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Issued: 1/5/12 

Resource Series provides MCOs with best practices, guidance and/or reference materials. This series does 
not include directions on contract requirements or directives from the Department. 

 
 

ON JANUARY 1, 2012, DUAL ELIGIBLES RECEIVING 
HCBS WILL HAVE $0 CO-PAY RESPONSIBILITY ON MEDICARE PART D DRUGS 

 
The Affordable Care Act eliminates Part D drug co-pays for dual eligibles (those with Medicare 
and Medicaid) receiving home and community based waiver services (HCBS). This was 
effective on January 1, 2012. The intent behind this change is to treat individuals at a nursing 
home level of care receiving home-and-community based services and supports in the same 
manner as those who are institutionalized. 
 
HCBS PROGRAMS IN WISCONSIN 

• Family Care 
• Family Care – Partnership   
• PACE 
• IRIS 
• All Legacy Waivers (COP, CIP,BIW.) 
• Children’s Long Term Support Waiver 

 
IMPLEMENTATION TIMELINE 
The Wisconsin Department of Health Services plans to begin sending information to Medicare 
about who receives HCBS on January 19, 2012. This data will indicate that these individuals 
received HCBS as of January 1, 2012. We do not at this time have information about when that 
information will be provided to Part D plans.  
 
Since Medicare and pharmacies will not have information about individuals receiving HCBS in 
Wisconsin on January 1, HCBS participants will still be charged a co-pay at the pharmacy 
counter for several weeks in January until the HCBS data reaches the Medicare Part D plans 
(sometime after January 19). All of these individuals should already be receiving low co-pays by 
virtue of having both Medicare and Medicaid; they just won’t have $0 co-pays right away. 
 
RETROACTIVE REIMBURSEMENTS 
Once the Medicare Part D plans receive the information about which of their members receive 
HCBS, they will be required to adjust members’ status retroactive to January 1. Medicare Part D 
plans are then required to automatically reimburse members for overpaid, out-of-pocket costs 
incurred since January 1. This adjustment should occur without any specific request from the 
member. This reimbursement must be made within 45 days from when the Medicare Part D plan 
receives the information about the change in co-pay status. If HCBS beneficiaries have not 
received reimbursement by March 16, 2012 for out of pocket Medicare Part D co-pays incurred 
after January 1, 2012, they should contact the Med D plan to specifically ask for a 
reimbursement. 
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BEST AVAILABLE EVIDENCE 
Beneficiaries can also utilize CMS’s “Best Available Evidence” (BAE) policy to ask for the $0 
co-pays even before the Med D plan knows that a member receives HCBS. The BAE policy 
allows beneficiaries who are not receiving correct cost-sharing benefits to prove to the Medicare 
Part D plan their eligibility for lower cost sharing. Part D plans must accept the following as Best 
Available Evidence: 
 

• A state-issued notice of action, notice of determination, or notice of enrollment including 
the beneficiary’s name and HCBS eligibility date during any month after January 1, 
2012;  

• A state document that confirms HCBS status as of January 1, 2012; 
• A printout from the State’s electronic enrollment file or a screen print from the State’s 

Medicaid system showing the HCBS status as of January 1, 2012; 
• Any other documentation from the State showing the HCBS status as of January 1, 2012 

that includes the beneficiary’s name and shows HCBS eligibility; 
• A remittance notice from the HCBS entity showing the HCBS status as of January 1 

2012;  
• A state issued HCBS Service plan that includes the beneficiary’s name and showing an 

effective date any time after January 1, 2012;  
• The person may also verbally inform the Part D plan of the HCBS Status. The Med D 

plan can contact the State Medicaid Agency and if the State Medicaid Agency confirms 
the HCBS eligibility as of January 1, 2012, the Part D plan can prepare a report of contact 
which is sufficient BAE documentation. 
 

Whenever it says "state" in most bullets above, you may be able to substitute “IM unit" or, 
depending on the context, “MCO”, since both these are agents of the state in administering the 
HCBS program. In that case, MCO issued notices of action, or IM documentation of HCBS 
enrollment, would be sufficient.  

 
The pharmacist (if the pharmacist can obtain this verification), the beneficiary, or another 
individual, such as a care manager acting on behalf of the beneficiary, may fax this information 
to the Medicare Part D plan along with a beneficiary request for an adjusted co-pay. As soon as 
the plan receives this documentation, it must provide the $0 cost-sharing and update its systems 
to reflect this. The Medicare Part D plan should be able to provide you with the correct fax 
information. If you have problems, you can look up the plan contact information here: 
 
http://www.cms.gov/PrescriptionDrugCovContra/17_Best_Available_Evidence_Policy.asp  
 
Please note that the Medicare Part D plan must receive the BAE documentation to make the 
change to $0 co-pays. Simply informing the pharmacist of the HCBS status is not enough. The 
pharmacist can help the beneficiary get the information to the plan if s/he so chooses, but the 
pharmacist is not able to make the change him/herself (this process is not the same as the point of 
sale facilitated enrollment). A pharmacist may also choose not to collect a co-pay from an 
individual who owes one. 
 
A Medicare Part D plan must take action when it receives information indicating that one of its 
members receives HCBS, even if this is a verbal notification without documentation. A request 
without documentation will trigger an investigation by the plan to determine if the person 

http://www.cms.gov/PrescriptionDrugCovContra/17_Best_Available_Evidence_Policy.asp
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receives HCBS, but in the absence of documentation, the reduced cost-sharing will not be 
implemented until the conclusion of that process. 
 
Since it may not be feasible to for every HCBS recipient to use the BAE policy in January, 
MCOs may want to focus assistance on those persons with the highest drug co-payment burden 
due to low income, a large number of prescriptions, or a combination of both. 
 
 
 


