the Child Care Statewide 
Administration on the Web (CSAW) system and CSAW will enforce the associated daily limit as 
described in the CSAW Changes section of this memo. 
 
Example 1 (Certified): Violet is receiving Wisconsin Shares for her child, Donna, to attend a 
certified child care provider. In May, Violet begins working 12-hour overnight shifts (7 p.m. to 7 
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a.m.) on a rotating schedule. She also needs six (6) hours of sleep time, as well as 30 minutes 
of travel time each way. Donna would need to be in care for 19 hours within a 24-hour period 
(12-hour shift + six (6) hours sleep time + one (1) hour travel time). Because a child cannot be 
authorized to a certified provider for more than 16 hours per day, only 16 hours of care may be 
authorized. Travel time could not be included in the authorization because Donna would still be 
in care during that time. CSAW will consider travel time and the parent schedule/child care need 
overlap and prevent the agency worker from entering a child care need that is greater than 16 
hours per day. 
 
Example 2 (Licensed): Carol is receiving Wisconsin Shares for her child, Johnny, to attend a 
licensed child care provider. Carol works a rotating 12-hour shift from 10 p.m. to 10 a.m. She 
also requests five (5) hours of sleep time and 30 minutes travel time for pick up only. Johnny 
would be in care 17.5 hours within a 24-hour period (12-hour shift + five (5) hours sleep time + 
30 minutes travel time). Because a child cannot be authorized to a licensed provider for more 
than 14 hours per day, only 14 hours of care may be authorized. Travel time could not be 
included in the authorization because Johnny would still be in care during that time. CSAW will 
consider travel time and the parent schedule/child care need overlap and prevent the agency 
worker from entering a child care need that is greater than 14 hours per day. 
 
Subsidized hours are capped at 75 hours per week. For more information about the subsidy 
calculation, see Section 2.5.4. 
 
 
CSAW CHANGES: 
CSAW was updated on January 29, 2021, to support these policies. The following validations 
were added to CSAW: 
 

1. Child Care Need Exceeds 12 Hours 
A yellow soft stop validation displays when the child care need and parent schedule overlap, 
including travel time, exceeds 12 hours within a 24-hour period. This validation reminds workers 
to collect written documentation of a child care need greater than 12 hours. 
 

2. Child Care Need Exceeds Daily Limit 
A red hard stop validation displays when the child care need and parent schedule overlap, 
including travel time, exceeds the daily licensing or authorization limit for the provider type as 
described above. Neither agency workers nor Child Care Coordinators are able to override this 
validation.  
 

3. Child Care Need Outside Hours of Operation 
A red hard stop validation displays when the child care need and parent schedule overlap, 
including travel time, for any day are outside of the child care provider’s hours of operation (as 
listed in CSAW). Neither agency workers nor Child Care Coordinators are able to override this 
validation.  
 
 
CONTACTS: 
 
For Wisconsin Shares policy questions outside of Milwaukee County contact your Bureau of 
Regional Operations (BRO), Child Care Coordinators at 
BROCCPolicyHelpDesk@wisconsin.gov. 
 

mailto:BROCCPolicyHelpDesk@wisconsin.gov
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For Child Care CARES/CWW and CSAW Processing Questions statewide, and policy questions in 
Milwaukee County, contact the Child Care Subsidy and Technical Assistance line at: 
childcare@wisconsin.gov or (608) 422-7200. 
 
 
DCF/DECE/BCCSA/ERR 
 
 
 

mailto:childcare@wisconsin.gov
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