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WISCONSIN DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH SERVICES 
Division of Health Care Access and Accountability 

1 W. Wilson St. 
Madison WI 53703 

 
 

To: FoodShare Wisconsin Handbook Users 
 

From: Shawn Smith, Deputy Bureau Director 
Bureau of Enrollment Policy and Systems 
 

Re: FS Handbook Release 14-01 
 

Release Date: 02/27/2014 
Effective Date: 02/27/2014 

  
 

EFFECTIVE DATE The following policy additions or changes are effective 02/27/2014, unless otherwise 
noted. Grey text denotes new text. Text with a strike through it in the old policy 
section denotes deleted text. 
 

POLICY CLARIFICATIONS 
 

 

3.8.1.1 EBD Introduction 
 

A disabled individual is a food unit member who meets one or more of the following 
criteria: 

• Receives disability or blindness benefits from any of these programs: SSA, 
MA, SSI or SSI related MA, Railroad Retirement Board (RRB). A food unit 
member who  

• Receives a VA payment must and meets one of the criteria listed in 3.8.1.2. 
to be considered disabled. 

• Receives a disability retirement benefit from a governmental agency 
because of a disability considered permanent under section 221(i) of the 
Social Security Act (Social Security Act requirements of disabled). 

o This includes the disability payment paid out from governmental ETF 
accounts for instance; Wisconsin ETF Disability Payments.  
However, it does not include income continuation payments which 
may be paid by the same ETF accounts. This level of disability is 
usually short term and not permanent. [7 CFR 271.2(5) Elderly or 
disabled member] 

 
Under certain specific circumstances an individual and their his/her spouse who are 
both elderly and/or disabled may be a separate food unit even if they are living and 
eating with others. See 5.2.1 for rules related to FS -E eligibility. 
 

3.12.1.1 Qualified Alien or 
Immigration Status 
 

Note: If there is more than one admission or status code for the 
immigrant/noncitizen, always use the least restrictive code per 8 CFR 212.5(h). A 
best practice is to ask each year about immigrant/citizenship status changes since 
the code(s) may change over time. 
 

3.15.1 Student Eligibility 
 

Anyone, age 18-49, enrolled half time or more, in an institution of higher education is 
ineligible, unless s/he meets one of the following criteria. 
 

1. Employed at least 20 hours a week at any wage with earnings equal to at 
least the federal minimum wage. (7.25*20=$145 per week) 

 
3. Both employed and self-employed for a combined maximum at least 20 

hours a week and earning at least the federal minimum wage for 20 hours a 
week ($7.25 x 20 = $145 a week). Earnings are based on self-employment 
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income (after SE expenses are subtracted) plus gross income from other 
employment. 

 
3.18.1 Fleeing Felons and 
Probation and Parole 
Violators 
 

Application Processing 
 
Note: Disclosure of an applicant or household member being a fleeing felon will not 
automatically disqualify the assistance group from child care. The Department of 
Children and Families will investigate the circumstances in more detail and 
determine the disclosure's effects on eligibility. 
 

4.3.4.3 Disregarded 
Unearned Income 
 

Disregard the following income: 
 
Housing and related income: 
 

9. Income received as a result of participation in the Fresh Start Program. 
 

4.6.5.1 Child Support 
Payment Introduction 
 

The text changes are too numerous to list. 

4.6.5.2 Allowable Child 
Support Expenses 
 

Allowable child support obligations are: 
 

1. Arrearages, 
2. Legal obligation for a non-food unit member to pay for things  such as rent or 

mortgage payment, 
3. Legal obligation for health insurance payments, 
4. A prorated share of child support paid by ineligible members, 
5. Non-court ordered child support payments that are made on a regular basis, 

or 
5. Court ordered Foster Care payments, 
6. Court ordered subsidized Guardianship payments, or 
7. Court ordered blood test expenses for the child included in the court ordered 

obligation 
 

 
7.3.1.2 Liability 
 

All adult or emancipated minors food unit members at the time the overpayment 
occurred are liable for repayment of any overissued FoodShare benefits that were 
included in the household or should have been included in the household at the time 
the overpayment occurred are liable for the repayment of the overissuance of FS 
benefits. If a liable individual member moves to another household, the claim follows 
him/her to the new household responsibility of the overpayment is maintained and 
follows that individual to the new household. Also apply the claim to any remaining 
adult or emancipated minor food unit members. An individual living in the household, 
but not included in the food unit would not be responsible or liable for the 
overissuance to the food unit. 
 
Liability for a FoodShare overpayment is not split evenly among liable parties. Liable 
individuals are responsible for 100% of the overpayment until the full debt is repaid in 
full. 
 
An authorized representative for an individual applying on behalf of a resident of a 
drug or alcohol treatment center, or a group living arrangement (GLA) (3.2.1.5), is 
responsible and liable for any FS overissuances to the recipient due to 
misrepresentation or Intentional Program Violation which the authorized 
representative knowingly commits in the certification of treatment centers, GLA 
residents or individual representatives. 
 
Example 1 had been updated. Example 2 is new with this release. 
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