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FAX APPLICATION FOR A WISCONSIN MARRIAGE CERTIFICATE 

Personally identifying information requested on this form, including credit card information and your signature, will be used to process your application and payment for the 
requested copies.  Failure to supply this information may result in denial of your request for copies of any Wisconsin Marriage Certificate.    

Your credit card number and expiration date are required.  The credit card number and expiration date will only be used to process payment for the fees specified in SECTION III 
– FEES  below on this FAX Application for a Wisconsin Marriage Certificate. 

PENALTIES:   Any person who willfully and knowingly makes a false application for a marriage certificate shall be fined not more than $1,000 or imprisoned not more than 90 
days, or both, per s.69.24(2) Wis. Stats.  Any person who willfully and knowingly obtains a marriage certificate for fraudulent purposes is guilty of a Class I felony [a fine of not 
more than $10,000 or imprisonment of not more than 3 years and 6 months, or both, per s. 69.24(1) Wis. Stats.] 

    INSTRUCTIONS:  Please complete this form and FAX to 608-255-2035.  All FAX applications are charged an expedited service fee. 

See Page 2 of this form for valid photo ID requirements for processing this application. 

SECTION I – SHIP TO  INFORMATION   (Print or type.)   (You must complete this section for application to be processed.) 

1. NAME – First  Middle Last 2. DAYTIME TELEPHONE NUMBER 

(            ) 

3. STREET ADDRESS OR P.O. BOX (You must provide a street address if you are requesting shipping by UPS.) APT. NUMBER 

4. CITY 5. STATE 6. ZIP CODE 

SECTION II – APPLICANT'S RELATIONSHIP TO ONE OF THE PERSONS NAMED ON THE MARRIAGE CERTIFICATE    (CHECK ONE) 

       A.  I am one of the persons named on the marriage certificate. 

 B.  I am a member of the immediate family of one of the persons named on the marriage certificate.  (Only those listed below qualify as immediate family.)  

                NOTE:  Grandchildren, step-parents, step-children and step-brothers/step-sisters may only obtain certified copies as section II, categories C – E. 

                CHECK ONE.    Parent      Brother / Sister      Grandparent     Child              

 C.  I am the legal custodian or guardian of one of the persons named on the marriage certificate.  (Legal proof is required. See item 1 on page 2.) 

 D.  I am a representative, authorized in writing, by any of the above checkboxes (categories A  - C).   (The written and notarized authorization must  

        be attached to this application. See item 1 on page 2.)   

Specify the person you represent: _______________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 

 E.  I can demonstrate that the information from the marriage certificate is necessary for the determination or protection of a personal or property right for   
                myself/my client/my agency.  (Proof is required.) 

        Specify your interest:   _________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 

      F.   None of the above.  I am requesting an uncertified copy.  Copy will not be valid for legal identity or benefit purposes.  (See Item 1 and 2 on page 2.) 

I hereby attest that the information provided on this application is correct to the best of my knowledge and belief and that I am entitled to copies 
of the requested marriage certificate in accordance with the categories listed above. 

SIGNATURE (Applicant) 

  

Date Signed ( Month / Day / Year ) 

SECTION III – FEES     FEES ARE  NOT REFUNDABLE IF NO RECORD IS FOUND.   CANCELLATIONS ARE NOT ACCEPTED. 
                                       Mandatory fees are already filled in.  Please fill in additional fees for extra copies or UPS delivery, if applicable. 

     1.  Search Fee  (includes one copy if found)  …………...…………………………………………………………….   $ 20.00          20.00  

     2.  Additional copies of the same certificate issued at the same time as the first copy _________________   X   $   3.00   __________ 
                                                                                                                                                            Number of Additional Copies   

     3.  Expedited Service Fee ……………………………………….…..…………………………………………………    $ 20.00           20.00 

     4.  Credit Card Processing Fee  ……………………………………………………………………………………….    $   6.00             6.00 

     5.  Shipping       Regular Mail - No additional cost; mailed within five business days …….………………….     $   0.00  

                               UPS Next Day - $19.00 in the continental U.S.A.; shipped within two business days   .....…  $ 19.00    _________ 
                                    UPS packages require a signature for delivery. 

