
STATE OF WISCONSIN 
Department of Health Services 
Division of Quality Assurance 

 1 West Wilson Street 
PO Box 2969 

Madison  WI  53701-2969  

 

 

 
Telephone:  608-266-8481 

Fax:  608-267-0352 
TTY:  888-241-9432 
 

 

 

www.dhs.wisconsin.gov 

 

 
 

Date: September 3, 2014 DQA Memo 14-008    
        

To: Adult Day Care 
Adult Family Homes 
Community-Based Residential Facilities 
Residential Care Apartment Complexes 
 

 
From: Alfred C. Johnson, Director 

Bureau of Assisted Living 
 
Via: Otis Woods, Administrator 

Division of Quality Assurance 
 

Facility Closure/Relocation Plans 

 
In this memo the Division of Quality Assurance (DQA)/Bureau of Assisted Living (BAL) provides 
guidance to providers about the process to use for discharge planning and relocation assistance for 
residents/tenants in the event of a facility closure.  This memo is to help educate providers on these 
issues, but it should not be used as a substitute for the Wisconsin Statutes and Administrative Code.   
Providers must follow the current and applicable Wisconsin Statutes and Administrative Code 
requirements when faced with these issues. 
 
Required Notification of Relocation 
 
The Department, the resident, the resident’s legal representative (if any), and others as indicated by 
administrative rule or statute, must be provided with written notice whenever a resident will be 
discharged from a Community Based Residential Facility (CBRF), Adult Family Home (AFH), or 
Residential Care Apartment Complex (RCAC).  
 
Adult Day Care (ADC) providers are encouraged to notify the BAL regional office in your area when a 
facility closure is anticipated. ADC providers may disregard the information that follows regarding 
relocation planning.   
 
The following are some of the state statutes and administrative rules that apply to discharge planning 
and relocation assistance for residents/tenants in the event of a facility closure for specific assisted 
living facility types: 
 
Adult Family Homes (AFH) 

 
Wis. Admin. Code § DHS 88.08 Termination of placement: 
 

https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/regulations/adultdaycare/publications.htm
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/regulations/afh/afh-memos.htm
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/regulations/cbrf/cbrf-memos.htm
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/regulations/rcac/rcac-memos.htm
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A licensee may terminate a resident's placement only after giving the resident, the resident's 
guardian, if any, the resident's service coordinator, the placing agency, if any, and the designated 
representative, if any, 30-days written notice. The termination of a placement shall be consistent 
with the service agreement under s. DHS 88.06 (2) (c) 7. The 30 day notice is not required for an 
emergency termination necessary to prevent harm to the resident or other household members. 

 
Wis. Admin. Code § DHS 88.03(5) Changes to be Reported to the Licensing Agency: 
 

A licensee shall report to the licensing agency within 7 days, unless otherwise specified, the 
following changes: 
(a) A significant and ongoing change in the type or amount of services the licensee offers to 
provide if the change adversely affects any resident who needs the service. 
 

Community Based Residential Facilities (CBRF) 
 
Wis. Stat. § 50.03(14) (c) The facility shall: 
  

1. Provide at least 30 days' written notice prior to relocation to each resident who is to be 
relocated, to the resident's guardian, if any, and to a member of the resident's family, if 
practicable, unless the resident requests that notice to the family be withheld. 
 
8. At the time the facility notifies the department under subd. 7., submit to the department a 
preliminary plan that includes: 
a. The proposed timetable for planning and implementation of relocations and the resources, 
policies and procedures that the facility will provide or arrange in order to plan and implement 
the relocations. 
b. A list of the residents to be relocated and their current levels of care and a brief description of 
any special needs or conditions. 
c. An indication of which residents have guardians and the names and addresses of the guardians. 
d. A list of which residents have been protectively placed under ch. 55. 
e. A list of the residents whom the facility believes to meet the requirements of s. 54.10 (3). 

