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2018-2020 EMS Healthcare Provider Renewal Requirements 

 
The Wisconsin Department of Health Services (DHS) EMS Office will open the 2018-2020 Provider 
Renewal process on November 1, 2017, through June 30, 2018. You must complete all educational 
requirements prior to completing and submitting the 2018-2020 Provider Renewal application. 
You must complete the 2018-2020 Provider Renewal application by June 30, 2018, to obtain a current 
certification or license that is valid until June 30, 2020. There is no fee for this license if the renewal 
process is completed by June 30, 2018. If a currently licensed or certified Wisconsin EMS provider has 
not renewed his/her provider license or certification by June 30, 2018, that provider may not function as 
an EMS provider after that date. Wisconsin  Admin. Code § DHS 110.05(2) states, “a person acting or 
advertising as an EMT or First Responder without a license or certificate issued by the department or 
without appropriate credentialing may be subject to department action under sub ch. V or Wis. Stat. § 
256.15 (11) (c), (d), or (f), as applicable." 
 
Any application received after June 30, 2018, will be considered a late renewal under DHS 110.09 
(1) and will require the payment of late or reinstatement fees as indicated below. 
 
All Wisconsin EMS provider applications are completed in the E-Licensing system. The important 
renewal dates to remember for 2018-2020, are: 
• July 1, 2016, through June 30, 2018, is the standard renewal period to complete educational 

requirements. 
• July 1, 2018 through December 31, 2018, will be the late renewal period and incurs a $50 late 

renewal administrative fee, per DHS 110.16 (1) (a). 
• January 1, 2019, through June 30, 2020, will be the reinstatement period and incurs a $75 

reinstatement administrative fee, per DHS 110.16 (1) (b). 
 
A license or certification that has been expired for two years or more may only be reinstated by 
successful completion of the initial education, training and examination requirements. 
 
All continuing education is a personal responsibility. For the 2018-2020 License renewal process, all 
education requirements must be completed between July 1, 2016, and June 30, 2018. Flexible continuing 
education may be obtained through various formats, but needs to be documented as completed education 
and training between July 1, 2016, and June 30, 2018, and must meet requirements in Wis. Admin. Code 

https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/ems/licensing/renewal.htm
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/ems/licensing/renewal.htm
https://www.wi-emss.org/public/wisconsin/
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§ DHS 110.07. You must submit all flexible education documentation to verify renewal education 
course completion upon submission of the renewal application to the E-Licensing system.   
 
First Responder/EMR 
To be eligible for recertification as a Wisconsin First Responder/EMR health care provider, you must 
complete the following eligibility and training requirements as required by DHS 110.07: 
1. Successful completion of an initial First Responder education course between July 1, 2016, and June 

30, 2018, or 
• Successful completion of an18 hour First Responder refresher course between July 1, 2016, and 

June 30, 2018, at an approved Wisconsin EMS Training Center, or 
• Successful completion of an18 hour NCCP First Responder refresher between July 1, 2016, and 

June 30, 2018, or 
• Successful completion of an18 hour First Responder alternative flexible refresher between July 

1, 2016, and June 30, 2018, or 
• Successful recertification by completing the First Responder NREMT assessment exam, or 
• Successful completion of an initial EMT education course between July 1, 2016, and June 30, 

2018.  
2. The individual holds current CPR certification at the professional level by an organization specified 

under DHS 110.17 (1) 
3. The individual does not have an arrest or conviction record that is substantially related to performing 

the duties of an EMS professional, as determined by DHS. If you have an arrest or conviction record, 
please include this information on your renewal application. 

4. The individual must complete all educational requirements before submitting the 2018-2020 
Provider Renewal application by June 30, 2018 to the E-Licensing system. 

