EMS Renewal Training/Retraining Requirements

Listed on this page are the biennial renewal training requirements for First Responders and EMTs in Wisconsin. Listed are the minimum hours for the refresher courses as approved through the Wisconsin EMS Section. The training centers reserve the right to add hours to their courses as necessary to meet the educational objectives set forth in the curriculum and those required by any additional training included in the course (such as CPR, advanced skills, etc.). We will keep this EMS Refresher Course List as up to date as possible for everyone's use.

Note - If your license is expired, you have 6 months in which to renew your license by following the Late Renewal process.  After the 6 months have passed, you will need to follow the Reinstatement process.  Both of these processes are further explained on the Late Renewal webpage.

Medical First Responder

Completion of a First Responder course provided by an approved Training Center during the biennium fulfills the refresher requirement for this level.

EMT Basic

Completion of an EMT-Basic course, an EMT-Intermediate Technician course, or the didactic portion of the EMT-Intermediate or EMT-Paramedic course during the biennium fulfills the refresher requirement for this level.

EMT-Intermediate Technician

Completion of the EMT-Intermediate Technician course or the didactic portion of the EMT-Intermediate or EMT-Paramedic course during the biennium fulfills the refresher requirement for this level.

EMT-Intermediate

  • Current healthcare provider CPR certification, AND
  • Current ACLS certification, AND
  • Completion of a Department approved 48-hour EMT-Intermediate Refresher course OR completion of Department approved Alternate Standard Refresher requirements (Word fillable,  38 KB) also based on the above new curriculum.  All education must be received within the current biennium (July 1, 2014 to June 30, 2016).

Completion of the EMT-Intermediate course or the didactic portion of the EMT-Paramedic course during the biennium fulfills the refresher requirement for this level.

EMT-Paramedic

Completion of the EMT-Paramedic course during the biennium fulfills the refresher requirement for this level.

Critical Care Paramedic

  • Current healthcare provider CPR certification, AND
  • Current ACLS certification, AND
  • Completion of a Department approved 48-hour EMT-Paramedic Refresher course PLUS 24 additional hours of Critical Care content OR completion of Department approved Alternate Transitional Refresher requirements (Word fillable,  46 KB)   All education must be received within the current biennium (July 1, 2014 to June 30, 2016).

Completion of the Critical Care Paramedic course during the biennium fulfills the refresher requirement for this level.

Last Revised: January 12, 2015