 
Wis. Admin. Code § DHS 83.31(4)(c) Discharge or Transfer Initiated by CBRF: 
 

(c)  Notice requirements. Every notice of involuntary discharge shall be in writing to the resident 
or resident's legal representative and shall include all of the following: 
1. A statement setting forth the reason and justification for discharge listed under par. (b). 
2. A statement that the resident or the resident's legal representative may ask the department to 
review the involuntary discharge by sending a written request within 10 days of receipt of the 
discharge statement to the department's regional office with a copy to the CBRF. The notice shall 
state that the request must provide an explanation why the discharge should not take place. 
3. The name, address and telephone number of the department's regional office director. 
4. The name, address and telephone number of the regional office of the board on aging and long 
term care's ombudsman program. For residents with developmental disability or mental illness, 
the notice shall include the name, address and telephone number of the protection and advocacy 
agency designated under s. 51.62 (2) (a), Stats. 

  
  

https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/administrativecode/DHS%2088.06(2)(c)7.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/50.03(14)(c)7.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/ch.%2055
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/54.10(3)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/administrativecode/DHS%2083.31(4)(b)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/51.62(2)(a)
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Wis. Admin. Code § DHS 83.11 Facility Closing: 
 

(1) Any CBRF that intends to close shall notify the department in writing at least 30 days before 
closing and comply with the requirements under s. 50.03 (5m), Stats., and s. DHS 83.31. 
  
(3) The CBRF shall surrender the license to the department when the CBRF closes. 

 
Residential Care Apartment Complexes (RCAC) 

  
Wis. Admin. Code § DHS 89.54 Reporting of changes: 
 

A certified residential care apartment complex operator shall report to the department any change 
which may affect its compliance with this chapter, including change in the residential care 
apartment complex ownership, administration, building or continued operation, 30 days prior to 
making the change. The department may require that the facility reapply for certification when 
any of these changes take place. 

 
Wis. Admin. Code § DHS 89.44 Termination and Revocation: 
 

(1)  A residential care apartment complex's registration terminates whenever any of the 
following occurs: 
(b) The facility discontinues operation. 
 
(2) A residential care apartment complex shall immediately report to the department any change 
which would invalidate its registration under sub. (1). 

 
Wis. Admin. Code § DHS 89.29(3)(c) Procedures for Termination: 
 

a. Except as provided under subd. 2., a residential care apartment complex shall provide 30 days 
advance notice of termination to the tenant and the tenant's designated representative, if any. If 
there is no designated representative, the facility shall notify the county department of social or 
human services under s. 46.21, 46.22 or 46.23, Stats. 
b. Notice of termination shall include the grounds for termination and information about how to 
file a grievance consistent with the termination and grievance policies and procedures contained 
in the service agreement. 
c. The 30-day notice period required for termination may include the period covered by a notice 
of nonpayment of fees and opportunity to pay any deficiency as required under par. (a) 7., 
provided that notice of termination is included with the notice of non-payment of fees. 

 
Other Notifications 
 
Facilities are encouraged to notify the Board on Aging and Long Term Care (BOALTC) Ombudsman 
program when a facility closure is anticipated.  The Ombudsman can provide information, referrals, and 
consultation to help the residents, families, and facilities with the relocation process.  To learn more 
about the Ombudsman program please go to the DHS website at: 
http://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/aging/ltcombud.htm.  
 

https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/administrativecode/DHS%2089.44(1)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/administrativecode/DHS%2089.29(3)(c)2.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/46.21
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/46.22
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/46.23
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/administrativecode/DHS%2089.29(3)(a)7.
http://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/aging/ltcombud.htm
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The Ombudsman program can assist in mitigating the disruption and uncertainty residents may 
experience during a facility closure.  Refer to the following information regarding Relocation Syndrome: 
http://longtermcare.wi.gov/docview.asp?docid=21549 
 
Although not required by state statute or administrative code, providers may have contractual 
obligations to provide notice of closure to funding agencies, such as Managed Care Organizations 
(MCOs), county human service departments, or the Department of Corrections.   
 
When Resident Relocation Plans Are Required 
 
Under Wisconsin law, facilities relocating five or more residents must file a Resident Relocation Plan 
with the Division of Long Term Care.  
 