 
EMT Basic 
 
To be eligible for recertification as an EMT Basic health care provider, you must complete the following 
eligibility and training requirements as required by DHS 110.07: 
1. Successful completion of an initial EMT education course between July 1, 2016, and June 30, 2018, 

or 
• Successful completion of a 30-hour EMT refresher course between July 1, 2016, and June 30, 

2018, at an approved Wisconsin EMS Training Center, or 
• Successful completion of an NCCP EMT refresher between July 1, 2016, and June 30, 2018, or 
• Successful completion of a 30 hour EMT alternative flexible refresher between July 1, 2016, and 

June 30, 2018, or  
• Successful recertification by completing the EMT NREMT assessment exam, or 
• Successful completion of the initial AEMT course at an approved Wisconsin EMS Training 

Center between July 1, 2016, and June 30, 2018, or 
• Successful completion of the didactic portion of the initial Paramedic course at an approved 

Wisconsin EMS Training Center between July 1, 2016, and June 30, 2018.  
2. The individual holds current CPR certification at the professional level by an organization specified 

under DHS 110.17 (1). 

https://www.wi-emss.org/public/wisconsin/
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/ems/training/centers.htm
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/forms/f01935.pdf
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/forms/f01934.pdf
https://www.nremt.org/rwd/public/document/emr-recert
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/ems/licensing/cpr.htm
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/ems/licensing/suspension.htm
https://www.wi-emss.org/public/wisconsin/
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/ems/training/centers.htm
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/forms/f01933.pdf
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/forms/f01932.pdf
https://www.nremt.org/rwd/public/document/emt-recert
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/ems/training/centers.htm
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/ems/training/centers.htm
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/ems/training/centers.htm
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/ems/licensing/cpr.htm
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3. The individual does not have an arrest or conviction record that is substantially related to performing 

the duties of an EMS professional, as determined by DHS. If you have an arrest or conviction record, 
please include this information on your renewal application. 

4. The individual must complete all educational requirements before submitting the completed 
2018-2020 Provider Renewal application by June 30, 2018, to the E-Licensing system. 

 
Intermediate Technician/AEMT 
To be eligible for recertification as an Intermediate Technician/AEMT health care provider, you must 
complete the following eligibility and training requirements as required by DHS 110.07:; 
1. Successful completion of an initial AEMT education course between July 1, 2016, and June 30, 

2018, or 
• Successful completion of a 42 hour AEMT refresher course between July 1, 2016, and June 30, 

2018, at an approved Wisconsin EMS Training Center, or 
• Successful completion of a 30 hour EMT refresher course between July 1, 2016 and June 30, 

2018 at an approved WI EMS Training Center and successful completion of a 12-hour AEMT 
refresher course between July 1, 2016, and June 30, 2018, at an approved Wisconsin EMS 
Training Center or 12 hours of continuing education approved by the service medical director, or 

• Successful completion of an NCCP AEMT refresher between July 1, 2016, and June 30, 2018, or 
Successful completion of a 42 hour AEMT alternative flexible refresher between July 1, 2016, 
and June 30, 2018, or     

• Successful recertification by completing the AEMT NREMT assessment exam, or 
• Successful completion of the didactic portion of a Paramedic course or completion of an initial 

Paramedic course at an approved Wisconsin EMS Training Center between July 1, 2016, and 
June 30, 2018. 

2. The individual holds current CPR certification at the professional level by an organization specified 
under DHS 110.17 (1). 

3. The individual does not have an arrest or conviction record that is substantially related to performing 
the duties of an EMS professional, as determined by DHS. If you have an arrest or conviction record, 
please include this information on your renewal application. 

4. The individual must complete all educational requirements before submitting the completed 
2018-2020 Provider Renewal application by June 30, 2018, to the E-Licensing system. 

 
Intermediate 
 To be eligible for recertification as an Intermediate healthcare provider, you must complete the 
following eligibility and training requirements as required by DHS 110.07: 
1. Successful completion of a 48 hour Intermediate or Paramedic refresher course between July 1, 

2016, and June 30, 2018, at an approved Wisconsin EMS Training Center, or 
• Successful completion of a 48 hour Intermediate transition refresher between July 1, 2016, and 

June 30, 2018, or 
• Successful completion of a 48 hour Paramedic alternative flexible refresher between July 1, 2016, 

and June 30, 2018, or 
• Successful completion of the initial Paramedic course at an approved Wisconsin EMS Training 

Center between July 1, 2016, and June 30, 2018. 
2. The individual holds current CPR certification and ACLS at the professional level by an 

organization specified under DHS 110.17 (1). 

