MILWAUKEE
MILWAUKEE ENROLLMENT SERVICES
SHAWANOCODEPTOFHUMANSERVICES
6055 N 64TH STREET
MILWAUKEE WI 53218

Mailing Date: 04/07/2023

000001

NAME STREET ADDRESS MADISON WI 55555-5555



State of Wisconsin

Phone: C TRAINING
(555) 555-5555
Fax #: (414) 438-4580
You can use the fax # above to send verifications or to report changes.



The State of Wisconsin is an equal opportunity service provider. This letter contains information that affects your benefits. If you need this material in a different format because of a disability or if you need this letter translated or explained in your own language, please call 1-888-947-6583. These services are free.

Attention: Use Some of Your Food Benefits Soon Before They Expire

According to our records, you have not used your Electronic Benefit Transfer (EBT) card to buy food for 60 or more days. As of Apr 6, 2023, the amount of benefits in your account is \$1000.00. If you do not use at least some of these benefits to buy food by Jun 1, 2023, you will lose some or all of that amount.

You should have an Electronic Benefit Transfer (EBT) card that says either Wisconsin QUEST or Wisconsin P-EBT on it. This card can be used to buy food at most grocery stores and some farmer's markets. You can still use these benefits even if you are no longer eligible for the food program that provided them, like FoodShare.

- If you don't have an EBT card because you never got one or your card was lost or stolen, call QUEST Card Service at 877-415-5164 and ask for a new one.
- This phone number is to get a replacement card only, and no additional questions will be answered.
- For questions about FoodShare benefits, call your agency at 555-555-5555. If you are a
 FoodShare member, you can check your benefits, see how you've used them, and learn
 about upcoming deposits by logging into ACCESS at access.wi.org or by using the
 MyACCESS app for your phone.
 - o The MyACCESS mobile app is free on the App Store or Google Play.
 - For more information about the MyACCESS app, go to <u>www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/forwardhealth/myaccess.htm</u>.
- For questions about P-EBT benefits, call the P-EBT Support Team at 833-431-2224.

Case: ############### Date: 04/07/2023 Page 01 of 04

- To see the food you can buy with these benefits, go to www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/foodshare/fsspending.htm.
- You can also purchase groceries online at some retailers using your EBT card. For a list of online retailers that accept EBT cards, go to: www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/foodshare/news.htm.

What do I need to do to keep or use my benefits?

You can keep your benefits by using your EBT card at least once by Jun 1, 2023 to buy food. There is no minimum amount that you must spend to keep your benefits.

Note: Benefits that have been on your card for less than 274 days (approximately 9 months) will not be removed as part of this process. You can check the amount of benefits on your card at any time by going to the ebtEDGE website at www.ebtedge.com.

Why You Could Lose Some Benefits After 9 Months of Not Using Your EBT Card

The Wisconsin Department of Health Services (DHS) is required by the federal government to start removing older benefits from an EBT card if it has not been used in 274 days. Once benefits are removed, you can no longer use them, and the benefits cannot be replaced for any reason.



Case: ############## Date: 04/07/2023 Page 02 of 04



YOU HAVE THE RIGHT TO A FAIR HEARING ABOUT YOUR BENEFITS

What is a Fair Hearing and why should I ask for one?

A Fair Hearing gives you the chance to tell why you think there has been a wrong decision about your application or benefits. At the hearing, a hearing officer will hear from you and the agency to find out if the decision was right or wrong. You may bring a friend or family member with you to the hearing. You may also be able to get free legal help. To learn more about free legal help, call 1-888-278-0633.

The Division of Hearings & Appeals must get your request for a hearing about the decision in this letter by the date below:

FoodShare

 \rightarrow Jul. 06, 2023

How long do I have to ask for a hearing?

Keep in mind that these are the deadlines for asking for a hearing about the decision in this letter. If you are getting FoodShare benefits and you miss the deadline, you can ask for a hearing at any time if you do not agree with your FoodShare benefit amount.

Please Note: You cannot request a Fair Hearing if you have been disqualified from the FoodShare Program for an intentional program violation.

Can I keep my benefits while I wait for my hearing?

Yes, if you are already getting benefits and if you ask for a hearing before your benefits change, you can keep getting the same benefits until the hearing officer makes a decision. If the hearing officer decides that the agency was right, you may need to return the extra benefits that you got after your benefits were supposed to change.

Please Note: Benefits will not be continued if the change was due to a member receiving a FoodShare intentional program violation disqualification.

How do I ask for a hearing?

You can ask for a fair hearing and/or a hearing request form at the agency shown on the first page of this notice. Or, you can get a request form at www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/em/customerhelp. You can send the form or a letter asking for a hearing to the Division of Hearings & Appeals, PO Box 7875, Madison, WI 53707-7875, or fax it to 608-264-9885.

Case: ############### Date: 04/07/2023 Page 03 of 04



USDA Nondiscrimination Statement

In accordance with federal civil rights law and U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) civil rights regulations and policies, this institution is prohibited from discriminating on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex (including gender identity and sexual orientation), religious creed, disability, age, political beliefs, or reprisal or retaliation for prior civil rights activity.

Program information may be made available in languages other than English. Persons with disabilities who require alternative means of communication to obtain program information (e.g., Braille, large print, audiotape, American Sign Language), should contact the agency (state or local) where they applied for benefits. Individuals who are deaf, hard of hearing or have speech disabilities may contact USDA through the Federal Relay Service at (800) 877-8339.

To file a program discrimination complaint, a Complainant should complete a Form AD-3027, USDA Program Discrimination Complaint Form which can be obtained online at: https://www.usda.gov/sites/default/files/documents/USDA-OASCR%20P-Complaint-Form-0508-0002-508-11-28-17Fax2Mail.pdf, from any USDA office, by calling (833) 620-1071, or by writing a letter addressed to USDA. The letter must contain the complainant's name, address, telephone number, and a written description of the alleged discriminatory action in sufficient detail to inform the Assistant Secretary for Civil Rights (ASCR) about the nature and date of an alleged civil rights violation. The completed AD-3027 form or letter must be submitted to:

(1) mail:

Food and Nutrition Service, USDA 1320 Braddock Place, Room 334 Alexandria, VA 22314; or

(2) fax:

(833) 256-1665 or (202) 690-7442; or

(3) email:

FNSCIVILRIGHTSCOMPLAINTS@usda.gov

This institution is an equal opportunity provider.