Whenever discharge of five or more residents from a Community Based Residential Facility (CBRF) or 
a Residential Care Apartment Complex (RCAC) is decided regardless of whether it’s voluntary or 
involuntary in nature or who initiates the discharge, a relocation plan must be submitted for review and 
approved by the Division of Long Term Care (DLTC).  A facility must not begin discharging any of its 
residents until the Division of Long Term Care has approved the facility's resident relocation plan. 
 
The Resident Relocation Manual and contact information is available on the DHS website: 
http://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/rl_DSL/Providers/relocation.htm. 
 
State Statutes and Administrative Rules That Apply to CBRFs and RCACs 
 
Wis. Stat. ch. 50, Uniform Licensure, applies to CBRFs and RCACs. If the facility intends to close and 
will relocate at least 5 residents or 5% of the residents, whichever is greater a relocation plan is required. 
 
Wis. Stat. § 50.03(5m) Resident Removal: 
 

a) Departmental authority. The department may remove any resident from any facility required 
to be licensed under this chapter when any of the following conditions exist: 
 
5. The facility is closing, intends to close or is changing its type or level of services or means of 
reimbursement accepted and will relocate at least 5 residents or 5% of the residents, whichever is 
greater. 

 
(c) Relocation. The department shall offer removal and relocation assistance to residents 
removed under this section, including information on available alternative placements. Residents 
shall be involved in planning the removal and shall choose among the available alternative 
placements, except that where an emergency situation makes prior resident involvement 
impossible the department may make a temporary placement until a final placement can be 
arranged. Residents may choose their final alternative placement and shall be given assistance in 
transferring to such place. No resident may be forced to remain in a temporary or permanent 
placement except pursuant under s. 55.06, 2003 stats. or an order under s. 55.12 for protective 
placement. Where the department makes or participates in making the relocation decision, 
consideration shall be given to proximity to residents' relatives and friends. 

 
  

http://longtermcare.wi.gov/docview.asp?docid=21549
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/relocation/index.htm
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/2003/55.06
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/55.12


DQA Memo 14-008 
September 3, 2014 
Page 5 
 
State Statutes and Administrative Rules That Apply to CBRFs 
 
Wis. Stat. § 50.03(14)(c)  Closing of a Facility: The Facility Shall: 
 

6. Implement the individual relocation plan developed under subd. 5. 
 
(e) Upon approval of, agreement to or imposition of a plan for relocation, the facility shall 
establish a date of closing or changing of the type or level of services or means of reimbursement 
and shall notify the department of the date. The date may not be earlier than 90 days from the 
date of approval, agreement or imposition if 5 to 50 residents will be relocated, or 120 days from 
the date of approval, agreement or imposition if more than 50 residents will be relocated. 

 
Wis. Admin. Code § DHS 83.11 Facility Closing: 
 

(2) If a CBRF is closing, intends to close, or changes its type or level of service or means of 
reimbursement and will relocate 5 residents or 5% of the CBRF's residents, whichever is greater, 
the CBRF shall follow the procedures under s. 50.03 (14), Stats. 

 
Conclusion 
 
As described in this memo, when a licensee decides to close a facility, the department, the resident, the 
resident’s legal representative, and others as specified by law must be provided with written notice at 
least 30 days in advance of closing, for all provider types.   
 
Additionally, CBRFs and RCACs must submit a relocation plan if five or more residents, or 5% of 
residents, whichever is greater, will need to be relocated as a result of the facility closure. 
 
Once the facility has discharged the last resident, send a final notice to the appropriate BAL Regional 
Office with the closure date and include the original license certificate. 
 
Questions 
 
If you have additional questions or concerns regarding the closure of a facility or relocation planning, 
contact the BAL Regional Director in your area for additional guidance. Contact information for BAL 
can be found at: http://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/rl_DSL/Contacts/ALSreglmap.htm 
 

https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/50.03(14)(c)5.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/50.03(14)
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/dqa/bal-regionalmap.htm