https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/ems/licensing/suspension.htm
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/ems/licensing/renewal.htm
https://www.wi-emss.org/public/wisconsin/
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/ems/training/centers.htm
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/ems/training/centers.htm
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/ems/training/centers.htm
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/ems/training/centers.htm
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/forms/f01954.pdf
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/forms/f01931.pdf
https://www.nremt.org/rwd/public/document/advancedemt-recert
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/ems/training/centers.htm
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/ems/licensing/cpr.htm
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/ems/licensing/suspension.htm
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/ems/licensing/renewal.htm
https://www.wi-emss.org/public/wisconsin/
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/ems/training/centers.htm
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/forms/f01936.pdf
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/forms/f01937.pdf
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/ems/training/centers.htm
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/ems/training/centers.htm
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/ems/licensing/cpr.htm
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3. The individual does not have an arrest or conviction record that is substantially related to performing 

the duties of an EMS professional, as determined by DHS. If you have an arrest or conviction record, 
please include this information on your renewal application. 

4. The individual must complete all educational requirements before submitting the completed 
2018-2020 Provider Renewal application by June 30, 2018, to the E-Licensing system. 

 
Paramedic 
To be eligible for recertification as a Paramedic health care provider, you must complete the following 
eligibility and training requirements as required by DHS 110.07: 
1. Successful completion of an initial Paramedic course between July 1, 2016, and June 30, 2018,  at an 

approved Wisconsin EMS Training Center, or 
• Successful completion of a 48 hour Paramedic refresher training at an approved Wisconsin EMS 

Training Center between July 1, 2016, and June 30, 2018, or 
• Successful completion of a 48 hour Paramedic alternative flexible refresher between July 1, 2016, 

and June 30, 2018, or 
• Successful completion of an NCCP Paramedic refresher between July 1, 2016, and June 30, 

2018, or 
• Successful completion of an initial Critical Care course at an approved Wisconsin EMS Training 

Center, or 
• Successful recertification by completing the Paramedic NREMT assessment exam.  

2. The individual holds current CPR certification and ACLS at the professional level by an 
organization specified under DHS 110.17 (1). 

3. The individual does not have an arrest or conviction record that is substantially related to performing 
the duties of an EMS professional, as determined by DHS. If you have an arrest or conviction record, 
please include this information on your renewal application. 

4. The individual must complete all educational requirements before submitting the  2018-2020 
Provider Renewal application by June 30, 2018, to the E-Licensing system. 

 
Critical Care Paramedic 
To be eligible for recertification as an EMT Critical Care Paramedic health care provider, you must 
complete the following eligibility and training requirements as required by DHS 110.07: 
1. Successful completion of an initial Critical Care Paramedic course between July 1, 2016, and June 

30, 2018, at an approved Wisconsin EMS Training Center, or 
• Successful completion of a 48 hour Paramedic refresher and a 24 hour Critical Care refresher 

training at an approved Wisconsin EMS Training Center between July 1, 2016, and June 30, 
2018, or 

• Successful completion of a 48-hour Paramedic alternative flexible refresher and a 24-hour 
Critical Care Paramedic flexible refresher between July 1, 2016, and June 30, 2018, or 

• Successful completion of an NCCP Paramedic refresher and successful completion of a 24 hour 
Critical Care Paramedic flexible refresher between July 1, 2016, and June 30, 2018, or 

• Successful recertification by completing the Paramedic NREMT assessment exam and successful 
completion of a 24 hour Critical Care Paramedic flexible refresher or a 24 hour Critical Care 
refresher training at an approved Wisconsin EMS Training Center between July 1, 2016, and 
June 30, 2018. 

2. The individual holds current CPR certification and ACLS at the professional level by an 
organization specified under DHS 110.17 (1). 

https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/ems/licensing/suspension.htm
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/ems/licensing/renewal.htm
https://www.wi-emss.org/public/wisconsin/
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/ems/training/centers.htm
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/ems/training/centers.htm
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/ems/training/centers.htm
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/forms/f01937.pdf
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/forms/f01938.pdf
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/ems/training/centers.htm
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/ems/training/centers.htm
https://www.nremt.org/rwd/public/document/paramedic-recert
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/ems/licensing/cpr.htm
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/ems/licensing/suspension.htm
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/ems/licensing/renewal.htm
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/ems/licensing/renewal.htm
https://www.wi-emss.org/public/wisconsin/
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/ems/training/centers.htm
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/ems/training/centers.htm
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/forms/f01937.pdf
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/forms/f01955.pdf
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/forms/f01938.pdf
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/forms/f01955.pdf
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/forms/f01938.pdf
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/forms/f01955.pdf
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/ems/training/centers.htm
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/ems/licensing/cpr.htm
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3. The individual does not have an arrest or conviction record that is substantially related to performing 

the duties of an EMS professional, as determined by DHS. If you have an arrest or conviction record, 
please include this information on your renewal application. 

