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FAX APPLICATION FOR A WISCONSIN DEATH CERTIFICATE 

Personally identifying information requested on this form, including credit card information and your signature, will be used to process your application and payment for the 
requested copies.  Failure to supply this information may result in denial of your request for copies of any Wisconsin Death Certificate.     
Your credit card number and expiration date are required.  The credit card number and expiration date will only be used to process payment for the fees specified in  SECTION 
III – FEES  below on this FAX Application for  a Wisconsin Death Certificate. 
PENALTIES:  Any person who willfully and knowingly makes a false application for a death certificate is guilty of a Class I felony [a fine of not more than $10,000 or 
imprisonment of not more than 3 years and 6 months, or both, per s. 69.24(1)].   Any person who willfully and knowingly obtains a death certificate for fraudulent purposes is 
guilty of a Class I felony [a fine of not more than $10,000 or imprisonment of not more than 3 years and 6 months, or both, per s. 69.24(1), Wis. Stats.]. 

INSTRUCTIONS:  Please complete this form and FAX to 608-255-2035.   All FAX applications are charged an expedited service fee.  
See Page 2 of this form for valid photo ID requirements for processing this application. 

SECTION I  -  SHIP TO  INFORMATION   (Print or type.)  (You must complete this section for application to be processed.) 
1.  FULL NAME (First , Middle, Last ) DAYTIME TELEPHONE NUMBER 

 (                    ) 

3.  STREET ADDRESS or P.O. BOX   (You must provide a street address if you are requesting shipping by UPS.) APT. NUMBER 
 

4.  CITY 5.  STATE 6. ZIP CODE 

SECTION II  -  APPLICANT'S RELATIONSHIP TO THE PERSON NAMED ON THE DEATH CERTIFICATE  (Decedent)      (CHECK ONE)  
 

 A.  I am a member of the immediate family of the person named on the death certificate.  (Only those listed below qualify as immediate family.)  
                NOTE:  Grandchildren, step-parents, step-children and step-brothers/step-sisters may only obtain certified copies as section II, categories C – E. 

                CHECK ONE.    Parent (whose name is on the death certificate and whose parental rights have not been terminated)       
                 Current Spouse      Brother / Sister      Grandparent     Child        Current Domestic Partner (registered in the Wis. Vital Records System) 

 B.  I am the legal custodian or guardian of the person named on the death certificate.  (Legal proof is required. See item 1 on page 2.) 

 C.  I am a representative, authorized in writing, by any of the above checkboxes (categories A  and B).   (The written and notarized authorization must  
        be attached to this application. See item 1 on page 2.) 

Specify the person you represent: _______________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 D.  I can demonstrate that the information from the death certificate is necessary for the determination or protection of a personal or property right for   

                myself/my client/my agency.  (Proof is required.) 

        Specify your interest:   _________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
      E.   None of the above.  I am requesting an uncertified copy.  Copy will not be valid for legal identity or benefit purposes.  See Item 1 and 2 on page 2. 

I hereby attest that the information provided on this application is correct to the best of my knowledge and belief and that I am entitled to copies of the requested 
death certificate in accordance with the categories listed above. 

SIGNATURE – Applicant  (person named in section I, who is completing this application) 

  

Date Signed ( Month / Day / Year ) 

SECTION III  -  FEES      READ INSTRUCTIONS ON PAGE 2 OF THIS FORM BEFORE COMPLETING THIS SECTION.    

                                        Mandatory fees are already filled in.  Fill in additional fees for extra copies or for UPS delivery, if applicable. 
                                        FEES ARE NOT REFUNDABLE IF NO RECORD IS FOUND.  CANCELLATIONS ARE NOT ACCEPTED. 

     1.  Search Fee  (includes one copy if found) ……………………...…….........................................................................        $ 20.00      ___20.00 __ 
           Fact of Death (without cause of death)    or     Extended Fact of Death (with cause of death)   
      

     2.  Additional copies of the same certificate issued at the same time as the first copy 
            Fact of Death Certificate (without cause of death)  ……………………….……... ________________________  X   $   3.00      __________ 
                                                                                                                                              number of additional copies 
            Extended Fact of Death Certificate (with cause of death) …………………........  ________________________   X  $   3.00      __________ 
                                                                                                                                             number of additional copies 
     3.  Expedited Service Fee ………..……….……………………………………………………………................……………….   $ 20.00      ___20.00___ 
     4.  Credit Card Processing Fee  ……………………………………………………………………………...............…………..    $   6.00     ____6.00___ 
     5.  Shipping       Regular Mail - No additional cost; mailed within five business days   ………...............………………       $   0.00  
                               UPS Next Day - $19.00 in the continental U.S.A.; shipped within two business days      .............…....     $ 19.00    __________ 
                                    UPS packages require a signature for delivery. 

                      NOTE:  If no shipping box is checked, the copy will be sent by regular mail.                                                                      TOTAL     __________  

SECTION IV  -  CREDIT CARD INFORMATION       We accept Visa, MasterCard, American Express, or Discover. 

