

1 West Wilson Street PO Box 2659 Madison WI 53701-2659

Telephone: 608-267-9003 Fax: 608-261-4976 TTY: 888-701-1253

Date: March 19, 2020

DPH Numbered Memo 2020-13

To: Local Health Departments

From: Jeanne Ayers, R.N., M.P.H. State Health Officer, Administrator, Division of Public Health

## Guidance for Local Health Departments (LHDs)

## What to do if someone breaks quarantine

## PLEASE DISTRIBUTE WIDELY

- When possible, the Wisconsin Department of Health Services (DHS) recommends voluntary quarantine/isolation.
- If there is reason to believe that an individual may not voluntarily abide by quarantine/isolation recommendations, the LHD should evaluate the individual's circumstances that make non-adherence likely, and provide linkages to available resources that can support quarantine at home. These may include:
  - Food delivery
  - Social support
  - Tele-health/information resources
  - Mental health resources, etc.
- If individuals demonstrate they are unwilling to voluntarily abide, the LHD may have to issue a quarantine/isolation order.
  - The quarantine/isolation order should be issued in writing.
- If the person fails to comply, the LHD may petition a court to order compliance.
  - The LHD must prove by clear and convincing evidence that the directive is the least restrictive measure that will protect the public's health.
- The LHD may employ quarantine guards if intent to violate a quarantine order is shown. Typically, the LHD employs local law enforcement.
  - The quarantine guards have police powers to use all necessary means to enforce the quarantine.
  - The costs of the quarantine guards are the responsibility of the county or municipality.
  - During a state of emergency, if the person is quarantined outside his or her home, those costs may be reimbursable by the state.
- If necessary, the LHD can remove a person to a separate place for quarantine/isolation if removal would not endanger the person's health.

## DPH Memo

Page 2 of 2

- Anyone who enters a quarantine/isolation premises without authorization is subject to a fine not to exceed \$10,000 or 9 months in jail, or both.
- Anyone who willfully violates laws relating to public health may be subject to 30 days in jail or fined not more than \$500, or both.
- The Wisconsin Department of Health Services has a toolkit of legal forms to assist LHDs with quarantine/isolation enforcement issues.

Sources of law: Wis. Stat. §§ 252.06 and 252.25; Wis. Admin. Code § 145.06.