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FAX APPLICATION FOR A WISCONSIN DECLARATION OF DOMESTIC PARTNERSHIP 

Personally identifying information requested on this form, including credit card information and your signature, will be used to process your application and payment 
for the requested copies.  Failure to supply this information may result in denial of your request for copies of any Wisconsin Declaration of Domestic Partnership.    

Your credit card number and expiration date are required.  The credit card number and expiration date will only be used to process payment for the fees specified in 
SECTION III – FEES below on this FAX Application for a Wisconsin Declaration of Domestic Partnership. 
 
PENALTIES:  Any person who willfully and knowingly makes a false application for a domestic partnership shall be fined not more than $1,000 or imprisoned not 
more than 90 days, or both, per s. 69.24(2), Wis. Stats.   Any person who willfully and knowingly obtains a declaration of domestic partnership for fraudulent purposes 
is guilty of a Class I felony [a fine of not more than $10,000 or imprisonment of not more than 3 years and 6 months, or both, per s. 69.24(1), Wis. Stats.]. 
 INSTRUCTIONS:  Please complete this form and FAX to 608-255-2035.  All FAX applications are charged an expedited service fee. 

See Page 2 of this form for valid photo ID requirements for processing this application. 

SECTION I - SHIP TO INFORMATION   (Print or type.)  (You must complete this section for application to be processed.) 

1. FULL NAME  (First ,  Middle , Last ) 2. DAYTIME TELEPHONE NUMBER 
(            ) 

3. STREET ADDRESS OR P.O. BOX (You must provide a street address if you are requesting shipping by UPS.) APT. NUMBER 

4. CITY 5. STATE 6. ZIP CODE 

SECTION II  -  APPLICANT'S RELATIONSHIP TO ONE OF THE PERSONS NAMED ON THE DECLARATION OF DOMESTIC PARTNERSHIP 
(CHECK ONE) 

 A.  I am one of the persons named on the declaration of domestic partnership. 
 B.  I am a member of the immediate family of one of the persons named on the declaration.  (Only those listed below qualify as immediate family.) 

                NOTE:  Grandchildren, step-parents, step-children and step-brothers/step-sisters may only obtain certified copies as section II, category C – E . 

                CHECK ONE.    Parent (whose name is on one of the partner’s birth certificate and whose parental rights have not been terminated)  
                                          Brother / Sister      Grandparent     Child 

 C.  I am the legal custodian or guardian of one of the persons named on the declaration.  (Legal proof is required. See item 1 on page 2.) 

 D.  I am a representative, authorized in writing, by any of the above checkboxes (categories A  - C). (The written and notarized authorization must 

        be attached to this application. See item 1 on page 2.)  

Specify the person you represent: _______________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 

 E.  I can demonstrate that the information from the birth certificate is necessary for the determination or protection of a personal or property right for   
                myself/my client/my agency.  (Proof is required.) 

Specify your interest:  _________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
       F.  None of the above.  I am requesting an uncertified copy.  Copy will not be valid for legal identity or benefit purposes.  See Item 1 on page 2. 

I hereby attest that the information provided on this application is correct to the best of my knowledge and belief and that I am entitled to copies 
of the requested declaration of domestic partnership in accordance with the categories listed above. 

SIGNATURE – Applicant (person named in section I, who is completing this application) 

  

Date Signed ( Month / Day / Year ) 

SECTION III  -  FEES     FEES ARE NOT REFUNDABLE IF NO RECORD IS FOUND.  CANCELLATIONS ARE NOT ACCEPTED. 
                                       Mandatory fees are already filled in.  Please fill in additional fees for extra copies or UPS delivery, if applicable. 

     1.  Search Fee (includes one copy, if found)  ..………………………………………………………………………..   $ 20.00        20.00 
     2.  Additional copies of the declaration issued at the same time as the first copy ____________________  X     $   3.00     
                                                                                                                                                     Number of Additional Copies   
     3.  Expedited Service Fee ……………………………………….…..…………………………………………………     $ 20.00        20.00 
     4.  Credit Card Processing Fee  ……………………………………………………………………………………….     $   6.00               6.00 
     5.  Shipping       Regular Mail - No additional cost; mailed within five business days  ……………………….     $   0.00     
                               UPS Next Day - $19.00 in the continental U.S.A.; shipped within two business days  ....….   $ 19.00     
                                    UPS packages require a signature for delivery. 

