Eligible Hospitals - Eligibility

As of Program Year 2018, Wisconsin does not have any hospitals eligible to receive Medicaid incentive payments for adopting, implementing, upgrading, or demonstrating Meaningful Use of electronic health record (EHR) technology (CEHRT). The information on this webpage reflects the requirements from past program years.

Eligibility Rules

Eligible Hospitals include:

  • Acute care hospitals whose CMS Certification Number (CCN) is within the following range: 0001-0879
  • Critical access hospitals whose CCN number is within the following range: 1300-1399
  • Children's hospitals whose CCN number is within the following range: 3300-3399
  • Hospitals that predominately treat individuals under the age of 21 as a freestanding hospital or hospital within a hospital but do not have CCNs (must contact the Wisconsin Medicaid EHR Incentive Program at dhsehrincentiveprogram@dhs.wisconsin.gov to obtain an alternative number issued by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services [CMS]).

Patient Volume

To be eligible, acute care and critical access hospitals must have an average length of patient stay of 25 days or fewer and have a minimum 10 percent Medicaid patient volume. Children's hospitals have no length of stay or patient volume requirements.

The Wisconsin Medicaid EHR Incentive Program will analyze all Wisconsin hospitals' patient volumes during the first 90-day quarter of the Federal Fiscal Year and inform the hospital if it meets the 10 percent patient volume requirement for the Program Year. Eligible Hospitals will not be able to apply for Program Year 2017 until they receive notification of their patient volume eligibility. For more information, refer to Appendix A: Patient Volume (PDF) , of the State Medicaid Health Information Technology Plan.

Last Revised: August 28, 2018