
FoodShare Handbook Release 11-04 
- 1 - 

 
WISCONSIN DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH SERVICES 
Division of Health Care Access and Accountability 

1 W. Wilson St. 
Madison WI 53703 

 
 

To: FoodShare Wisconsin Handbook Users 
 

From: Rich Albertoni, Director 
Bureau of Enrollment Policy and Systems 
 

Re: FS Handbook Release 11-04 
 

Release Date: 10/07/11 
Effective Date: 10/01/11 

  
 

EFFECTIVE DATE The following policy additions or changes are effective 10/01/11, unless otherwise 
noted.  Yellow text denotes new text.  Text with a strike through it in the old 
policy section denotes deleted text.   
 

POLICY CLARIFICATIONS 
 

 

1 General Program 
Requirements > 1.2 
Verification > 1.2.4 Financial 
Verification> 1.2.4.4 Asset 
Verification 

Old Text: 
EBD  households that have gross income that exceeds 200% and are therefore not 
categorically eligible are subject to the $3000 asset limit and must verify assets.  See 
4.4.1 Assets. 
 
New Text: 
EBD households that have gross income that exceeds 200% and are therefore not 
categorically eligible are subject to the $3,250 asset limit and must verify assets. 
 See 4.4.1 Assets. 
 
 

2 Applications and Reviews 
> 2.1 Applications > 2.1.3 
Interviews> 2.1.3.4 Signature 

Old Text: 
The FoodShare applicant must sign the completed CARES generated Application 
Summary or FoodShare Wisconsin Application (F 16019B) or 6 month report form 
indicating that all the information provided is true and complete and that they 
understand their rights and responsibilities. 
 
New Text: 
The FoodShare applicant must sign the completed CARES generated Application 
Summary or FoodShare Wisconsin Application ( F-1609A or F-16019B ) or 6 month 
report form indicating that all the information provided is true and complete and that 
they understand their rights and responsibilities. 
 

2 Applications and Reviews 
> 2.2 Reviews > 2.2.1 
Certification Periods 
(Reviews)> 2.2.1.6 
Administrative Renewals 

Effective with September 2011 Renewals 
 
This section on Administrative Renewals was removed based on policy changes in 
Ops Memo 11-48. EBD FoodShare cases are no longer be eligible for an 
administrative renewal at 12 months. 
 

http://www.emhandbooks.wisconsin.gov/fsh/policy_files/4/44/4-4-1.htm
http://dhs.wisconsin.gov/forms/F1/F16019B.pdf
http://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/forms/F1/F16019A.pdf
http://dhs.wisconsin.gov/forms/F1/F16019B.pdf
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3 Nonfinancial 
Requirements > 3.15.1 
Student Eligibility 

Old Text: 
1. Participating in a Title IV or state work study program. 

 
New Text: 

1. Participating in a federal or state work study program. 
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> 
Old Text: 

9. Enrolled in a W-2 employment position. 
 
New Text: 

9. Enrolled in a W-2 employment position or other TANF funded program under 
Title IV of the Social Security Act. 

 
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> 
Old Text: 
Note: A student who lives in campus housing that offers a meal plan and the student 
gets more than half of their meals from the meal plan, is not eligible for FS. 
 
New Text: 
 
Note: A student who lives in campus housing and purchases a meal plan that 
provides more than half of their meals is not eligible for FS, even if the student does 
not eat meals from the meal plan.  If the meal plan is available, but the student does 
not purchase it, then they may be eligible for FS.   
 

3 Nonfinancial 
Requirements > 3.19.1 Drug 
Felons> 3.19.1.2 Ongoing 
cases 

Old Text: 
If a felony drug conviction is reported for an eligible FS member at review or any 
other time, immediately schedule the individual for a drug test. Refusal to take a drug 
test will result in the felon being removed from the FS assistance group indefinitely 
until the individual agrees to take the test. If a felon tests positive on a drug test, 
deny FS for the individual for 12 months starting in the next possible benefit month. 
 
New Text: 
If a felony drug conviction is reported for an eligible FS member at review or any 
other time, immediately schedule the individual for a drug test. Refusal to take a drug 
test will result in the felon being removed from the FS assistance group until the 
individual agrees to take the test. If a felon tests positive on a drug test, deny FS for 
the individual for 12 months starting in the next possible benefit month. 
 

4 Financial Requirements > 
4.2 Categorical Eligibility > 
4.2.1 Categorical Eligibility> 
4.2.1.5 EBD Households 

Old Text: 
Households that include an elderly, blind or disabled member with gross income over 
200% of the FPL must be tested for FS using the regular SNAP rules.  Under the 
regular SNAP rules, these households have no gross income limit, but must have net 
income that does not exceed 100% FPL and countable assets that do not exceed 
$3000. 
 