                             NOTE:  If no shipping box is checked, the copy will be sent by regular mail.                                TOTAL     

SECTION IV - CREDIT CARD INFORMATION      We accept Visa, MasterCard, American Express, or Discover. 
 

CREDIT CARD NUMBER  ____________________________________________________________  EXPIRATION DATE ________________________ 

 SIGNATURE - Credit Card Holder _________________________________________________   DATE SIGNED ____________________________ 

SECTION V  -  DECLARATION OF DOMESTIC PARTNERSHIP INFORMATION 

PARTNER “A” BIRTH NAME  (First , Middle , Last) PARTNER “B” BIRTH NAME  (First , Middle , Last)   

COUNTY (where the declaration of domestic partnership was filed) 
 

DATE OF DECLARATION (Month/Day/Year) 

 VITAL RECORDS OFFICE USE ONLY  Record Number  
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1.  What is the difference between a “certified” and an “uncertified” copy of a declaration of domestic partnership? 
 
A certified copy of a declaration of domestic partnership issued by the State Vital Records Office will have a raised seal, will show the 
signature of the State Registrar, and will be printed on security paper.  A certified copy may be required to assert legal rights that 
apply to domestic partners. 

State law restricts who may obtain a certified copy of a declaration of domestic partnership.  A certified copy can only be issued to 
those people with a “direct and tangible interest” (section II, categories A – E) which means the following people: 

 
 One of the partners named on the declaration of domestic partnership (section II, category A). 

 An immediate family member defined as a parent (whose name is on one of the partner’s birth certificate and whose parental 
rights have not been terminated), brother, sister, grandparent, or child of the subject of the record (section II, category B). 

 NOT E:  Grandchildren, step-parents, step-children, step-brothers and step-sisters can only obtain certified copies as section II, 
categories C-E.  

 The legal guardian of a partner named on the declaration of domestic partnership.  Legal proof, e.g., a court order of 
guardianship, is required (section II, category C). 

 A person authorized in writing by one of the above.  A written and notarized authorization must be attached to this application 
and the authorization must clearly state the relationship of the authorizing party to the subject of the record (section II, category 
D).  

 A person who can demonstrate that the declaration of domestic partnership is required to determine or to protect a personal or 
property right (section II, category E).  Proof is required. 

If you do not meet one of the above criteria, you cannot receive a certified copy of a declaration of domestic partnership. 
 
An uncertified copy will contain the same information as a certified copy but it is not acceptable for legal purposes, such as claiming 
insurance benefits (section II, category F). 
 

2.  How long will it take to process my request? 

Copies of declarations of domestic partnership are available from the State Vital Records Office no less than 3 weeks from the date 
of the action.    

 Applying by Fax requesting Regular Mail Shipping 
 
Requests for copies of declarations of domestic partnership may take up to 5 business days plus mail time to complete. 

 

 Applying by Fax requesting UPS Shipping 

Requests for copies of declarations of domestic partnership are usually completed and shipped within two business days.    
 

3.  What identification is required when applying for a certified or uncertified copy of a declaration of domestic partnership? 

A photocopy of the applicant’s current ID as listed below must be submitted with all fax applications.   
 
At least one form of ID must show your current name and current address.  Expired cards or documents will not be accepted. 

The acceptable forms of identification are: 

One of these: OR Two of these: 
 Wisconsin driver’s license  
 Wisconsin photo ID  
 Out-of-state driver’s license or photo 

ID card 

  Governme nt-issued employee 
ID card or badge with photo  

 US Passport  
 Check or bank book 

 Major Credit Card 
 Health Insurance Card 
 Recent dated, signed lease 
 Recent utility bill or traffic ticket 

If you have questions regarding this form, please call 608-266-1373 
or visit our website at http://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/vitalrecords 
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