4. The individual must complete all educational requirements before submitting the completed 
2018-2020 Provider Renewal application by June 30, 2018, to the E-Licensing system. 

 
Tactical EMS (TEMS) Endorsement 
To be eligible for recertification as an EMS health care provider with TEMS endorsement, you must 
complete the following eligibility and training requirements as required by DHS 110.07 for your core 
license level. Training needs to be completed between July 1, 2016, and June 30, 2018. Renewal 
education can be completed in the following format as shown above for each license level. 
1. The individual shall be licensed as an EMS professional and affiliated with a department-recognized 

tactical team. The applicant shall present documentation of an affiliation with a department 
recognized tactical team. 

2. The individual holds current CPR certification and ACLS if required by licensure level at the 
professional level by an organization specified under DHS 110.17 (1). 

3. The individual does not have an arrest or conviction record that is substantially related to performing 
the duties of an EMS professional, as determined by DHS. If you have an arrest or conviction record, 
please include this information on your renewal application. 

4. The individual must complete all educational requirements before submitting the completed 
2018-2020 Provider Renewal application by June 30, 2018, to the E-Licensing system. 

 
Flexible Refreshers 
All continuing education is a personal responsibility. Continuing education topics may include subjects 
contained within the National Scope of Practice, as well as other subject matter specifically related to 
the emergency medical care of patients. Continuing education may be obtained through a variety of 
delivery methods including didactic sessions, practical drills, workshops, EMS conferences, and 
distributive education.  
 
You must submit education course completion documentation to verify renewal education course 
completion upon submission of the renewal application to the E-Licensing system and it needs to be 
documented as education and training completed between July 1, 2016, and June 30, 2018, and must 
meet requirements of Administrative Code DHS 110.07. For this renewal cycle, Wisconsin EMS is 
working with the National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians (NREMT) to accept the 
National Continued Competency Program recertification model. For 2018-2020 EMS Flexible refresher 
information and documentation, please go to the EMS Licensing Renewal Training/Retraining 
Requirements. 
 
It is recommended that continuing education be obtained through any of the following: 
• Courses approved by the Commission on Accreditation for Pre-Hospital Continuing Education 

(CAPCE) (F1, F2, F5 courses).  
• Conferences sponsored by recognized Wisconsin organizations or hospitals. 
• Pre-approved in-house training approved by the EMS office and EMS service medical director.  
 
Please verify the education meets the requirements in DHS 110.07 prior to submitting the completed 
2018-2020 Provider Renewal application by June 30, 2018, to the E-Licensing system. 
 

https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/ems/licensing/suspension.htm
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/ems/licensing/renewal.htm
https://www.wi-emss.org/public/wisconsin/
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/ems/licensing/cpr.htm
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/ems/licensing/suspension.htm
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/ems/licensing/renewal.htm
https://www.wi-emss.org/public/wisconsin/
https://www.nremt.org/rwd/public/document/nccp
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/ems/training/retrain-req.htm
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/ems/training/retrain-req.htm
https://www.cecbems.org/FindCourse.aspx
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/ems/licensing/renewal.htm
https://www.wi-emss.org/public/wisconsin/
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Renewal Applications 
Continuing education is a personal responsibility. You are responsible for ensuring all education 
requirements are completed between July 1, 2016, and June 30, 2018, and meet the requirements 
in DHS 110.07 prior to submitting the completed 2018-2020 Provider Renewal application by June 
30, 2018. 
 
The 2018-2020 EMS Provider Renewal application will only renew the valid certification or license that 
you currently hold. You cannot upgrade or downgrade your provider license level using the renewal 
application.  
 
