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Information about Your FoodShare Benefits 

 
This letter is to let you know about new program rules for FoodShare that will apply at your next FoodShare 
renewal. 

Certain adults between the ages of 18 through 49 with no minor children in the home may only get up to 3 
months of FoodShare benefits in a 36-month period, unless they meet the work requirement or have an 
exemption. After getting 3 months of benefits, members may not get any more FoodShare benefits until a work 
requirement is met, an exemption is met, or 36 months have passed. 

There are 4 ways to meet the work requirement:  

1. Work at least 80 hours each month, 
2. Take part in an allowable work program like the FoodShare Employment and Training (FSET) program, 

Wisconsin Works (W-2), or a program under the Wisconsin Investment Act (WIA) at least 80 hours each 
month,  

3. Work and take part in an allowable work program for a combined total of 80 hours each month, or 
4. Take part in and meet the requirements of a workfare program. 

The FoodShare Employment and Training (FSET) program is a free program that can help you build job skills 
and find employment. FoodShare members between the ages of 18 through 49 who are not meeting the work 
requirement listed above will be referred to FSET, once the FoodShare renewal is completed.  
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Keep in mind, FSET is not just for FoodShare members who need to meet the work requirement. FSET has 
services to help FoodShare members find and keep jobs. Any FoodShare member seeking employment or 
looking to build job skills may ask to take part in FSET. For more information about FSET, go to 
dhs.wi.gov/em/customerhelp. 

Exemptions from the Work Requirement 

Some adults do not have to meet the work requirement to get FoodShare benefits and are considered exempt. 
FoodShare members who meet any of the following may not have to meet the work requirement: 

• Living with a child under age 18, 
• Caring for a person who cannot care for himself or herself, 
• Caring for a child under age 6 who does not live in the home, 
• Unable to work due to a physical or mental health condition, 
• Pregnant, 
• Receiving or applied for unemployment insurance,  
• Taking part in an alcohol or substance abuse (AODA) program, or 
• Enrolled in an institution of higher learning at least half-time or more. 

Members who are exempt from the work requirement may be asked to provide proof.  

What can I do? 

Complete your FoodShare renewal on time. You can start your renewal online at ACCESS.wi.gov, by phone, or 
in person. To do your renewal by phone or in person, call the agency listed on page 1 to set up an appointment. 
Keep in mind you must have an interview to complete your renewal for FoodShare. 

During your FoodShare interview, your agency will let you know if anyone in your household needs to meet the 
work requirement. That person will be referred to FSET. You will get a separate letter from the agency telling you 
who has been referred to FSET. 

FoodShare members who are enrolled in another work program, such as Wisconsin Works (W-2), should let the 
agency know during the FoodShare interview. Members who are already enrolled in another work program may 
not need to take part in FSET to get FoodShare benefits. 

If you have questions about this letter or your FoodShare enrollment, call the agency listed on page 1. 
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