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Out-of-State Licensure  

 

After dissemination of the Numbered Memo 15-02 regarding Mutual Aid, there have been many 

questions that we would like to clarify.  We want to make the Wisconsin licensing process as efficient as 

possible for out-of-state services and EMTs, and work with out-of-state services to develop expectations 

and a timeline to come into full compliance. 

 

Who needs a Wisconsin EMS license: 

 

Under Wis. Stat. s. 256.15 (2), Wisconsin licensure is required in order to provide ambulance or EMT 

service in Wisconsin.  This is a requirement that may not be waived under DHS 110.03 because it is a 

statute requirement.  

 

Out-of-state services and out-of-state EMTs that come into Wisconsin and practice emergency medical 

services must be licensed.   

 

How to be licensed in Wisconsin: 

 

EMS service requirement: 

 Contact the appropriate coordinator in the WI EMS office: 

 Chuck Happel – Intermediate Coordinator at 608-266-0471 or 

Charles.Happel@wisconsin.gov 

 Fred Hornby – Paramedic Coordinator at 608-266-8853 or 

Frederick.Hornby@wisconsin.gov 

 Ray Lemke – Basic and First Responder Coordinator at 608-266-0737 or 

Ray.Lemke@wisconsin.gov 
 

Individual EMT requirements: 

If you currently hold NREMT: 

 Complete a Reciprocity License application in Wisconsin E-Licensing at  

https://www.wi-emss.org/public/wisconsin/. 
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 Complete, print and submit the Verification of Out-of-State Licensure form to the state EMS 

office(s) confirming that you hold or have held an EMS license. This form is available in 

Wisconsin E-Licensing.  

 Provide a valid NREMT number for the level for which you are applying. 

 Submit a copy of the Certificate of Completion for a Terrorism Awareness course provided 

online through the department or present evidence satisfactory to the department of sufficient 

education and training for response to acts of terrorism.   

 An administrative fee of $50 must be submitted with any reciprocity application submitted after 

January 1, 2011. The department will waive this fee for individuals who obtain a letter of support 

from a Wisconsin EMS service and complete the application process by April 15, 2016. 

If you do not currently hold NREMT: 

 Complete the Verification of Out-of-State Education form. This form is available in Wisconsin 

E-Licensing. 

 Wisconsin requires current National Registry certification for licensure for all license levels. 

Eligible applicants without current National Registry certification will need to pass the National 

Registry examination. A letter of authorization for entry to the exam will be sent to you upon 

proof of eligibility. 

 Complete, print and submit the Verification of Out-of-State Licensure form to the state EMS 

office(s) confirming that you hold or have held an EMS license. This form is available in 

Wisconsin E-Licensing.  

 Submit a copy of the Certificate of Completion for an approved Terrorism Awareness course 

provided online through the department or present evidence satisfactory to the department of 

sufficient education and training for response to acts of terrorism.  

 An administrative fee of $50 must be submitted with any reciprocity application submitted after 

January 1, 2011. The department will waive this fee for individuals who obtain a letter of support 

from a Wisconsin EMS service and complete the application process by April 15, 2016. 

 Submit a copy of the Certificate of Completion for your most recent refresher course at the level 

of license you are requesting. 

For more information, please visit https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/ems/licensing/reciprocity.htm. 

If you are an out-of-state service or EMT that is required to obtain a Wisconsin license, we would like to 

work with you.  Please contact our office with any questions at 608.266.1568 or dhsemssmail@wi.gov. 

 

 

https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/ems/training/wm-dcourse.htm
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/ems/training/wm-dcourse.htm
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/ems/licensing/reciprocity.htm
mailto:dhsemssmail@wi.gov