You will not be able to reopen your renewal application once it has been submitted to the E-Licensing 
system. All renewal applications submitted to the Wisconsin EMS licensing system prior to an 
individual’s training being completed will be subject to disciplinary action based on DHS 110.54 and 
will result in the suspension or revocation of your EMS provider license or certification. 
 
Licensure Level Upgrade 
If you are eligible to upgrade your Wisconsin EMS license level based on completed initial education 
and training, you will then need to log in to your account in E-Licensing and complete a Provider 
Upgrade Application by June 30, 2018. You may not complete a 2018-2020 Provider Renewal 
application to upgrade your Wisconsin EMS license. The 2018-2020 EMS Provider Renewal 
Application will only renew the license that you currently hold. You may not upgrade a provider license 
level using the renewal application.  
 
Licensure Level Downgrade 
If you downgrade your Wisconsin EMS license level, based on completed education at the licensure 
level you are downgrading to, you will need to log in to your account in E-Licensing and complete the 
Provider Downgrade Application by June 30, 2018. Continuing education is a personal responsibility. 
You must submit education course completion documentation to verify renewal education course 
completion upon submission of the renewal application to the E-Licensing system. You must document 
completed education and training between July 1, 2016, and June 30, 2018, and must meet requirements 
in Administrative Code DHS 110.07. You are responsible to ensure all education requirements are 
completed between July 1, 2016, and June 30, 2018, and meet the requirements in Administrative Code 
DHS 110.07 prior to submitting the Provider Downgrade Application. You may not complete a 2018-
2020 Provider Renewal Application to downgrade your EMS license. The 2018-2020 EMS Provider 
Renewal Application will only renew the license that you currently hold. You may not downgrade a 
provider license level using the renewal application.  
 
Instructor II Renewal Applications 
To be eligible for recertification as an Instructor II, as required by DHS 110.28, you must successfully 
complete the 2018-2020 Provider Renewal Application process by June 30, 2018, to renew your core 
EMS certification or license. You are then eligible to complete the Instructor II Renewal Application 
process to renew your EMS instructor certification. You must be actively credentialed with a Wisconsin 
EMS Training Center to provide documentation of continued affiliation with a training center as 
required in DHS 110.28 (4) (b). 
 
Waiver Request for Active Military Deployment and Medical Conditions 
If you are unable to renew your current certification or license due to active military deployment during 
the biennium that prevents your ability to complete refresher activities, or you had a significant medical 

https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/ems/licensing/renewal.htm
https://www.wi-emss.org/public/wisconsin/
https://www.wi-emss.org/public/wisconsin/
https://www.wi-emss.org/public/wisconsin/
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/ems/licensing/renewal.htm
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/ems/training/instructor-cert.htm
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condition during the biennium that prevented you from completing refresher activities, you may be 
eligible to receive an extension for the renewal process by completing the Waiver of Administrative 
Rule for Licensure. You should submit the supporting documentation and completed form to 
dhsemssmail@wisconsin.gov. You must complete this process before your EMS certification/licensure 
expires. The EMS program has sole discretion in determining if the waiver will be granted. The decision 
of the EMS program is final and is not appealable under DHS 110.59. 
 
Retirement and Non-Renewal of EMS Certification/Licensure 
If you do not plan to renew your Wisconsin EMS certification or licensure, please notify the Wisconsin 
EMS office by sending an email to dhsemssmail@wisconsin.gov, including your first and last name as it 
appears on your EMS account, documenting that you will not be seeking 2018-2020 Wisconsin EMS 
renewal. Your email address will be removed from your account so you will no longer receive 
Wisconsin EMS communications. 
 
For detailed 2018-2020 Provider Renewal information, please visit your Wisconsin EMS renewal 
website at https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/ems/licensing/renewal.htm 
 
If you have any questions, please contact the Wisconsin EMS office at 608-266-1568 or 
dhsemssmail@wisconsin.gov  
 

https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/forms/F0/F00569.doc
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/forms/F0/F00569.doc
mailto:dhsemssmail@wisconsin.gov
mailto:dhsemssmail@wisconsin.gov
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/ems/licensing/renewal.htm
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/ems/licensing/renewal.htm
mailto:dhsemssmail@wisconsin.gov