CREDIT CARD NUMBER  ____________________________________________________________  EXPIRATION DATE ________________________ 

 SIGNATURE - Credit Card Holder _________________________________________________   DATE SIGNED____________________________
SECTION V  -  DEATH CERTIFICATE INFORMATION 

FULL NAME OF DECEDENT (First, Middle, Last) DATE OF DEATH (Month / Day / Year ) 
                

PLACE OF DEATH - City, Village, or Township *  PLACE OF DEATH - County AGE or DATE OF BIRTH* 

NAME OF SPOUSE * (First, Middle , Last ) DECEDENT'S SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER * 

* The fields marked with an asterisk (*) do not have to be 
    completed.  The information is helpful but not required. 

 VITAL RECORDS 
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Certificate Number  
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1.  What is the difference between a “certified” and an “uncertified” copy of a death certificate? 

    A certified copy of a death certificate issued by the State Vital Records Office will have a raised seal, will show the signature of the State Registrar, and 
     will be printed on security paper.  A certified copy may be required to settle an estate or to claim insurance benefits.   

    State law restricts who may obtain a certified copy of a death certificate.  A certified copy can only be issued to those people with a “direct and tangible  
    interest” (section II, categories A – D) which means the following people: 

 An immediate family member defined as a parent (whose name is on the death certificate and whose parental rights have not been terminated), 
current spouse, brother, sister, grandparent, child, or current domestic partner (Declaration of Domestic Partnership registered in the  Wis. Vital 
Records System under Chapter 770, Wis. Stats.) of the subject of the record (section II, category A). 

 NOTE:  Grandchildren, step-parents, step-children, step-brothers and step-sisters can only obtain certified copies as section II, categories B - D. 

 The legal custodian or guardian of the person named on the death certificate.  Legal proof, e.g., a court order of custody or guardianship, is  
      required (section II, category B). 
 

 A person authorized in writing by one of the above.  A written and notarized authorization must be attached to this application and the 
authorization must clearly state the relationship of the authorizing party to the subject of the record (section II, category C).  

 A person who can demonstrate that the birth certificate is required to determine or to protect a personal or property right (section II, category D) 
Proof is required. 

If you do not meet one of the above criteria, you cannot receive a certified copy of a death certificate. 

An uncertified copy will contain the same information as a certified copy but it is not acceptable for legal purposes, such as claiming insurance benefits 
(section II, category E).  
 For pre-2003 death certificates, an uncertified copy of a death certificate will contain the same information as a certified copy.  

 For death certificates 2003 to the present, only persons named in categories A – D on the previous page may have access to information that 
includes cause of death. 

 PRE-2003 DEATH CERTIFICATES  2003 TO PRESENT DEATH CERTIFICATES 

CERTIFIED COPY 
A certified copy has a raised seal, will show the signature of the 
state Registrar, and will be printed on security paper.  It can be 
used for legal purposes, such as settling an estate or claiming 
insurance benefits. 

TYPE OF CERTIFICATE AVAILABLE 
Extended Fact of Death * 
   
TYPE OF RECIPIENT 
Must have a “direct and tangible interest”  
 

TYPE OF CERTIFICATE AVAILABLE 
Fact of Death ** 
Extended Fact of Death * 
 
TYPE OF RECIPIENT 

  Must have a “direct and tangible interest” 

UNCERTIFIED COPY 
An uncertified copy can NOT be used for legal purposes. 

TYPE OF CERTIFICATE AVAILABLE 
Extended Fact of Death * 

TYPE OF RECIPIENT 
Anyone 

TYPE OF CERTIFICATE AVAILABLE 
Fact of Death ** 

TYPE OF RECIPIENT 
  Anyone 

*  Extended Fact of Death Certificate.   Cause of death included; can be used for insurance benefit claims 
**  Fact of Death Certificate.    No cause of death included; can be used for banking and most other financial transactions 

 

2.  How long will it take to process my request? 
      Copies of death certificates are available from the State Vital Records Office no less than 3 weeks from the date of the death.    

 Applying by Fax requesting Regular Mail Shipping: 

Requests for copies of death certificates may take up to 5 business days plus mail time to complete. 

 Applying by Fax requesting UPS Shipping: 

Requests for copies of death certificates are usually completed and shipped within two business days. 

3.  What identification is required when applying for a certified or uncertified copy of a death certificate? 
A photocopy of the applicant’s current ID as listed below must be submitted with all fax applications.   
 

At least one form of ID must show your current name and current address.  Expired cards or documents will not be accepted. 
The acceptable forms of identification are:   

One of these: OR Two of these: 
 Wisconsin driver’s license  
 Wisconsin photo ID  
 Out-of-state driver’s license or photo ID card 

  Government-issued employee ID 
card or badge with photo  

 US Passport  
 Check or bank book 

 Major Credit Card 
 Health Insurance Card 
 Recent dated, signed lease 
 Recent utility bill or traffic 

ticket 

If you have questions regarding this form, please call 608-266-1373 
or visit our website at http://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/vitalrecords 
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