                      NOTE:  If no shipping box is checked, the copy will be sent by regular mail.                                      TOTAL    __________ 

SECTION IV – CREDIT CARD INFORMATION      We accept Visa, MasterCard, American Express, or Discover. 

 

CREDIT CARD NUMBER  ____________________________________________________________  EXPIRATION DATE ________________________ 

 SIGNATURE - Credit Card Holder _________________________________________________   DATE SIGNED ____________________________ 

SECTION V – MARRIAGE CERTIFICATE INFORMATION 

BIRTH NAME – First Middle BIRTH Last Name 

BIRTH NAME – First Middle BIRTH Last Name 

PLACE OF MARRIAGE - City, Village, or Township 
 

PLACE OF MARRIAGE - County DATE OF MARRIAGE  (Month / Day / Year) 
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1.  What is the difference between a “certified” and an “uncertified” copy of a marriage certificate? 

A certified copy of a marriage certificate issued by the State Vital Records Office will have a raised seal, will show the signature of the 

State Registrar, and will be printed on security paper.  A certified copy may be required to change your last name or to obtain benefits. 
 
State law restricts who may obtain a certified copy of a marriage certificate.  A certified copy can only be issued to those people with a 

“direct and tangible interest” (section II, categories A – E) which means the following people: 
 

 A person named on the marriage certificate (section II, category A). 

 An immediate family member defined as a parent (whose name is on one of the parties birth certificates and whose parental rights 
have not been terminated), brother, sister, grandparent, or child of the subject of the record (section II, category B). 

 NOTE:  Grandchildren, step-parents, step-children, step-brothers and step-sisters can only obtain certified copies as section II, 
categories C-E. 

 The legal custodian or guardian of a person named on the marriage certificate.  Legal proof, e.g., a court order of custody or 
guardianship, is required (section II, category C). 

 A person authorized in writing by one of the above.  A written and notarized authorization must be attached to this application 
and the authorization must clearly state the relationship of the authorizing party to the subject of the record (section II, category 
D).  

 A person who can demonstrate that the marriage certificate is required to determine or to protect a personal or property right 
(section II, category E).  Proof is required. 

 

      If you do not meet one of the above criteria, you cannot receive a certified copy of a marriage certificate. 
 
      An uncertified copy will contain the same information as a certified copy but it is not acceptable for legal purposes, such as claiming  

      insurance benefits (section II, category F). 
 
2.  How long will it take to process my request? 

      Copies of marriage certificates are available from the State Vital Records Office no less than 3 weeks from the date of the marriage.    

 Applying by Fax requesting Regular Mail Shipping 

 
Requests for copies of marriage certificates may take up to 5 business days plus mail time to complete. 

 

 Applying by Fax requesting UPS Shipping 

Requests for copies of marriage certificates are usually completed and shipped within two business days.    
 

3.  What identification is required when applying for a certified or uncertified copy of a marriage certificate? 

A photocopy of the applicant’s ID as listed below must be submitted with all fax applications 
  

At least one form of ID must show your name and address.  Expired cards or documents will not be accepted. 

Acceptable forms of identification are:   

One of these: OR Two of these: 

 Wisconsin driver’s license  

 Wisconsin ID card  

 Out-of-state driver’s license or ID card 

  US government issued photo ID 

 Passport  

 Check book/bank statement 

 Health insurance card 

 Current, dated, signed lease 

 Utility bill or traffic ticket 
 Paycheck or earning statement 

If you have questions regarding this form, please call 608-266-1373 
or visit our website at http://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/vitalrecords 

 

http://www.dhfs.state.wi.us/vitalrecords
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