New Text: 
Households that include an elderly, blind or disabled member with gross income over 
200% of the FPL must be tested for FS using the regular SNAP rules.  Under the 
regular SNAP rules, these households have no gross income limit, but must have net 
income that does not exceed 100% FPL and countable assets that do not exceed 
$3,250. 
 

4 Financial Requirements > 
4.4 Assets > 4.4.1 Assets> 
4.4.1.6 Divestment> 4.4.1.6.1 
Period of Ineligibility 

Old Text: 
Add the value of the divested assets to other countable. Determine how much this 
total exceeds the FS group's asset limit. Use the Disqualification Chart (8.1.7) to 
determine the ineligibility period. 
  

Example 7: A 1 person group with $1,250 in savings transferred the ownership 
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of non-homestead property worth $5,650 to a person not in the same FS group. 
As calculated: 
$5,650 = value of property = countable divested value 
+1,250 = group's existing assets 
-------- 
$6,900 = total of group's assets and divested value 
- 2,000 = group's asset limit 
-------- 
$ 4900 = divested value in excess of group's limit used in calculating the FS 
disqualification period. Disqualify the group for 9 months. 

 
New Text: 
Add the value of the divested assets to other countable. Determine how much this 
total exceeds the FS group's asset limit. Use the Disqualification Chart (8.1.4) to 
determine the ineligibility period. 
  

Example 7: An EBD Group of 1 with $1,250 in savings transferred the ownership 
of non-homestead property worth $5,650 to a person not in the same FS group. 
As calculated: 
$5,650 = value of property = countable divested value 
+1,250 = group's existing assets 
-------- 
$6,900 = total of group's assets and divested value 
- 3,250 = group's asset limit 
-------- 
$ 3,650 = divested value in excess of group's limit used in calculating the FS 
disqualification period. Disqualify the group for 9 months. 

 

8 Appendix > 8.1 Tables > 
8.1.1 Income Limits> 8.1.1.1 
Income Limits 

Old Text: 

 
New Text: 

 
8 Appendix > 8.1 Tables > Old Text: 
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8.1.1 Income Limits> 8.1.1.2  
Regular SNAP Program 
Income Limits 

 
 
New Text: 
 

 
8 Appendix > 8.1 Tables > 
8.1.2 Allotment by Monthly 
Net Income and FS Group 
Size 

Old Text: 
Current Allotment Table 
Allotment by Monthly Net Income and FS Group Size Effective 10/01/09 through 
09/30/10 
 
New Text: 
Current Allotment Table 
Allotment by Monthly Net Income and FS Group Size Effective 10/01/10 through 
09/30/11 
 

8 Appendix > 8.1 Tables > 
8.1.3 Deductions 

Old Text: 
This table is effective 10/01/10 

Deduction Type Amount 
Standard 
  
For AGs with 1-3 people 
For AGs with 4 people 
For AGs with 5 people 
For AGs with 6 or more people            
                     

  
  
$142 
$153 
$179 
$205 
  

Dependent Care 
  
  
  

  
Use total monthly 
costs. 
  

Shelter and Utility Allowances 
  
Shelter Maximum 
  
HSUA (Heating Standard Utility Allowance) 
  
LUA (Limited Utility Allowance) 

  
  
$458 
  
$433 
  
$299 

http://dhfs.wisconsin.gov/em/fsh/allotments/ffy-2010-allotment-tables.pdf
http://dhfs.wisconsin.gov/em/fsh/allotments/ffy-2010-allotment-tables.pdf
http://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/em/fsh/allotments/ffy-2011-allotment-tables.pdf
http://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/em/fsh/allotments/ffy-2011-allotment-tables.pdf
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PUA (Phone Utility Allowance) 
  

  
$33 

Medical Allowance 
  

Expenses over $35 

  
 
New Text: 
This table is effective 10/01/11 

Deduction Type Amount 
Standard 
  
For AGs with 1-3 people 
For AGs with 4 people 
For AGs with 5 people 
For AGs with 6 or more people            
                     

  
  
$147 
$155 
$181 
$208 
  

Dependent Care 
  
  
  

  
Use total monthly 
costs. 
  

Shelter and Utility Allowances 
  
Shelter Maximum 
  
HSUA (Heating Standard Utility Allowance) 
  
LUA (Limited Utility Allowance) 
  
PUA (Phone Utility Allowance) 
  

  
  
$459 
  
$444 
  
$316 
  
$32 

Medical Allowance 
  

 
 

8 Appendix > 8.1 Tables > 
8.1.4 Disqualification for 
Divestment 

Old Text: 
Use this table for divestments that occurred on or prior to 10/22/04.  After 10/24/04, 
there is no divestment due to a change in asset policy. 
 
 
New Text: 
Use this table for divestments that occurred on or prior to 10/22/04.  
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